Holualoa house rental - Lovey Hawaiiana decor in living room
Lovey Hawaiiana decor in living room
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Holualoa House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom, 3.5 bathroom near to beach, convenient to shopping and restaurants

You will have to see this peaceful beautiful home to believe what good fortune may come your way! A spectacular 180 degree view overlooks the Kona coast from a lovely lanai, Kona Le'a Guest House is located in quiet rural hills above Kailua-Kona, just minutes away from the ocean. Beautiful Hawaiiana decor sets a relax-and-enjoy mood. Set back far from the road on five acres of tropical greenery, chocolate and fruit trees--you will enjoy strolling around the property picking fruit, taking pictures of flowers. Three bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. Gourmet kitchen fully stocked for all your cooking needs. Office, lanai and dining room with a great view. Piano room. Everything you need (WiFi, Cable TV, IPOD connected stereo system, washer, dryer) and more is here for your stay. The perfect temperature at this elevation in the hills above Kona. Single older woman who works away from home in lives on property in separate apartment, very low key, gone much of the time--you will hardly know she is there.

Des and Lisen were both born in Hawaii, Des' family first having arrived in the early 1800's. We have a coffee farm, Holualoa Kona Coffee Company, about a half a mile from this property where we grow, mill and roast coffee for many farmers in the Kona area. Free tours of our organic farm are offered. Des is a farmer at heart and also enjoys growing chocolate, breadfruit and tropical fruits which you will see surrounding Kona Le'a Guest House as well. In our free time we enjoy open water swimming, stand up paddle boarding, surfing and hiking. We live in the center of the island in the small town of Waimea where our children go to school.

Lisen purchased this house in 1998

We love the privacy of living in the rural hills above all the action of Kona--but also enjoy being close to it. It's a perfect spot between two worlds. This elevation has a delightful temperature--never too hot or cold, just right. This home has a special feel to it--a feeling of old Hawaii with all the comforts you enjoy.

Huge old trees surrounding the house give a feeling of being in a tree house--tucked away in a tropical wonderland of flowers and fruit trees. A great feeling of privacy with a grand view of the Kona coast.

11 Reviews of Property 434647 in Holualoa, Hawaii

Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434647vbi
(808) 895-3962 (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
NY, NY
5

New Yorkers renting homes on Hawaii for 6 years

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The description and photos of the property on VRBO in no way adequately represents the scope of this property. The home has a special, highly individualized quality and is surprisingly large and comfortable. The grounds are a rare experience in the sense of 5 acres of seemingly random exotic plantings yet all beautifully coherent. And there is 180 degrees of the Pacific from the lanai way, way up on an elevation where the palm trees along the ocean look about 1/8 " tall from that height. I loved every minute of being there.
business
Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434647vbi
(808) 895-3962 (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Victoria Canada
5

A wonderful house.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed here for five days at the end of recent trip to the Big Island, our first. We were very pleased to have chosen this place. It is a very spacious, clean, comfortable, well-equipped house, with a huge, well-furnished lanai (plus a smaller one). The views down to Kona-K. and the coast are spectacular, and we enjoyed walking around the sprawling gardens with various fruit trees (grapefruit, orange, tangerine, banana, papaya, and more). A great place to watch birds, too. We thought the location up on the slopes was wonderful, and the easy (10 minutes) access to the beach parks at the south end of Ali drive is a real plus. It is also a good launching place for trips to Kealakekua (home of Annie’s Burgers and other treats), Captain Cook and other points south. (But do remember that, for those unfamiliar with the road and especially at night, trips are best negotiated by a confident (and sober) driver with an alert navigator.) Thanks to Lisen, Des, and Cindy for all their help in making our stay so enjoyable and relaxing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434647vbi
(808) 895-3962 (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Fort Collins, CO
5

Gorgeous escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We completely adored this house. The pictures do not do it justice. At all. The VRBO pics and low price had me worrying a bit that it might turn out a little sketchy. But we were blown away. This house is so beautiful! we especially loved the lanai, and spent most of our time at the house out there having cocktails while the sun set over the ocean.
The only 2 things that were not perfect: neighborhood roosters start calling enthusiastically at 5a.m. and sometimes throughout the night. The fountain out front helps to mask it a tiny bit, but if you like to sleep in on vacation...you won't. And it seems very private with all the surrounding foliage, but the caretaker/grounds people are around more than we expected. With everything so open and quiet, I couldn't exactly recommend it as a honeymoon spot.
Overall though, we really enjoyed being up away from town. It's cooler morning and evening and very quiet for the most part. We would definitely book again. We were sad to leave, and when we were staying our last couple days in the south, missed this house a lot, wished we had booked our whole stay here. But now we know for future trips!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Just to let you know, the rooster that was hanging about due to the hens on the property was graciously escorted away--down the road to our farm. We took the hens away and he lost interest in staying (imagine that!). Most folks do consider Kona Le'a Guest House a nice romantic getaway as well--it really is quite private in its rural setting. As for the gardener--he is there a couple hours Monday afternoons and Wednesday mornings. The caretaker is very busy,works outside her home and doesn't spend a lot of time on the property.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434647vbi
(808) 895-3962 (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
5

Shangri-la Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This Hawaii home is amazing! As my son and I drove up the driveway through gorgeous tropical trees and plantings, I started to shiver with anticipation, and when I saw the home, I was blown away. We have visited Hawaii many times, and this home was by far the best. We didn't even want to leave the property because the feeling of tranquility and the beautiful views were seductive. The sunsets over the Pacific were unrivaled. Sitting on the lanai and having breakfast, lunch or dinner was a treat. This place sets the gold standard for a wonderful Hawaiian vacation home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434647vbi
(808) 895-3962 (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Boise, ID
5

A Dream Come True!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Aloha! After our 4 month stay on the big island I am convinced this listing pales in comparison to the beauty of this home and our stay. I still remember first driving up to the property after our long trip and seeing it all lit up and the only way to describe it was "Romantic." The only problem is that everyone who comes to visit us after staying here wants to rent the property for themselves. The property has plenty of space and everything you need. The beds are comfortable (a must for me), the kitchen is large with commercial appliances, and it with beautiful hardwood floors throughout just feels like home. The house was also impeccably clean which is a must and the owners obviously work hard to keep it that way. The elevation of the home is perfect. In only a few minutes you can be in the hot sun at the beach and yet escape from the heat to the perfect temperatures here. Most places we have stayed is just a place to stay and you leave to enjoy yourself but this property is different. Whether going for a short hike around the property to picking fruit on the many fruit trues to deciding what herbs to use from the herb garden in your next meal or relaxing on the lanai with unbelievable ocean views you can lose yourself in this property. Compared to the many properties we viewed we thought the price was a deal. Aunty Cindi (caretaker) was delightful, as was Jay (the gardener) and the landscaper. Des and Lisen are extremely kind and thoughtful and were always there to help when needed. As pioneers to the Big Island they truly embody the "Spirit of Aloha" and as a family we are thankful to have made such friends. I know in writing this is sounds too good but I honestly don't have one complaint. This home exceeded our expectations in every way. Our kids loved playing outside and my wife and everyone who came to visit had nothing but great things to say. Our stay started at 2 months, then 3, then 4 before we sadly had to leave. Need I say more. The memories we made here are priceless and we will always remember the time we spent here in Kona! Warning: You won't want to leave...but that isn't such a bad thing! Enjoy! Mahalo!
Recommendations: The hands down best Thai restaurant is Hongs off of Palani Dr by Dominos Pizza (trust us we tried them all)
For dessert is the Gelato place by Annies Burgers
Best sunset view is either at the house or if on the water then Kona Inn restaurant
Best Tacos Fri and Sat only at tacos2day off queen K
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434647vbi
(808) 895-3962 (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Colorado
5

What a House! What a View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our family had a great time staying here. Though the house is conveniently located to get to the shops and markets on the coast, we were happy just sitting in the lanai looking at the ocean. It was our first time renting a vacation house via VRBO but Lisen made everything easy and assuring.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434647vbi
(808) 895-3962 (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Los Angeles, CA
5

Amazing, Beautiful Paradise Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife, Lisa and I fell in love the very moment we stepped foot into this house. It was a dream come true for our honeymoon and everything we wanted it to be. We loved everything about the house and yard. The patio was lovely for breakfast and dinners overlooking the ocean. Lisen was so accommodating to us and making sure we were comfortable in their home. Lisa and I will definitely be back for another visit! HIGHLY RECOMMEND this location to anyone who wants to experience Kona in the true Hawaiian lifestyle!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434647vbi
(808) 895-3962 (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Amazing...

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
What an amazing home and property!! Absolutely one of the most comfortable and enjoyable homes I have ever stayed in. Thank you sooo...... much!
business
Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434647vbi
(808) 895-3962 (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wow!

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Thank you so much for opening your home to us. You have accommodated all of our needs and exceeded our expectations. We will be back again to stay here in your paradise tree house estate. Once again thank you!
business
Beautiful Hawaiiana estate home with spectacular 180 degree ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434647vbi
(808) 895-3962 (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

All you need....

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Incredible stay! This house has everything you need to feel like home. I will recommend this house to all who visit Kona. Thank you!