Puako cottage rental - Welcoming Entrance
Welcoming Entrance
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Puako Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Capture the essence of authentic Puako, just steps away from the ocean while vacationing at artfully designed and decorated Hale ‘Oma’oma’o iki. A mere 200 feet from an amazing beach access, Hale ‘Oma’oma’o iki is located in the middle of Puako, a small vibrant beach community that welcomes guests and locals alike in a friendly, open and relaxed atmosphere.

This inviting, colorful and exceptionally clean cottage has been expertly renovated and restored with fun and playful décor. A simple and well thought out floor plan offers all the essentials needed for an intimate, comfortable, and harmonious dwelling. Filled with light, a rainbow of complimentary colors and new everything, one cannot help but enjoy themselves and delight in this home and setting.

Situated on a large private lot, this lovely cottage also has lush tropical landscaping, a welcoming outdoor shower and two wonderful lanais; one for viewing the sun rise over majestic Mauna Kea and the peaceful Puako kiawe forest, and another for enjoying a refreshing beverage and relishing the day’s adventures.

Come experience Puako's great beachcombing, magnificent sunsets, abundant tide pools, turtles, some of the island's best snorkeling, scuba diving, and favorite surf spots. One can choose between Paniau Beach at one end, Wailea Beach with its white pristine Hawaiian sand and aquamarine ocean at the other, or any of the many beach access points that dot scenic Puako Beach Drive in between.

Hapuna State Beach Park is also located nearby and is a prime spot for body boarding, sunbathing, sand castle making and one of the best beaches in the entire state.

This is undoubtedly a great spot to enjoy the beauty of the island, a tropical lifestyle, the sights, sounds and scents of Hawaii, only as Puako and the surrounding area can deliver, at an authentic vintage cottage.

Perfect for a couple or those with small children.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 426936 in Puako, Hawaii

FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426936vb
laurelerickson808@gmail.com
Puako Kohala Coast
5

Dive Vacation !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My son and I came to Hawaii and wanted to stay in Puako, we have friends who always stay in the area and swear by it - we were not disappointed ! Close to Kohala Dive center and in such a great, quiet part of the island. All the shoreline access sites are full of turtles and the views are amazing. Ironically, on day two our dive boat drove back down to Puako and we spent the day diving right in front of the house ! The house itself is just great, charming and very comfortable. I still had to work so was glad for the speedy WiFi, the bedroom is big, the foldout couch comfortable, the kitchen was fully equipped and the outside shower was really nice, hot water came fast. The back yard was excellent, huge and made for a great spot to do Yoga in front of Mauna Kea. Laurel was great, welcomed us warmly and was a pleasure as a host. My son and I can't wait to come back. Thanks Laurel !
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426936vb
laurelerickson808@gmail.com
Puako Kohala Coast
Calistoga, CA
5

Super Sweet Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Puako is a charming neighborhood and we couldn't have asked for a better spot to spend our 16 days on the Big Island. The cottage is super clean and well equipped without clutter. Drinking coffee on the back lanai in the early morning sun was a real treat. Best location on the island if you're looking for quiet and privacy away from crowded tourist areas. Loved the outdoor shower! We found fabulous nearby beaches and local hangouts on our own, which we enjoyed discovering, but the property manager, Laurel, was also very willing to share her knowledge of the area. Would definitely return ~ perfect for a couple.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426936vb
laurelerickson808@gmail.com
Puako Kohala Coast
Round Rock, TX
5

Fabulous getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This is the perfect getaway cottage. The views are stunning and the accommodations have been top notch. The location is perfect. There are multiple choices for beaches (traditional sand or salt/pepper lava rock) and there is a General Store within walking distance for all your grocery and beach needs. We can't wait to come back. The owner was very helpful with answering questions in a timely manner.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426936vb
laurelerickson808@gmail.com
Puako Kohala Coast
5

Perfect home base

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We loved our 5-night stay at this cottage. The yard, bedroom and living room are very spacious and the king bed (a real one - not 2 twins put together) was very comfortable. This was the perfect home base for my husband, 2 year old son and myself. The outdoor shower was very comfortable and a great idea after returning from a beach day. The cottage is a short drive to the beaches of A Bay, Beach 69 and Hapuna, among other sites. Walking across the street and down 2 houses gets you to a path to a small beach of limited sand, small rocks and tide pools. This was a great play spot for our son during the day and an amazing spot for all ages during low tide. Late afternoon we walked among the rocks and saw tons of sea creatures (cucumbers, urchins, crabs and several green sea turtles basking on the rocks). Magical! The guest book had several other good suggestions that we missed; make sure to read it for other good tips!

There is no stereo or bedroom clock, although those were minor issues since most people travel with smart phones nowadays. And the curtains in the bedroom were very light. Only an issue if you want to sleep in or are used to a dark room. Not a concern with a 2 year old!

We can't say enough good things about the helpful manager Laurel. She had tons of great suggestions and promptly answered a zillion questions, both in advance and during our stay. She also made unexpected but most appreciated accommodations for our son, like supplying a special bed and a box of toys.

We would definitely return and wholeheartedly recommend this cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you!! We truly appreciated hosting you as our guests and enjoyed meeting your family. Thanks for taking such great care of the cottage and for being so respectful and considerate. You left the cottage in amazing shape!! Wow. We also are thrilled you had a fantastic vacation and were glad we could be of assistance. Please let us know if you would ever like to return as we would welcome the opportunity to have you as guests again. Many Thanks! Laurel
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426936vb
laurelerickson808@gmail.com
Puako Kohala Coast
Chicago, IL
5

Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This cottage is so cute and comfy. It's tiny, but perfect for 2 people (or 4 with kids). It's private, with pretty landscaping around and large lanai out back (and a small one out front). We came here because I had a conference at Hilton Waikoloa, which was about 15-20 min away. It was convenient but away from the hustle and bustle of that super touristy area. We felt like we were immersed in local life in this small, cute community with lots of 50's style homes. We especially enjoyed the local beach ("69") which is really pretty and not over-crowded. PS - the outdoor shower was awesome - what a way to start the day: out in the fresh air, watching the sun come up and the resident wild turkeys displaying in the yard! I also appreciated the responsiveness and generosity of the manager who brought me her own ironing board and iron to borrow since I was attending a conference. Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426936vb
laurelerickson808@gmail.com
Puako Kohala Coast
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
5

Charming Puako Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Excellent, quiet location. Clean and well-maintained with many new features. We loved being able to hear the surf and have a short walk to the beach. The description and photos online are accurate but fail to capture a few wonderful aspects. The cottage is set back from the road and secluded from neighbors, making it very private. The patios north and south with walk-throughs make it seem much larger than it is. And the outdoor shower is a real treat! We were visited daily by wild turkeys and saw many whales from the beach. We definitely recommend this to others except those who want it the next time we visit. :) Mahalo to our gracious hostess.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426936vb
laurelerickson808@gmail.com
Puako Kohala Coast
Berkeley, Ca
5

whales galore

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had a lovely time at this charming cottage. The location is excellent, great for winter whale watching from shore, sea turtles and snorkeling. It was very clean. We loved the back area with sunrise over Mauna Kea. A coffee grinder was all that was missing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426936vb
laurelerickson808@gmail.com
Puako Kohala Coast
Knik, Alaska USA
4

Beautifully redone cottage with stunning sunrise off Volcano

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
What a wonderful little cottage...and with a yard for our toddler to run around barefoot in! Very close to the beach and great snorkeling nearby! The owners were very accomodating and thoughtful of our needs. Perfect little area that is quiet and peaceful at night. No street lights and millions of stars above. Outdoor shower was divine! Thank you so much for being so gracious during our stay! To you all~ you will love it if you are looking for peace and quiet with sights and much to do close by. Warm, warm, warm and dry...when it was raining everywhere else, it wasn't there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426936vb
laurelerickson808@gmail.com
Puako Kohala Coast
Canada
5

Just, Wow.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Its not hard to review this property - it was great. Easily the best place we have ever rented.

The cottage has just been renovated, everything is super-tastefully done, its comfortable and it felt like home to us while we were there. There's a huge backyard, with views of Mauna Kea. Having breakfasts and dinners at the table on the back deck was fantastic. There's a group of wild turkeys that came through now and then to say hi. At night you can hear the ocean and there's nice breezes.

Puako itself was great too. Quiet, calm, but less than 5 miles from 3 of the best beaches (Hapuna, 69 and Mauna Kea). And the beach right across the road from the cottage is great too. (Tip: the best way to snorkel from Puako is to go down to the end of the road. The snorkelling there was incredible.)

The owner of the general store in Puako seems to know everyone that goes in there. It seems like most of the people who discover Puako keep going back year after year.

We certainly hope to go back ourselves!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
FABULOUS OCEAN GETAWAY AT AUTHENTIC PUAKO BEACH COTTAGE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426936vb
laurelerickson808@gmail.com
Puako Kohala Coast
Chico, California
5

Great spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Very clean and bright. Just perfect for two people. Enjoyed the outdoor shower. Friendly neighorhood and beautiful beaches just a short drive away. We'd like to come back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind review; it was our pleasure to have you as our guests and we would love to welcome you back anytime! Best of luck in the new year and with growing your fabulous walunts. They are delicious! Thanks again, Laurel
Helpful votes: 3/4