North Amsterdam cabin rental - Garden & private terrace. Soon there wil be an abudance of flowers again! Dec13
Garden & private terrace. Soon there wil be an abudance of flowers again! Dec13
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
 

North Amsterdam Cabin Rental Photos and Description

New (2010) wooden Garden house, classic local style, comfortable, quiet, kitchen, fridge, microwave, induction cooker, coffee machine, WiFi.

TV,DVD+DVD's, HiFi+ CD's, tourist info, local maps.

1 Bedroom (double+single, baby bed) on first floor, easy&safe access by renewed fixed stairs (plus sleeping couch (200x140) on groundfloor); Bathroom with shower, toilet and urinal; Private terrace (table, chairs, BBQ; outdoor light;) 4 bikes for free

Public transport nearby; 20-30 min to the center by bike. Walking area (incl protected nature) just nearby. Supermarket with local & eco products; delicious bakery. Small restaurant& coffee shop. Free parking! Ringroad & Public transport to Schiphol Airport (25 km). P&R to nearest tram 5 minutes only. Free (4) bicycles!

The Garden House is eco-friendly: all electricity from own solar and wind energy; super insulated, heat recovery from shower water and flushing toilet with rainwater.

I am born&grown, educated in Amsterdam, but lived and worked for years in tropical areas as a doctor (clinical and public health). My wife Carla works for the Municipality of Amsterdam. We love to make long bicycle tours in Holland and abroad. We are active in a local group of climate activists for CO2 reduction among citizens.

Anrik Engelhard purchased this cabin in 2001

Carla became 'claustrophic' in our previous 7 th floor apartment. To our surprise we ended up in Amsterdam North where nature is in the backyard....We were very lucky to find this place and never take it for granted.

After an exiting day in town get rid of the noise, the dust. Park your car secure in front of the house at no cost. Even better, leave your car next day; take our (free!) bicycles. After 20 minutes you are in town after enjoying the view from the (free/7x24) ferry. Even taxi drivers say: 'Wow, I didn't know we have places like this in Mokum' !! (Amsterdam).

6 Reviews of Property 426751 in North Amsterdam, Netherlands

Romantic Gardenhouse, outskirts,10 min from Centre Amsterdam
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Romantic Gardenhouse, outskirts,10 min from Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426751vb
+31646221522
North Amsterdam Amsterdam
USA
5

Quiet and Relaxing Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed here for the first three nights of our European honeymoon, and I wish we could have stayed longer. We were greeted warmly with smiles and a freshly baked Dutch apple pie! Henrick's directions for finding the place were perfect, and - while it did take a train-to-bus transfer on public transit - we found the property with little issue. For the duration of the stay, we used the bikes provided for smooth and easy transport to town...and almost felt like we fit in with the locals. The bikes were not only in great shape and completely at our disposal, but Henrick personally fit the bikes to our comfort.

As for the property, things were exactly as shown and, honestly, surpassed our expectations. We enjoyed the extreme privacy of our own space, a fully stocked kitchen and an adequate and clean bathroom. The entire property had a new and crisp feeling. The grounds were immaculately maintained, as well. We enjoyed the garden space and serenity of the canal which borders the backyard.

Henrick was an eager host and helpfully provided maps, ideas and local knowledge that was much appreciated. Due to the short nature of our stay, we did not explore the area surrounding his property much in favor of spending our time in the city. That said, the charm of this place is in its country feel, while only being a manageable and enjoyable 25 minutes bike ride from the city.

If you are considering booking this place - do it! We had a wonderful stay here.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Romantic Gardenhouse, outskirts,10 min from Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426751vb
+31646221522
North Amsterdam Amsterdam
Canada
5

Unique Amsterdam Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This property is outside the city centre & provides a quiet sanctuary to come home to on your vacation. The cottage is nicely decorated with attention to detail, thoughtful touches like good coffee & tea, spices & olive oil if you want to cook, lovely dishes to serve in! Great market down the road for serious foodies, bikes available & tram into the city core. Wonderful hosts concerned on a warm spell that we had lighter sheets for sleeping & advice for attractions when we were travelling outside the city core. The pleasure of starting our day sitting outside with our coffee in the beautiful gardens made this a special experience!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Romantic Gardenhouse, outskirts,10 min from Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426751vb
+31646221522
North Amsterdam Amsterdam
Makawao, Hawaii
5

Comfortable, Clean, Convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The cottage is both clean and comfortable, and the location is perfect: far enough from Amsterdam city center to be quiet and rural, but close enough to be quite convenient. The neighborhood is charming and includes a local organic market with a wonderful selection of fruits, vegetables, meat, cheese, bread, and household items. Having a bicycle is truly wonderful and allows guests to enjoy Holland the way the locals do - on two wheels! You can take a short 15-minute ride to a free ferry that takes you directly to Central Station in Amsterdam's center, or you can ride into the country and explore charming Dutch villages. The hosts are incredibly helpful and provide maps, brochures, and travel guides to assist you in planning your vacation. Preparing your own meals is easy in the fully stocked kitchen, and you can enjoy your meals on a private outdoor patio. The bed is comfortable, and the quiet neighborhood allows for a great night's sleep. The cottage exceeded my expectations, and I look forward to a return visit.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Romantic Gardenhouse, outskirts,10 min from Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426751vb
+31646221522
North Amsterdam Amsterdam
Sergy, France
5

Perfect stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a perfect stay in this comfortable 'garden house'.
It was the midst of winter but cozy and warm. The location is just magic, close to the city center but quiet and relaxing. The owners are friendly and helpful.
The house is small but comfortable. The kitchen modern and of good quality. The bedroom upstairs contains a double and a single bed and there was enough space to put up a baby travel bed. There is a comfortable private bathroom. We stayed with two adults and our 14 months old son. Being Dutch expats, originally from Amsterdam, we rented the house to be back 'home' and this is exactly how we felt during our stay. Even though we come from Amsterdam, we were still surprised by this beautiful location. Definitely recommendable!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Romantic Gardenhouse, outskirts,10 min from Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426751vb
+31646221522
North Amsterdam Amsterdam
Canada
5

Canadian Travellers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This was a lovely quaint and quiet home in North Amsterdam, near the locks. It was a country retreat for us. Beautiful gardens, and a great host who met us with wine, beer, fruit and maps of the area. He was willing to help direct us to where we wanted to go, based on our interests. He even found "bike maps" for us to do a 40 km bike around the small villages in the area. A nice supermarket is located nearby with a basic restaurant and bar. 20 minute walk takes you to the next village where there are more restaurants to eat in. It is as described on the website It has enough basic supplies (spices, oils, coffee, tea) for cooking if wanted. Only caution is bathroom is on main floor, and bedroom is upstairs with a ladder connecting the two. It was exactly what we expected and perfect for the price.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic Gardenhouse, outskirts,10 min from Centre Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426751vb
+31646221522
North Amsterdam Amsterdam
Belgie
5

perfect !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Perfecte locatie voor city trip Amsterdam. Huis heeft alles wat je nodig hebt. Het ontbrak ons aan niets. Auto parkeren voor de deur en tram op 1km met directe verbinding naar centraal station Amsterdam. Heel makkelijk en vlot. Rustige ligging. Prima bed. Lansmarkt met restaurant op 300meter. Heel lekker eten daar ! we gaan er zeker nog terug.
Helpful votes: 2/2