Sneem cottage rental - Heather, holly, montbretia, bamboo, ferns, rhododendron.....glorious colours.
Heather, holly, montbretia, bamboo, ferns, rhododendron.....glorious colours.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Sneem Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 en suite-bedroomed luxury self-catering private holiday home near Sneem.

Sneem Secret Harbour is a superb luxury hideaway overlooking the sea in the beautiful area of Oysterbed on the Ring of Kerry. Just 3km from Sneem village, it is very convenient to shops, bars, restaurants and other facilities. The Ring of Kerry is unsurpassed for its natural beauty and the house, located on a large, private, elevated site takes full advantage of this wonderful scenery, providing breathtaking views of the sea and mountains.

Sneem Secret Harbour is the perfect choice for guests seeking relaxation and absolute peace and quiet, in a very private and exclusive setting, with an excellent choice of shops, restaurants and bars nearby. The area also offers a huge variety of outdoor pursuits to cater for all ages and interests.

See below for more details.

We meet our guests on arrival and take great care to personally ensure that we are welcoming you to a home that is supremely comfortable, superbly equipped, luxuriously relaxing and spotlessly clean so that you can make the very most of every moment of your stay and truly enjoy this 'little piece of heaven' that is Sneem Secret Harbour.

HOUSE.

We built the house in 2007. It is located towards the end of a short, quiet cul-de-sac, on an elevated site overlooking the sea. Sneem Secret Harbour is the only house on our 7 acres of private, unspoilt natural countryside that is covered in red sandstone rock outcrops, with stands of birch, willow, holly, rowan, rhododendron, furze, ferns and heathers that provide glorious colour all year round and give home to a wonderful selection of all kinds of wildlife, that you can observe, especially first thing in the morning, with the help of the binoculars that we provide for your convenience.

The house has a traditional stone finish on the outside while the interior is modern and contemporary with a palette of colours, plants, pictures and furnishings that is warm, welcoming and wonderfully relaxing. It is superbly equipped and with constant care and attention to detail we try to ensure that our guests have everything necessary to provide a luxuriously relaxing and memorable stay.

A paved patio area, with furniture, runs along the entire rear of the house that is south facing and enjoys sunshine all day.

One upstairs bedroom opens on to a large first floor deck that can also be accessed by means of an outside stairway. Here you can enjoy spectacular views of the grounds and the surrounding sea and mountains. This deck area is very peaceful and completely private - a perfect place for reading or painting, enjoying a coffee in the morning sunshine or a quiet relaxing drink in the evening.

ACTIVITIES.

For outdoors, the options are unlimited - the beach, swimming, snorkelling, windsurfing, canoeing, boating, fishing, hillwalking, cycling, golfing, horse riding, walking, birdwatching, painting, boat trips, sightseeing ....and indoors, reading, painting (art materials are provided), music, luxury spa treatments in the nearby hotels - all available locally and easily organised. Do let us know if you have a hobby or an interest in any particular activity that you would like to do during your stay - we will be delighted to advise you on the best local operators and help you book/organise the activities in advance of your arrival, if necessary.

WALKING and hiking are a huge part of the great outdoors in this area. There is an incredible choice and variety of walks and treks and never enough time! We are keen walkers (we met hillwalking and got married on top of a mountain). We provide maps and can suggest some wonderful looped walks in the area. Walking maps are also available from Sneem Tourist Office and the Geopark Centre in the village, and walking guides can be arranged, if required. The Kerry Way practically passes our door and at over 200 km, it is one of Ireland's longest signposted walking trails and also one of the most popular. It passes through some of the most beautiful and dramatic countryside and offers a spectacular choice of gentle or rugged routes - from beaches to mountains, short trails to 4 day treks! Sneem is surrounded by mountains and Ireland's highest peak, Carrantouhill (1039 metres) and the Macgillacuddy Reeks are visible from the deck and are within easy daily driving distance from the house. Further afield on the Dingle Penninsula is Mount Brandon, Ireland's second highest mountain.

KAYAKING, Snorkelling and Diving is available at nearby Oysterbed harbour, and with its myriad of islands it is a truly magical place for these activities. We are familiar with some of the Kayaking and Dive centres in the area and we will be happy to assist you in planning your activities. The bay is sheltered and safe, and enjoys the benefits of the Gulf Stream with some wonderful wildlife - look out for the curious residents.....seals, herons, cormorants, oyster catchers and also the dolphins that regularly visit the harbour. Remember also to look up and you may indeed spot the White Tailed Eagles that have recently been re-introduced into Ireland after an absence of almost 100 years. These majestic birds are regular visitors flying directly over the house and on to Oysterbed Harbour on their foraging route between Killarney National Park and Kenmare Bay.

FISHING. Kerry is a paradise for anglers and you'll be spoilt for choice! If you ever dreamt of catching a salmon, then catch your first salmon while staying with us! We can put you in contact with some of the local Fisheries Managers and help you organise everything that you will need - boats, rods, gear, licenses, ghillies, etc. for a perfect day's fishing. If you would like to try some sea fishing, we can recommend some local boat operators to take you out the bay for a memorable experience.

PLACES.

SNEEM, (meaning ‘knot’ in Irish) is called ‘The Knot in the Ring’ and is just 3km from the house, convenient for shops, bars, restaurants and other facilities. It is the ideal location for guests looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life. The village is divided in the middle by a bridge over the falls in the Sneem River and this bridge forms the focal point of the village and provides dramatic views. Sneem has all the necessary services of any small town or village along with lots of interesting shops, restaurants, cafes, a 4 Star hotel, and a wonderful selection of traditional Irish pubs. These serve terrific food at reasonable prices, have regular live traditional Irish music sessions and always a friendly welcome. Try D. O'Shea's pub in the North Square where Gearbhan and Mary will give you a very warm welcome, a great pint of Guinness and wonderful food that is served all day and can be enjoyed sitting beside a roasting turf fire if the weather is cold, or in the sunshine out on the deck overlooking the Sneem River.

Take only a short stroll from the house and the road ends at OYSTERBED PIER. The scenery here is breathtaking and a stroll to the pier early in the morning, where you can sit and soak up the silence, is heavenly. It is also a lovely place for swimming. Chat to some of the local fishermen who operate their boats from the pier, and from whom you can buy some fresh fish from their daily catch. If you would like to explore the bay or try some sea angling, we can suggest some local operators who do boat trips out the bay for sightseeing and fishing.

Less than 2km from the house is the 5-Star PARKNASILLA Hotel and Spa, with its magnificent gardens, golf course and labyrinth of walks. This is one of Europe's finest hotels and has a rich heritage dating back to 1692. George Bernard Shaw described Parknasilla as a place that ‘does not belong to any world that you and I have ever worked or lived in. It is part of our dream world’ It is a nearby gem that you simply must visit. 'Parknasilla' comes from the Irish ‘Pairc na Saileac’, meaning ‘Field of the Willow Trees’. The marked pathways and tracks that wind through the hotel's extensive woodlands and islands are set amid spectacular, lush scenery. The walks are designed so that you can choose a short walk lasting about 30 minutes or a longer route taking up to 2 hours. When you finish up back at the hotel, you can then reward yourself with a drink in the bar or afternoon tea and sit back, relax and enjoy the wonderful ambiance and comfort of this unique hotel. Non-residents are very welcome to also enjoy the hotel's pool, gym and spa facilities.

MUCKROSS HOUSE & Gardens in the Killarney National Park is a spectacular 45 minute drive from the house, taking the R568 road from Sneem via Molls Gap. Stop along the way for coffee and pancakes at The Strawberry Field, or for lunch in the Avoca restaurant at Molls Gap and enjoy what must be one of the most spectacular scenic views from any table! Give yourself lots of time to explore Muckross - the gardens are magnificent (no entrance charge), the restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced and Muckross House is wonderful (entrance charge to the house).

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 431194 in Sneem, Ireland

Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431194
Sneem Ring of Kerry
5

Luxury and comfort in a stunning setting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We – being a family of 5 – enjoyed our stay at Sneem Secret Harbour immensely, and would all love to return!
The house itself is big, bright and beautifully decorated. At the same time, everything is extremely comfortable and inviting; fantastic beds, comfortable chairs, wonderful views and an amazing kitchen, with everything you could possibly want, including a big dining table. There is even a complimentary cellular phone + a list of relevant numbers in the area, including pubs, restaurant and people arranging watersport.
It is really a place, where you just want to stay in and indulge, even though there is so much to see nearby.
Lilly and Eugene left a very generous welcome pack; clearly tailored to our family, with special treats for the kids.
The house is very private, surrounded by wonderful nature; but it is only a few minutes’ drive from the Ring of Kerry, with all its tourist attractions.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431194
Sneem Ring of Kerry
Arlington, TX
5

Beautiful home in a stunning location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Secret Harbour in Sneem is a lovely home with absolutely stunning views. The accommodations would make any traveler satisfied and happy with this choice of a home stay. The home is located on a secluded inlet with views of the hills. There are neighbors in sight of the home, but the property retains a, peaceful, private feeling.

We arrived late in the day and on the advice of the owners Lilly and Eugene, we drove a short distance to the community dock where we were treated to a gorgeous pink and purple sunset over the water. Upon returning home we cracked open the bottle of wine left for us, while we explored Secret Harbour.

The entire house is extremely clean, modern, and nicely decorated. The home has three beautifully-decorated en suite bedrooms each with super comfortable beds. On our nine day trip to Ireland we stayed in 3 self-catering homes, and the beds at Secret Harbour were the most comfortable by far. The mattresses were one of the best things about the home actually – and that is saying a lot, because most things were superb.

The kitchen is quite impressive. All of the appliances, cookware and dishware are of the highest quality, and there are plenty of dishes, glasses, silverware, etc. for a large group. The laundry facilities are just off of the kitchen and include a separate washer and dryer – a treat for Americans who have a hard time dealing with the small combined washer/dryers found in Europe.

Lilly and Eugene stopped by on our first morning to introduce themselves and to make sure all our needs were met. They are lovely people – warm, welcoming and full of information about the area.

Sneem itself is a small town, but has plenty of restaurants. We can’t say we were blown away with the food in town, but it was fine. The best meals we ate were at O’Shea’s and the Parknasilla Restaurant & Hotel. Speaking of the Parknasilla, it is worth a trip to see the beautiful grounds. While you’re there, check out the bathrooms – they have authentic “Crapper” brand toilets!

Of course the big draw in the area around Sneem is the Ring of Kerry – an absolutely gorgeous drive through stunningly beautiful countryside. We recommend you drive the Skellig Ring for amazing views of the Skellig Islands and shoreline. This was the highlight of the Ring of Kerry for us, at least.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Secret Harbour and would recommend the house and location to anyone traveling to Ireland. You can’t go wrong with this rental.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431194
Sneem Ring of Kerry
Simcoe, Ontario
5

Best place we stayed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was by far the nicest place we stayed in Ireland. Absolutely everything was top-notch. Everything was new, clean, well kept and very comfortable. Although (due to our delayed arrival) we were unable to meet with the owner when we arrived, everything we needed to know was written out and organized in a binder. This was very helpful for North Americans unfamiliar with European appliances.
We arrived later than expected after a long overnight flight and 3 hours' drive, expecting to have to go right out again and buy groceries, so we were pleasantly surprised to find the fridge stocked with enough food for an evening snack (wine, cheese, crackers) and breakfast (eggs, milk, cereal, bacon etc) that we did not have to venture out until we were well rested and ready to explore. The kitchen was so well equipped, I almost wished I had planned on cooking more -- we just made breakfast and snacks.
The location is a bit isolated, very private and quiet, but just a short drive to the village of Sneem, which has some great places to eat, pubs with live music in the evenings, shops. The driving in this area can be challenging for those used to North American highways, very narrow and winding, besides driving on the left; but we found the other drivers to be very patient and considerate -- and my husband loved every minute of it!
I've already recommended this house to friends and family "if you ever go to Ireland...." and would return again, given the opportunity.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431194
Sneem Ring of Kerry
5

Kerry Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
After months of perusing various cottages on websites, we chose Sneem Secret Harbor. Everything about the house is perfectly done -- a wonderful blend of design, beauty and functionality. And spotlessly clean and maintained. The owners, Lillie and Eugene, were ideal to work with. Always very prompt in responding, and full of helpful suggestions for your visit. Best of all, they met us on arrival at the house to show us around. Wine was waiting on the table, and the refrigerator was well-stocked. This is a wonderful location for couples or a family traveling together. We highly recommend Sneem Secret Harbor!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431194
Sneem Ring of Kerry
5

Highly Recommend Beautiful Sneem Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We are a young married couple who took our first trip to Ireland this past April and stayed at Sneem Secret Harbour for a week. We found Sneem Secret Harbour on a travel booking website and chose to book it for our stay because of the great reviews on multiple travel websites, the location along the Ring of Kerry, and the beautiful photographs of the home as well as the surrounding area. We had high hopes for what the cottage would be like and we were not disappointed!

The location of the cottage was very private and peaceful. The interior of the cottage was extremely clean and modern. We were impressed with the quality of the furnishings and décor. We equated it to the quality of a high end hotel. It made for a truly comfortable stay. It was great that the cottage was only a 3 minute drive to the village of Sneem. Sneem is a lovely village with a few pubs and restaurants. We enjoyed the time we spent in the village, especially dinner and drinks at the Blue Bull Restaurant and O’Shea’s Bar. We also enjoyed taking walks on the lane leading up to the house. It was peaceful and beautiful.

The owners, Lilly and Eugene, thought of everything to make Sneem Secret Harbour a dream for a vacationer. The house was spacious but had a very cozy feeling. We enjoyed the woodstove on chilly nights and reading and relaxing in the conservatory during the day. The views out of all of the windows were spectacular!

Lilly and Eugene met us on our arrival day and showed us around the cottage and answered all of our questions about the cottage and the local area. They were kind and welcoming-so much so that they left us a bottle of wine and a refrigerator full of food for us to enjoy! That was much appreciated after our long journey from the United States.

We can’t say enough good things about Sneem Secret Harbour. We would recommend this gorgeous cottage to anyone and would love to go back in the future!

Adam and Rebecca
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431194
Sneem Ring of Kerry
5

Away from it all in luxury!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
If you are looking for away from it all peace and quiet in great comfort, this is the place! Fantatsic views across bays and mountains, together with a very warm welcome, brilliantly equipped house, lots of maps and guides, games for the odd damp day and a well stocked fridge made this a house where you could roll up with nothing more than your suitcase - ideal for those coming from overseas.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431194
Sneem Ring of Kerry
5

Lovely house in beautiful Kerry

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We had really high expectations of this holiday home and we were not disappointed. The house itself has a superb location in a lovely, quiet setting, and close to the delightful village of Sneem where you can find all you need for your stay as well as great places to eat and drink (don't miss O'Shea's Bar).

We found lots to do in a week that went by all too quickly - local walks, rides on the beach (Derrynane), boat trips in Kenmare - or just chilling in the very comfortable house which is modern and very well equipped but full personal touches of decor. Everyone was happy - boring parents and hard to please teenagers. The owners couldn't have been more helpful. Great place - would love to go back to this house and this beautiful part of Ireland.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431194
Sneem Ring of Kerry
Eldoret
5

The perfect reinroduction to the western world

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
Our family of six stayed at Sneem Secret Harbour for a couple of weeks as we transitioned from living in East Africa for a couple of years to life back in the US. This was the perfect spot to unwind, relax and enjoy county Kerry. The house itself is impeccable and the hosts go to great lengths to be sure you have everything you need for your stay -
a local cell phone for emergencies
a binder with tons of information on all surrounding restaurants and attractions (complete with reviews)
a welcome hamper so that you have something to nibble your first day
extra towels and linens
a WELL stocked kitchen for cooking and eating in the house
beautifully appointed rooms

In general we loved Sneem as well. It is small but not so small as to feel claustrophobic and is located in a central enough way to allow for a huge amount of exploration within an hours drive. We became regulars, in the short time we visited, at one of the local pups and found the locals to be kind and welcoming.

The things we did not like about the vacation were unavoidable and had nothing to to with the vacation home. The weather was pretty bad during all of our visit BUT that was made easier to handle by having a warm and cozy home with ample enough grounds to explore when we did not want to venture too far out. Obviously the tour buses filling the towns and the crowds doing a 30 minute stop-over were annoying but that is UNAVOIDABLE anywhere near the Ring of Kerry in the summer and parts of Spring. The house itself is not far from the center of the village and we did make the walk a few times but without sidewalks and a few blind corners we were pleased that we had a car. That being said if we were much closer we would have been in the thick of the tour buses and as we were looking for peaceful relaxing it worked our perfectly.

So if you are looking for beautiful scenery, rest, relaxation close to a village without being right above the pub than SSH is for you. If we find ourselves in the area we will certainly be back as we made many wonderful memories as a family in this lovely little (not to little) house. The natural splendor surrounding the house made for a wonderland for our children (best if older) and the home itself was all we were looking for - a great example of the best of what homeaway can offer.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431194
Sneem Ring of Kerry
5

A jewel in Kerry

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We spent a wonderful week at "Sneem Secret Harbour". This house is worth a 5-star hotel. The bedrooms are very large, each having its owm bathroom which is very convenient with teenagers! Beds are extremely comfortable. The kitchen is more than generously equipped. The living room is vey cosy and the view from the "conservatory" is stunning. The house is very tastefully decorated, with many wonderful photos of Kerry landscape. The location is very private but still not too far from the lively village of Sneem. This is the ideal place to explore Kerry, go for a beautiful walk, go fishing, horseriding etc. The very friendly welcome of Eugene & Lilly Ross is another plus, together with all the precious advice they gave us. We would advise this house to all nature lovers looking for top quality accomodation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Home in exclusive location. Spectacular sea & mountain views. Free WiFi.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431194
Sneem Ring of Kerry
Australia
5

Great home - couldn't fault it

Great home - couldn't fault it
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
What a great place! We stayed for a week in September 2010.
The owners were there to greet us (even though we arrived much later than we said we would) and show us around and explain everything. They even left us a mobile phone with basic local access, knowing that, since we were from Australia, local calls using our own mobile would be expensive.
The house and everything in it are all shiny new and luxuriously comfortable, with everything you could possibly need. Especially appreciated was the fridge full of supplies to get us started, including heaps of items to prepare a cooked breakfast, a bottle of wine, chocolates, and lots more that I can't remember. We have never seen such a generous 'starter pack'.
The views from the house were lovely, just like the photo on the site, and the location was perfect for exploring all three peninsulas - Kerry, Dingle and Beara. The village of Sneem was quaint - very photogenic waterfall - but we were unimpressed with the food at the local pub we chose to eat at one night. Maybe it was the chef's night off!
The charge for electricity was done by meter reading and turned out to be very moderate. Our deposit - less electricity charge - was refunded promptly after our stay.
If you're considering staying in this area, this property is the one you should choose.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3