Canal District apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Canal District Apartment Rental Photos and Description

This light, bright and airy apartment in the 17 century canal area of Amsterdam sleeps 2 (living room, study, bedroom; a western king size double), has an open plan kitchen and is located in the very heart of Amsterdam between the Prinsen and the Keizers gracht.

Most of the important museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum, the Leidseplein, the Vondelpark, the Rembrandtsplein, the shopping streets and the best restaurants are all within walking distance. If you don't want to walk, the nearest streetcar/tram stop is less than a 5 minutes walk.

This 60 square meter (645 square ft.) apartment is the ideal location for your stay in this unique city!

Hi I am a 41 years old guy from Amsterdam and I work as a human recourses consultant in the logistics industry. My partner and I have been living in the center of Amsterdam for many years, we both love Amsterdam, its compactness, its friendly atmosphere, its noisyness, its tranquility. Originally I am from the eastern part of the Netherlands (If you want to know the difference between Holland and The Netherlands I am happy to tell you when you here) and moved to Amsterdam when I was 21. My first room (student housing) was just around the corner and from that moment on I new I wanted to own an apartment in this part of the city.

Frank purchased this apartment in 2001

Although no longer living there we don't want to sell it because its such a nice apartment in such an ideal location.

Whenever we have family or friends over we let them stay there and everyone who has always loves the great location!

From the south facing balcony at the back side of the apartment you have a nice view of the gardens of the 17th century canal houses on the Prinsengracht. It is amazing how peaceful and tranquil it can be in the middle of a buzzling city like Amsterdam.

20 Reviews of Property 428319 in Canal District, Netherlands

CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428319vb
Canal District Amsterdam
U.S.A.
5

Very nice apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The property was as represented.It was clean, modern and well located to visit all major museums and sights.The owner was gracious, helpful and interested in assisting us in any way possible.We would stay here again and are pleased to recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428319vb
Canal District Amsterdam
Ridgefield, CT USA
5

Plenty of room for a couple in very convenient area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The pictures are pretty accurate - the apartment is a one bedroom, with LR and open kitchen and there is a spare room set up as a study which let us spread put our suitcases etc. The street is very quiet but just 100m in either direction puts you in the action. About a 10 minute walk south to the museum plaza and you really can walk (maybe 20 min) north all the way to the rest of the old city. Kitchen is well appointed. Owner was attentive to any needs but absolutely "out of our way". Grocery store a 5 min walk (we like to eat breakfast in and maybe have a glass of wine and a snack before going out for dinner). Want to take a tram back to the Centraal Station to get the airport train? Yup, 100m from your door. Good sized separate clothes washer and dryer. We really liked the apartment and the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428319vb
Canal District Amsterdam
Texas
5

Nice location to explore Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Convenient to Tram stop. Local restaurants and cafes nearby. Host responded quickly to emails and made suggestions for our stay. Apartment is as shown in the photos.
business
CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428319vb
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Perfect getaway, perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed there for 6 nights and really enjoyed this appartment. After having walked around Amsterdam, we came to the conclusion that we would not have chosen another area of the town to stay. This one is perfectly located.

It was big enough, very clean and recently renovated.

We definitely recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428319vb
Canal District Amsterdam
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

Great Apartment in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed here July 24-27 2013. The apartment was exactly as advertised, and was very clean, had modern appliances, and was very spacious compared to other 1 bedroom apartments we have stayed in.
The bedroom is situated in the back of the apartment and there is absolutely no street noise in there to keep you awake. The apartment is very close to the tram system, and the street does not have a lot of pedestrian traffic which makes you feel like you are living with the locals. The owner met us and went through the apartment very thoroughly. There is a lot of information in the apartment for first time visitors to Amsterdam to show you what to see and do. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Amsterdam. Thanks for your hospitality Frank!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428319vb
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Amsterdam rental in canal district

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was a wonderfully equipped and cared for apartment in an excellent location. We had a great time and will be back. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428319vb
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Diane

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a wonderful 3 night stay in this lovely, very comfortable apartment. The location couldn't have been better. We walked everywhere, in every direction. Very central and in a great area.
The owner met us at the airport, gave us the keys and told us how to travel from the airport by train, then tram. Very easy. We did have a bit of difficulty trying to unlock the first door though. Luckily, as we were about to give up, I received a text message from the owner saying that if we were having trouble, we should turn the key counterclockwise. That did the trick.
The apartment was clean and very well equipped, complete with instructions for just about everything in the apartment. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was hot with good pressure. The balcony was a great place to have a glass of wine before going out for the evening. Having a washer and dryer was also a definite plus.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam. Having this apartment as our home base contributed greatly to our positive experience.
We went to a bar called Cafe de Wetering at 37 Weteringstraat, not far from the apartment. It is a good spot to have a drink, meet the "regulars", and enjoy the ambience of a local bar. We had met the owner, Jan, and his wife 34 years ago while on vacation in Portugal.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428319vb
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Great location at a great price

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I traveled solo to Amsterdam for a few days for the first time. After comparing hotels, I found this apartment at a considerably cheaper rate and I'm glad I found it! It had all the amenities of home like washer & dryer, fridge, kitchen. I sorely needed clean clothes after spending a week somewhere else, so this was very handy. It is very centrally located to almost all the attractions as I walked everywhere I went. The apartment is only 2 blocks away from Ledisplein square if you want a drink, meal, or anything else that might strike you as Amsterdam. I ran in Vondelpark each morning which is about 1 km away. Frank was great as well with prompt replies and help. Great transaction!

About the only negative thing I can say is the downstairs front door key did not work very well which caused me a great confusion thinking I was lost the first time I tried it after a few beers down the road lol. After working the key several times I was able to get it to unlock. I brought this up to Frank and he assured me that he would replace the key so probably won't be a problem in the future.

I would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428319vb
Canal District Amsterdam
New York
5

Wonderful apartment in Leidseplein

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I enjoyed four nights in Amsterdam staying at this comfortable apartment. The location is perfect for a visit. We were close to shops, restaurants, sites, transportation. The apartment is one flight up from ground. The street is quiet. The manager met us to let us in and walk through the place. The owner has a binder with information for everything you might want to know, including wi-fi password, recycling, etc. There is additional touring information. The apartment is pretty typical in size, I'd say. The kitchen has good working appliances including a Nespresso machine. Yum! The bathroom is lovely. Lots of soft towels, towel warmer, large shower, washer/dryer. The bedroom has two twin beds pushed together to make a king. The den is good for a second dressing room. Need to get a new front door key as this one is tricky- wiggle, wiggle. I hope to stay here again. No complaints. The apartment is clean, comfortable, safe. It's not fancy or big but very nice. Probably 4.5 stars, but I will round up to 5 stars for location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
CENTRALLY LOCATED IN THE UNESCO CANAL BELT AREA !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428319vb
Canal District Amsterdam
Orange County, CA, USA
5

Home sweet home in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed in Amsterdam for one week and opted for an apartment instead of a hotel. After very thorough online "shopping" during our planning process, we found Frank's apartment at the most reasonable price and what seemed to be a very central location in the canal area.

Frank met us at the apartment when we arrived and walked through the apartment with us. His book for his guests is great - grocery store walking directions, nearby restaurants, how-to for appliances, etc. He also gave us a check-in gift of wine, candies and espresso pods. The apartment was as described (wonderful!). Appliances and Wi-Fi worked great. Frank took the time to show us how to connect iTunes to his Bluetooth speakers (so great).

After staying in the apartment for a week, we found the location to be perfect for our sightseeing, eating and experiencing needs. We walked or took the tram everywhere we went. The two tram stations were about a 2- or 3-minute walk from the apartment. When we stayed there in April 2013, there was construction taking place in the building directly across from us. It didn't bother us at all as we were both awake by 7:30am. The construction began sometime between 7:40 - 8am and ended no later than 4pm.

We had our luggage, souvenirs, coats, shoes, etc. stored in this second room and so we were able to fully use the bedroom, kitchen and living room space.

We highly recommend Frank's apartment and it is on the top of our list to rent if we return to Amsterdam.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway