Point Reyes Station house rental - Welcome to The Guest House in Town
Welcome to The Guest House in Town
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Point Reyes Station House Rental Photos and Description

The Guest House in Town offers a quiet and secluded retreat bordering open space right in the heart of historic Point Reyes Station. Restaurants, art galleries, the Cowgirl Creamery, boutique shops, Yoga, a farmers market, and live events are all just a block or two away. Enjoy listening to the songbirds and watching the sunset over the Inverness Ridge from your secluded and private deck. With unobstructed and panoramic views of the gardens and the newly acquired National Park 'Wetlands' you will quickly settle into the peace and quiet of West Marin.

The Guest House is a two story loft with a spacious living/dining area and a fully equipped kitchen where you will find all the comforts of home. In the loft upstairs there is a queen bed and a sitting area where you can enjoy the expansive views out the floor to ceiling windows facing open space. There is a small bathroom upstairs with a shower only.

This is the perfect romantic get away for a couple. The house sits detached from the main house with it's own private entry in the rear.

The property is full of roses and hydrangeas, there is always something striking in bloom. Enjoy the organic apples and juicy blackberries surrounding the property if you are here in the late summer or early fall. Kayaks are available and can be easily transported on wheels to the meandering creek down a path right outside the property.

Nearby Point Reyes National Seashore offers trails for hiking, long stretches of beaches, coves along the bay for swimming, an Education Center, wildlife viewing, and a scenic drive along the edge of Tomales Bay where oysters on the half shell are sold and served.

The Guest House in Town was recently purchased and has been newly updated by an artist/designer. It was formerly operated as Annie's Garden Cottage.

More Details
Hide Details

I am an artist, designer, and avid gardener who takes great pride in providing my guests with a beautiful setting where one can unwind and replenish your energy.

Owner/Manager purchased this house in 2010

With the open space, picturesque landscapes, and colorful gardens out the back door, and a charming and friendly small town only a block away I knew that I had found the best of both worlds to put my stamp on and call home.

9 Reviews of Property 426149 in Point Reyes Station, California

The Guest House in Town
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
The Guest House in Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426149vb
415 847-1101
Point Reyes Station The Bay Area
5

Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We were smitten the moment we unlatched the gate and walked down the garden path to our entrance. When we stepped through the front door, we knew we'd found just the right place to read, relax, and enjoy the best of what Point Reyes Station offers. A wall of windows frames a view of the private deck and garden. Beyond the garden, the view extends to a protected area filled with wildlife, and just a few minutes away, a peaceful river meanders through lush countryside. Although we didn't borrow one, kayaks are available to take from the property for those wishing to travel a bit further afield. The deck itself is an oasis of calm, a wonderful place to enjoy a bottle of wine and savour a selection of locally produced cheeses. Kristine, the owner, has paid such attention to detail in the design of the place, and she has stocked the cupboards and the fridge with all sorts of essentials. We were delighted to find an array of condiments, fresh cream, a selection of tea, and freshly ground coffee provided for us. We had a great time shopping for meals and coming back to the Guest House to cook. The main street is just a block or two away, so it's easy to find restaurants when you prefer to eat out. We make a habit of seeking out beautiful places where attention has been paid to both the environment and the experience. We were delighted with what we found here. Thanks, Kris, for a great stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Guest House in Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426149vb
415 847-1101
Point Reyes Station The Bay Area
5

Sweet place to stay for so many reasons

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As advertised+
Tranquility, beautiful gardens nicely appointed cottage, located near many interesting points of interest. This is truly an exquisite place to experience many of the great things California has to offer. Nearby state parks, beaches, and scenic routes for jogging, cycling, hiking or simply chilling out on the deck. It's not far to Petaluma or slightly longer drives to Russian River and beyond. Birds galore, from raptors, doves and quail, grey foxes, and more also seem charmed by this location. Fresh ocean air makes it all relaxing and fresh. The evening fog rolling in from the ocean to be pushed away by mid-morning sun, adds to the dynamic nature of the weather which varies significantly temperature-wise at this time of year. The guest house is well kept, comfortable and an all around charmer. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Guest House in Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426149vb
415 847-1101
Point Reyes Station The Bay Area
Toronto, ON Canada
5

Like Shangri-La

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We spent a week at point Reyes Station at Kris’ Garden Shangri-La. The cottage is a 2-story affair with a large bedroom and washroom on the upstairs level and fully loaded kitchen and living room on the downstairs level. The photos of Kris’ cottage are an excellent portrayal of her guest house; however, no photo can capture the magic of this place. The 2-story windows face a private patio that opens to a lush and colorful garden. Kris is a charming and sensitive host who not only told us about the multitude of sights to visit in Point Reyes National Park and general locality, she also generously opened the full range of her garden to us and left us a good stock of birdseed to replenish the bird feeders. Being birders and nature photographers, the delights of this place far and exceeded what we could have expected. Moreover, the gardens open into the expanse of the marshlands where one can walk and see even more birds. While situated in town, the aspect of this Shangri-La is like being in the country, except there are shops and restaurants within walking distance if needed. The bonus was our nightly visits from two little grey foxes. They did not look full-grown and so we surmised they were siblings. They were clearly competing for Kris’ domain and so did not tolerate each other well. At 8:ooPM, almost to a dot, one would visit our patio, eating whatever birdseeds were scattered on the ground and then drinking from the birdbath. We so treasured these visits that for the week of our visit, we ate dinner at the cottage so as not to miss the fox visits. If you love birds, gardens, an amazingly kind hostess/owner, and a beautiful cottage this is the place to visit. Thank you Kris!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Guest House in Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426149vb
415 847-1101
Point Reyes Station The Bay Area
Manteca
5

Recent birthday trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Lovely, charming, fully stocked, friendly, close to grocery stores, accessible to trails, relaxing and beautiful surroundings. These are only a few words to describe a wonderful experience. The owner is helpful and friendly but not intrusive. We took a lovely trip to Nick's Cove on her suggestion and had a great time!

Literally,all you need to bring is food - everything and I mean everything else is provided for. We will return! Made it hard to come home! Thanks for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Guest House in Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426149vb
415 847-1101
Point Reyes Station The Bay Area
San Mateo, California
5

I Visit Pt Reyes Often - This house is amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The Guest House in Town is my favorite place to stay in Pt Reyes! Waking up to beautiful views of Inverness Ridge and the variety of birds that visit the bird feeder amongst the beautiful gardens was like a dream come true. I even got to pick apples and blackberries from the yard. An added bonus is that the house is one block from the main street in Pt Reyes Station. We cooked the entire weekend using the great kitchen and had lovely dinners outside on the deck taking in the scenery. Everyday you just breathe everything Pt Reyes has to offer from this amazing location. I will be staying at this house again. It was just a lovely experience. Also, the bed is so comfortable, there's no way you cannot get a good night's rest!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Guest House in Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426149vb
415 847-1101
Point Reyes Station The Bay Area
Colorado
5

Fabulous! An absolute treasure.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This place is beautifully appointed, spacious, extremely well designed and decorated, spotless, and was an absolute joy to inhabit. The kitchen is full and easy to use, dishes are lovely and ample, and the views are simply stunning. If anything, the photo's understate the place's charm. Fog comes over the Inverness Ridge and one forgets that this is a convenient in town cottage. Gardens are gorgeous. We were so enchanted we stayed in our first evening there to enjoy the ambiance. The owner is gracious, capable, and full of good humor. One of our best (of many) visits to Pt. Reyes. We recommend with great enthusiasm.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
The Guest House in Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426149vb
415 847-1101
Point Reyes Station The Bay Area
oakland, ca
5

A wonderful getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband, 3 year old and I loved staying at this loft. The place has great attention to detail and is on lovely grounds. The location can't be beat, just a block or two from everything in Point Reyes Station and right outside your door is a lovely trail that leads to a stream, blackberry and plum picking. We had a great time! The Host is very friendly (lives in the main house), helpful, and gracious. She had great recommendations for local activities and food. One of the nicest VRBOs we have encountered. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Guest House in Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426149vb
415 847-1101
Point Reyes Station The Bay Area
San Francisco, California
5

thank you

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was a fabulous place to spend the weekend. The owner is an incredibly gracious woman, and the guest house is bright, beautiful, and comfortable. Everything is clean as can be, the garden is amazing, and the kitchen is fantastically well-equipped. The location is perfect. It's a block from Point Reyes Station's main shopping street but the property is adjacent to a gorgeous greenbelt, so all you can see is out the two-story floor to ceiling windows is gorgeous green.

I use VRBO fairly regularly, and this place is top tier. Thanks for letting us stay with you. We hope to be back soon!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Guest House in Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426149vb
415 847-1101
Point Reyes Station The Bay Area
Mill Valley & Santa Barbara
5

Amazing location, beautiful garden over looking Tomales Bay & Point Reyes

Amazing location, beautiful garden over looking Tomales Bay & Point Reyes
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My wife and I stayed here for three days of hiking, kyacking and sampling the local farm products ( cheese, beer, oysters, beef, organic produce!). The place matched the photos exactly: a well appointed and decorated, with loads of windows and light. The deck and garden overlook the wetlands and up to the Point Reyes seashore. We got to see and hear lots of birds and wildlife, and amazing sunsets. We walked to town in 2 minutes to buy great cheese from the Cowgirl Creamery. Friends joined us from nearby for a picnic and for BBQ'd oysters from Drakes Bay. This is a very special place, perfect for a couple. The owner is a delightful artist, who gave us inside tips on what to do and where to dine in Point Reyes. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3