Joshua Tree house rental - Looking southeast from the deck.
Looking southeast from the deck.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Joshua Tree House Rental Photos and Description
A brand new modern architectural desert retreat near Joshua Tree, California.

Welcome to Jackrabbit Wash! Thanks for coming by.

If you are looking for a respite from the rigors of modern life, you owe it to yourself to kick up your feet at Jackrabbit Wash. Unwind in the jacuzzi, take a dip in the pool, curl up by the fireplace, sleep in late, bask in the stillness and silence. Relax.

The setting is sublimely beautiful: vast expanses of sun-soaked open desert; constellation-filled, pitch-black night skies; and unusual flora and fauna abound. Seasonally you may see jackrabbit, bobcat, desert tortoise, coyote, antelope squirrel, lizards, quail, roadrunner, and many other species of birds.

Jackrabbit Wash has 1600 square feet of interior space and it sits on 2.5 private acres with a view of Joshua Tree National Park. The park itself is a ten minute drive from the house. The house has one bedroom, two full baths, a den/office, and a large 'great' room (kitchen/dining/living room). The kitchen is well-equipped with new stainless steel appliances and there is a full compliment of cookware and place settings. There is a patio and a deck directly off of the great room and there is a more private patio directly off of the bedroom.

The main attraction around here is Joshua Tree National Park and it is well worth a visit to experience the otherworldly splendor of the park. Other local attractions include Pappy and Harriet's (a famed roadhouse with great food and music), Pioneertown, the Integratron, High Desert Test Sites, and the Noah Purifoy Outdoor Art Museum.

We hope that your visit to the desert is a wonderful and unforgettable experience and we hope that you consider Jackrabbit Wash to be your home away from home. For more information please contact us or visit our website at jackrabbitwash.com. Happy travels and thanks for coming by! :)

keywords: Joshua Tree National Park, Yucca Valley, modern, architectural, mid-century, Mojave, JTNP, Ettore Design, romantic, get away, serene, vacation rental, jackrabbit wash

More Details
Hide Details

I am a residential designer and builder currently sitting for the Architectural Registration Exam here in California, after which I will be a licensed architect. I also own and manage Jackrabbit Wash.

Aaron D'Innocenzo purchased this house in 2003

I designed and built this passive solar house by myself over a span of nearly eight years. There were no contractors, subs, or helpers. This was my first project after graduating with a Master in Architecture degree in 2002. Construction began in 2004 and was completed in 2012.

The desert landscape is sublime. Whether viewing the expansive landscape from the patio during the day or viewing the incredible starry skies while swimming in the pool at night, this house and its environs provide the tranquility and stillness required as an antidote to the often hectic rhythms of modern life.

22 Reviews of Property 430543 in Joshua Tree, California

Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430543vbi
+1 310-944-2756
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Jack Rabbit Wash

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a fantastic time during our recent visit to Joshua Tree Nat Park. And a big part of that was our stay at Jackrabbit Wash. The house is gorgeous and set in very peaceful desert surroundings. It was a real joy coming back to the house after a day out hiking. We watched the most amazing sunsets from the deck, with a glass of wine in hand. When it became too chilly to stay out any longer, watching the stars, we came in and lit the fireplace and listened to music.
Aaron was the most accommodating and friendly host. He met us when we arrived and showed us around the house. He has a very warm and welcoming personality. When we had a problem after the first night, he was incredibly responsive and got it sorted quickly.

We can not recommend this property highly enough! If you are looking for a totally relaxing and romantic get away, this is it.

One thing I would note is to follow Aaron's directions to the property to the letter. The roads nearby can be a bit rough. The night we arrived, we took a wrong turn and got a bit stuck, but thankfully managed to find the right roads in the end.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430543vbi
+1 310-944-2756
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Desert tranquility

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The best part of Jackrabbit Wash is the incredible panoramic view from the deck. We enjoyed being able to see the sun rise and set from the same spot and I took early morning walks from the house to explore the surrounding area. There are two towns conveniently located and we HIGHLY recommend Country Kitchen in Joshua Tree for its quirkiness and great food, we wish we had gone there for breakfast a second time. Really enjoyed the souvenir shop on the way to the park in town as well. The park is amazing and the Oasis hike from Cottonwood was awesome-well worth the long car wait to get in both days and the $15 entrance fee (good for several days). The kitchen had everything we needed and we enjoyed using the BBQ for our evening dinners. Relaxing by the fireplace was lovely and the house was just as pictured-gorgeous. The owner, Aaron is obviously very meticulous does everything to keep the house in perfect shape. He was extremely receptive and helpful. My only small complaint is that I found the mattress not so comfortable and ended up sleeping on the couch one night. Otherwise, I would love to go back again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: .
business
Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430543vbi
+1 310-944-2756
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Beautiful Spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This house is equally as stunning as the scenery. Immaculately kept and maintained, this is a great spot for couples.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430543vbi
+1 310-944-2756
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

A great desert getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Aaron's home was beautiful and a real pleasure to visit. It's a spectacular retreat, quiet and a real nice change of pace from big city life. The home is perfectly finished and fully equipped with all amenities. You can tell the care and attention to detail that Aaron has put into the home as everything is top notch. I highly recommend booking this place if you are looking to visit Joshua Tree National Park or even if you just want a private romantic retreat.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430543vbi
+1 310-944-2756
Joshua Tree California Desert
Northern California
5

Ideal Desert Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
There is no question that Jackrabbit Wash is the perfect place to stay while visiting Joshua Tree. The house is clean, comfortable and only minutes from restaurants, as well as, Joshua Tree National Park. The rental is ideal for relaxing, it is very private and has amazing views from every room. Sitting on the deck listening to the quiet of the desert and gazing at the most brilliant star lit sky was absolutely the highlight of our trip. I highly recommend Jackrabbit Wash as your next vacation rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430543vbi
+1 310-944-2756
Joshua Tree California Desert
United States
5

Mighty Fine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was the second time we stayed at Aaron's gem called Jackrabbit Wash and this time around we were more familiar with the house's seclusion, beautiful sunsets, the amazing thought that went into each architectural detail of the house, and Aaron's gracious nature. We knew what to expect and our expectations had been set to high. Yet, somehow Aaron once again exceeded all of our expectations. Our stay was soooo perfect that I had to write another brief review.

During our stay we had a few questions, so we decided to check if we could find the answer in the folder with directions to the house. My wife and I have stayed in countless vacation rentals, and none of the owners had put so much time and thought into the directions of their homes as Aaron has. We knew we could call him, but we didn't have to. Just by reading and following his simple, easy to read directions we were able to answer our own questions.

Our experience at Jackrabbit Wash completely recharged our mental and physical batteries. I bonded with my wife better than ever, and we had fun cooking via. the barbecue, and lounging around the house. It is the perfect getaway and unfortunately, no amount of time is long enough, so you have to come back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430543vbi
+1 310-944-2756
Joshua Tree California Desert
Toronto
5

The Solitudeof the Mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife and I just recently stayed for a week at your lovely retreat. It is PERFECT for a couple. It is PERFECT for a person who wants to get in touch again with Nature. The most amazing thing is the QUIET pristine beauty of the desert. Wherever you look, you see mountains, mountains, and mountains. The house is very spacious for 2 people. In fact, I could see even 4 people comfortably fitting in. You have everything you need in the house. It is so PRIVATE...away from it all. Yet, only a 5 minute drive away from all the stores you will need for your trip. And only 10 minutes away from Joshua Tree National Park. This is a real hidden treasure of the US National Parks system. We drove every day during the week, and still were not able to see the whole park. The weather is also so predictable. SUNNY , SUNNY, SUNNY..in the 90s every day. It was so comfortable at night, we often fell asleep outside in the comfortable lounge chairs, as we were gazing at the stars! I cherish vacations that allow you to have lots of solitude, time for reflection...yet not be without the modern conveniences of life.And if you are not in the mood to take the car out, you can hike all around the backroads of the property...Almost as strenouos of a hike at JTNP. And Aaron - a beautiful person to deal with! A real hands on owner, who takes real pride in the property, and wants to do his best to make sure you have a great time. I would HIGHLY reccommend this place for June - you will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430543vbi
+1 310-944-2756
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Enjoyed every minute at Jackrabbit Wash.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed every minute at Jackrabbit Wash. The house is immaculate. Aaron's beautiful design and amazing craftsmanship are outstanding. We noticed all your perfect corners and 45 degree angles, very few nails, pretty paintings, attention to detail, and peaceful surroundings. We loved laying on the deck at night; counting numerous satellites passing overhead. The pool was wonderful - a little cool but shockingly refreshing. Thank you for opening up your wonderful home. We enjoyed going to Pioneer Town and eating lunch there. Joshua Tree National Park was beautiful - a little warm in the afternoon but bearable - get an early start in warmer months. We drove to Kelso Depot - it's a far drive but they have a nice small museum upstairs and a small lunch counter - make sure they are open before you start your drive. Thanks again for sharing your home with us.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430543vbi
+1 310-944-2756
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Jackrabbit Wash is magical!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We considered staying at one of the historic hotels in Joshua Tree. But when we saw this place, we were so curious. The home is beautiful, spacious and very private. It's really great for 2 people. I recommend going to the grocery store on the way in so you can use the grill and kitchen. Everything is stocked well in terms of appliances and cookware. At nighttime, the view is unreal. The drive off the highway is a bit bumpy, I wish I would have driven my truck, but my car was fine. The drive is worth it. I definitely will be coming back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Jackrabbit Wash: New Modern Architectural Desert Retreat with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430543vbi
+1 310-944-2756
Joshua Tree California Desert
Seattle
5

A Gem in the Desert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Jack Rabbit Wash is, simply, spectacular. The home is a comfortable and inviting work of art with everything you need to enjoy a peaceful weekend. The home is highly accessible while feeling completely remote, and the surrounding desert is starkly beautiful.
Cooking meals at the home was easy and convenient. Groceries were picked up in Yucca Valley and everything needed to prepare meals is graciously provided in the home.
Our weekend included hours of hiking in close-by Joshua Tree -- we didn't even scratch the surface of what's available inside its boundaries. We also visited Pappy and Harriet's in Pioneertown for dinner, Crossroads in Joshua Tree for lunch, and Twenty Nine Palms Inn for lunch. Each unique; all highly recommended.
Aaron is a wonderfully thoughtful and thorough host; thank you for sharing your home. Our only mild disappointment was the pool water temperature. Not that it was a surprise, it's fully disclosed that it's not heated, but it would be so nice if we could have used it. Instead we spent time on the deck at night, gazing at the stars, trying to figure out how we could retire early and move to the desert.
Helpful votes: 1/1