Canal District house boat rental - The prinsenboat bed room entrance
The prinsenboat bed room entrance
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Canal District House Boat Rental Photos and Description
Offers all modern conveniences in relaxed residential area in centre

On The Prinsenboat we take pride in offering you a house boat residence that is warm, inviting, and comfortable. From the first day of your arrival to the last day you stay with us, we will do our utmost to make sure that your experience is all that you wanted. If you’re celebrating an event, a birthday, anniversary or a reunion let us help you make it a unique experience.

The Prinsenboat in Amsterdam centre offers all modern conveniences and a water level view of the beautiful 17th century Prinsengracht. All major sites of the city within 10 minutes walking.

We can accommodate up to four people, with a living room with sleeping sofa, kitchen with dinning table, bathroom, bedroom and of course all of the conveniences that you would expect: central heating, full galley, cable and stereo, unlimited free internet access with your laptop

Children enjoy the Prinsenboat as much or even more as adults. They love the small boats passing by and are thrilled by the life on the water. Welcome!

27 Reviews of Property 431450 in Canal District, Netherlands

Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
average rating of 4.68 based on 27 reviews
business
Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431450
+31 627314424
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Wonderful charming houseboat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We immediately fell in love with the Prinsenboat due to its lovely charm and perfect location. It was quite clean. The owner Peter met us when we checked in and was very helpful and accommodating to our early check-in arrival. The boat has everything one needs to be warm, clean and comfortable. The shower had good hot water, and the kitchen has everything one needs to prepare a meal. The bed is large and very comfortable. In addition, the location was brilliant; right on the Prinsengracht, and also on a street that had lots of great little restaurants and shops and also nearby the Rembrandtplein. We would definitely return, and also would highly recommend the houseboat to couples, perhaps with a child, or singles on a getaway.
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431450
+31 627314424
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Loved it~

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I loved my stay. I was welcomed with a bottle of wine and fresh roses, zinnias and tulips, of course. The location was safe and convenient. The houseboat was comfortable and everything I needed. I would most certainly recommend this as a place to stay whilst in Amsterdam. My favorite memory was a beautiful swan swimming by in the dark. Wish I had gotten a pic.
Owner's Response: Dear guest,
Thank you! We love your review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431450
+31 627314424
Canal District Amsterdam
5

A magical place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was our second stay on the Prinsenboat. The boat is perfect for our needs and well-maintained. The bed is super-comfortable! The kitchen is well-equipped. Linens and towels are supplied. Peter has always been very responsive to our questions. Beautiful views of the canal and boat traffic passing by. The location cannot be beat! Literally 10-15 minutes walk to everywhere you would want to be in Amsterdam. Also conveniently located right at the tram stop for line 4. Nice restaurants and shops are close by. There is a grocery store a block away. If you are looking for mini-bars, maid service and room service, this is not your place. If you are looking for a private, cozy, well-located, beautiful houseboat...this is the place! We will be back again in 2015!
Owner's Response: Dear Guests,

Thanks for the great review. We look forward to having you back next year!!

Best regards, Peter
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431450
+31 627314424
Canal District Amsterdam
5

One of The Best Kept Secrets In Amsterdam!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
So after a crazy year coupled with the madness of Christmas, my partner and I decided to leave the children behind and sneak of to the Dam for a romantic break - which loosely translated equates to, two nights of undisturbed sleep!

The pièce de résistance of this accommodation is the ‘Bed’. Not sure what size it is, as I wasn’t aware of anything bigger than King - but the bed on the Prisenboat is huge and extremely comfortable. No duvet-tug-of-war on this trip! That coupled with the dark mahogany furniture, made this boat so aesthetically pleasing. It had real warmth and almost rustic feel to it.

We visit Amsterdam regularly mostly staying in hotels. However we wanted to relax and be able to come and go at our leisure.
The Priesenboat surpassed our expectations.

Firstly it is in a great location, really easy to get to. It was New Years Day and late into the evening when we arrived so on this occasion we opted for a cab. However next time we would do, what we normally do and take a train from the airport into Amsterdam Central and jumped on the tram, number 4, I think and it literally stops outside the front door.

The boat itself is lovely. My main concern at this time of year was the cold but I needn’t have worried as the boat is centrally heated –and it works!

The bathroom is small but clean and the shower works tremendously.

It has everything you could need in order to self cater: Microwave, Hob, Fridge - no oven – but that’s not necessary just worth remembering when you go food shopping.

The kitchen is well equipped with utensils, pots pans etc. What was nice was that guest left what they didn’t use i.e. fresh coffee, sugar, washing up liquid etc.. nice touch and saved you some money. There are however two supermarkets within walking distance.

If you don’t feel like cooking there are an array of restaurant on the high street, out of the front door turn right, turn right again and take your pick! Or you can jump the tram to pretty much anywhere. Brilliant!

All in all, I think I can honestly say that this was our best stay in Amsterdam to date! For us it was absolutely perfect - a short romantic break. I would however imagine it would be equally as fun if you were a family and took the kids – something we are considering next.

Point to note – The owner was thoroughly charming throughout the booking process and we looking forward to booking with you again.
Owner's Response: Dear guests,

Take you for your marvellous and extensive review!
We certainly hope to see you back.

Best regards, Peter
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431450
+31 627314424
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Sweet slumber so close to EVERYTHING!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at Peter Woundstra's "Prinsenboat" in December 2013 for 7 nights. (Don't get confused with another boat claiming this name. There is only one Prinsenboat near the Prinsengracht tram station.)The neighborhood is sweet and quiet yet hip, with lovely little boutiques, delis, brown cafes, restaurants, and bars. I have been to Amsterdam many times but this was the best location I've ever stayed.
The boat itself looks unassuming from the outside, but who stays in a hotel only to look at it from the outside?! The key is being inside this cozy place. You feel like you're in a different world. The windows are bigger than some boats. Like true locals we opened our curtains and dined in at dusk with lovely lighting and watched a few tour boats pass, waving at us. The swans, ducks and other birds came to eat our leftover bread. The kitchen was well-stocked with pans, utensils, etc. and there is an Albert Heijn store just a block away to buy food to cook.The wifi worked GREAT, the tv offered a large variety of European channels in every language.
The beautiful bed is so comfortable. After traveling in the Netherlands for 5 weeks, this was our last stop and the best rest of the trip.
Peter is a wonderful host. His daughter welcomed us upon arrival and let us know that she would be a phone call away if we needed anything.
On future trips, I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else and I plan to share this sweet place with all of my friends, family and colleagues.
Thank you Peter! Your Prinsenboat is truly special.
Susan E., Twin Falls, ID, USA
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431450
+31 627314424
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Autumn on the Prinsenboat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My family have just enjoyed a great stay on the Prinsenboat. A great location with all the main sights in easy walking distance. Lovely cafes, restaurants and shops literally on the doorstep.Having stayed in Amsterdam a few times before this was definetely my favouite place. Our boys loved being on a houseboat and feeding the ducks every morning. Peter could not have been a better host and we had everything we needed for a relaxing stay.
Owner's Response: Dear guests,

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Peter
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431450
+31 627314424
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Prinsenboat, Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We have stayed in some pretty amazing places in the world, including an over-water bungalow in the South Pacific - yet spending 6 nights on the Prinsenboat was the most unique experience we've ever had.

Staying on a houseboat in a canal is NOT for everyone. You are right off a street, with the noise of people, street cars, & some car traffic. There are boats going by your front windows most of the day & evening, & if you leave your blinds open, you are on display. You don't have a lot of room, & the bath is tiny. HOWEVER - if it's a really different travel experience you're after, Prinsenboat cannot be beat.

We loved every aspect of our week on Prinsenboat: watching the tourist boats go by, with people waving (& sometimes taking our picture), watching the working boats go by. The neighborhood couldn't be better for travelers, with many wonderful restaurants within a few hundred feet of the boat, as well as good grocery stores, specialty dessert shops, & take-out restaurants that we will truly miss.

As Amsterdam goes, it's really pretty quiet on the Prinsengracht Canal. We felt very safe on the boat, as well as walking around the neighborhood (& really, in all of Amsterdam). You have a lot of privacy, in spite of the windows right at water level. You do not share the boat with anyone else - as with many of the other houseboats for rent in Amsterdam. The ducks & swans come & beg for bread, & are completely tuned in to the opening of the window shades each morning.

The kitchen is handy, with everything you need, unless you're cooking big meals, which we did not do. The bathroom is tiny - as it is in all houseboats - but adequate, with lots of hot water & excellent water pressure. The heat is fast & responsive, & we were quite comfortable. The bed is huge, which is another unique thing here. We loved the wood enclosure, which makes you feel as if you're in a tent, & very cozy - yet there's a tall window inside to open for evening breezes.

In addition, Peter, the owner of Prinsenboat, was very kind & concerned about our needs. We hated leaving, loved our stay on the boat - as well as Amsterdam in general. A beautiful & unique place!
Owner's Response: Dear Guests,
Thank you for such a extensive review!
You are definitely describing the right ambiance of The Prinsenboat;
"a really different travel experience"
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Peter
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431450
+31 627314424
Canal District Amsterdam
San Francisco
2

Life in a worn college dorm.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Do not be deceived by pictures! Bed is hard foam, furniture is worn & falling apart , door on cabinet fell off & couch is torn. Only thing remodeled is bathroom, shower is nice. I've rented many boats in Amsterdam and this is not a good value.
Peter was nice and brought a new piece of foam for bed but it was a rock!
Peter provides 'Car Service' , but he picks you up in his worn out car, that's NOT car service! Take a taxi!
Owner's Response: Dear Mr. and Mrs. B,

Well, you cannot please everybody. That is a known fact but you are really the limit!

The pictures on the internet are exactly as The Prinsenboat is.
I remember you all to well especially your way of communicating; very demanding. Demanding me buying a new mattress, for your three night stay, on a Saturday night.

In all the years of the Prinsenboat nobody ever complaint about the mattress. On the contrary people slept that well that they asked where they could buy it!
But I understand everybody has his or her sleeping preferences. No problem there.
I brought you an other mattress which was acceptable to you as you emailed.

It is very clear The Prinsenboat is non smoking. You were smoking inside!

What I cannot understand is what caused you to leave
- a hole in the wall!
-The mechanism of flushing the toilet inside the toilet reservoir broken. (The only way this can happen is if you want to tear off the lit of the reservoir.)
-The toaster almost melted!
-And a sheet destroyed........

I wonder why the door of the cabinet fell off.......

The cover of the couch has had it's best days that is true but with guests who do not take care of things I really have think twice if not three times before I change the cover!

You requested a car service to pick you up from the airport. I did not offer it you! This service started with you because you asked.
I did comply with your request and picked you up from the airport where you were the last ones to come out of the gate.
Although it is no fun to wait for more then an hour to be able to drive you to The Prinsenboat, no problem there.
Inside the Audi A4 with which I picked you up I did not hear you complain.

Yes, please, guests with your attitude take a taxi!!!

Best regards,
Peter
Helpful votes: 1/12
business
Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431450
+31 627314424
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Fab time in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a great few days on the Prinsenboat. Stayed with my husband and three young children - bit of a squeeze but a great place to stay in terms of location and uniqueness factor! The boat was lovely and warm (one of our main concerns considering a February visit!) and was well equipped. We got there easily on public transport - walked back to Central Station at the end of our stay where we saw the less 'family side' of Amsterdam! Would really recommend a trip to Amsterdam with children and would have no hesitation recommending a stay on this house boat.
Owner's Response: Good to hear you had a good time with the children.
Thanks for the review and hope to see you back!

Best regards, Peter
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Prinsenboat, Amsterdam house boat on 17th centuary Prinsengracht
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431450
+31 627314424
Canal District Amsterdam
4

Fabulous!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed on the Prinsenboat for 5 days and enjoyed every minute. It's in a great location, close to stores, pubs, parks and museums. As it has a stove, fridge and microwave, we were able to cook every day. And with the local markets, we had great produce and ingredients. Its very charming and extremely clean. Peter was helpful and provided a lot of information. We would definitely recommend the Prinsenboat for a wonderful, unique getaway.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your nice review. Hope to see you again!
Best regards, Peter
Helpful votes: 15/15