Bernal Heights apartment rental - Comfortable large bedroom overlooks backyard
Comfortable large bedroom overlooks backyard
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Bernal Heights Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Quality modern 1 bedroom in relaxed urban oasis, walk to restaurants and park

Our guests are usually delighted and surprised at the quality and size of the apartment.

Large one-bedroom apartment furnished with new modern furniture and contemporary artwork made by owner artist. All new updated kitchenette and spacious new bathroom with clawfoot soaking tub with shower. French doors look out from living room onto charming patio garden.

Casa Andover is ideal for a business traveler, a couple or family, or traveling companions seeking a fun getaway and private apartment in San Francisco. Master bedroom is complete with 100% cotton bedding & quality mattress pad, writing desk, and leads to the large spa-like bathroom. The living room is equipped with flat screen TV, HGTV cable, a sitting area with dining table for 4 and a coffee table where you can enjoy a snack or work on your laptop via our free, Wi-Fi and broadband connection.

The kitchenette is equipped with sink, fridge, freezer, microwave, coffee maker. There is also a hot plate for light meal preparation, as well as all basics (plates, utensils, etc.), but chefs be alerted, Casa Andover is best suited to light dining en suite. Organic SF local coffee, tea, and popcorn also provided.

Located in desirable Bernal Heights neighborhood half a block from top-rated restaurants, cafes, grocery store, public library and park. For those not familiar with Bernal Heights - it's a little sunny oasis and has the feeling of relaxed urban sophistication. The shopping strip of Cortland Avenue is populated by innovative restaurants such as Moki's (japanese), Vega (italian), organic grocery stores (Good Life), public library, caf├ęs (famous Sandbox cafe and bakery, Progressive grounds, Liberty Cafe, etc), as well as bookstore (Badger Books), and community gardens.

Walk two blocks up the street to Bernal Hill, an expansive open space park and urban oasis which offers breathtaking 360 degree views of San Francisco.

Public transportation is close at hand with the SF Muni bus stop a half block away on Cortland St., a BART train station at 24th street and Mission. Zipcar nearby at Mission/30th St.

Your host is a young family able to answer questions or give suggestions to make your stay in SF an amazing one! Please ask for our personal recommendations of spots to visit in SF and nearby.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a happy young family raising two girls in the San Francisco. Husband is local Californian artist, painter, works at the De Young Museum managing incoming art collections. He also worked at several art museums in New York and LA. Wife is business woman (market research 'storyteller' in Silicon Valley) and artist (knit designer), Romanian native. We love to meet new people and share our hospitality with friends and guests alike.

Ramona Harvey purchased this apartment in 2010

Most people email us separately or tell us in person how much they like the apartment, and that 'it looks better than in pictures'

You'll fall in love with this spacious, inviting, cozy apartment! Guests love the large glass doors opening to private yard, while others like the modern and clean feeling of this amazing place that seems too good to be true at this price.

30 Reviews of Property 426082 in Bernal Heights, California

Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
average rating of 4.6 based on 30 reviews
business
Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426082vb
Bernal Heights San Francisco
Australia
5

Peace and Quiet with lots of style

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was our first time staying in Bernal Heights as my partner's son now lives nearby and we wanted somewhere close to walk that was interesting and near public transport for getting about the rest of San Francisco during our holiday before we headed back home to Australia. This apartment suited us perfectly, comfortable, spacious, spotlessly clean and in a great location just off Cortland St. The separate bathroom was quite luxurious with a stand alone claw foot bath and stacks of good quality towels. The small garden with seating was a pleasant place to sit and relax when the sun was out. There is sufficient cookware to eat in and there are number of great restaurants and cafes nearby. Ramona and her family are wonderful and unobtrusive hosts and we were very pleased to return for a few days after a side trip to Sacramento. We have no hesitation in recommending the apartment and hope to return in future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426082vb
Bernal Heights San Francisco
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Beautiful apartment with upscale furnishing

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We loved our stay at Casa Andover. The furnishing are brand new - feels like at an upscale B&B: comfortable bed, quality bedsheets, good coffee, even organic shampoo and soap. We came to visit friends who live in Bernal Heights, and the location fantastic - easy walk to our friends house, but also to the nice grocery store down the street, cafes, and bookstore.
The host was very friendly and accommodating. We have two teenagers who didn't want to share the sofa bed in living room. We asked for an extra mattress and the host provided it, along with bedding. We really appreciate it! Highly recommended for families.
business
Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426082vb
Bernal Heights San Francisco
2

Sleeps 2 - But only if you are a couple - sleeps 4 - Not!

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My two guests (Mom and Sister) arrived late and were quite ready to enjoy their apartment. The one bed was fine but we were unable to find anything that might convert the living room couch into a bed. No sheets, pillows or blankets were to be found anywhere. Since we live the neighborhood an emergency rescue made a bad situation tolerable - but in truth my sister used this "dropped ball" to define the stay.
Surprising to me since I actually talked to the host and informed him of our duo.
Owner's Response: So sorry to hear about your sister's experience. We typically host families of 4 and our guests always say the apartment is bigger than expected and comfortably hosts a family.
We would have been happy to provide extra bedding, there is plenty available. Please next time just call us if you need anything. We're always happy to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible.
business
Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426082vb
Bernal Heights San Francisco
Doylestown PA
4

Nicely done very clean close to main drag

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Owners have done a nice job finishing off first floor very spacious and clean nice backyard steps away from Cortland where there are great little shops and restaurants only suggestion to owner is to add some bedding (mattress pads pillows blankets) to make bed more comfortable I would recommend this place and I am very fussy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426082vb
Bernal Heights San Francisco
Florence, KY
4

Wonderful stay in SF!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The location was part of a lovely neighborhood. We had easy access to stores, restaurants and transportation. We found the apartment to be as the pictures portrayed. Ramona was kind enough to let us in early due to our early flights. We really appreciated this because it gave us time to rest before we went sightseeing. I highly recommend going over the Golden Gate Bridge and driving the 5 mile loop on Marin Headlands. Absoluely beautiful views!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426082vb
Bernal Heights San Francisco
Charlotte, Mich.
5

Frequent visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Excellent accommodations. Spacious, bright, great patio area, quiet. Everything I hoped for. I would highly recommend it. I'm sure I'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426082vb
Bernal Heights San Francisco
Mendocino CA
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I had a great. The place was beautiful, very clean and had everything I needed. The neighborhood was wonderful as well. Easy parking and I could walk everywhere. Truly inspired me to travel more. Thanks VRBO!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Alexia for your kind words! I'm happy you enjoyed the apartment, and we look forward to hosting you again when you're in town!
Warm regards,
Ramona
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426082vb
Bernal Heights San Francisco
Kingston, Washington
5

Perfect Grandmother's Suite

Perfect Grandmother's Suite
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This rental was ideal for visiting my daughter and her family. It was within walking distance of their home and so close to shops in Bernal Heights. Super convenient; very clean; artistically appointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426082vb
Bernal Heights San Francisco
5

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Exactly as pictured. Very clean. Quiet, safe, older neighborhood south of the city that has easy access to town (by car), and very quick, easy access to the airport. Market is less than a half block. Cafes, library, small shops within steps. This was our first stay in Bernal Heights (we usually stay in the city) and we would definitely stay again. No problem with parking (that is always an issue staying in downtown area). We appreciate the use of "green products" in this apartment--no chemicals or perfume smells. Very helpful host. Private.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Delightful modern apartment with private yard, walking distance to everything
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426082vb
Bernal Heights San Francisco
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Clean, modern, well-equipped, ideally located

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This clean, modern, well-equipped apartment is ideally located and comfortable for a couple or family. Quiet, attractive, secure neighborhood. Very helpful and personable hosts live upstairs.
Description of the unit and neighborhood is accurate and complete. Firm, comfortable bed, nice shower with effective vent system, well-equipped bathroom including a hair dryer and to our surprise - quality soap, shampoo, even shaving cream! Also - the kitchenette has a mini electric stove and is stocked with pots and pans, we enjoyed having a warm breakfast and sit outside in the private patio.
Interesting artwork throughout, made by the owner who is an artist. Through-ventilation via screened windows keeps the air fresh - never stuffy or close.
Provided gourmet coffee was so good we bought some to bring home. Half a block gets you to the Good Life grocery, which opens at 8. Don't miss the cinnamon rolls - they go fast. It's only a few blocks to Dan Cleaners, which offers overnight wash-and-fold along with other cleaning services. Lots of little restaurants and cafes.
Visiting relatives locally, we had no need for a car. Attractive views from the park at the top of the hill. Bracing exercise walking the hilly terrain. Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 1/1