Murphy cabin rental - Wooded location with native landscaping
Wooded location with native landscaping
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Murphy Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Nestled in the mountains of Western North Carolina.

Stay 4 days and get the 5th day FREE!

Locted in the Nantahala National Forest, our cabin is a welcoming and peaceful retreat at the end of a day of exploring the sights of Western North Carolina, Tennessee or Georgia!

Nicely furnished with semi-rustic decor including solid wood furniture handmade by the owner. Fully equipped full-size kitchen, washer/dryer, high-quality linens, flat screen TV, DVD, wireless internet, free long-distance calling, satellite, outdoor grill, outdoor fire pit and large crystal clear HOT tub on the covered porch that stretches across the front of the cabin and overlooks our private, wooded property and short range mountain view. 

Our cabin hidden in a quiet nook where neighbors are barely visible. Our wooded paradise is conveniently located between Murphy, NC and  Ducktown, TN in a private community. It is accessed from a short gravel drive just off of a paved road at the top of the development and can easily be accessed without the need for an all wheel drive vehicle. There are also 2 level parking pads for parking motorcycles or Campers.

15 minutes to Ocoee River and 45 minutes to the  Nantahala Outdoor Center.  Restaurants, groceries 10-20 minutes from the cabin. John C. Campbell is a 30 minute drive, offering classes in a variety of arts as well as hosting wonderful cultural events and concerts.

Pottery Studios, horseback riding, Smoky Mountain National Park, railroads, boating, antiquing, fishing, hiking, golfing, casino and canoeing all within 15-90  minutes from cabin.

Easy day trips include Scenic Cherohala Skyway, Cherokee Indian Reservation, Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Helen, GA, Biltmore House, and more- details available upon request. 

Bringing a Pet? We are pet-firendly. Please note: there is an additional PET FEE of $30.

More Details
Hide Details

Proprietors: Ken and Cindy Brockway

We fell in love with this area while vacationing! Eventually, we decided to turn fond memories into our full time abode! Since then, it has been our pleasure to share our fondness for this area and our home with our guests! We consider it a privilege to offer recommendations, help and assistance with your planning. Join us and begin making your own memories!

Ken Brockway purchased this cabin in 2012

The peaceful, private location offers serene mornings and pleasant, relaxing evenings on a deck that stretches across the front of the cabin and houses the LARGE hot tub. It's a perfect way to unwind while viewing the surrounding mountains and wooded scenery. Our local Farmer's Market and area Flea Markets make for interesting and unique shopping!

Centrally located between Asheville, Atlanta, Chattanooga, and Gaitlinburg.

Less then 30 minutes from John C. Campbell Folk School!

The cabin is in Bear Trail, a small private cabin development, minutes from Cherokee Lake, beautiful Hiwassee Dam Reservoir and the Ocoee Whitewater Center. These area waterways provide access for rafting, canoeing, fishing, and exploring!

FREE 'Welcome Package' upon arrival~Our gift to you!

Enjoy the benefits of a private living space for eating, socializing and playing!

Prepare quick meals and snacks without having to go to a restaurant!

Take in the cost savings by choosing an independently owned home over a mainstream hotel.

Short Range Mountain view from covered front porch

& Hot Tub.

Special Event & Seasonal Packages Available: Anniversary, Birthday, Valentines Day, etc!

29 Reviews of Property 432922 in Murphy, North Carolina

Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
average rating of 4.894737 based on 29 reviews
business
Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432922vbi
828-644-0598
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Port St lucie Florida
5

Excellent stay at the Bumblebee Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I spent a week at the bumble bee hideaway. We will be celebrating 22 years of marriage and decided to stay at this cabin. It was a wonderful week for the 2 of us. We enjoyed the hot tub, the amenities and the kindness of both Ken and Cindy. We got lost on our way. We called Ken and he guided us to his cabin. It is fenced in but there is a steep hill where it is not fenced so our doggies did decide to walk and run up the steep hill a few times. We saw chipmunks and squirrels and heard lots of cool noises in the night. We enjoyed the coolness of the weather and the leaves falling and the beautiful colors. We barbecued steaks on the grille and enjoyed eating, drinking a glass of wine at night and drinking our coffee in the morning on the patio.
The cabin had everything you needed and was very clean. We enjoyed going to the Cherohala Skyway, walking in the murphy river park and just doing a lot of sight seeing or just relaxing at the cabin. It was very comfortable and we felt like we were at home. We will definitely recommend this cabin to anyone who wants a relaxing getaway and will definitely come back. It was an exciting adventure!
Janis and John
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We just love it when our guests share some of the special things they get to see, hear, and do while visiting our little part of the world! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432922vbi
828-644-0598
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Awesome cabin for the price

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a great time during our stay. Your cabin was perfect for our needs. Very cozy and relaxing. Don't bring anything....they have it all including shampoo, dryer, and body soap. We will definitely book again for fall 2014.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432922vbi
828-644-0598
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

The Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our recent stay at Bumble Bee Hideaway was spectacular! Ken and Cindy have made the cabin welcoming and comforting. The cabin location is just beautiful. It’s peaceful, quiet and relaxing. Because it’s away from city lights, the nighttime sky was amazing. Murphy, NC is a lovely area. The small-town atmosphere reminded us of our childhood homes.

We were welcomed to the cabin with notes and a gift package from the owners. The cabin is spotlessly clean as well as stocked with extra towels, bedding, dishes, etc. We also had complete instructions for the Wi-Fi, TV and hot tub. Although we didn’t use the hot tub, we appreciated the thought and concern the owners have for their guests. The bed in the master suite was extremely comfy, a welcome treat after the few days we spent walking and exploring Murphy and Ellijay, GA.

We can’t thank Ken and Cindy enough for our wonderful time in their Bumble Bee Hideaway or for introducing us to Murphy, NC! We are looking forward to visiting again, for a longer time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Gail! We are always thrilled to introduce guests to our beautiful, peaceful neck-of-the-woods! We look forward to your next stay!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432922vbi
828-644-0598
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Olmsted Falls Ohio
4

Lovely cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Very clean and as advertised amenities. Would recommend to friends or family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thanks for visiting us in beautiful Murphy, NC! We appreciate your feedback. :0)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432922vbi
828-644-0598
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Hidden Treasure Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is definitely a hidden treasure. Be sure you go the first time during the daytime as it is very darn and quite hidden off the beaten path. Pros and Cons: Pros: cleanest place I have ever had the pleasure of staying at, quite spacious and open layout, comfortable furniture and beautiful handmade furniture and décor. Perfect sized hot tub on covered rear deck. Gas grill, fire pit out back with gathered materials t burn, fenced in yard around entire unit if you happen to bring your dog as they allow pets, although you would never know it because it is so clean. Wonderful air conditioning, comfortable beds, satellite TV, gas fireplace inside and one on the outside covered deck. Very convenient having a stacked washer/dryer set. The unit is very quiet and relaxing, ceiling fans throughout, just very comfortable place to stay. Excellent Wi-Fi Cons: dirt and gravel drive way is kind of a "U" shape and quite steep. We trailered our motorcycles and parked them at the top of the driveway where it is flat and safe. We have big street bikes and I would not feel comfortable trying to use the driveway itself, just a little too steep and rutted for our comfort level. I parked the truck and trailer at the bottom of the drive and had no issues with getting either in or out. Lots of great mountain roads and all in a three state area within just a few miles you can be in Tennessee or Georgia as the unit is just inside the NC borders. We enjoyed a very relaxing week in complete comfort and solitude yet were only minutes to any and all conveniences you would ever need. The best part is the pricing was so much less expensive compared to comparable cabins, just terrific deal and top notch care given to the entire property.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are grateful for your review and thrilled that we could be a part of your time of retreat and renewal! Keep us in mind for your next vacation!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432922vbi
828-644-0598
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Sugar Hill, GA
5

Quaint little hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed at the Bumble Bee Hideaway celebrating our 31st anniversary for a week in the Murphy NC area. What a blessing it was to find this little cabin and to enjoy our week here. There is nothing that the owner has overlooked to make your stay enjoyable. From the booking of the cabin until we left, we could not have been more pleased. The hospitality of Ken and Cindy was wonderful. There has been so much detail put into the cleanliness of the cabin, to making sure that the kitchen is supplied with all the little things that you may forget to bring, to supplying bottle water in the refrigerator and other condiments for your use. The cabin is decorated in a rustic decor, with a lot of the furniture made by Ken.

The cabin offers a hot tub, fire pit and gas grill to enjoy outside. We really enjoyed the use of the hot tub every evening after some long days of sightseeing. We used the fire pit 3 evenings to sitting around the fire, enjoying the company of each other and eatting smores, something we haven't done for years!!! We spent plenty of time on the porch relaxing too, listening to music, drinking coffee in the morning and sipping wine in the evening . There are lots of birds to see, we even saw a rabbit and chipmunk out running about. At night the crickets and tree frogs serenaded us with their beautiful noises. Inside you can sit by the fireplace in the winter, play games, watch movies, take a nap or whatever you want in comfort. As I said, there is nothing overlooked here.

We did not have any phone service with our cell phones here, which wasn't a bad thing either. There is a phone in the cabin that allowed us to connect with the outside world, as well as the wireless internet service provided.

As I write this review and reflect back on our visit to the Bumble Bee Hideaway, I feel so blessed and thankful for the time spent here. Thanks so much Ken and Cindy for sharing your southern hospitality and cabin with us. We are definitely looking forward to our next visit.

.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We count it a blessing and a privilege to host such wonderful people at our little retreat! Come back soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432922vbi
828-644-0598
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Bellefontaine, Ohio
5

Ohio visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We loved this quaint little cabin. The owners have created quite haven for travel weary visitors. The pictures and description are spot on, however, what one can't see in the pictures is how welcoming the cabin is.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What a pleasure it was to host visitors from Ohio! Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to hosting you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432922vbi
828-644-0598
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Wonderfully Relaxing Weekend In The Mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The Bumblebee Hideaway is an excellent cabin in a great, quiet spot. Very conveniently located as well. we took a day trip through The Smokies. We had a wonderful family vacation there. The cabin has all of the amenities you need with some personal touches. Loved the country decor and homemade furniture. We will definitely stay again. You cannot beat the price for what you get either! Thank you Ken and Cindy!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Our pleasure to host you! Thanks for your feedback! It means a lot to us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Best wishes!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432922vbi
828-644-0598
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Columbia, SC
5

Cozy weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Loved this cabin: clean, cozy, all the little goodies made it feel more like a retreat than just a place to rest our heads. Would come back again in a heartbeat!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is always pleasure to have visitors in our quaint town! We are glad you enjoyed the accommodations and we look forward to your next visit! ! Blessings!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bumble Bee Hide-a-Way Peaceful Smoky Mountain Retreat w/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432922vbi
828-644-0598
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Granton, WI
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a very enjoyable stay at your cabin. The furnishings were very nice and we appreciated having use of the laundry. The hot tub was especially nice after a long day of hiking up and down hills! Our little dog liked not having to be leashed when he was outside. The fenced in yard was a pleasant surprise. Everything was neat and clean.
One tiny suggestion would be to paint the sign down by the fork in the road. We didn't actually see it till Thursday when I just happened to catch a glimpse of it as we drove by. We only had to stop and ask directions twice. The first time we just hadn't gone far enough and the second was that fork in the road. No big problem. We just stopped at the next house and asked. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. It's a nice neighborhood. The location was great for us as we were close enough to TN and GA to take day trips to both.
As for things to do right there, the Murphy River walk is a nice easy ramble. We drove out and saw the Hiawassee Dam. There is a great little pizza place just down the road toward Murphy that has a wonderful lunch buffet and it's CHEAP!
Oh, your driveway is CRAZY steep. But that's coming from a flatlander. LOL. All in all, we had a great, relaxing stay that wasn't near long enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us! It is always nice to have visitors in our quaint town! We are glad you enjoyed the accommodations! Blessings and Bounty! See you again, soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2