Mauna Lani townhome rental - Lanai with beautiful lawn
Lanai with beautiful lawn
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Mauna Lani Townhome Rental Photos and Description
3 BR. 2.5 BA. Sleeps 6

Kulalani 2202 is the perfect home base for your Big Island vacation. With its master suite on the ground floor and two guest bedrooms upstairs, this spacious abode accommodates a single couple or a party of six comfortably. Start your mornings with sunlight filtering through the private meditation garden and master bath, and illuminating the two-story central hallway. Enjoy afternoons and evening sunsets, and recount your adventures of the day, on the spacious wrap-around lanai. Kulalani 2202 features true indoor/outdoor living with walls of glass that open fully to join the living room with the lanai and adjacent lawn. The well-appointed kitchen will satisfy the “master chefs” in your party, and you can choose between the tastefully-designed dining room or the covered eating area on the lanai for your meals.

Each bedroom in Kulalani 2202 evokes a story. The spacious master bedroom harkens back to the gracious tropical comfort of a Hawaiian pineapple plantation house, and compliments the overall architectural style of the Kulalani community. The California King bed, comfy reading chair, huge walk-in closet and spa-like bathroom make the master suite a private getaway within your getaway. The “Bamboo Forest” guestroom features a comfortable Queen-size bed, hand-painted walls and views of spectacular Mauna Kea. The “Surf Shack” guestroom, with twin beds that can be converted to a standard king if needed, is great for the youngsters or young-at-heart in your group. You’ll dream about catching that next big wave and, on the clearest mornings, you’ll be able to see all the way to Maui.

9/13 - As we finish our first year of hosting vacation rentals at Kulalani 2202 we want to thank our guests for the wonderful experience. It's great to know that so many of you have made happy memories on the Big Island and we're thrilled that 45% of you have made plans to stay at Kulalani 2202 again next year!

Kulalani 2202 at a glance:

• 3 bedrooms

• 2.5 baths

• 2023 square feet of interior space

• Living room, dining room, eating bar

• Spacious wrap-around lanai with built-in Viking barbecue, dining table, bistro table, and conversation seating for 4

• Two story central reception hall with elegant curved stairway

• Large two-car garage

• Kitchen with GE Profile appliances, new Sub-Zero refrigerator, Cuisinart Cookware, Rice Cooker, and all the gadgets you’d expect in a gourmet kitchen

• Bar with everything you need for the cocktail hour (BYOB, of course!)

• Nuvo central sound system with 4 independent zones

• Central A/C

• Access to the beautiful Kulalani pool/fitness complex and Mauna Lani private beach club

• Beach towels, coolers, and fins/masks/snorkels

• Laundry Room

• TVs in living room and each bedroom, DVD player

• iPod/iPhone stations in each bedroom

• Hair Dryers & one OttLite makeup mirror

Hawaii Tax I.D. NO. W01658847-01

More Details
Hide Details

Eric Ewing and Bruce Redman live in Redmond, Washington. We have been frequent visitors to the Big Island for 20 years. We love Mauna Lani because of the beauty of the property and the diverse landscape it offers for long walks and runs. There are few places in Hawaii where you can enjoy a scenic 3, 6, 8, or even 15 mile run or walk without getting on a highway! The beach path to the Puako Road is about one mile from our home and it opens up an abundance of running and walking terrain that compliments the wonderful paths within the resort complex. We love Kulalani because of the newness and comfortable design of the homes and the first rate pool and fitness complex. Late at night we love to sit on the back lawn and gaze into the unbelievably clear Milky Way.

Eric Ewing purchased this townhome in 2012

25 Reviews of Property 433361 in Mauna Lani, Hawaii

Vacation in Luxury!
average rating of 4.96 based on 25 reviews
business
Vacation in Luxury!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433361vbi
206-909-2378
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Seattle, WA
5

The best place on the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just got back from 2 weeks in this fantastic condo. (In fact, I took the two pictures that Eric just added.)

This is truly a wonderful place. It's beautifully decorated, thoughtfully equipped, and has such a wonderful lanai that you wouldn't mind just staying at the resort every day. On top of that, you've got all of Mauna Lani and the Kohala coast on your doorstep -- including great restaurants, spas, and beaches -- and the wonders of the Big Island, such as Hilo, the Mauna Kea summit, and Volcanoes National Park, easily accessible.

I started every morning with a cup of coffee (Kona, naturally) and sitting on the lanai listening to the birds and watching the sunrise. We made frequent use of the whole house stereo to make sure we had Hawaiian music playing. If we felt like getting wet, we'd either walk over to the very nice pool or take a quick drive to one of several local beaches. When we got hungry, it was either grilling items from the local farmer's market on the lanai or choosing between the many great restaurants. We particularly liked Monstera (Japanese) and the Canoe House (make a 6:00pm reservation so you can watch the sunset while you have your first mai tai).
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vacation in Luxury!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433361vbi
206-909-2378
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Salt Lake City, Utah
5

Home Away From Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This condo is absolutely wonderful! Fully stocked (snorkel gear, boogie boards, floating noodles, coolers, beach chairs, beach towels, yoga mats with blocks and quality appliances) with everything you need to make your vacation perfect. It was beautifully decorated. The locations of the rooms were great, providing everyone their own space. My favorite part was the lani. The windows open up and allows you to be surrounded by the Hawaiian breeze. The backyard is great for relaxing and hanging out. I was attending a conference at the Fairmont and it was a quick 5 minute walk from the condo. I would stay again if I am back on the Big Island. Anne was wonderful to interact with. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Vacation in Luxury!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433361vbi
206-909-2378
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Tetbury
5

This Place Ain't Good it is Fantastic!!

This Place Ain't Good it is Fantastic!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Following a long trip from the UK via San Francisco, I was delighted when I arrived at this sensational house. Everything and I mean everything has been taken care of. The property was spotless when we arrived and the welcome book has all you need to know for both the house and the island. Accommodation wise we were super impressed and the owners have a wonderful eye for detail. I run a boutique bed & breakfast in the UK and have taken some pointers from Kulalani. All in all a wonderful 10 days and I have no hesitation in recommending this property for anyone looking for high quality accommodation in a fantastic setting. Top tip - get to the beach club with the access card provided as it is great and the beck lovely. Make sure you are there early as it gets a little busy at weekends.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Vacation in Luxury!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433361vbi
206-909-2378
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

Whats the meaning of on vacation? When you never come home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Or, after staying at Kulalani..... You never want to go home! We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely townhome for 5 days. Let me say that it was just too short of a stay. This was our first VRBO, and were not sure of what we were in for. We were overwhelmed with the amount of care and detail the owners put, into making you feel at home. There really is nothing to bring but your suitcase. Everything from spices to shampoo have been stocked.

From the lanai you can hear the ocean. Every morning we walked to the Holoholokai Beach Park daily, 1 mile each way. It is an amazing and beautiful beach next to the Fairmont Orchid Hotel. At the Muana Lani Beach Club there is a boardwalk connecting the Beach to the Muana Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows. One the boardwalk you can see Puffer Fish and large Eels. At the end of the boardwalk is a house that has story night the first Saturday after a full moon. There is a Luau style show at the Shops at Muana Lani twice weekly. So much to do and the best place to stay!

My Hawaii 50 was wonderful and memorable! Thank you for a wonderful stay! Can't wait to come back.......

Janis, Ross and Sydney
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Vacation in Luxury!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433361vbi
206-909-2378
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
London
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This is not just any VRBO rental! The owners have thought of absolutely everything and the house is incredibly well stocked. It is so well done that it does not feel like you are in someone else's house but rather in your own home.

We found the resort to be very friendly and everything was a convenient distance from the house - we particularly enjoyed having the option of either the beach club or the pool. You will not be disturbed at all and will leave feeling refreshed and rejuvenated.

The owner's onsite representative was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local area - she made some recommendations that made our stay really special. Having flown in from the UK we were hoping that everything would be ready to go, and it was.

Do not hesitate to book! You will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Vacation in Luxury!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433361vbi
206-909-2378
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

Paradise found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband, myself and our early twenties daughter enjoyed this townhome for our second year in a row now. I have to admit that I was expecting to see some wear and tear etc. since our visit last year. I was pleasantly surprised to find everything in the same new condition as last year. There were even some improvements made. There is a sound system, plants, and local decorations like a hand made quilt in the laundry room.

Kulalani is much more of a home than a condo. Pride of ownership is apparent in everything here. We found the townhome was in spick and span shape, even the gas grill was clean. I found the kitchen to have everything possible right down to martini glasses. In the garage is snorkel gear, boogie boards, beach chairs, beach umbrella, noodles, kiddie fins, beach towels, beach bags, drying rack etc... for use while visiting. The beds are very comfy, and I even had trouble getting my daughter out of hers a few times.

Everything we needed or desired was within a few minutes of the townhome from the grocer, to restaurants, to the beach all with the peace and relaxation that only a residence can offer. We have found our own little piece of paradise in this townhome and hope to return again next year.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Vacation in Luxury!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433361vbi
206-909-2378
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

Absolutely fantastic! No need to look at any other properties.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our family has just returned home from a 2 week vacation in Hawaii. We visited 3 islands and stayed in 3 vacation rentals and this was easily the best of the best of the 3. In fact, having rented 8 properties through VRBO it is probably the best property we have ever stayed in.

This is a beautiful townhouse that feels like an actual house. Staying there makes you feel at home, but not in someone else's home. It also, at the same time, feels like you're living in luxury without a care in the world. The pictures on VRBO really do not do justice to how nice the home is. We were blown away when we first walked through the door. The home is tastefully decorated, spacious (for our family of 2 adults and 2 children) and extremely comfortable. The master bedroom and ensuite is amazing and the kitchen and outside BBQ is a cook's delight. It is also the best-stocked rental property we have stayed in, from the kitchen to the bathrooms to the laundry. Everything you need is right here, clearly laid out, and exactly where you would expect them to be. You will not want for anything. The owners have thought of everything.

You get access to a great pool and well-equipped workout centre and the private beach is extremely peaceful and beautiful - it was one of the best we visited whilst in Hawaii. The location is also fantastic, just a short drive from Kona airport. It was the perfect base for our 4 nights on the Big Island.

Some other reviews have mentioned the check-out list of things to do. It is no trouble at all and is just what any respectful person would do as matter of common sense when staying in someone else's home.

Just to show that I am being objective, if I had one minor issue it would be that the wi-fi coverage within the home is not great. At times, we had trouble getting a signal in the master bedroom. In other areas of the house it is perfectly fine.

Anne, who manages the property on behalf of the owners, is a pleasure to deal with. She responded promptly to emails and helpfully answered all of our questions. A very minor issue arose before we arrived. Anne dealt with it in an extremely honest, fair and professional manner. The issue itself ultimately had no impact on our stay whatsoever. Our damage deposit was refunded the day after we left. We could not have asked for a more considerate host.

We cannot recommend this property highly enough and would have no hesitation in returning again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Vacation in Luxury!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433361vbi
206-909-2378
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Phoenix, AZ
5

Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My family and I just returned from a trip to the Big Island and can't say enough good things about this property. It almost felt like staying at home...only a much nicer home. :) It seems everything that we could have thought to look for was there and available for use. The home is in immaculate condition. The 2 main bedrooms are comfortable and spacious (especially the master), the 3rd bedroom had 2 twins (could have been converted to king) and was a bit smaller. The kitchen had every necessity (and most of the extra's) to make the finest gourmet meal if you chose to eat in. In the garage were beach chairs, an umbrella, a couple of coolers, a couple of boogie boards and even some kids snorkeling sets to make any trip to the beach more enjoyable! The pool and exercise facility were top notch. The owners were incredibly easy to work with, even making us aware before our trip of a situation during our stay which may have affected our decision to stay with them. They offered the opportunity to back out of our contract with a full refund if we wanted. It's rare to find that sort of integrity these days so we decided to go ahead and stay with them. The issue really didn't impact our stay at all, we thoroughly enjoyed every day and we know you will too! :)
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Vacation in Luxury!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433361vbi
206-909-2378
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Huntington Beach, CA
5

One of the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Kulalani is pretty spectacular! We've been staying on the Mauna Lani property for about 10 years and decided to switch it up this year and stay at Kulalani. (the different condo properties are pretty similar, you just need to find the one that best suits you)

2202 was wonderful. Fully stocked kitchen (not the groceries, but the cooking supplies - first rate!) plenty of towels, a garage you could actually pull into, super comfortable and large lanai, comfortable (yet very nice) furnishings- not overdone at all, but comfortable enough to lounge around. We stayed in another unit one summer and it was so overdone with froo froo it was just too much).

I was thrilled with the clothes drying rack- yeah... it's the little things that make all the difference. That and good kitchen knives! Kulalani has both!

While the to-do list may seem extensive when you look at it, it really isn't. A lot of it is common sense stuff. You're staying in someone's home... clean up after yourself! We flew over to Kauai after and there was no list except take out the trash and it didn't seem very respectful on our part not to do for them what we did for Kulalani.

Workout room was pretty large compared to others.
The Beach Club has the best snokeling on this part of the island. And it's just a great beach. Parking, bathrooms, bar, and chaise lounges. Take your towels.

For dining, we like to head up to Hawi for Sushi Rock or into Kona for Island Lava Java. There is also Ke'ee Cafe in Kealakekua. An hour's drive but worth it (and it's cash only). Happy hour at the Lava Lounge at the Fairmont Orchid is great, as is the restaurant on the beach.
We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Vacation in Luxury!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433361vbi
206-909-2378
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Seattle
5

Kohala Heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We can't say enough about this wonderful townhome on the Kohala Coast. It was equipped with everything we could have wanted and more. On this trip we celebrated our daughter's graduation from college with 3 twenty somethings. We all loved the two pools and workout room, the great walking/running trails and super close access to many fabulous beaches. The young adults enjoyed the easy walk to the shops and happy hour at Just Tacos and The Orchid. My husband and I enjoyed the easy access to great golf courses such as Hapuna and The Mauna Lani. We had a spectacular day on The Mauna Lani South Course with it's beautiful rugged coastline and fantastic conditions. After a day full of activity, we loved coming back to our "home" and chillin' and grillin' on the large lanai. Our rooms were so comfortable and I can't say enough about the lovely master suite. We woke up refreshed and ready for our next adventure. The owners really have thought of everything and we thank them for sharing their lovely home with us. We can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8