Upper West Side studio rental - The brownstone was built in 1896.
The brownstone was built in 1896.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Upper West Side Studio Rental Photos and Description
Completely private studio apartment in small brownstone building.

'The Dutch Room' is a 375 square foot Studio on the second floor of a 1896 Brownstone row house. We live on the first floor of this four story building and have one other VRBO Studio across the hall from this one.

There is one queen sized reproduction antique sleigh bed, choice 19th century antique furnishings, a handsome non-working fireplace, two very large windows facing north, a large desk, dining table, kitchen and bathroom with tub.

You will want to know that this apartment was completely gutted and fully renovated in the summer of 2012 with a completely new kitchen featuring Carrara marble countertops and Crema Marfil marble floors. The bathroom and kitchen are small but comfortable and fully appointed. The towels are by Ralph Lauren.

The magnificent bed is made up with Ralph Lauren bedding and there are four Laura Ashley brand pillows, each of a different firmness.

We are a married couple who live on the ground floor, one of us is an architect, the other a composer of classical music. We both work from home. We usually will greet you upon your arrival and are happy to guide you to features of the neighborhood. The building is extremely quiet and secure, as is the tree lined block in the heart of the Upper West Side. You are just steps from the greatest museums, shopping and entertainment in the world.

Warren Ashworth purchased this studio in 1987

We have two VRBO units in this brownstone, each across the hall from the other. The other unit, The Metropolitan Room, is listed under VRBO 327144. Families and friends often like to book both. They are both studios and have the same rental rates.

High ceilings with lovely ceiling fans, big windows, quiet, beautifully furnished with antiques except the bed and chairs which are new and clean.

Unlike many listings these days, The Dutch Room is fully licensed by the City and State of New York to operate as a hotel for which we collect and pay taxes. Our license numbers are available upon request.

21 Reviews of Property 430146 in Upper West Side, New York

Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
average rating of 4.904762 based on 21 reviews
business
Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430146vb
(212) 787-3284 (New York, USA)
Upper West Side Manhattan
5

Peace and quiet in the heart of the city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My third and without doubt the best visit in NYC. Location was excellent: subway and several bus lines just a few blocks away. Great neighborhood: the Central and Riverside Park, the Museum Mile and local restaurants and shops nearby. You cannot but love the Zabar's btw. The apartment was clean and quiet and had everything one could need for a week's stay. The wi-fi worked perfectly. Checking in and out was well organised, the owners welcoming and helpful. If you want to get the feel of living like a true New Yorker and explore the city avoiding the worst tourist traps - this is the way to do it.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430146vb
(212) 787-3284 (New York, USA)
Upper West Side Manhattan
5

This VRBO property is a gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The owners are delightful folks, and both rooms--the Dutch Room this time, and the Metropolitan Room on a visit last October--are wonderful. In each case, the bed is comfortable, the room is quiet, the decor is tasteful with an eye to remaining faithful to the charm of the old brownstone, there are books to read and good reading lights, the kitchen is fully equipped, and arriving guests find the fridge stocked with milk, juice, and a bag of Zabar's ground coffee!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430146vb
(212) 787-3284 (New York, USA)
Upper West Side Manhattan
5

Lovely property in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed four nights in the Dutch Room of this brownstone which is located on the Upper West Side between Columbus and Amsterdam, a short walk to Central Park and numerous restaurants and shops. The room was just as described-very nicely decorated and equipped to meet all a traveler's needs. Lots of light and very quiet-not always the case in NYC lodging. The owners are very easy to deal with and we would definitely stay here again.
business
Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430146vb
(212) 787-3284 (New York, USA)
Upper West Side Manhattan
5

Everything we wanted

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had the best weekend in NY largely due to this fantastic room. We had tried to rent it before but didn't plan far enough in advance, this time we made our reservation early and are so happy we did. From the minute we arrived, everything was perfect! Every detail in the apartment has been thought of and tended to from the comfortable bed, beautiful sheets, towels and to our surprise luxurious robes hanging in the closet. There is a tub and although it is NY apt size - we were able to take a nice hot soak after a cold snowy day exploring the city.

Our hosts left coffee (delicious) milk and juice in the fridge and we were happy to have a place to save and reheat left overs from the fantastic meals out. The neighborhood is delightful; I loved Joe's coffeeshop just a few blocks away and we were happy to find many vegan and organic options nearby.

All I can say is plan ahead if you want to stay in this beautifully kept and furnished apt on the upper west side... we certainly will!!!!! Thanks again for a perfect stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430146vb
(212) 787-3284 (New York, USA)
Upper West Side Manhattan
5

Really nice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Lovely accommodation indeed. On a quiet street, close to transportation, shops, restaurants. Tastefully and thoughtfully appointed studio looks just like the photos, hosts are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. I would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430146vb
(212) 787-3284 (New York, USA)
Upper West Side Manhattan
5

Well appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally quiet, bright

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Excellent! The hosts were wonderful. The room was perfect with lots of attention to detail. I was quite comfortable and would recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430146vb
(212) 787-3284 (New York, USA)
Upper West Side Manhattan
4

Long Weekend in NYC (UWS)

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Nice location away from the hustle and bustle of Midtown, but 25min by subway to everything we wanted to do. The restaurants on Amsterdam were really good especially Cucina Economica Mexicana...SO GOOD! The landlords were really helpful as well. The room was nicely appointed, and we would stay here again if possible on our next visit to NYC.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430146vb
(212) 787-3284 (New York, USA)
Upper West Side Manhattan
Calgary, Alberta
5

THIS LISTING HAS IT ALL !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed in this wonderful apartment for a whole month. We truly felt as though we were actually living in New York City, not just visiting it. The apartment is very quiet and tastefully decorated, the antiques adding a lovely touch. Susan and Warren, the charming couple who own the building, have provided everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The location of the brownstone on the Upper West Side is perfect. Beautiful Central Park is only 1½ blocks away. The apartment is a great base from which to venture forth sightseeing, shopping, attending concerts, dining, etc., and then return home to a restful retreat at the end of the day. While we chose to walk most of the time, transportation by subway, taxi or bus is nearby and very user-friendly. There are many nice restaurants within walking distance and great food shopping (e.g. Fairway and Zabar's Deli) if you want to eat at home.

We’ve visited New York City many times and stayed in several different neighbourhoods/areas; this is definitely our favourite. We plan to stay here again. We’re just sorry we didn’t discover the Dutch Room much earlier.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430146vb
(212) 787-3284 (New York, USA)
Upper West Side Manhattan
5

Alberta, Canada

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Excellent location- nice to get away each night from the hustle of Midtown. great restaurants in the area. We particularly liked Good Enough to Eat. Warren and Susan made sure we had everything we needed. The room was clean and comfortable. Travel was easy by the Metro if you didn,t want to take a cab. Close to Central Park and Museums. Would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Well-appointed Brownstone Studio, Exceptionally Quiet, Bright
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430146vb
(212) 787-3284 (New York, USA)
Upper West Side Manhattan
5

Good Value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Much more economical than hotel. More space. Fairly comfortable chairs. Fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker. Lots of places nearby to eat, buy take out or order delivery. For us, lack of stove/oven would preclude a long term stay. A week was perfect. Excellent WiFI. Easy access to mass transit and safe neighborhood. Outside appearance and entry/stairway need updating, but the apartment was modern. Décor was outstanding, bed was comfortable, etc. Clear evidence that owner is an Architect. Hope to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car