Darnley cottage rental - The Captain's Rest of Darnley
The Captain's Rest of Darnley
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Darnley Cottage Rental Photos and Description
The Captain's Rest is a beautiful 1100 sqft single story 3 bedroom cottage

The Captain's Rest is a beautiful well maintained 1100 sqft single story 3 bedroom cottage in Darnely, Prince Edward Island. Inspected and licenced by Tourism PEI

Enjoy breath taking sunsets and a fantastic ocean view from the wrap around covered deck. All bedrooms have queen size beds. Open the master bedroom's patio door and be caressed by a gentle ocean breeze. The fully equipped cottage is located on a large lot with no side or front neighbours. Just 300 feet from the shores of the Darnley Basin, and a mere 2 minutes to the most beautiful sandy beach on Prince Edward Island (Thunder Cove). Darnley Greens Golf course is 2 minutes away, and just 30 minutes to Charlottetown, 20 minutes to Summerside, 15 minutes to Cavendish, and 10 minutes to Kensington. The cottage has high definition tv, dvd, patio chairs, fire pit, washer and dryer, BBQ, outdoor lobster cooker, bedding, towels, and cutlery. The cottage also has a water softener and a UV light for water safety. Sit on the covered deck and watch the fishing boats in Darnley Basin harvest fresh PEI mussels. Peaceful relaxing environment await you.

Come stay on the island and enjoy fresh Atlantic lobster, clams, quahogs, oysters, and many more Maritime delicacies. There are so many things to do from swimming, golf, scenic drives, festivals, deep sea fishing, and live theater, but most visitors simply love the peaceful relaxing atmosphere of Prince Edward Island.

We are often booked a year in advance so please book your stay early.

More Details
Hide Details

We are from New Brunswick but reside in Niagara Ontario. We spent many summer holidays on Prince Edward Island and we love it there, so we decided to purchase a cottage.

Dwight Estey purchased this cottage in 2012

Darnley is near the most beautiful beach on PEI and is close to Cavendish and Summerside. Also, Charlottetown is just 45 minutes away. Darnley has become the destination choice for cottage renters.

PEI is one of the most beautiful places to vacation. It's gentle rolling hills are completely under agricultural development and full of wonderful green and gold colours; it is absolutely gorgeous.

The Captain's Rest is close to beautiful beaches, while the cottage is located in a quiet area over looking Darnley Basin. The cottage as a covered wrap around deck and as one guest put it 'a kayaker's paradise'. Our favourite thing is having our morning coffee and tea on the deck and watching the fishing boats in the Darnley Basin harvesting fresh PEI mussels; which we enjoy eating. There's nothing better than watching your dinner being caught fresh from the sea!

11 Reviews of Property 430115 in Darnley, Prince Edward Island

Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430115vbi
Darnley Prince Edward Island
Fredericton, NB
5

Another great visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed at this cottage for the second time, and just as the first visit we enjoyed our stay. The cottage was clean and had all the amenities just like you would at home. With close to many of the attractions in Cavendish, Charlottetown, and Summerside this cottage is ideally located.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great to have you back a second year Jeff!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430115vbi
Darnley Prince Edward Island
Ottawa
5

Kayakers Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Highly recommend this wonderful cottage in a very beautiful location. We rented it due to is proximity to Darnley Basin and Malpeque Bay and were not disappointed. Although off the beaten path, it is still a very short drive to amenities, towns, and restaurants. It is also very close to great beaches and sandbars. It didn't hurt that the sunsets were gorgeous over the water. The location is quiet and personal, with access to the Basin for kayaking in both small and large water. We were able to launch the kayaks only a short walk from the cottage. Great place to explore, go to ceilidhs, and even to drive to Stanley Bridge, Cavendish or North Rustico on those off days you may wish to join other "tourists" or buy some pottery. The cottage delivered on space, a kitchen with accessories, washer and dryer, and most importantly the roofed porch for relaxing, viewing bald eagles or you can even sit around the fire pit at night under the sky of stars! We have very happy memories to keep us going until our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Claire. We hope to see you back soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430115vbi
Darnley Prince Edward Island
Airdrie, AB Canada
5

Our week stay at Captain's Rest

Our week stay at Captain's Rest
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at the Captain's Rest cottage. The area is beautiful! The lot is nice and large so that you do not have any one right beside you. The cottage is very nice inside and out, very well maintained and seemed fairly new. We used the BBQ daily, one minor note with the BBQ is that both propane tanks were left empty, we weren't sure we would have enough to cook our first meal without having to drive to get some more... One other small item we would have loved to see out there is a clothes line. Would have been nice to have somewhere to hang towels/blankets/clothing other than the deck railing (blocking the fantastic view). We also noticed that both storm doors slam VERY loudly if you do not hold them to close.
Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would reccomend your cottage to any of our friends or family. We hope to stay there again!
Erin & Eddie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Erin for your review.

I will address the tank issue with the property manager. The doors are set to close quickly because we often get winds off the water and we have had doors damaged because they were not closed tight. The door on the front was newly installed this year for that very reason. A clothes line is a good idea and we will address that for next season. The cottage is actually 6 years old but we try very hard to maintain it; perhaps that is why it looks new. :) We appreciate your feedback and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you back next year :)

Thank you for choosing our cottage

Dwight and Jocelyne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430115vbi
Darnley Prince Edward Island
Prince Rupert, B.C. Canada
5

Darnley is a darn fine spot to holiday.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The Captain's Rest was just that....restful and very conveniently located to all of the areas amenities. The house itself is very well laid out. It is new and bright and very well equipped with all necessary items for the preparation and consumption of food stuffs. The appliances are top notch and having the wrap around porch was very cool. The 4 complimentary beer in the fridge was a nice touch and they didn't last long. The beaches in that Darnley area are absolutely beautiful and a three minute car ride takes you to Thunder Cove (a gem) and then a 15 minute car ride takes you over to Cabot Beach which is a great family outing with lifeguards and picnic areas in close proximity to the outstanding beach. Thanks for the memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Doug for your kind words. We are happy you had a memorable stay and hope to see in the future. :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430115vbi
Darnley Prince Edward Island
Fredericton, NB
5

Great cottage, close to everything you want

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed at the Captains rest on the weekend of Sept 1, 2012, Upon arrive we found a nicely organized cottage with great amenities such as TV, Utensils, everything you need when you are away even a washer and dryer on the premises.

Just a few steps away from the Bay which on the first night we stayed on the beach for several hours, with great enjoyment.

Close to local shops for all your grocery needs, this is an ideal spot for the cottage, we will defiantly be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We hope to see you next year.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430115vbi
Darnley Prince Edward Island
Middle Sackville, NS
4

Beautiful cottage located close to one of the islands best beaches!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I loved the cottage! The location is great and the listing description was accurate. The cottage was clean and well maintained with the exception of the screen door on the front of the property (needs repair).
The property owners were very helpful (via email), however I found it difficult to connect personally with the property manager and did not get to see him or receive my requested receipt. I would definately return to this location and have recommended it to all of my friends and family though!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review.

Send me an email and I will forward a receipt to you. The front screen door is scheduled to be replaced next year; it was left unlached and damaged by the wind. We will speak with the property manager. He is paid to ensure guest are greeted, the cottage is clean, and guest are made familiar with the area.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back next year.

Thank you,

Dwight and Jocelyne

edit: screen door has been replaced
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430115vbi
Darnley Prince Edward Island
Ottawa
4

4 nights in August

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Very good and modern cottage, on a good location. Excellent appliances and aside from dead big bugs on windows, it was very clean.

There is no beach per se at walking distance, unless you go through someone else private property, so it is a disappointment if you like to walk to the water.

As for the accuracy of the listing, the view to the ocean is not the best, it can be seen a little at the distance, and it's a bay, not open ocean. Sunsets were indeed nice though. There was very annoying noisy construction and landscaping work, with big trucks, going on all week almost in front. Really, really annoying and disturbing.

There was no cooking oil, which would have been nice as it is not something we travel long distances with. I left espresso coffee for the next guests.

The twin bed mattresses had springs poking through.

The nearest beach, Thunder Cove is indeed a gem and very easy to get to by car.

There is no wi-fi/Internet on the cottage, a big drag. This would make a world of a difference and would be a differentiator. In the future, I'd only go to places with Internet, but some may choose not to be "connected".

The owners were also helpful in answering questions and the bottle of win on arrival was a nice touch.

Would I recommend the cottage to friends: yes, given the above constraints.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Raul, thank you for your review. I will try to address your concerns.

There is access to the water through a common area (not private property) The property manager should have showed you this. I'll address that with him.

I apologize for noise. I was unaware of the construction and since your review I was informed there is a cottage being constructed up the road from ours. It is usually very quiet at the cottage so I do apologize for that.

The double bed is being replaced next spring with a queen sized bed and the bunk bed mattresses are being replaced with new matteresses or replaced with a new queen bed (not sure yet). We cannot provide cooking oil by law. Most food items are guests responsibility.

We will have all of these things changed for 2013. We appreciate your comments and we hope you will stay with us next year.

Thank you,

Dwight and Jocelyne

edit: all beds have been replaced with new queen size beds
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430115vbi
Darnley Prince Edward Island
Alberta
5

Home away form home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The accommodation was the perfect home way from home. My family and I stayed at the cottage on July 14th for one week. It was as described here on VBRO, extremely clean, quick walk to the beach, and an easy commute into Summerside. The cottage is equipped with very nice linens as well as all of the kitchen appliances and utensils you would need. We could not get enough of the sunsets from the deck every night. This was our first trip to PEI but definitely not our last and we will be back to the Captain’s Rest.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: That's wonderful to hear Bill. We look forward to having you and your family as our guests again. Dwight and Jocelyne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430115vbi
Darnley Prince Edward Island
Gatineau QC
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Very clean, well located, walking distance to beaches. Owners are very curtious.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Manual. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you and your family come back for your next vacation.

Thank you,

Dwight and Jocelyne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Captain's Rest of Darnley/Thunder Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430115vbi
Darnley Prince Edward Island
Fredericton
5

This was the perfect relaxation getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The location was in a quiet area, close to a gorgeous beach, and the Canada Day fireworks were amazing... especially watching them from the deck. This cottage was spacious, clean and cozy which made my vacation relaxing, stress-free, and comfortable. I liked that community events were held close by and any shopping needs were also a skip away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeremy. We are pleased you had a good time and hope to see you back next year. - Dwight and Jocelyne
Helpful votes: 1/1