Capitol Hill apartment rental - Row House
Row House
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Capitol Hill Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)

Built in 1900, this Capitol Hill furnished apartment has 2 bedrooms ANNEX and 2 full bathrooms, wood burning fireplace, an open kitchen-living room-dining room combination, with bay windows overlooking the Capitol Hill Park. No frills or overcrowded with personal decorations—just a clean and modern apartment that allows you to enjoy and rest at your busy schedule. Free Wi-Fi is included.

Baby/toddler supplies and babysitting service (depending on the schedule) are available.

Small playground for toddlers is right across the street from the apartment.

My husband Mario is a teacher and I am a public health researcher. We both work at the university. We have lived in Wash DC for over 15 years and we love DC! We have two daughters who go to school at Capitol Hill. We live upstairs in a row house. The apartment that you plan to rent is at the lower level and it has a private entrance. If there are any problem downstairs or need something, we are upstairs ready to help out.

Senda purchased this apartment in 2005

Capitol Hill is a fun place to stay. You will find lots of young people and young children. It is a very family friendly town. The metro and bus service are just around the corner. You do not need a car at all. The row house is old and antique. It has its own character but we updated the apartment in four years ago. It is still new and modern.

12 Reviews of Property 430465 in Capitol Hill, Washington DC

Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 12 reviews
business
Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430465vbi
Capitol Hill Washington DC
4

Great location in DC

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed for 6 days in March 2014. The location is great, just a very short walk to Metro station (was not sure if we were going to like it but it was great, easy to use once you got the hang of it, and very safe). Apartment is just like stated in description, very nice and comfortable after a long day of sight seeing. Also, owner was able to get us a parking permit to park our car right outside the apartment. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you!
business
Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430465vbi
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

DC Trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a great stay! Excellent location within walking distance from Starbucks, The Metro and some great places to eat. We will return for sure.
business
Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430465vbi
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Pros - This apartment was in a great location--very close to the Metro. We did not need to rent a car. The apartment was extremely clean and the kitchen was well equipped. Getting around the city was easy if you bought a Metro pass.

Cons -There are only two double beds which makes it difficult if you are a family with two kids who don't always get along.

I would definitely stay there again. The location and price were ideal.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430465vbi
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Evanston, Illinois
4

Great Location in DC

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family (two adults, one teenager) had a very enjoyable week-long stay. The best thing about this apartment was the location. Eastern Market, Barracks Row, great restaurants, Metro stop, bus stop, all within a three-minute walk. The Capitol is only a 15-minute walk away.

The apartment was very clean, well designed, and well maintained. It was great to settle into a nice deep leather chair in the a/c after a hot afternoon as a tourist.

Two minor quibbles. On one morning there was a fair amount of heavy foot traffic upstairs. We'd been up late the night before, but it was impossible to sleep past 7 a.m. or so. Not a persistent problem, but for light/late sleepers, it could be an issue. If you are not used to apartment living, ditto.

Second issue is that the mattresses were not very comfortable. The second bedroom has a sofa bed, so this is not shocking, but it sagged pretty badly. The mattress in the first bedroom was also thin and lumpy, as well. We didn't necessarily expect Tempurpedic quality, but it did cause a fair amount of tossing and turning.

Overall, though, our experience was great. A much better deal than any DC hotel. I would recommend it, despite my quibbles, and if the mattresses were replaced and the folks upstairs bought some moccasins, I'd recommend it with great enthusiasm.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I have made some changes. Both beds now have brand new mattresses. T
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430465vbi
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Sioux Falls, SD, USA
5

Great stay in a great area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We enjoyed the property and location.
Was the listing description accurate regarding the location? YES
Did the listing photos accurately reflect the rental’s appearance and amenities? YES
Was the property clean and well-maintained? YES
Was the owner helpful in answering your questions or concerns? YES
Would you recommend this property to a friend or relative? YES
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430465vbi
Capitol Hill Washington DC
-
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I have to agree completely with the very thorough review of a previous renter. There are many great upscale features to this apartment and the location is fantastic (metro, bus stops, Barrack's Row restaurants, and the eastern market are all a stone's throw away). We were very comfortable with our family of four and found the owner to be friendly and responsive to our questions. The plush leather couches and large tv were perfect when we tired of walking all of the museums and monuments, the huge windows and natural light were enough to forget you are in a basement apartment and the 2 full bathrooms were a great feature. The apartment was very clean and well maintained.

We did notice the upstairs noise at times, but not late at night or too early in the morning, the 2nd bathroom is a bit tight, and we would have liked a few more utensils for dining, but all in all, we were very happy with this choice for our week long stay and would definitely book it again on a future visit and recommend it to other families.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: More kitchen supplies are provided :). Thanks for your feedback.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430465vbi
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Fairbanks, Alaska
5

Wonderful apartment - convenient and great for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My family of 3 (2 adults and 1 elementary aged child) stayed in the apartment for a week in the spring and it was PERFECT. The apartment is exactly as described, the proximity to the metro and restaurants couldn't be handier. There is a park across the street that is perfect for playing tag and a playground park just around the corner. The owners were very helpful and we appreciated their assistance.

My only caution is that while it is tempting to want to throw in a load of laundry the morning you leave, be advised that the washer is slow. I made that mistake and had to leave with wet pants (in my bag, not on my body) in order to make it out in time. Having laundry in the unit is nice, and any other time of the trip, the time factor was not an issue. Just that last morning...

This is definitely a great unit to rent and I recommend it for just about anyone. We hope to come back again next year and will likely rent it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430465vbi
Capitol Hill Washington DC
California and Louisiana
4

High-end, clean apartment with some specific "cons"

High-end, clean apartment with some specific "cons"
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Very nice overall, but see below for a very few specific "cons" that might make it not right for you. I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend and my parents while we all visited my DC brother.
Pros:
1) Very clean. Like, clean-clean.
2) From the leather sofas to the thick towels to the extra-big TV, lots of things inside this apartment are nicer than they really need to be.
3) Location, location! Right across the street from a metro stop, like 5 bus stops (but it's not noisy), a bike share station, and a strip of shops and restaurants. A pleasant walk to the capitol.
4) Smooth check in and check out. We never met the owners but they made everything easy and were responsive via email.
5) Great wifi!
6) No vacation-house clutter all over the place. I hate all those trinkets in most short-term rentals, and this place was completely free of random leftover crap.
Cons
1) This is a basement apartment (with good light and big windows), so you can hear the people upstairs sometimes. I'm a city dweller and found this totally expected and not at all a problem, but my parents, who have lived 30 years in a suburban single family house, were sometimes surprised.
2) Minor things in the description were not as described. The "family friendly" part includes a duct-taped-together highchair contraption that I wouldn't trust a kid in, at least not a kid I like. The description says "wood burning fireplace" but the laminated instruction card in the apartment says not to use the fireplace "at this time of year."
3) This place has two bedrooms in line with eacthother, railroad style. This is normal in historic brownstones, but it meant that my boyfriend and I had to go through my parents' room to get to our room. Awkward! The back bedroom has a very tiny but nice and functional bathroom ensuite. The outer bedroom is much larger and has a real bed, so my parents got that room, but it does not have an ensuite bathroom- the second bathroom is just outside this outer bedroom, off the main room. This is a very minor complaint, obviously, and probably is one reason the place is affordable, for a two bedroom. But it means the place would work better for parents and their young children than it does for two adult couples.
4) The back bedroom has a pull-out couch, not a bed. The sofa mattress has been supplemented with a foam topper and a feather bed. We all know sofa beds are never actually comfortable for adults. Young backs only!
Overall, fantastic place: high-end feel, location.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430465vbi
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

really enjoyed are stay in your apt.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My aunt & I really enjoyed are stay in your apt. The area was charming. The convenience of the business' & metro made it very desirable. Your hospitality topped it off. Especially the surprise "Rose Garden Tour"! ( Thank you for including the President). This was our first trip to Washington DC, I didn't expect such a clean beautiful city. I hope I get to visit again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Capitol Hill/Eastern Market Furnished Apartment (Family-Friendly)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430465vbi
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Urbanna, VA
5

Superb Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I stayed here while on business in the DC area and really enjoyed the visit. The location was outstanding as it's almost directly accross from the Eastern Market metro stop. The host was very welcoming and the accomodations were very clearn and well appointed. The park accross the street was diverse and made for a great place to write after work. The variety of restaurants, boutiques and markets in the local area affords many opportunities to take in the flavor of Eastern Market. I would definitely recommend for any business traveler or couple visiting the area.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you. That is very kind of you.
Helpful votes: 2/2