Glen Park condo rental - Welcome to our cozy cottage!
Welcome to our cozy cottage!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Glen Park Condo Rental Photos and Description

Enjoy our top floor 1 BR condo with its own private entrance accessed directly from a lovely, private garden.

The cottage was originally built in 1908 as a 'servants' quarters' annex to the large Victorian home next door, though it is now a separate property. Two rooms were added in the 1930s and the inside of the home was tastefully remodeled over the past 20 years with love, care and attention to detail. The downstairs area is only occupied during the day (Stephen's office), so guests typically have full privacy from early evening through the morning.

The unit includes a bright living/dining area with hardwood floors throughout, a newly remodeled gourmet kitchen with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, and a bathroom with a separate shower and a claw foot tub. The comfortable Queen size bed in the bedroom plus a high-quality Queen sleeper sofa in the living room can accommodate up to 4 people.

We offer a computer with Wifi internet access, a flatscreen TV with cable and Tivo, Wii, and a DVD player.

The garden/patio area includes a built-in BBQ pit, while a separate artist studio next to the patio houses Stephen's concert grand Steinway piano (available for practice when Stephen is working downstairs).

The cottage is located on a quiet residential street with easy parking, yet within a few minutes walk you will find the quaint Glen Park shops - 1950s vintage furniture store, a quirky independent bookstore offering live jazz performances, a high-end independently-run grocery store, beauty salons, a gym and more. Highly rated local restaurants include a French bistro (le P'tit Laurent) , a restaurant serving delicious American fare (Chenery Park), Italian (Manzoni), gourmet pizza (Gialina), Cal-Mex food (la Corneta) and old-style American breakfast fare (Tiger's). From there you can hop on a Muni bus or BART (rapid train), which gets you downtown to the Union Square and main shopping area within 12 minutes, or even to the East Bay (Berkeley and beyond) in half an hour. By car, a 2 minute drive will get you to the 280/101 freeways, which offers easy access to downtown SF (10 minutes) and Silicon Valley.

A 4 minute walk down the street from the cottage leads to Glen Canyon, a beautiful 70 acre hikers' oasis and SF's best kept nature secret, which also offers a children's playground and tennis courts.

More Details
Hide Details

We are family of four - Stephen, Sigrid and our two children aged 9 and 11. We currently live 10 minutes away in the Haight Ashbury neighborhood, but this was our first home and we love it very much! Stephen is a classical musician and has continued to use the downstairs apartment as his office/computer/composing space while he also spends time in the artist studio/music room (separate building) across the garden to practice on his Steinway grand piano.

Stephen is California-grown, while Sigrid is Belgian/Swedish and moved to the US in her twenties for graduate studies at Stanford - and never left! Between us we speak English, French, Spanish, Swedish and Dutch (plus some German and Russian), so for those contacting us from abroad, we look forward to welcoming you!

Stephen Brotzman purchased this condo in 1997

Glen Park is a lovely neighborhood, full of great restaurants and ample parking. The house itself stood out as the most beautiful on the block. Bright yellow, with a white gate entering into a gorgeous front garden.

The home offers an oasis of calm within one of SF's quaintest and most authentic old neighborhoods, yet with easy access to all of the excitement of San Francisco and the broader Bay Area.

20 Reviews of Property 427927 in Glen Park, California

Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427927vb
Glen Park San Francisco
5

Comfy, cozy and perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a delightful stay in this lovely apartment. The queen bed was excellent, the kitchen very well equipped, great living/dining space and lovely light.

Loved the Glen Park neighborhood. It's close to BART and several bus lines. We visit SF to walk and tour and this was a neighborhood we hadn't explored before. Nice restaurants, sweet bakery and an excellent neighborhood grocery were just a few of the niceties located just a few blocks from the apartment.

We hope to go back for a longer stay! So grid and Stephen are excellent hosts.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427927vb
Glen Park San Francisco
Stockholm, Sweden
5

Great place in a great neigborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I absolutely loved everything in this charming cottage! The owners, Stephen and Sigrid, are very friendly and helpful. Stephen also gave me tips on great things to do in San Francisco, which I do not think is possible to find in the travel guides. Would highly recommend this cottage!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427927vb
Glen Park San Francisco
Charlotte
5

A treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This little gem is filled with personality - owners Stephen and Sigrid have shown loving attention to detail. Great location in the glen park neighborhood is an easy walk to the all-important Bart, glen canyon park, markets and restaurants. Peaceful little private garden is a great place for morning coffee. All the hoped-for amenities are there: wifi, well stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, view of the city from your bedroom window, and most importantly a gracious host who went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. Looking forward to a return visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427927vb
Glen Park San Francisco
Ottawa, ON, Canada
5

Gerry L from Ottawa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This cottage is everything homeaway says it is and then some. This lovely cottage is located in an amazing area of San Francisco, with all that you need within a few blocks. The Glen Park BART station is literally a 5 minute walk and will take you anywhere you need to go. This place is very roomy and incredibly comfortable with everything you need to feel at home. Sigrid was an absolute joy to deal with, she couldn't have been more helpful and easy to deal with. I would definitely stay here again next time I return to the Bay area.
business
Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427927vb
Glen Park San Francisco
5

Amazing Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I think I may have already written a review, but I don't see it... this cottage is a SF hidden gem. Close to BART, beautiful area, and great price. Sigrid is a pleasure to deal with, and made our stay wonderful. I HIGHLY recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427927vb
Glen Park San Francisco
5

Great Stay. Thank you for the great hospitality.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I, and my daughter and a friend thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. The owner is very helpful and very accommodating. The apartment is extremely well maintained with hardwood floors. I would highly recommend the property to anyone wanting to spend a few days in San Francisco. The place is very well located with only a 5 to 8 minutes walk to BART. The little neighborhood just down the street has some excellent restaurants and a great coffee shop. The area is very quiet and restful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427927vb
Glen Park San Francisco
Lakewood, CO
5

Charming Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Sigrid was wonderful! Very timely with her communications. She greeted us with a beautiful bouquet of flowers. The cottage was delightful, clean and felt like home away from home. Definitely exceeded our expectations. Within walking distance of restaurants and grocery store and only about three to four blocks from the Bart station. Would highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427927vb
Glen Park San Francisco
5

Excellent place to stay in San Francisco.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We really had a great time in San Francisco. Your condo was so bright, roomy and comfortable. It was convenient to the bus we needed and the BART station. It was so nice to have a place we could make our own meals and relax after a long day of touring. Our girls (12 and 14) were comfortable on the fold out couch.

Thanks again for all the hospitality. A.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427927vb
Glen Park San Francisco
5

Great place and awesome owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Enjoyed our stay at this property. Very clean. One of the nicer areas of San Francisco to stay. Loved the kitchen and the bed was extremely comfortable. Owners are great people, very friendly and helpful, yet allowed our privacy. Instructions were conveyed by owner in a clear and concise manner, and written instructions were left for later reference. We would definitely recommend this property to our friends. Thanks for the beautiful flowers and for showing us your Steinway!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy, conveniently located cottage in SF's Glen Park Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p427927vb
Glen Park San Francisco
Atlanta
5

Atlanta grand parents

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We absolutely loved everything about the cottage. It is spacious, very well appointed,very quiet and close to Bart. The owner who has stocked the place with every possible "necessity" is a very welcoming hostess. I will recommend the Cottage to any of my friends coming to S.F. and we will return. And again, thanks for the flowers and the welcome note!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1