South Street Seaport apartment rental - living room
living room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

South Street Seaport Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Location: South Street Seaport, Manhattan, New York City, USA (access to 9 major subway lines is two blocks away, in the multi-destination Fulton St. Subway hub.)

Accommodations. The top 2 floors of an historic landmark building. Sparely furnished. 2+ bedrooms, 2 full baths, a large, light-filled kitchen, spacious dining and living room areas, a private terrace, Sleeps 4-5. 5 day minimum. Internet, Cable t.v.,air conditioning, washer/dryer, iron

Located on historic Front St, on a charming cobblestone street with views of the Brooklyn Bridge, this elegant, light-filled loft is on a stylish residential block of bustling cafes and cozy neighborhood restaurants. The street is lively in the day and evening-- and blissfully quiet late at night. And it is wonderfully central. The neighborhood is only a short walk to the chic restaurants and bars of Tribeca, the boutiques and small designer shops of Soho, as well as to Chinatown, Little Italy, Noho and the bohemian haunts of the East and West Village. It is also only a few subway stops from the hip, up-and-coming neighborhoods of Brooklyn.

We are two short blocks from the multi-destination Fulton subway station hub, and only steps away from Seaport shopping, ½ price theater tickets, the beautifully designed new Pier 15, the World Trade Center Memorial Site and the mega discount store Century 21, (and not far from Battery Park--a 15 minute walk--and the ferries to the State of Liberty and Brooklyn.)

Bikes can be rented a block away, where one can amble along the riverfront toward Battery Park, enjoying some of the cities most spectacular views, and then up the newly renovated Hudson River Park all the way to the upper end of Manhattan, or head in the other direction and ride across the Brooklyn Bridge.

Our neighborhood is an easy and safe location to get to and from, whether it's to New York’s museums or to Lincoln Center and the Broadway theaters, (just four subway stops away) or to Central Park.

The loft itself occupies the top two floors of a lovely, converted 19th century brick counting house, combining the bohemian feel of a loft (2400 sq. feet) with the privacy and understated luxury of a townhouse. It has two+ bedrooms, two full baths, a spacious kitchen fitted out with high-end appliances, (including a nespresso machine and a new Bosch cooktop) and a private terrace off the kitchen. There is a dishwasher, washer/dryer, A/C, cable TV, a DVD player and wi-fi internet.

Both floors boast wood beamed ceilings and are light-filled and sparely furnished, with a mix of modern pieces and Danish antiques. The loft has an open plan, so the kitchen, dining and living rooms flow into each other. The top floor, which doubles as an artist’s studio, has a soaring cathedral ceiling with skylights and serves as a large and dramatic master bedroom. There is an elegant bathroom- cum- marble shower (with a rain shower) off of the master bedroom, as well as a second bedroom, which works well for children. The third bedroom is on the living floor below and adjoins the bathroom downstairs, which has a separate bath and shower. No elevator.

More Details
Hide Details

We are an artist and writer who bought our building in 1978 as a derelict shell and renovated it ourselves, when the Seaport was still an undiscovered and neglected neighborhood peopled with artists and fish mongers who plied the streets at night when the wholesale fish market used to operate. (The market is now long gone). We have lived there for many years and now split our time between New York City and upstate New York, visiting the farm in West Virginia where my husband grew up whenever we can. We raised our daughter in the building and have many friends in the seaport and tribeca, which is only a stone's throw away. Because we work for ourselves-- and now that our daughter has grown up-- our schedules are flexible and we no longer need to be in the city full time. We are deeply attached to the building, partly because we brought it back from the dead (it had no windows, plumbing or electricity when we bought it) but also because it is utterly unique, as I hope the pictures convey.

Andrea Barnet purchased this apartment in 1978

Our neighborhood is lovely, intimate, and well located. (Our building is the third oldest existing commercial building in lower Manhattan.) What we love is feeling the historic character of old New York, yet being within easy walking distance of all the downtown neighborhoods and amenities we use most. (tribeca, the lower east side, soho and noho) Often, especially in good weather, we don't have to use the subway at all. When we do, both the east and west side subways juncture at our subway stop, which is unusual for New York. And because we are just one block from the waterfront, one never feels overwhelmed by the size or density of the city. One can amble over to the piers at any time of day or night, and take in the Brooklyn and Manhattan skylines and on a clear day, even the Veranzzano narrows in the distance. (or take one of the ferry boats plying back and forth across the East river to Brooklyn.) For us, a huge plus is that our block is quiet late at night, so great for sleeping, but also filled with wonderful little restaurants and cafes. And there is a view of the Brooklyn bridge from our windows!

8 Reviews of Property 429547 in the South Street Seaport, New York

Lovely duplex loft on the coolest block in the South Street Seaport
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Lovely duplex loft on the coolest block in the South Street Seaport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p429547vbi
South Street Seaport Manhattan
Reno, NV
5

Favorite apartment ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Initially, we were a little concerned about staying in the Financial District, but chose this apartment based on the reviews. We are so happy that we did. We have stayed in several apartments in New York City over the years, but none compare to this amazing loft. The loft occupies the top two floors of an old, historic building and it is roomy and amazingly comfortable. There are very nice restaurants just outside the door and great shopping within a short walk. It is also a nice, easy walk to several tourist sites, such as the 9/11 Memorial, the Brooklyn Bridge and more. The subway is close and provides great access with few transfers to most anyplace you'd like to go.

While we enjoyed the other apartments we stayed in, they were just places to stay. This apartment was part the experience. And, finally, the owners are great and could not have been more helpful. Just a great place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely duplex loft on the coolest block in the South Street Seaport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p429547vbi
South Street Seaport Manhattan
Brisbane, Australia
5

This place is Fantastic. Great area and wonderful owners!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband, my parents and I stayed here for 9 nights over christmas. From first contact with the owners to the moment we left we were so happy with everything. Kit and Andrea are two very lovely people, great communicators and made us feel very comfortable with the choice we had made which is often difficult initially from another continent!
It is a fabulous apartment with loads of room, wonderfully renovated, and with tons of history and quirks that go with it all. The large courtyard off the kitchen would be perfect in warmer weather. Everything we needed to cook a proper xmas turkey for us and some friends, and everything in between was there (and in perfect working order). The Nespresso machine was a lifesaver although there is a good coffee shop next door.
The area is great and quiet at night which is a bonus in NYC, but with easy access to the subway, or you can walk to many of the other villages. It really has a lovely vibe and the local cafes and bars are welcoming and perfect for a well earned drink or bite at the end of a busy day out and about.
One thing I will say is be aware the beds are double, not queen-sized, but we managed.
Very highly recommended property.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Lovely duplex loft on the coolest block in the South Street Seaport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p429547vbi
South Street Seaport Manhattan
Chicago
5

Wonderful Loft

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Pictures do not do this property justice. It is extremely spacious, particularly by NYC standards, and is a true loft in the best sense. The historic aspects are unique and the owners' have provided a written history of the building that is well worth sharing. Not shown in the photos is an enclosed and relatively private roof deck off the kitchen which provided outdoor play space for our grandchildren and evening wine relax time for us. The area is still recovering from Sandy but is getting up to full speed quickly and will yield more restaurants and shops to explore and enjoy.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely duplex loft on the coolest block in the South Street Seaport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p429547vbi
South Street Seaport Manhattan
Houston, Texas USA
5

Spring Break in NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
A fabulous loft full of history with a location that is incredible for a stay in NYC! The place had a huge amount of space for the six of us to stay! The description is absolutely accurate but even better when you are there! Our family of six adults had a fabulous time taking on the entire city in a week! The loft is so close to everything and the owners are so kind, generous and helpful! We all had plenty of space and with the help of the owners we quickly learned the city and how to get around! We walked, we rode the subway, we took cabs, we ate, we saw all the tourist spots and even more. Would love to come back and explore more parts of the city and would definitely stay at the loft again! Well worth the money and so much better than a hotel! We would recommend the property to friends and relatives and when we come back to NYC will stay in the loft again! In fact we would love to go back and spend more time in the loft itself relaxing! Incredible vacation and a huge part was where we stayed!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely duplex loft on the coolest block in the South Street Seaport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p429547vbi
South Street Seaport Manhattan
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australea
5

Christmas in New York City.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Despite delayed flights and a very late arrival we were welcomed at the property by the very gracious owners. The wonderful Loft is accurately described and exceeded our expectations. It easily and comfortably accommodated our family of four adults and a teenager. The kitchen is fabulous and generously appointed allowing us to cook a feast on Christmas day. The Made Fresh Daily Cafe downstairs makes fabulous breakfasts and the Fresh Salt Bar around the corner is one of the friendliest places I have encountered anywhere in the world. The subway is only about 5 minutes walk with China Town and Little Italy just a stroll away. Battery Park and harbour tours also just a short walk down the water front. Hurricane Sandy certainly made an impact on the local area with many of the shops still closed - not good for property owners but it made for much quieter and relaxed surroundings after a day in the hustle and bustle of Manhattan. Work is progressing at pace though to bring the whole area back to speed. The loft made the perfect hub for our New York experience and we would certainly plan on returning when next in the Big Apple.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely duplex loft on the coolest block in the South Street Seaport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p429547vbi
South Street Seaport Manhattan
5

Thanksgiving in NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a wonderful time! The house was as we expected, lots of space and very comfortable. The owners were really nice with us and we definitely recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely duplex loft on the coolest block in the South Street Seaport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p429547vbi
South Street Seaport Manhattan
5

it doesn't get better than this

it doesn't get better than this
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
There were 3 of us. We had plenty of space to spread out and have privacy - lots of light, perfect for working in the kitchen and entertaining a large group for a meal. The neighborhood is charming, with shops and cafes just outside the front door. It is close to the waterfront and near subway stations. The apartment is decorated simply and tastefully with a home-like feel. This is an exceptional place to stay. There is no elevator, so be sure you are comfortable with stairs.
The listing is accurate in its description, the photos accurately reflect its appearance, the owner was very helpful, I would definitely recommend this place to friends and relatives.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely duplex loft on the coolest block in the South Street Seaport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p429547vbi
South Street Seaport Manhattan
5

VERY COOL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This is a very wonderful place to stay- it has a European feel. The owners have put their hearts & souls into this place- it has quite a history. The pictures are accurate but so much more in person. We stayed with 5 adults & 1 teen & had very adequate space where we could all hang out at night after a busy day touring NYC. The location is hard to beat it has everything nearby. The loft has all your needs if you choose to eat some meals in.
The South Sea Port area is a very fun & lively place to stay with a board walk along the east river ,the restaurants & shops meet all ages. The street is very quiet you don't get all the noise of the traffic as you do in main street hotels . The loft is so unique & comfortable you won't want to leave -it has 2 floors so you can have your own space if needed . I hope we can return sometime I would highly recommend it . Thank you Andrea & Kit !
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1