Sanibel Island house rental - Aerial view of the house (before 2011 renovations)
Aerial view of the house (before 2011 renovations)
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 28 nights
 

Sanibel Island House Rental Photos and Description
Spacious 3BR/3BA on a private beach

Whether you are a beach lover, a birdwatcher, or on a hunt for the perfect sunset, our home is just the place for you!

Located on a private white sand beach, towards the end of a secluded peninsula, the house has 270 degree panoramic views of 3 bodies of water (San Carlos Bay, Tarpon Bay, and Ladyfinger Lake).

It is also situated in the heart of the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge. A variety of bird species perch on our dock during the day, and you can spot dolphins and manatees playing just a few yards away. The property is also home to a family of endangered gopher tortoises! Watch the wildlife from the comfort of the home, or take a kayak out to the nearby Rookery Islands for a truly spectacular showing of birds.

The house itself has been recently constructed (mid 2011), with all modern amenities, appliances and styling. There is a pool and a hot tub, multiple TVs, WiFi, massaging shower heads, and a Bosch gas stove for the master chef.

This house is our little slice of heaven that we'd love to share with you. There's nothing like watching the sun set on the bay from the rooftop deck, or falling asleep to the soft crashing of the waves just 15 yards from the bedroom window. We hope you take a look for yourself!

More Details
Hide Details

Husband and wife living in Chicago, with two kids in college. Both of us are physicians, and escape to Florida every chance we get!

Kanika Ghai purchased this house in 2009

We saw many places when we were looking to buy, but always came back to this one. We fell in love with it, and bought in 2009, and completed a gut-rehab in 2011.

9 Reviews of Property 432675 in Sanibel Island, Florida

Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard!
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432675vbi
312-320-5128
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Winter Get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed at this property for six weeks in January-February to get away from the northeast winter. This was our first year in Sanibel, after two years on Anna Maria Island and we couldn't have picked a better place. The house was roomy without being too large and having all the main living areas on one floor made it very easy. The house was clean, furniture and kitchen appliances seemed like new. The large screened-in porch was 'home' to my husband for all 6 weeks. We enjoyed watching the osprey and pelicans on the dock and saw dolphins every day. Toward the end of our stay the water warmed up enough that we caught a glimpse of a manatee.
Restaurants abound on Sanibel and Captiva and I can say we never had a bad meal nor was there a restaurant we tried that we wouldn't go back to. And Jerry's Supermarket had everything needed to cook at home - we never went off the island.
Took a little bit to figure out the pool and hot tub controls but the owner was extremely helpful and once we got the hang of it worked perfectly.
We've already booked for 2015.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We had just transitioned to a new pool control system, and I was still figuring out how to optimize it. As of now we have a web enabled remote device that controls the pool from the living room or even more remotely if need be. Simple and effective.
business
Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432675vbi
312-320-5128
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Fantastic Stay on Sanibel (

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed at this home for 28 days, and we had a wonderful experience. Without any doubt, this home location is unbeatable for a wildlife experience. While it is not on the main beaches, they are only a few minute drive or bike ride away. We rode our bikes to the beach every day. The home is very new, great kitchen, the pool, and layout are great for a 3 bedroom set up. The owner is easy to work with and was very responsive to any need. We saw dolphins (almost every day) manatees, and absolutely incredible bird life. Its like a bird highway in the morning and evening when they birds come and go from the wildlife refuge. Due to the current going in and out of the refuge at this point, there is such an abundant of life at this spot. We kayaked into Tarpon Bay, and visited the bird islands, where 100s of birds roost for the evening. Osprey were all around catching fish. Egrets, Pelican, Ibis, Herons, Seagulls, etc. If you want a great wildlife experience in Sanibel, try this home. Thanks you Mr. G, for making this a wonderful month for us to relax & spend at your home. We can't wait to return again. D and J, Colorado.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432675vbi
312-320-5128
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Minnesota
5

Great getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a wonderful time. Sat on deck and watched the manatees, dolphins, and an amazing number of birds fly into and out of the wildlife refuge. Loved the pool - spent many hours there. Brought my husband, 2 kids and my parents - great for everyone.
business
Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432675vbi
312-320-5128
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Amazingly Beautiful Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
"Panoramic water views, dolphins in your backyard" is NOT exaggerated. You could add "Manatees at your feet and water birds all around" as well and still not be exaggerating. My mom rented the house for the month of August and the kids and grandkids convened there at various times during the month. The location of the property, at the mouth of Tarpon Bay and next to the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge, makes it a haven for Florida sea creatures and water fowl. We have the most amazing iPhone footage of the manatees - literally rolling at our feet, snorting within touching distance, lazing on the surface - mothers, babies (tiny little snouts) and larger groups all around. The grandkids set up a Manatee Alert every morning - around 11am they seemed to be out at the point right next to the house. We also kayaked among them. It was unbelievable. The house has a lovely screened in front porch and we spent a lot of time out there - eating meals, watching for manatees and dolphins, just generally watching some really nice Florida water. The house is lovely - ultra modern and clean, nicely appointed, well-laid out so families can have their own separate spaces if need be. It's secluded and you feel very private. The grandkids spent as much time in the beautiful pool as they did jumping off the dock into the Bay. And the fishing from the dock was fabulous! The grandkids spent hours and hours down there and caught all different kinds of fish with enough frequency that they didn't get bored. The only suggestion: before you rent, just speak with the owner (who is very nice and accomodating) and confirm that the kitchen-ware was restocked - it wasn't adequate for a full house. Sounds like things got broken and no one let the owner know so he could replace the items. We'd recommend this to families, couples, anyone wanting to really get to experience tropical Florida.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: There is an inevitable attrition that occurs with glasses, plates, spoons etc. I request future renters to contact me, it is relatively simple and quick to order replacements via amazon etc.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432675vbi
312-320-5128
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
manitoba, canada
5

Private, quiet, lots of wildlife.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family were lucky to stay for the whole month of July and had a wonderful holiday. The house is perfectly situated at the end of a gravel road on the edge of Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge, overlooking the bay. The private dock was great for fishing and watching wildlife, daily we saw dolphin, manatee, heron, osprey, eagles, tortoise, even armadillo. The beach is sandy, but not good for swimming as the water is quite murky, although perfect for kayaking. Most evenings the whole family (even our 2 teenage boys) kayaked round the headland to watch the manatees sunning themselves and the dolphins fishing, a very unique and special experience.
The swimming pool and spa were perfect, one of the best pools we've had on a rental property, the garden is very private and well maintained.
The property has a large lanai overlooking the water, with comfy seating, perfect for spotting dolphins. The 3 bedrooms were spacious, each with a bathroom, which was perfect for our family. The master suite was amazing, the double shower with water view has to be seen to be believed!
The property is a short drive from all the lovely beaches of Sanibel and Captiva. The stores are also a short drive away.
The Lazy Flamingo by Captiva is cool and perfect after a day at the beach, with Zebra frozen yoghurt (by Baileys store) for desert.
Our 19 year old described the vacation as 'the holiday of a lifetime'; it is a holiday the whole family will have great memories of, hopefully we will return one day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432675vbi
312-320-5128
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

excerpts from email exchanges

  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Drs. (xxx)- We will be out of the house as scheduled this morning and want you to know how much we enjoyed our time here. This is truly a gift of nature and one of the finest locations on the island.......thank you for your attentiveness to things that go wrong.......Please accept this as our notice that we would like to rent the house next year......
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432675vbi
312-320-5128
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Connecticut
5

Wonderful Sanibel House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our family had a wonderful stay. The house overlooks the water--every morning and evening there were dolphins swimming just offshore, and the native birds were spectacular. The house is in a very quiet section within a nature preserve, but was within easy driving distance to all of the beaches, restaurants etc. the house was immaculate, and the pool was used every afternoon by our whole family.
The screened in porch was a perfect spot for our morning breakfast and pre-dinner card games.
The house has two large flat screen TV and basic Direct TV, but this was hardly used as the beaches and water of Sanibel are simply amazing.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432675vbi
312-320-5128
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Yes, we saw dolphins!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This was our first time renting a private home online. But the arrangements went smoothly and the house was exactly as advertised. A large, airy home full of modern appliances and tasteful furnishings. We spent most of our time in the saltwater pool and on the screen-enclosed deck overlooking the beach, dock and bay in a surprisingly secluded area of Sanibel Island.
Nothing is perfect. We traveled with a toddler and baby, and found some of the house features a little anxiety-inducing. But that's not likely to be a problem for most visitors. The only thing the owner might want to address is the washing machine. It's almost new, but stops mid-cycle occasionally.
There are no-see-ums in the area. So take the owner's advice and bring bug spray. Mosquitos were not a problem this time of year.
Otherwise, it's an idyllic setting and a beautiful place to spend a vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for letting us know the problem has been fixed.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432675vbi
312-320-5128
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
USA
5

Best Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I wanted to take an exceptional vacation this year and that is exactly what we got! The house was GORGEOUS and right on the water. The wildlife was amazing and the view was spectacular. Every day we were entertained by osprey, pelicans, dolphins and other varieties of birds. We loved having our own private pool and the screened-in porch was perfect for our morning coffee. There was also plenty of great restaurants and activities to do on Sanibel Island. You will not regret your stay here! We hope to stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6