Las Terrenas house rental - Front Exterior La Paloma
Front Exterior La Paloma
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights
 

Las Terrenas House Rental Photos and Description
3 BR, 3 Baths, indoor and outdoor kitchen with bar, kiosk

Nestled under towering palms and surrounded by tropical gardens of hibiscus, ginger and heliconia, La Paloma is a great escape for a family or up to three couples who want a casual vacation that is centered around relaxation, good food and beach time. La Paloma is conveniently located only 2 minutes from the beach, 10 minutes from excellent beach restaurants, 5 minutes from a great spa and 20 minutes from town. Enjoy one of the most beautiful beaches on the island where there is the shade of palms or sun glistened sand. A casual lunch on the beach followed by a swim is always fun or you can or rent a Hobi at the Sailing Club, only a four minute walk.

We are now semi-retired and enjoying our lives between our farm in New Hampshire where we raise and sell day-lilies and our winter home in Las Terrenas. We enjoy renting and maintaining our three properties and meeting people who have chosen Las Terrenas as their vacation destination. We enjoy introducing them to different parts of the town if they wish and advising them about the best restaurants, attractions and beaches in the area.

Leslie Honey purchased this house in 2000

We have enjoyed coming to Las Terrenas since 1982 when it really was an authentic fishing village. We have watched it grow over the years and become a place that we could not have imagined. It still has its magnetic attraction for us even though it is now a premier tourist destination because of its incredible natural beauty.

10 Reviews of Property 431949 in Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic

La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
average rating of 4.857143 based on 10 reviews
business
La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431949vbi
+1 603-835-9025
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

La Paloma

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Leslie is more than an accommodating host, she is one of the those people you meet every so often who genuinely care about the well-being of those around her. Her beautiful villa, just off the beach, was at once a romantic getaway and peaceful refuge. The pictures in this ad do not do it justice. Each bedroom is comfortable. Aircon and overhead fans. Outdoor and indoor showers. Furnishings were tasteful. Everything worked (internet was a bit slow, but it's Las Terrenas). The open-air living room, the dining gazebo, the grill, the private garden, and direct beach access all made the experience feel like a subtle luxury without vanity. I was an expat in Asia for seven years. During that time, I experienced most of the South East Asian islands in settings ranging from 5-star Jetsetter to backpacker hostels to undercover squalor through periods of time ranging from a few days to a few months. I mention this only to stress that I am not without experience when I say that Leslie and her villa were the single most important factor in making my trip to DR a great one. Las Terrenas is an expat hub of mostly Europeans (particularly French). To go local, you'd need to venture away from the beach by a couple kilometers. However, Las Terrenas is far from the all-inclusive (read: generic and exclusive) resort thing. It is a wonderful little beach town with all the local flavor and smiles of a simple place. All sorts of food (cafes, restaurants, groceries) , good drink, water sports, and excursions are there for the pickings. Yet, it's easy to find a stretch of peaceful beach or a quiet cup of coffee. It's small enough to walk just about anywhere, but you could also rent a motorbike or flag a ride on one. While the town is easy enough to navigate on the fly, Leslie still went out of her way to provide a list of the recommended eateries, helped us secure transportation into / out of town, and provided invaluable tips on things to do. She was never more than a phone call away and very responsive to even the most mundane of requests. Honestly, she made me feel like I was her friend more than her tenant/guest. This is the first recommendation for any accommodation I have ever given and it does not begin to express how grateful I am for the experience. Thank you, Leslie.
business
La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431949vbi
+1 603-835-9025
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
-
5

Excellent!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Perfecto!!! Our family enjoyed every minute if our fabulous stay over Christmas vacation. The house is lovely, the hosts are wonderful and we will be back. I highly recommend a stay at La Paloma.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed meeting you all and hope that you have started a family tradition. Glad the house worked for your Christmas reunion with your grown children. We have tried to created areas where people can be separate and then come together as a large group. Christmas Eve was fun at Mojitos, thanks for including us in your group.
business
La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431949vbi
+1 603-835-9025
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Return to LaPaloma..!!!! for the 2nd time...establishing a tradition!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We came back..it feels like home to us. We had so much fun again this year...there is so much exploring to do...lots of interesting history here. Bill and Leslie know the area so well, and understand the culture, and were able to make suggestions for visits, food, hikes, adventures. The pictures don't do LaPaloma justice..it is a magical place, nestled in beautiful flowers and trees with many nooks and hangout places.for reading or napping.They thought of everything....fans and mosquito nets over each bed and sitting area...It is quiet..in the morning the birds are fabulous. The beach is a 2 min. walk, and there are many beach bars and restaurants with any kind of food and drink you would want. we love it that we can brush up on our Spanish and French...and both are spoken here..This has been a perfect time of year for weather.Thanks for the wonderful time...see you in 12 months or less! Love the fact that we could do our laundry here, great line space, fresh air. M&D
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: WE were thrilled to have you return. I know that you enjoyed the upgrades we have completed since your last stay. We especially like the new kitchen floor and counter and the master bedroom floor as well. The canopy on the master bedroom bed and new box net give an elegant and romantic air to the room. We have had fun making it "better than ever" and will continue to do so. Looking forward to your next visit already.
business
La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431949vbi
+1 603-835-9025
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Toronto
5

Wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
What a fantastic experience - we had the most wonderful time at La Paloma. We were three couples and two toddlers and La Paloma was the perfect setting. Safe, quiet and extremely close to the beach. There were great private sitting areas for all and a 'heavenly' outdoor bar/grilling area for entertaining. The house was a short walk to town and dozens of beach bars. Bill and Leslie couldn't have been more gracious hosts, and had the house provisioned wonderfully, including details such as fresh water, flashlights, beach toys for the kids etc. We feel very lucky to have found La Paloma and are looking forward to returning in the very near future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We were delighted that you came to La Paloma and Las Terrenas for the holidays and hope that you will come back soon. We agree that Las Terrenas is a special place and that our location and property is one of the best for families with small children and for travelers without a car.
We enjoyed meeting you all and glad that the six of you found all the many areas to find privacy and together time. We especially enjoy the bar and grill area when we are entertaining at the house and like the choice of using gas or charcoal. Glad that you enjoyed all the good restaurants and great food that Las Terrenas has to offer. You were great explorers.
business
La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431949vbi
+1 603-835-9025
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
4

Vacation house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a lovely time in Las Terrenas and everything was just fine. Unfortunately, it rained (afternoon showers) and the misquitos were awful...I got eaten alive on the back patio...I guess I should be glad I was there as those poor things were starving..very strange misquitos as I never felt them bite, but then I would itch like crazy...lol. all in all we enjoyed our stay very much, the house was lovely, the beds compfy and the a/c was a life saver!! :) Great location ...nice walk to the beach, close to town, and the beach was great...found all sorts of shells, etc..Very well worth anyone wanting to stay there...only I would suggest in the "dry" season when the misquitos are not so hungry...lol :) Thanks everyone associated with this vacation...it was great..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you enjoyed the house, its location and Las Terrenas and do hope that you will come again during a drier month. We enjoy meeting our guests when we are there from November to April.
We're sorry that you were there during a rainy spell. We are not there right now but understand from neighbors and friends that the rain has been excessive and the mosquitoes much thicker than usual because of it. We did have our gardener fumigate two times the week before you came but the rains can make that ineffective. Thank you for your review.
business
La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431949vbi
+1 603-835-9025
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Maine island
5

Wonderful winter escape!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
For anyone seeking a comfortable vacation house in a quiet location near a beautiful beach, this is it! La Paloma's lush setting provides just the right combination of sun and shade and is a wonderful oasis from the busy activity of downtown La Terrenes. The front yard was a favorite spot for enjoying bird activity and coffee; the backyard for evening dining. The kitchen is well equipped, the outside shower divine, and the overall layout perfect for a couple, family, or two couples. Everything was extremely well maintained and Leslie and Bill were fantastic hosts.. The beach is less than a two minute walk away. It was clean, minimally populated, and had many palm trees to provide shade. We walked to many restaurants (beachside and very casual), fruit/veggie stands, and the air conditioned grocery store. No one takes credit cards but there are plenty of ATMs. We rented a scooter for a few days and recommend it. The country side is gorgeous...coffee trees, mango, coconut, etc. Coson beach is another beautiful beach that is about 15 minutes away by scooter, car, or ATV. Good lunch at Luis's. We stayed for 10 days and had great weather...just one rainy day. A beautiful and relaxing vacation for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed your vacation almost as much as you did and hope you will come back to our island. Glad the scooter worked for you around town and getting you to Coson. Yes, the birds are wonderful at breakfast in the front yard. I'm replenishing the nature guides that somehow have disappeared. Great bugs and insects too for the naturalists and lizards galore, fortunately no poisonous snakes. Our gardens have become an oasis in a developing Las Terrenas.
business
La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431949vbi
+1 603-835-9025
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
NYC
5

Perfect Beach Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We spent a memorable week in this tropical paradise at the beginning of April. The house is a perfect walking distance from the beach (especially with young children) and yet close enough to the center of town for shopping and restaurants. The gardens surrounding the house are beautifully maintained and very private. The house itself is clean and spacious enough to accommodate a group of 6 (including 2 children). All of the beds except for the separate twin beds have mosquito netting which is definitely a must have during the season that we stayed. The owners went out of their way to show us around town, offer advice and assistance whenever we asked. Wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely return for another visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We hope that you will come back now that you see how easy it is to get to LT from JFK on JetBlue. It was great to see you, your kids and parents enjoying themselves. Las Terrenas truly does appeal to people of all ages and we feel the house works well for six people in that there are several areas to be private and several spaces to join together. Sorry you were there for that infestation of mosquitoes that occurred after the rainy spell the week before. They are not generally that thick and we do not generally get rainy spells that last as long. Glad that you discovered Coson beach and Luis Restaurant.
business
La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431949vbi
+1 603-835-9025
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Boston
5

Family Reunion in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We, an extended family group of 7, rented La Paloma for 10 days, and also rented the 2br cottage on the other side of the property. This was perfect for the grand-kids (2 and 5) who could safely explore the extensive gardens without need for close supervision and come visit the grand-parents in the cottage without leaving the 1/2 acre compound. This is an ideal property for a family or 2-3 couples in a lovely location, close to the beach and within walking distance to town. La Paloma has a wonderful outdoor shower off the master bath that was perfect to wash off the salt water after returning from the beach. Leslie and Bill were very helpful and great to deal with, particularly as our plans changed and got more complicated due to a big snowstorm delaying our various departures. We all got there eventually and loved it! The house and cottage are separated by extensive gardens, so you will have privacy if you only rent La Paloma. Make sure not to miss Restauant Luis at nearby Playa Coson for a beautiful beach and great food.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We were so glad when you all arrived from London, Boston and New York. That snowstorm certainly made things difficult but we admired your endurance and will to come. We have always thought that La Paloma and El Palomar (guesthouse) would make a fantastic venue for a family reunion and your family certainly proved we were right. I found some little stones laid in a pattern the other day in one of the gardens and thought of your grandchildren playing there. It was wonderful that you all got together and enjoyed beautiful Dominican weather while it snowed and blew up North. We just returned from Luis with some new tenants, everyone loves it!
business
La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431949vbi
+1 603-835-9025
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Paradise

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Paradise!
Left on 11/12/2010 for a stay in March 2010

My first tropical trip staying at a home instead of an all inclusive. I absolutely loved it! It felt like my home away from home. Within minutes we were at the beach and just a short walk away from this incredible village -- fabulous restaurants nestled along the water. Everything is at your fingertips, including buying fish from the locals right off the boat, preparing dinner at the house and dining in the yard under a canopy of twinkling lights. If you are ready to break away from an all inclusive, this is the place to do it. Such a warm, inviting, tropical home! I can't explain the feeling -- to come home to this paradise at the end of the day was an experience I'll never forget!
business
La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431949vbi
+1 603-835-9025
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A Place You Will Never Forget

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
A place you will never forget!
Left on 12/05/2012 for a stay in December 2010

We stayed in this house with 3 couples in December and had an amazing time. The house is beautiful and the land and beach surrounding it are superb. The outdoor shower after the beach or for sunrise showers really make you feel like you are on a true caribbean vacation. The owners of the house are willing to help guide you to interesting places for food, hikes, shopping etc. I would definitely recommend this place. You can find an interesting array of food just outside your door from fresh fish that you can grill at the house, italian or french cuisine from the ex pats there or local dominican fare. Its a true adventure!