Uvita house rental - Rainforest and Ocean Views
Rainforest and Ocean Views
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Uvita House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 4 Baths (Sleeps 6)

Casa Uvita, located in Uvita, Puntarenas, Costa Rica, is a beautiful 3-bedroom, 4-bathroom eco-home with a maximum capacity of six guests. It sits on the edge of primary rainforest, only 8 minutes from the Marino Ballena National Park beaches. Casa Uvita is close enough to modern conveniences, but far enough to be immersed in the sights and sounds of Costa Rica's tropical wildlife. The spacious, indoor/outdoor, two-story home is luxuriously outfitted with wooden floors, high ceilings, large windows and upscale bathrooms. The top floor has a master suite, two additional bedrooms, two balconies, and sitting and dining areas. Each bedroom has its own private bathroom. Downstairs, there is a fully equipped kitchen, living and dining areas, and covered porches. Spectacular forest and stunning Pacific Ocean views can be seen from every area of the house. Common sightings include howler monkeys, sloths, toucans, aracaris, and parrots. Hike to nearby waterfalls or lounge in your hammock to enjoy the forest sights and sounds. Casa Uvita is completely self-sustaining, using solar energy and water from a natural spring. 24/7 security; daily housekeeping.

Michele González, co-owner and visionary of Casa Uvita, is a bilingual teacher, adventure travel guide and public health professional. When she is not on her bike, swimming, bird watching or beach running with Casa Uvita guests, Michele works as an international health and education consultant throughout Latin America. Antonio Arroyo, co-owner, is a construction genius, currently working in northern California and at Casa Uvita. He is both the design and muscle behind Casa Uvita. When Antonio is not designing or building something fabulous, you can find him cooking gourmet meals for friends and family.

Michele Gonzalez purchased this house in 2012

Welcome to Casa Uvita. Our hope is that guests will forever remember the vast beauty of this mountain, its wildlife, the ocean views and of course, Casa Uvita. Whether you are an active traveler, or you just want to lie in a hammock, Casa Uvita will leave you with memories for a lifetime.

The house is completely self-sustaining, using solar energy and water from a natural spring. From its two balconies enjoy the stunning Pacific Ocean views and world-class birding.

19 Reviews of Property 431352 in Uvita, Costa Rica

Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
business
Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431352vbi
9259181332
Uvita Puntarenas
Michigan, USA
5

Just what we were looking for

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We are coming to the end of our month at Casa Uvita, and we will be sad to go. It has been an amazing adventure! And a true home away from home. As we round the corner coming up the mountain and see the beautiful flowers cascading over the bank, we know we are back to our refuge. The house is beautifully designed to make you feel like you are a part of the rain forest--almost like being outside all the time. The wood floors and ceilings and woodwork and furniture are exquisite--and immaculately clean! The daily light housekeeping was far from light!
The best treat was just sitting on whatever deck had the best ocean breezes at the moment and watching and listening to the forest life around us. Howler monkeys, white-faced capuchin monkeys, toucans, aracaris, mealy parrots, and even a Scarlet Macaw. We could hear the sound of the surf, even from our bed. Owls hooted at night.
Just a short drive down the mountain and across the highway and we could walk the long beach out to the whale's tale at low tide. It was the perfect place for swimming, as the waves were minimal.
Michele was a great host, always ready to help with anything we needed, and wanting to make our stay perfect. Consuelo, besides keeping everything so spotless, taught us how to make tortillas and pizza dough and chicken asado. Gerardo found the sloth for us, whenever it was around. Alison was a joy, practicing her English on us. And Keylor has the internet connection in great working order! We even shared some "extended family" meals together.
The Uvita/Ojochal/Dominical area has many fine restaurants. Michele will be happy to pass on our recommendations.
We can't imagine a better place to have started learning to be retired.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: You truly became part of our family at Casa Uvita. Your "good vibes," patience and quiet demeanor led to you spotting sloths, toucans, aracaris, slaty tailed trogans, mealy parrots, capuchins, howlers, and yes...that elusive scarlet macaw. You taught us all that retirement means finally having time to enjoy life, nature, and better yet, one another. Ching, ching!
business
Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431352vbi
9259181332
Uvita Puntarenas
San Francisco, CA, USA
5

Paradise in the Costa Rica rainforest!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Casa Uvita is a deluxe, rustic hideaway in the Costa Rican rainforest. If the use of "deluxe" and "rustic" in the same sentence seems a contradiction in terms, then you must experience Casa Uvita for yourselves and discover that yes, you can have it all even in the middle of a Central American jungle.

Large and open-aired, Casa Uvita is situated on a slight hill above the road that continues on up a mountain. Three patios—a large patio next to the kitchen on the ground floor, another large patio on the second floor and another smaller patio outside the main bedroom—afford the traveler views to the west and the Pacific Ocean. The views are framed by tall jungle trees that become populated by exotic birds at sunset.

Caretaker Michele Gonzales calls the time beginning around four p.m. "the magic hour" and deservedly so.

The "show" began with a group of six howler monkeys foraging for food high up in the trees and easily visible from la casa. As we looked at the monkeys through binoculars, Chestnut-mandibled toucans, Blue-gray tanagers, bright green Mealy parrots, Fiery-billed Aracaris and Slaty-tailed trogons began to land in the trees to the west of the property. (One afternoon, a pair of Chestnut-mandibles toucans landed on a tree branch almost within reaching distance from a porch deck.) The colorful birds, setting sun and mighty Pacific Ocean provided a setting of natural beauty truly beyond words.

Unseen cicadas are also everywhere; you may never see them, but they certainly let you know they're there. Alpha male howler monkeys also begin to roar as sunset approaches. A half hour or so after one sunset, I realized that the howling alpha males had reduced in number to one. The jungle reverberated from the bellowing of this "King of the Jungle" until he decided he'd had enough of a say for that day.

Casa Uvita is also across the highway from Marina Bellena National Park beach, home of the natural wonder known as "the whale's tail." The beaches are wide and the ocean floor slopes slowly and gently into deeper water. The water is "bathtub warm."

We stayed at Casa Uvita during the dry season. Whether you choose to travel to Casa Uvita during the wet or dry seasons, we were advised that a piece of key advice for travelers is to bring plenty of "quick dry" clothing. The weather is warm and humid in the dry season and warm and wet, wet, wet in the wet season.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at Casa Uvita. It's so great when my guests get into learning about the rainforest -- trees, bugs, birds and monkeys. You guys saw it all! The only thing that escaped you was a sloth! So great to meet you and I hope to see you again! Pura vida!
business
Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431352vbi
9259181332
Uvita Puntarenas
Bad Rodach, Germany
5

Our first choice in Uvita

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We have spent 5 nights in Casa Uvita in December 2013.
The house:
We have already been to several vacation rentals in Costa Rica. This only 3 years old house was the best equipped and best maintained by far. There was a complimentary “light cleaning” every day what is very unusual in vacation rentals.
Everything is very well conceived. The ocean views from patio and bedroom are stunning. The bathrooms are modern and elegant and the tap water is drinkable. The bedrooms have comfortable beds and are open, only protected from bugs by screens. So they are very well aerated and we never missed an AC although there were more than 30°C outside. The WIFI works solidly and for the addicted there is also a TV. Also there laundry facilities downstairs in the house (operated by the owner).
Location:
The house is located ca. 270m above sea level. To the beach with its bars and restaurants and to the next supermarket it is a 5 minute drive downhill. A car with some ground clearance is recommended. The great advantage of this location is to have a gorgeous ocean view apart from the hustle and bustle of the (at least in December) busy tourist town Uvita. The house is surrounded by primary forest which is a bird paradise (lots of toucans, parrots and many more). Additionally during our stay howler monkeys were around the house every day (including “wake up service”). On the property there is also the housekeeper Carlos living in a smaller house ca. 50m away what made us feel very save. He is always ready to assist you with whatever you need. We did a hike in the area with him where he showed us a hidden waterfall that was wonderful to swim in.
If we will return to Uvita one day Casa Uvita will be without of any alternative for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was great to have you visit us from Germany. I know you were looking for a peaceful place surrounded by nature, and I'm glad the parrots, toucans, monkeys, etc. did not let you down. Those howlers never disappoint you with their "wake-up service." Pura vida!
business
Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431352vbi
9259181332
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Rustic Nature Setting or Luxury? At Casa Uvita You Can Have It All!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Wow, Casa Uvita was all we hoped for from reading the reviews, and more! First, the house itself is gorgeous. It is amazing to be in such a remote and eco-conscious place, completely off the grid, and yet experience such luxury. Secondly, the setting is fabulous. Just sitting on the deck, taking in the view and the sights and sounds of the jungle, was all we needed to make our vacation a huge success. We saw wonderful birds, monkeys and even a sloth – no need to go to a crowded park; it was all right there in our front and back yard! The wildlife is especially amazing at dusk and dawn – we really miss waking to the sounds of the howler monkeys!
If you want to do more (though you don’t really need to in order to have a great visit), there are so many options – beautiful hikes, picture postcard perfect beaches, waterfalls and swimming holes all to yourself, kayak and snorkeling adventures, and great restaurants (though we mostly ate in – the store is right at the bottom of the road, the kitchen is lovely and there is an outdoor BBQ).
And these are just the things we managed to fit into 4 days at Casa Uvita – we need to come back and stay longer! The best part: our hostess, Michele, was so warm, welcoming and happy to help us plan our days of adventure. We never would have discovered a fraction of the area on our own. She will tell you the best place to hike at low tide, the best beach spot for the sunset, the best guides in the area, the best restaurants, whatever your heart desires. Her sense of wonder, excitement and passion for protecting the environment are infectious. Thank you, Michele, for the best visit to Costa Rica imaginable!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I was thrilled to have guests so interested in learning about the birds, monkeys, and bugs! You came prepared to hike, snorkel and beach comb, but I'm glad you also found some time to simply sit on the deck and take in the views and endless sounds. Pura vida!
business
Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431352vbi
9259181332
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Nature pure - fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed one week with 6 people and we loved it, especially since it is in the middle of the nature, hearing the sounds of the animals day and night. We especially appreciated the fact that the house basically made out of wood and was built very "open" (no windows) to enjoy the nature the very best way.

We also liked the solar energy concept, since makes you more aware of where and when you consume electricity, and will help all of us during our normal daily life - so, well done Michele! Michele is very engaged and does everything to be the perfect host, which was very much appreciated.

Overall, we found that the house offers very good value for money and is spotless clean. Strongly recommendable!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was so great to have you visit from Switzerland! You all were troopers, taking advantage to explore this southern Pacific region of Costa Rica--mangroves, the Whale's Tail, waterfalls, Boruca Indian reserve, Manuel Antonio and Dominical at sunset. I hope to see your beautiful family back here some day!
business
Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431352vbi
9259181332
Uvita Puntarenas
Tulsa, OK
4

Costa Rica Christmas

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family had a wonderful time celebrating Christmas at Casa Uvita. The house is beautiful, comfortable and very spacious. The kitchen and patio/balcony areas allowed us to fully enjoy the warm weather and the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Carlos cooks a wonderful breakfast and will go out of his way to find wildlife (sloths, howler monkeys, birds) for you to view in the nearby trees. Michele helped us to book a great rafting trip and a fabulously successful fishing trip (6 Mahi-Mahi). She knows the guides personally so it added to our comfort level not having to wonder if we would have safe, fun experiences. My only suggestions: if you are looking for all the modern conveniences of home, i.e. air conditioning, hair dryers, curling irons, etc., you will not find them at Casa Uvita. The solar power that provides the electrical service to the house can not support these things. However, we did not miss any of this during our 5 day stay, not even the air conditioning. Despite the warm daytime temps, the house cooled off nicely in the evenings and the bedroom ceiling fans were adequate to provide comfortable sleep. This was the 6th property we have rented through VRBO and similar websites and it was by far the best!!! We would love to return someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was great to spend the holidays with you and your family. Casa Uvita certainly is the perfect haven for nature lovers. Thank you so much for sharing all of your fresh mahi-mahi with the neighbors on the mountain--you guys are legends! PURA VIDA!
business
Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431352vbi
9259181332
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Amazing House - Gorgeous Views - Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We loved our stay at Casa Uvita. The house was amazing and provided views of the ocean and the surrounding rainforest. The covered patio was a perfect setting for relaxing with a morning cup of coffee as we discussed the days activities or in the evening as we looked through the dozens of pictures we had taken that day. Casa Uvita was a great location for our many adventures - walking on the beach, surfing, whitewater rafting and of course hiking. At the top of our list was a hike led by Carlos to the waterfalls. The expedition took us to one of the most beautiful places I had ever experienced.

We enjoyed waking each morning to the sounds of Howler Monkeys, Parrots and Toucans. Several mornings we all rushed to see the Sloth that had set up camp in the tree next to the house. Staying at Casa Uvita, you really felt like you were in the middle of this beautiful and remote location and yet we were only a 10 minute drive down the road to town where we could get groceries, dine or have a cocktail.

Our hosts were wonderful. Michele provided excellent recommendations on activities and dining. We appreciated her assistance in making arrangements for our excursions. We loved Carlos. It was such a treat to have the coffee ready each morning - thank you Carlos. He also prepared morning breakfast and Pina Coladas on several occasions.

Our two favorite places to eat in the area were Exotica and the Goat House. Very close and great food. For those wanting to learn to surf, we suggest Bodhi Surf School. They were wonderful. For whitewater rafting - Authentic Adventures was excellent.

We will definitely be back to the area and plan to stay at Casa Uvita. This is truly a hidden treasure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was wonderful to have you and your extended family here at Casa Uvita. We, along with the sloths, monkeys, toucans, etc., will all be waiting for you when you return (Bella and Duquesa too). Best wishes for the New Year.
business
Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431352vbi
9259181332
Uvita Puntarenas
San Francisco, CA
5

Excellent Honeymoon Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I stayed at Casa Uvita during the first leg of our honeymoon, and we absolutely LOVED it! We spent 5 days and 5 nights there, and easily could have stayed 5 more. The house itself is a work of art, handcrafted to complete perfection. The hardwood floors, the pitched ceilings, the patios, the balconies, the perfectly appointed kitchen- even the decorations and furniture. Everything about this house is gorgeous.

As the description says, it is indeed located in the rainforest. While the location of the property feels very remote and allows you to feel alone in nature, it is only 1.5 miles from the center of Uvita, and is just a 10 minute drive to the beach. Every night we fell asleep to the hum of the forest, and every morning we awoke to a symphony of birds, and occasionally the loud bark of a howler monkey, or a crack of thunder.

Our groundskeeper, Carlos, was an excellent host. He made us breakfast and coffee every single morning, and on one occasion he even made us arroz con leche. It was like having dessert for breakfast. Totally amazing. In addition, he was always around to blend up a round of pina coladas, or if we were feeling adventurous, on a breathtaking waterfall hike! He even took us to meet one of the neighbors, Lobo, who let us eat fruit from his trees.

We really felt at home at Casa Uvita, and truly can't wait to return! I recommend this home to anyone is looking to get away from it all and take in nature, but also to anyone who wants to be close enough to actually enjoy what the town of Uvita has to offer!

Thanks to everyone at Casa Uvita for making our honeymoon truly special!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. It was such a pleasure to have you two honeymooners at Casa Uvita! Don't forget, we're always available for anniversaries or other special romantic celebrations! Best of luck as you begin your life together!
business
Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431352vbi
9259181332
Uvita Puntarenas
Chicago
5

Fabulous secluded house, fun hosts, and a killer view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I spent three wonderful days here while traveling through southern Costa Rica. What we loved most was the house's open-air design and its mountainside seclusion. The home was built to capitalize on a stunning ocean view, which you get from the kitchen, outdoor patio, upstairs balconies, and the master bedroom. Michele, the owner, pointed out that she could have added Pacific sunsets to the view but preferred to preserve the towering trees that block the western horizon. Good choice. That kind of preservation-minded development is exactly what we need more of -- especially in paradise destinations like Uvita.
With three bedrooms, Casa Uvita was definitely more casa than the two of us needed. But for the price it was great to have such a spacious place to ourselves. The house is brand new, comfortable, and thoughtfully decorated. Michele was an energetic and hands-on host, helping us line up stand-up paddle boarding lessons and making fantastic recommendations on beaches to visit and restaurants to check out. She even agreed to pick up fresh-caught red snapper for us while running errands in nearby Dominical then cooked us a wonderful meal. In exchange she only asked that we provide the head of the fish and any leftover fillets to the men at work on her second house next door. No problem.
One of the men, Carlos, is the full-time groundskeeper, handyman, and chef at Casa Uvita. By the time the howler monkeys got around to waking us up each morning, Carlos would already be tip-toeing through the kitchen preparing us strong coffee, platters of fresh fruit, omelets or his signature arepas. I can also vouch for his piña coladas -- killer. Ask Carlos to lead you up the mountain to the waterfall and have a crisp morning swim. Now that's pura vida.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Uvita: Rainforest & Ocean Views, Eco-Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431352vbi
9259181332
Uvita Puntarenas
Pacifica, CA
5

Beautiful House in a Nature Lover's Paradise

Beautiful House in a Nature Lover's Paradise
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
As the previous reviewers described, Casa Uvita is an awesome and very safe place to stay for kids. It’s a beautiful house located in the jungle just a minutes from waterfalls and gorgeous kid-friendly beaches. Besides a few pigmy kingfishers, cranes, herons, iguanas, and crabs, you will have the beach to yourself. I can go on and on about how Casa Uvita is the perfect getaway but the previous reviewers do a great job doing that already.

The most unexpected and most cherished part of our stay at Casa Uvita was getting to know the owner Michele and her housekeeper Carlos. Michele made sure our stay was perfect. She knows all the guides in town, so whether you want to fish, kayak, surf, bird watch or visit a coffee plantation, she will connect with the friendliest locals in Costa Rica. Carlos instantly became a favorite of our kids (two boys, ages 4 and 10). He treated us with the tastiest huevos rancheros in the morning and pina coladas at night. He was eager to search the yard for bugs and frogs with my 10 yr old who felt like he was staying “in a page out of a National Geographic magazine”.

What impressed me most about Michele was her dedication to keep the landscape of Costa Rica pristine. Casa Uvita is located in the heart of coop dedicated to keeping the primary forest intact. Because of this, the howler monkeys can be heard howling loudly on the mountain where Casa Uvita is nestled; we saw them swinging through the trees on the property on several occasions. The howler monkey population is in serious decline in Costa Rica so it’s inspiring to know that Michele is making a tangible, heroic difference to ensure the population stays in Uvita. I am a biologist and I learned more about the critters of the jungle from Michele (who is not a biologist) than from any book or professor in college.

Finally, I think the people of Uvita are just great. All of the locals were very nice and accommodating. There is a genuine feeling of caring, community and responsibility for this beautiful slice of paradise.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children