Poipu house rental - this is the view from the outside dining table
this is the view from the outside dining table
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Poipu House Rental Photos and Description
2 bdrm, 2 bath fabulous ocean view and sound of crashing waves

Hale Nani Kai, 'House of the Beautiful Sea', is one of the last original 'sugar shacks' left on the south shore of Kauai. Hale Nani Kai takes you back to the days of a simpler Kauai... vast ocean views, the sound of waves crashing on the lava shore, and the simplicity of island life 50 years ago.

Hale Nani Kai is a true beach house. Let the sounds of the waves lull you into an afternoon nap, enjoy lazy days on the magnificent lanai in the shade with a good book or just gaze out on the gorgeous South Shore view of Brenneke's and Poipu Beaches. Be entertained in whale season with your front row seats for whales and their calves and the year round turtles that frequent the shore.

Hale Nani Kai has two bedrooms, each with a comfortable king bed and bathroom en suite. The living room has a full sized sleeper sofa. The decor is beach house casual, boasting both indoor and outdoor dining areas for 6. The kitchen is well stocked for meals in, and a gas BBQ for the grillers in your family waits on the lanai. There are laundry facilities on the premises and beach chairs, towels, umbrellas to take on your short walk to the beach or to enjoy Hale Nani Kai’s private lawn. The sunset views of Hale Nani Kai are breathtaking, and a wonderful treat to return to at the end of the day from wherever your adventures have taken you.

We first moved to the Islands in 1988 and lived in Oahu. One trip to Kauai and we were HOOKED! We bought property in Poipu in 1996 and keep coming back! We live in Texas full time and love to share the blessing of this home while we are away.

Shari Pilaria purchased this house in 2004

We had owned a condo previously and wanted to have a little more privacy and space. We found this jewel in the middle of Poipu and have loved it ever since! The location is perfect for walking to either Poipu Beach Park or the Hyatt, Shipwreck Beach. The vast open view from the lanai was the selling point for us as well as the uniqueness of this old house! We have updated it, but tried to maintain the old, cottage style living it was intended for when it was built in 1962. It has withstood hurricanes and storms, hosted many families and friends, been the spot for various Hawaiian musical concerts and countless delicious meals served and enjoyed over the years. It's the real Kauai. So many incredible memories for us and no doubt many more to come!

Huge covered lanai, spectacular ocean view, privacy, location, sounds of waves crashing all day and night, whale watching, grassy lawn

21 Reviews of Property 433020 in Poipu, Hawaii

Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 21 reviews
business
Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433020vb
+1 808-652-1664
Poipu Kauai
Kerrville, TX, USA
5

Spring Break Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Refreshingly simple and full of Hawaiian charm, Hale Nani Kai was perfect for a Spring Break get-away. If sound-insulated walls, air conditioning and spacious bathrooms are your thing, this isn’t your dream vacation home, but it has all you need to capture the island experience. Coming from the southern US, the lack of air conditioning concerned me at first, but this house is well ventilated and I quickly became fond of feeling the ocean breeze all day long.
My favorite feature of Hale Nani Kai is the three quarter-wrap covered porch (lanai) which offers a breathtaking view of the pacific, great for watching sunsets, sailboats and humpback whales. Along with a comfortable living area, full kitchen and soft beds, this home is great for relaxing after a long day of hiking, beach-going and exploring all of Kauai’s funky towns. A bit more privacy within the house would have been nice, but really, how much time do you want to spend inside? You’re in Kauai!
I would recommend Hale Nani Kai to even the most pampered of travelers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433020vb
+1 808-652-1664
Poipu Kauai
3

Sugar Shack

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
If you like a vintage funky sugar shack, you'll love Hale Nani Kai! Although the positives out-weigh the negatives, this property is not for everyone. Pros: The location is ideal with a view of the ocean and within walking distance to Brenneke Beach,.... the best location on Kauai. There is a large covered deck for enjoying the view or a meal outdoors even when it is raining. We found the kitchen well equiped and the house clean and bug free. The negatives are that it is a shugar shack; old and not very well built. The waslls are paper thin & provide little privacy between the bedrooms and bathrooms. The bathroom are very small and odd. There is also noise from the street and the parking lot next door.
This house would work well for a family with children, but it is not suitable for more than two adults.
Owner's Response: Aloha and thank you for your mostly positive review. We have tried very hard to make sure our photos, property description, and responses to reviews give our guests the most accurate and honest preview of Hale Nani Kai that we can before they book the house. Yes, it is a vintage house that was built in the "sugar shack" or beach house style of it's day. The bathrooms are indeed small but hopefully the 1000 sq. ft. lanai and large, open living area that have amazing ocean views made up for that. Since we are in the heart of Poipu, there is no way, unfortunately, to block out all of the ambient beach-life noise. We hope, however, that the sounds of the waves crashing on the lava rocks below our little cottage will be the Kauai sounds etched in your memory. Thank you also for your kind remarks about the "kitchen is well stocked and house clean and bug free". We take great pride in that fact. And,yes, Hale Nani Kai is an awesome place for families to stay. Of course, we would have liked more stars in your rating but we truly do love honest reviews. It helps us, if it is in our control, improve the experience for our future guests. Mahalo for for being such great guests!
business
Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433020vb
+1 808-652-1664
Poipu Kauai
Nashville,Tn
5

Absolutely Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thank You for opening up your beautiful home, Hale Nani Kai! We vacationed with friends and Hale Nani Kai was perfect. So many memories were created! We found ourselves starting the day on the porch enjoying coffee each morning after a walk along the beach and ending our days on the porch taking in the amazing Sunset! The view is stunning. Kauai is our favorite island to explore and what better way to end our day then relaxing and cooking with friends in your home. We can't wait to visit again! Thank You!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We are always excited to see that our guests enjoy our home as we do! It is a great place to return to after a full day of adventures on Kauai. We do hope that you will make plans to return and continue to add to your book of memories!
Mi casa es su casa!
Aloha!
business
Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433020vb
+1 808-652-1664
Poipu Kauai
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Great location. We traveled with our 9 month old and our 14 year old . We were able to able to get everything we needed for the baby from Kauai baby rentals. The lanai was spectacular , we really enjoyed ourselves very much. We did not get a babysitter but we probably should have to be able to explore the island more. As one reviewer noted, there is not much of a separation between the two rooms so if you want a place with more privacy in each room, this will not have it. I would definitely recommend this place. Perfect for traveling with the family.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Great to hear that you had everything you needed to enjoy our home and the island of Kauai! I know travelling with an infant can have it's challenges. We have had several young families with babies over the years stay at Hale Nani Kai. Some have even put a baby pool on the lanai so that their little ones can swim all day and be out of the sun etc. We hope that you will return and continue to explore the beautiful island of Kauai. It's just the best, we believe! Aloha!
business
Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433020vb
+1 808-652-1664
Poipu Kauai
4

a beautiful location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
It's a well furnished house with a water view in a great location, walking distance to the beach. The only drawback is that the two bedrooms are adjoining and you can hear every movement in the other bedroom. It seems that one of the bedrooms was a late addition so the layout is not ideal for noise separation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Yes, you are correct in assuming the late add-on. It seems that the front "bedroom" was originally a drawing porch for making art by looking at the plans. It was added on before we purchased the property. While we are thankful to have 2 bedrooms, it is close quarters.
Glad you enjoyed your time on Kauai and at our beach house! Hope you will return in the future!
business
Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433020vb
+1 808-652-1664
Poipu Kauai
United States
5

True Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If you are looking for the perfect place in paradise, look no further! This place has it all. A view of the ocean, the sound of crashing waves, proximity to everything you'd want to do, see or eat, a wonderful wrap around lanai, full kitchen and many more details that make it perfect. The welcoming basket and beautiful flowers were an extra touch of warmth. This is the only place we would stay on Kauai.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433020vb
+1 808-652-1664
Poipu Kauai
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Paradise on Kauai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Hale Nani Kai was a wonderful place to stay. First of all, it was in a great location Poipu Beach!. There are two great beaches within walking distance 2 - 5 minutes away. There Brenneke's a boogie boarding beach and Poipu a great place to swim and snorkel, Also it was centrally located if you wanted to see the east or west coast of the Island. The pictures of the house and the spectacular view were accurate. The house has a great view of the ocean with spectacular sunsets and rainbows almost everyday. My favorite part was the lanai that wrapped around the house - we ate every meal outside with a great view and soothing sounds of the Ocean, The house itself is clean, well equiped and had everything that we needed! (Shampoo, Conditioner, Laundry detergent, paper towels, toiltet paper, a grill, boogie board, beach chairs and much much more). Our family of 5 consisted of Mom and Dad and three teenage boys and we were quite comfortable. Our friends who live on Kauai came and visited. They were impressed by the house and said they would reccomend it to friends who come to visit. We rent homes every summer and this house was the best by far! I would recommend it to anyone. We were sad to leave what had become our home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review of our home in Poipu! Sounds just like us... To eat every meal out on the lanai & share with local friends too! We are so glad you enjoyed it & loved it like we do! That is our hope, that our guests would feel at home & very taken care of! We hope you will return at some point in your future travels & stay with us again.
Aloha!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433020vb
+1 808-652-1664
Poipu Kauai
California
5

Tropical paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We spent a wonderful week at Hale Nani Kai for my 40th birthday, and had the vacation of our lives. We brought our 3 and 4 year olds, and everyone had a wonderful time. The house is exactly as described in the listing, and was even more delightful in person. It was clean, well-apportioned and so convenient! The beds are extremely comfy, and there was plenty for our young children to see and do. The house was the perfect size for our family and we loved having delicious dinners on the lanai. There is a baby beach just a short walk away where the water is only knee deep and calm enough for our kids to sit on the bottom of the ocean and watch fish swim by....awesome! There is great laundry facilities, and the owners have really thought of everything, including beach gear, towels, and extra supplies if needed. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a happy and memorable 40th birthday at Hale Nani Kai. I can just imagine you all sharing delicious meals out on the lanai watching the sun set and enjoying the sound of the crashing waves below.
We certainly look forward to your return visit and love sharing our home with people like you that love it like we do!
Aloha!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433020vb
+1 808-652-1664
Poipu Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

This was our 4th visit to Kauai

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
and this by far was the best place we've stayed. The house is beautiful and well equiped and very comfortable!!!
The view from the lanai is awesome and rainbows and sunsets glorrous! We hope to come back and stay again here now that we've experienced it.
We enjoyed Brennekes Beahc Broiler, Roys and the Beach House for meals out and cooked in for many meals.
Thanks so much for sharing your lovely home - hate to leave but we have pictures - and will come back.
Aloha
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Plantation Cottage - Amazing Views, Perfect Poipu Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p433020vb
+1 808-652-1664
Poipu Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

beautiful home to get us back in Aloha mode

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
It had been 8 years since we've been to Kauai , used to come many times per year. This was a beautiful home to get us back in Aloha mode. Took full advantage of the lanai with many hours of whale watching. Poipu has changed so much over the past 8 years , for better or worse. Mahalo for opening your home to us.
Helpful votes: 2/2