Savannah cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Savannah Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Not often do you get the chances to stay in a vacation rental with such a well documented history as the Judge White Cottage. Located in the heart of the historic district, only 3 blocks from Riverstreet and a short walk from Paula Deens

Not often do you get the chances to stay in a vacation rental with such a well documented history as the Judge White Cottage. Located in the heart of the historic district, only 3 blocks from Riverstreet and a short walk from Paula Deens famous Lady and Son`s restaurant . The home was built in 1799 for Edward White and is one of the oldest ones in Savannah.

Major White, as he was also known, invested his energy in Savannah`s future, serving his adopted city in a number of important ways- as captain of the watch and city guard, as " Register of Probates " for Chatham County, as superintendent of several academic election and , toward the end of his life, as inspector for the port of Savannah.

The Home has just undergone our famous Savannah Dream Vacations renovation. We preserved nearly all the original siding and upon close inspection you can see nearly 2 centuries of wear. Treat yourself and a loved one to a romantic weekend in this historic cottage

As always this homes come with all the modern amenities and creature comforts one would expect form a 5 star hotel. The Home is located in the heart of the historic district, 3 blocks from River street and only a short walk from Paua Deens famous The Lady & Son`s restaurant .

Amenities include FREE : private parking; high speed WIFI, extended cable with CNBC; ESPN; ESPN2, CNN, FOX .... ; premium linens, towels, washcloth, soap, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, paper-products; hair dryer, iron, ironing board, coffee, tea, creamer, sugar, spices, pots and pans, electric kettle, silverware and dishes

Renting homes from Savannah Dream Vacations is fast and easy. We take all major credit cards and require a deposit to confirm the booking which is applied towards the remaining balance. Thirty days prior to your arrival our booking software will charge the balance automatically. We also sell Traveler's Insurance which covers medical, hotels if you get stuck in a city, or trip cancellation for any reason.

Upon making a reservation with us, you will receive email confirmations instantly and be able to go directly to the property with no need to check in at our office as all of our homes have electronic locks. No fumbling around with old fashioned lockboxes that get stuck or keys were there are never seem to be enough. Everyone has their code so you can come and go as you please.

1 King bed

1 Sleeper sofa

1 private off street parking space

free high speed Wifi

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 432843 in Savannah, Georgia

Judge White Cottage
average rating of 3.909091 based on 22 reviews
business
Judge White Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432843vb
+1 912 713-7278
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Elmhurst, NY
2

Savannah First Time

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The attic is too small. Bumped head on several occasions. Stairs leading to bedroom is a hazard. House tilted. Bathroom is too small. Can barely fit in the shower.
business
Judge White Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432843vb
+1 912 713-7278
Savannah Coastal Georgia
New Castle, DE
5

Perfect for a Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We stayed in the Judge White Cottage for a long weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday. It was perfect. Great location and all the amenities you'd expect from a nice hotel... but in a cute little house instead. It was so nice to come home to a house instead of a hotel. Pretty much anything you want to see or do is within walking distance - including a grocery store. The only potential issue is the beautiful but very narrow spiral staircase. We didn't have much trouble, but if you're not good with stairs you'll have some issues. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to come back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Judge White Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432843vb
+1 912 713-7278
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Tampa, FL
3

Tight....but better than a hotel

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Location=good For the $=good Bathroom was downstairs...a little different....looks bigger in the photos. All in all not bad.
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed the home and thank you for pointing out it was spotless. The home was built in 1799 and while we restored it and updated the bathroom and kitchen we din`t change the original layout. It`s not what we are used to nowadays, but a great peek into history and as you rightfully point oui still a lot larger than a hotel room.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Judge White Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432843vb
+1 912 713-7278
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Easly, SC
1

disgusting

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very unhappy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was very unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
this place is not for older people especially disabled people. they knew in advance that my husband was a disabled person because I told them that he had broken both feet a year ago when I rented it. he had to sleep down stairs on the couch, plus the bathroom was downstairs and the only bedroom was upstairs, it was dirty, the dishes were dirty, the shower was only big enough for a child. I do not recommend this place to anyone. we left 3 days early and lost our money
Owner's Response: Obviously this review is from Polly again.

Trust you!? Trust me, it is obvious to anyone reading this review that these comments are driven by an ulterior motive. Judging by the other reviews for this property, this is the only person who hasn’t thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful and charming 1799 cottage in the heart of the Savannah Historic District. If true, we would certainly be out of business and our independent cleaning contractor would have been fired long ago. Polly originally booked a 6 day vacation in October 2012. Not once was there a mention of her husband being handicapped...we have the correspondence to prove it. We have two handicap accessible homes which we obviously would have suggested to her. She moved her vacation multiple times, which we gladly accommodated. There were multiple phone calls each time and she always commented how easy we were to work with, and how glad she was she booked with us, since most probably no one else would have moved her that many times. She finally checked in 12/27/13. Not once during her entire stay did she contact us by phone or mail, nor did she visit the office. On 1/5/13 (4 days after her official check out, and 7 days after she claims she checked out), we received an E-mail stating that she had left early, fishing for a refund. Under the circumstances, and in accordance with our terms and conditions to which she agreed at the time of booking, we did not issue one. Hence, a bad review and her recommendation of another business. She could have easily contacted us during her stay and we could have addressed any issue there and then, but obviously a refund was the main driving force.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Judge White Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432843vb
+1 912 713-7278
Savannah Coastal Georgia
-
1

a dump

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
it was not clean, especially the dishes and pots and pan, we ate out instead of cooking, the bathroom was downstairs, and the only bedroom was up stairs, my husband was a disabled veteran and had to sleep on the couch the entire trip, we left 3 days early and lost our money, the floors were leaning, the shower was big enough for a kid. it was a disaster. I do not recommend you will not like this place the owner new in advance that my husband had broken both his feet a year in advance and I tried to cancel but they were going to keep our money so we were forced to come anyway.. the best place to stary is the presidents quarters. trust me
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Trust you!? Trust me, it is obvious to anyone reading this review that these comments are driven by an ulterior motive.
Judging by the other reviews for this property, this is the only person who hasn’t thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful and charming 1799 cottage in the heart of the Savannah Historic District.
If true, we would certainly be out of business and our independent cleaning contractor would have been fired long ago.
Polly originally booked a 6 day vacation in October 2012.
Not once was there a mention of her husband being handicapped...we have the correspondence to prove it.
We have two handicap accessible homes which we obviously would have suggested to her. She moved her vacation multiple times, which we gladly accommodated. There were multiple phone calls each time and she always commented how easy we were to work with, and how glad she was she booked with us, since most probably no one else would have moved her that many times.
She finally checked in 12/27/13. Not once during her entire stay did she contact us by phone or mail, nor did she visit the office.
On 1/5/13 (4 days after her official check out, and 7 days after she claims she checked out), we received an E-mail stating that she had left early, fishing for a refund. Under the circumstances, and in accordance with our terms and conditions to which she agreed at the time of booking, we did not issue one. Hence, a bad review and her recommendation of another business.
She could have easily contacted us during her stay and we could have addressed any issue there and then, but obviously a refund was the main driving force.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Judge White Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432843vb
+1 912 713-7278
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Minneola, FL
5

A Great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The management was great and the rental was awesome. Great location just a short walk to everything.
business
Judge White Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432843vb
+1 912 713-7278
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Charlestown, MA
5

A great little cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My girlfriend and I stayed at the Judge White Cottage for a long weekend this past November and we absolutely enjoyed every minute of it. The location is perfect! It is walkable to the Historic district (we did not rent a car). We had a wonderful breakfast out in the yard one morning under a beautiful late fall sky. The living room furniture is very comfortable (I loved the recliner chair)! We loved it and I hope we can return some day. The only thing to look out for are the stairs. They are tight and steep (typical for a house of this vintage). Just be careful and deliberate on them and you will be fine.
business
Judge White Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432843vb
+1 912 713-7278
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Schoolcraft, MI
5

50th Birthday Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This cottage is a fabulous location and home away from home. We stayed here for four nights to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. It was comfortable, convenient, and cozy. There are a multitude of delicious places to eat very near by. Manderly and Marcia at Savannah Dream Vacations were fabulous. Marcia made several dinner recommendations and reservations for us and all of them were fabulous. She even arranged a special table for us on my husband's birthday at the Olde Pink House. The cottage is exceptionally clean and well kept. There are many newer amenities. If you are physically challenged, as others have mentioned, the stairs are a little tricky, but for us they were not a problem at all. We would definitely stay here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Judge White Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432843vb
+1 912 713-7278
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Talahasse, FL
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved this little cottage. Historic feeling in a quiet neighborhood near all the attractions. Falling to sleep to the "clomp, clomp" of horse-drawn carriages transported us back in time. Great off street parking, nice private patio, and comfortable accommodations. Only drawback is the long climb down a steep stairway to the bathroom in the middle of the night. But that is well worth it!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Judge White Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432843vb
+1 912 713-7278
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Matteson, IL
3

A Fun Get-Away

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall, I was happy with the cottage, and the location was within walking distance to virtually everywhere within the Historical District. Although the back patio area could use some "sprucing up," it was enjoyable nonetheless. The only inconvenience was the lack of an easily accessible place to hang clothes both up and downstairs. Housekeeping needs to wash the bedspread for the sofa sleeper; I used it as a mattress pad instead. The kitchen was adequately equipped, and I really liked the 19th century cottage charm.
Helpful votes: 2/2