State College house rental - Street view of Purple House in College Heights.
Street view of Purple House in College Heights.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

State College House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 6+)

The Purple House in College Heights. A charming 3 Bedroom, 3 bathroom home 1 block from the Penn State Campus and all it has to offer! An Ideal home for a family or friends. Enjoy a relaxing evening on the screened-in porch or in front of the fire. Throw a ball to your kids in the large backyard. Cook a family meal in the well stocked kitchen. There is plenty of parking. Leave your car in the driveway and walk to the Nittany Lion shrine, arboretum, creamery, stadium, or downtown. Recently and continuously updated. (sleeps 6 - 8*)

We bought this as our home when we moved to State College in 2001. Over the years our family has grown and so has our love for the house and the neighborhood. Our work has since taken us out of the area, but our attachment has not diminished. While we can't get there as often as we'd like, we hope others can enjoy the house as we have.

Pamela Becker purchased this house in 2001

We've lived in Boston, the metro DC area, and a small city in northern Italy. Being in the Borough of State College, our Purple House has elements of everything we've loved about every place we've lived. We have great neighbors, and are close to everything, without the hassle of a big city.

Stepping out the front door and heading down the quiet tree lined street, you can walk anywhere your mood takes you.

6 Reviews of Property 434459 in State College, Pennsylvania

College Heights Home - perfect for families
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
College Heights Home - perfect for families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434459vbi
State College Allegheny Mountains
5

Perfect spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Great location - 1 block off campus. Easy to get everywhere on foot. Plenty of space in this older home.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
College Heights Home - perfect for families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434459vbi
State College Allegheny Mountains
5

Enjoyed our Stay at "The Purple House"

Enjoyed our Stay at "The Purple House"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our family rented multiple homes for a fun family weekend and this house was very comfortable and accommodating. The home was clean and well maintained. We were able to walk both to Beaver Stadium and the downtown area. Pam communicated well and emailed all the necessary paperwork/instructions for the home and took the time to follow up to make sure all was good after check-in. We'd definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
College Heights Home - perfect for families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434459vbi
State College Allegheny Mountains
Harrisburg, PA
5

Thanks for the memories!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Purple House! We celebrated my husband's birthday and a home football game with our extended family. From the moment you walk in the door it just feels like home! The house is in a perfect location to walk to the Lion statue, the creamery, the Nittany Lion Inn, downtown, the arbortoreum, and Sunset Park. While we were in State College enjoyed a dinner at "The Greek" restaurant and also the Waffle House on North Atherton, just a couple miles down the road. The house is spotless and very well stocked with linens, paper products, and kitchen items. Pam was very responsive to any needs we had and answered all our questions promptly. Not sure but we may have started a tradition--we certainly hope to return again to this lovely home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
College Heights Home - perfect for families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434459vbi
State College Allegheny Mountains
Memphis, TN
5

Great stay at the "Purple House"

Great stay at the "Purple House"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful three week stay at this charming house. It is situated on a lovely, quiet, residential street, yet only a block away from the north end of the PSU campus. The website photos accurately reflect the property, but not the nice layout or the warmth you feel when you walk through the house. The small screened porch with the swing (not pictured) was a nice bonus. The house is very well maintained and appointed---plentiful thick towels, smooth sheets and all the kitchen gear needed to make a fabulous dinner. You couldn't ask for more helpful or responsive owners. We wanted to take bike rides on the campus but were having a hard time finding inexpensive bike rentals. Pam and Kyle called in some favors and two bikes promptly showed up at the doorstep! Make sure you check out the PSU Arboretum and stop at the Creamery for an ice cream cone. Both places are within walking distance of the house. We've already highly recommended this property to family and friends and look forward to staying there again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
College Heights Home - perfect for families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434459vbi
State College Allegheny Mountains
New Jersey
5

Charming Purple House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
A very charming and comfortable home. It was like a home away from home. The amenities were great, the home clean and nicely designed/decorated. My husband and I stayed for a long weekend with two of our three children (the 3rd was in a volleyball tournament and stayed at the dorms) and we felt like we were at home. We prepared breakfast and lunch with ease and than after dinner settled down in the living room and watched a bit of tv. Conveniently located right by the campus and the downtown. The owners were very nice in leaving a manual for the home and nearby attractions. They also followed up while we were to see if we needed anything! Looking forward to next year's visit!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
College Heights Home - perfect for families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434459vbi
State College Allegheny Mountains
4

Our stay at the Purple House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The listing was very accurate - photos are true to our experience. The home was VERY clean and well-maintained. We couldn't have asked for more helpful home owners, too. We were looking for a home within walking distance of campus and Beaver Stadium and this was PERFECT. Also only a couple blocks from shopping and retail districts on Atherton and downtown. Although the home is older (think historic!) we were impressed with how it had been updated without losing the charm of a warm, old home.
I was able to cook an entire Thanksgiving feast in the kitchen with ease! We would definitely stay there again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2