Petaluma chateau / country house rental - Wrap around porch has a classic look with wicker and blue and white upholstery.
Wrap around porch has a classic look with wicker and blue and white upholstery.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Petaluma Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Chateau / Country House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 8-9)

Visitors to this ranch are stunned by the natural beauty of its setting, (only 40 minutes from the Golden Gate Bridge) and the comfort and tastefulness of the house itself. Sitting quietly at the top of a hill and accessed up a long winding private country driveway, coastal live oaks and California bay trees mark the hillsides of this iconic California landscape. Set on 200 acres there are amazing views of hills and valleys in every direction, but not one sign of civilization anywhere. Hawks and eagles abound and the iconic turkey vultures soar on the wind currents overhead. The resident owl hoots at night! Flocks of wild turkeys, deer are everywhere. After visiting local sights for a few days, many visitors ultimately just sit on the front porch to read a book and enjoy the view for the rest of their visit.

There is, however, much to do if you wish to be active. There is a large pool with built in hot tub (talk to owner about hot tub use), and a paddle tennis court just beyond the pool. There are great opportunities to hike on the property or at nearby parks. The property is perfectly located for visiting all of the local sights. Point Reyes National Seashore and the magnificent California coast (and redwoods), Sonoma and Napa Wine Country, Stinson Beach and San Francisco are all less than an hour away. The closest town Petaluma is 10 minutes away, and has a lovely center with many restaurants and stores.

The house was designed to have large entertaining spaces so the living room and kitchen/dining are both very large. There have been lunches of up to 30 on the porch! The house has 4 quaint bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths. Three bedrooms have queen beds, and the fourth has two twin beds. The country kitchen has lots of counter space and an enormous island workspace. A large wooden country table seating 12 people sits nearby and french doors open beyond the table onto the wrap around porch. There is a 6 burner Wolf range, with large oven plus a 2nd oven and other high end appliances. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need for a country feast. The house is beautifully decorated with fine furnishings. The house is well adorned with art and curios. The main porch runs 70+ feet and wraps both sides of the house and there is a tire swing for the youngsters.

A caretaker lives on the property, and the owner is 30 minutes away. This house is new on the market - make your reservations soon while it is available!

More Details
Hide Details

Two brothers (one a lawyer, one a businessman) from San Francisco own the property and have been in this special corner of Marin and Sonoma Counties for 40+ years. Their mother purchased this particular property in 1988 and built the house in 2000. It is currently enjoyed by their families and children as a weekend and summer house.

Andrew Spiegel purchased this chateau / country house in 1988

There is very little like this fabulous region of California and the house sits beautifully amid wild, natural, unmanicured fields. Yet, it has the interior finish and furnishings of a much larger, elegant country estate. The property sits quietly away from the hubbub of life up a long driveway on top of beautiful completely private hill. There are extraordinary vistas in every direction that make even the most jaded, seen everything, done everything traveler swoon. Yet, the property is centrally located to easily visit all of the wonderful spots north of San Francisco. Unlike Napa which is a long day drive from the spectacular coastal region (Point Reyes, Stinson Beach, Bodega, Tomales Bay) and Sonoma which is much further from The Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, Three S Ranch sits in the middle of all of these attractions. 30 minutes to the coast, Point Reyes, Sonoma Town Square, 40 minutes to Napa, Healdsburg, the Russian River and the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco. Everything is within easy reach. Yet, you are secluded on your own country mountain top.

There are virtually no other houses for rent in this area of Marin/Sonoma. If you want peace and quiet in a country setting without being too remote from local attractions this is the property for you. There is nothing suburban about it yet it is exceptionally well appointed.

11 Reviews of Property 432263 in Petaluma, California

Three S Ranch
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Three S Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432263vbi
+1 4155191220
Petaluma Sonoma County
5

Everything we hoped it would be

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
After a long flight it was such a pleasure to pull up the drive to see this wonderful home. The layout was perfect to accomodate all our guests. A quick trip to the Petaluma Market for supplies and we couldn't wait to get right back up the mountain to enjoy a wonderful relaxing evening on the back deck. Each morning we were greeted by a family of deer out in the front yard. The views were stunning from the morning mist to the evening sun sets. Family time hanging in the kitchen and dining area was so much fun. All the family was spread around Santa Rosa and Petaluma but the ranch was the place to gather. Comfortable, spacious and so, so relaxing. Definitely a keeper!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Diane - It is a great place for family gatherings. We're so happy you all enjoyed the house and pool! Andy
business
Three S Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432263vbi
+1 4155191220
Petaluma Sonoma County
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family arrived at the ranch only to see a deer eating a plum from the plumb tree off the ground in front of the house as we drove up. He looked at us, as if to say. "Well? what did you expect? This is normal!"
From there it just got better. The quiet,... the view,...the amazing and comfortable house....., the pool,....the jacuzzi, the beautiful and intriguing artwork....the tennis court.... We enjoyed it all! The family gathered in the big kitchen often and we cooked, drank, relaxed and just enjoyed each other's company. It was quiet and serene, and we didn't want to leave! We had family who visited from all over the world, as we had come to Petaluma for a large family reunion gathering at a relative's nearby home. The vacation home at the ranch was the talk of the party, and everyone wanted to see it! We had a beautiful brunch for about 30 people on the porch, and several people commented that the whole scene could have been a magazine shoot, as it was so beautiful. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us, and I highly recommend it to all. Sincerely, Jean, Jeff and family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! Thanks for the nice review Jean. You described everything that our family values in the ranch. Quiet, Beauty, Comfort, Charm, Nature!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Three S Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432263vbi
+1 4155191220
Petaluma Sonoma County
5

Absolutely fabulous!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The property was even more fantastic than we thought. It is somewhat isolated which turned out to be just great for our family. We loved the house, the art work, the pool, the porch, the treehouse and of course - the view!!! Thank you for renting us the house! We would love to come back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Yes, we are at the end of the road! Just one of the thing that makes Three S Ranch special. We guarantee peace, quiet and beauty.

Best,

Andy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Three S Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432263vbi
+1 4155191220
Petaluma Sonoma County
Houston, TX USA
5

Stunning Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have recently returned from 10 days at the Three S Ranch and we cannot praise it highly enough. It's a stunning home on the top of a very steep hill with spectacular views all around. It is wonderfully spacious with huge decks around the house. It is full of intriguing original art work. With all the books and personal touches, you have the feeling you are staying with friends rather than in a rental. The kitchen is fully equipped for entertaining. We saw deer on the front lawn, hares & birds of prey. It is so quiet & peaceful that you cannot hear anything apart from the birds.
It is ideally located for day trips to San Francisco Bay Area, the Wine Country, the Coast, The Redwoods, shops and restaurants.
We would highly recommend this wonderful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the lovely review Didier. When we started to rent the house we made the conscious decision to keep it as our family house, not just a rental. I'm so happy you noticed the difference.

Andy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Three S Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432263vbi
+1 4155191220
Petaluma Sonoma County
San Mateo, CA
5

Nirvana in the highlands

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Every once in a great while, you have a vacation home experience that just sticks with you and this amazing home, and the grounds surrounding it, will be remembered by me and my family for many years to come. It felt very much like we were just stepping into someone's home, not a vacation rental property. Comfortable and inviting, unreal vistas and plenty of living space. Really exceptional experience and worth the meandering drive up and up and up into the highlands!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Three S Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432263vbi
+1 4155191220
Petaluma Sonoma County
New York
5

A Special Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We rented the ranch for the week to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday and Thanksgiving. We were 6 adults + 3 children and everything about our stay was spectacular.
1. The house is beautiful and setting is breathtaking. The approach to the house is a long one and we couldn't believe how "close" we were to SF (so easy to get to), wine country, and other attractions yet so far removed from the daily hustle bustle. The views from the top of the hill/house are simply stunning. You will feel incredibly at peace and if you enjoy farms and nature, will love the country feel and deer who visit daily.
2. We had ample room to spend time together as well as find a little corner for ourselves. The rooms were wonderfully appointed and you felt very much at home.
3. We are a family of cooks and loved the fully stocked kitchen. Whether it was freshly made waffles, bread or madeleines (+ a full Thanksgiving feast), we were not wanting for anything and enjoyed setting the table each night with treasures we found in the cupboards.
4. Andy/Paul made sure that we had everything that we needed and were wonderful hosts.
5. Given the time of year (November), we did not take advantage of the pool or hot tub or outdoor space as much as we would like. We did play a bit of paddle ball and the kids had a fantastic time exploring the grounds.
We hope that we have occasion to rent again and again. We would absolutely recommend this place to others looking for a lovely getaway!
Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Three S Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432263vbi
+1 4155191220
Petaluma Sonoma County
5

Stunning! Our 25th Wedding Anniversary Celebration.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
It is hard to describe how spectacular the house - and our weekend - was. I have rented houses around the world. This was outstanding.

First, the owners were terrific to deal with.

Second, the house, which had belonged to their mother, an art professor, was gorgeous. Everything from the Spode china to the positioning of the house on the property was so elegant, yet soothing. We enjoyed every inched. Refreshed in the pool, warmed in the hot tub, gathered and listening to the world series as the sun set, preferring the radio and the night sky! We had hikers and tennis players, porch sitters and a pup in heaven (he just circled from house to pool to field as if he had died and gone to puppy heaven!)

Third, our guest - 8 for dinner; 4 who stayed the night - adored it. The kitchen was easy to use and thoroughly stocked. Later we sat by the fireplace, relaxed and chatted. We all have been friends for 20+ years, so it was a special treat.

Fourth, husband was good and surprised. We lounged, read, chatted, relished the silence. I even took him for oysters and champagne at Hogs Island on our way home. He really felt treated and so we signed on for the next 25 years. Wish us luck.

All and all, I cannot recommend this house more and hope we can return soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Three S Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432263vbi
+1 4155191220
Petaluma Sonoma County
Maryland
5

Amazing...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This amazing home offers you comfort and tranquility. Wake up to deer walking outside your window and an amazing view of the valley. After a short drive from the hustle of the airport, wind up a long drive to pure serenity. Lounge by the pool, take a hike, read a book or cook your favorite meal. Take your pick…it’s all there. If wine and shopping are for you…no fear, both are close by. It is in the perfect location to experience all that N. CA has to offer.
An absolute pleasure to stay there!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Liz. Very happy you enjoyed your stay!
business
Three S Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432263vbi
+1 4155191220
Petaluma Sonoma County
PA
5

Sonoma County Ranch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Home away from home and more! Beautiful and spacious family ranch nestled in Sonoma County; perfect for a quiet comfortable get-away to California.

The view that you wake up to is absolutely breathtaking and serene. Nature at its finest. The décor of the house is very comforting, clean and orderly.

It has it all - lounge on the wrap around porch with a book, take a dip in the pool or enjoy a nature walk out the back door.

Every minute was relaxing and enjoyable at the ranch. A beautiful place to stay to get away from it all!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Three S Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p432263vbi
+1 4155191220
Petaluma Sonoma County
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
5

Three S Ranch is a 5 Star Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
If you are looking to relax and enjoy Northern California, look no further. “The Ranch” is the perfect place. Whether you want to enjoy a book on the spacious front porch, play a game of tennis or just enjoy the view – there is no better place. The kitchen is spacious and warm, the family room is open and fun and the bedrooms are cozy and comfortable. There are epic views from everywhere you turn – even inside as the house has amazing artwork. And… even though you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, you are just a short ride from the local town, country stores and the wineries. I can’t wait to bring my family to enjoy this one of a kind home away from home. As someone who is not a fan of the west coast, I found myself never wanting to leave. I enviously say, “look no further!”
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Kim -- Glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time we can show you the fine points of Platform Tennis (actually a different game from regular tennis) that is loads of fun to play, even in the cold and the rain! Andy