Caye Caulker house rental - The Hidden Gem and swimming pool located in 1 block from the ocean.
The Hidden Gem and swimming pool located in 1 block from the ocean.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Caye Caulker House Rental Photos and Description

Bedroom #1 (1 Queen Bed)

Bedroom #2 (Loft with 2 twin beds, or push together for King)

1 bath

Air Conditioning

Large Swimming Pool with sun deck and loungers

This new home has modern island finishes, hardwood floors, hardwood vaulted ceilings, a fully equipped kitchen, linens, washer, TV, internet service, air conditioning, and a large swimming pool with loungers. 1 minute walk to the ocean down a short sandy path.

Please bring your own beach towels.

Please, no smoking/no pets.

Welcome to the quaint tropical island of Caye Caulker where summer never ends...the island is 1 mile wide and 5 miles long, never far from the ocean. Location: The Belize Barrier Reef: It is the longest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere and the second largest in the world.

There are no cars on this small paradise island, bicycles are the preferred method of travel, otherwise golf cart taxis are readily available.

Kick back and enjoy your stay at this beautiful new home located on a quiet street, just a quick bike ride into town. Take a plunge in our private pool or stroll down to the ocean under the palm trees. Make sure to bring or rent snorkeling gear, an experience of a life time. World class fishing, diving and snorkeling are available through the many guides on the island.

There are local grocery stores on the island as well as incredible Caribbean Restaurants.

The area is surrounded by lush palms and abundant tropical foliage. Local Wildlife Reserve near by.

Visit the popular 'Split' for a refreshing beverage and a swim in the sandy bay, listen to local music, take a boat ride, or just lie in the sun on a dozy afternoon.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of four, and live in Colorado. We love to ski the Mountains, but can't wait to be by the ocean.

Debbie purchased this house in 2012

The island of Caye Caulker is a hidden paradise that we had always hoped to find...and finally did! The love of the ocean, the year round summer temperatures, the unbelievable reef, and friendly people make this place absolutely perfect for our family.

Large 35' x 15' swimming pool. Only a few homes on the island have a pool.

14 Reviews of Property 428314 on Caye Caulker, Belize

Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
business
Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428314vb
+1 970-390-7532
Caye Caulker Belize
5

Miss Emma

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a wonderful time on Caye Caulker
The Hidden Gem was an ideal place to stay
We used the pool daily
Enjoyed the walks up town via the ocean path
Would love to go back, the slow pace was relaxing and the locals are so nice
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428314vb
+1 970-390-7532
Caye Caulker Belize
Victoria BC Canada
5

Hidden Gem - for sure!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
After a gruelling 12 hour trip (the Tropic Air flight was a relief) we were greeted at the airstrip by our friend who said "no taxi we will walk". Imagine our relief when we were home in half a city block. The house was very pretty, functional (even with 5 women and one bathroom). Within 20 minutes we were refreshed by a Belikans and walked off to town. There is so much to look at in such a small place we were on overload. Dinner at Franny's was excellent and we happily wandered home to enjoy the porch and of course a few more Belikans. The next day we found our biking legs and we were off! The street system is easy to remember-if you can look up from the street to see where you are. We had rain and found the roads became slippery and pot holed. Our solution was to take the beach and avoid the mud. The town and locals were lovely and very welcoming. We ate at home two meals in two weeks. The food was excellent at every stop. Mmmm to the Fryjacks and burritos, Pizza Caulkers, Terry's and My Little Kitchen. Michael was outstanding. Don't know how many mornings he would wake up to an email from us and delivered our needs before lunch. Hidden Gem is perfect and will see me again. PS I was the bug magnet for the group and found a great bug spray in the grocery store. Small irritant for all the relaxation I achieved. Well done Hidden Gem owners and Michael is priceless!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428314vb
+1 970-390-7532
Caye Caulker Belize
California
4

Enjoyed our stay at the Hidden Gem

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Overall a very pleasant stay at the Hidden Gem - all amenities as described. Michael (the property manager) was very pleasant and responsive. Property was very clean and the pool was great for the kids. A few recommendations and comments. House is a bit small, but was good for our family of 4, you should include the size of the property in your description. The house could use more sitting/couches for relaxing inside. The location is next to the airport which is very convenient but a long walk into the main town or the split (beach). However, the bikes that were provided were great and used every day. This was a very nice amenity to get around the island and explore.

Owners and property manager were easy to get a hold of and promptly answer all of our questions. We also recommend lots of bug repellant. The tiny mosquitos are a killer, we all got multiple bites.

Syds and Meldy's restaurants are a must. Great food. Took the boat to San Pedro for the day and rented a golf cart for a few hours. We went to Coco Beach Resort and hung at the beach. Drove all around town and got to see the sites.

Took the boat back to the main land on our departure and it rained on the way. Got soaked, but overall a great experience. We definitely recommend the Hidden Gem and will be back soon. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428314vb
+1 970-390-7532
Caye Caulker Belize
Portland area
5

One of the best places on the Caye

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of 4 stayed here for a week absolutely loved this house. There are 3 houses next to each other all of which are the nicest on the island. The pool was a perfect way to cool down after a day of fishing or snorkeling. Don't rent a golf cart here, the only way to go is by bike. The only thing I will point out is that the loft is only accessible by ladder, so if your 20 somethings like to hit the bars for rum punch, it can get a little tricky. Michael the caretaker of the property is great, and will be at your door in 3 min if you need anything. Great Guy!!! So many great places to eat. Breakfast at the bait shop on middle street, cheap and good, anything from the bakery on middle was great. The fruit stand by the bait shop and bank had the best prices and the best fresh squeezed orange or watermelon juice. Roses cooked the fish we caught and grilled it to perfection. Probably the only bad meal we had was at Wish Willys overpriced and the guy was arrogant. Took our fishing and snorkeling tours with Tsunami. All trips were great and they were willing to negotiate prices. Just a perfect trip. Can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428314vb
+1 970-390-7532
Caye Caulker Belize
Lakeport, California
5

caye caulker vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of six had a wonderful time at this rental on Caye Caulker. We saved money by cooking our own meals. Being a little away from the center of town was nice and relaxing. Most of all the pool was a wonderful treat, and the AC cold. Nothing to complain about.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428314vb
+1 970-390-7532
Caye Caulker Belize
Pittsburgh PA
5

Felt Like Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is the place to stay when traveling to Caye Caulker. It is a 3 minute walk from the airstrip and a short bike-ride to the split. I will be back and staying here!!! Thanks :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was very nice talking with you! Glad you enjoyed yourself!
Thank you!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428314vb
+1 970-390-7532
Caye Caulker Belize
San Clemente, CA
5

Truly a Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed at the Hidden Gem during our kids' Spring Break and had a wonderful experience. Debbie was great with email communication. When we arrived, Michael was waiting for us at the water taxi dock. We felt very well taken care of. The house is beautiful and the surrounding property is lovely as well. The pool was a must have for us so this home worked out perfectly for our family. We enjoyed riding the bikes all over the island. The house is a short ride from the heart of town. It's right next to the little airport but that is not a problem at all. As a matter of fact it was fun to see the planes come in and take off. The flights were within reasonable waking hours and not very frequent. The fact that there are no cars on the island is awesome! We enjoyed dinner at Rose's Grill, Enjoy, Tropical Paradiso, and Wish Willy's. We ate lunches from the smaller stands along the road. The last day we ate at Belita's (a little blue hole in the wall on front street) which is new and the food was great and super affordable. We also got lunch one day at the Budgetman...he is a fun character with tasty food. We bought tamales from a street vendor and meat pies and banana bread from another guy. Amor Cafe is another yummy place to eat. We often went to the bakery in the morning and bought fresh fruit at the fruit stands to make smoothies. We went on two snorkeling trips, one with Juni on his sailboat and one with Ras Creek on his Rastafarian boat that you can find at the Split. Both trips were amazing! Some days we just swam at the Split and at the pool. We had a really wonderful vacation. I'm so glad we stayed at the Hidden Gem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule to review our home. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the island of Caye Caulker and The Hidden Gem. Please come back for another visit someday.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428314vb
+1 970-390-7532
Caye Caulker Belize
Groveland, IL USA
5

The perfect island, and the perfect rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My family rented the Hidden Gem on a recent trip to Belize. The island of Caye Caulker was amazing, and we felt the Hidden Gem was a perfect place to call 'home' during our trip. It is located just a few blocks from the small downtown area. It took less than 5 minutes to ride anywhere on the bikes that we rented thru Hidden Gem, and about 10 minutes if you wanted to walk.

The newly built home was well equipped: kids movies, coffee maker, pots/pans, dishsoap, salt/pepper...several things handy for those wanting to do a little cooking. The manager met us at the water taxi dock and was very accomodating. He recommended a restaurant to us that was just delicious. Fresh catch of the day...YUM! The home had wifi and a lovely pool. We brought our own beach towels, but found a few spare towels in the closet. There was a safe for valuables, too.

The Hidden Gem is located on a quiet street and you can take a little trail to a private beach or bike past the tiny airport to see the other side of the island. We spotted lots of blue crabs on that trail and saw some fabulous scenery. I would say that it was one of the nicest places to stay on the island. We were able to cook a few meals ourselves and even do some laundry, which came in really handy, as this was only our first stop in Belize.

I can't think of one negative thing to say about the rental...everything was superb. Wish we were still in Caye Caulker sitting on the porch of the Hidden Gem!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428314vb
+1 970-390-7532
Caye Caulker Belize
Canada
5

A Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
It is near the little airport but this does not cause a bother as they are only Cessna Caravans during daylight and you only hear them leave. The single beds are up a solid ladder on a mezzanine so not suitable for those with a fear of heights or young children. The pool is great, the kids spent hours in it. Caye Caulker's beaches aren't plentiful but the seabreeze is a Godsend. The manager was wonderful. A/C was a great advantage as the first 2 nights were HOT! Having a clothes line and a washer were fabulous! Suggestion BYO HE laundry detergent as it is expensive at the store. Biking to the shops, The Split and restaurants, anywhere was easy. When the plants grow a bit more on the 2 sides of the property, it will be more private. The back fence is very private. The place was clean and well stocked with the necessary items for cooking your own food and opening your own beer. Great location, modern building, would recommend to family with kids older than about 6. Don't be afraid to try the streetside and peddling vendors. We picked up the most exquisite large slices of lemon meringue pie from the man that sells mini meat pies to the kids at school for recess. The family business advertises meat pies on the tiny building. Thanks Debbie for letting us use your property. Snorkelling at the split was fun (we took our own snorkel gear). We did Carlos' reef tour for half day. Our guide Rocky was very informative and flexible with us. Enough for my 8 year old and for me who gets sea sick. Juni was highly recommended but it was a whole daytrip on a sailing boat. Advice for when leaving the country, the departure fees are different ($US39.50) at the airport to crossing the border to Guatemala ($BZ37.50). Not sure about the cost to cross to Chetumal. Nick the taxi (golf cart)driver arranged for Louis to pick us up in Belize city (Yes they tip each other) $US30 to the airport for us 4. Again another great experience.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hidden Gem-New Home with Large Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428314vb
+1 970-390-7532
Caye Caulker Belize
Bozeman, MT
5

Our early February stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Debbie was extremely prompt in her email replies and shared valuable information with us. We loved the pool, which is big, clean, well furnished with deck chairs and lounges. I would recommend this property to anyone. The house is very new and all the appliances, AC, lights and fans worked perfectly. We loved the "new" bikes which added so much to our island living.
Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4