Austin house rental - Laid Back Luxury in Travis Heights - 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, wonderful spaces!
Laid Back Luxury in Travis Heights - 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, wonderful spaces!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
Laid-back Luxury in the Heart of Travis Heights

Our Mid-Century Modern Guest House is the perfect spot to enjoy the charming, safe neighborhood of Travis Heights. Quiet and relaxing, yet only 1/2 mile from SOCO and a short distance from all central Austin attractions, it is an ideal base for visiting Austin. Smartly furnished with modern, designer pieces and contemporary art. Large terrace, screened porch with outdoor grill and comfortable seating overlook the native-plant landscaped backyard. Three (3) spacious bedrooms and two (2) baths accommodate 6 guests. The large kitchen is fully equipped for cooking (and/or relaxing), and opens onto the dining area and den. The comfortable living room is perfect for visiting, reading, or watching movies or cable on the Sony flat-screen TV. Big Stacy Pool is a short walk away, as is the 1.2 mile hike/bike trail in the gorgeous, wooded Blunn Creek Greenbelt. Both I-35 and State Highway 71 are easily accessed, just minutes away. Our guest house is family owned and operated and is a fully licensed short-term vacation rental by the City of Austin.

I am Ann. My husband, Jay, and I live in Houston. We initially bought our mid-century modern home in the quiet, historical neighborhood of Travis Heights because we liked its unique qualities and location, close to SOCO, St. Edward's U. and downtown. Hopefully it will be our retirement home some day. Today it is perfectly refurbished and furnished with a pleasing mix of modern and vintage pieces along with our collection of bright modern prints and photographs.

Ann Watson and Jay Allison purchased this house in 2008

Travis Heights is a trendy, eclectic neighborhood, with an interesting mix of old historic and new modern houses. It has hills and wonderful views, with dining, shopping, hiking, and music, all just a short walk or drive away!

Our historic neighborhood is perfect, with easy access to Austin Bergstrom International Airport, Downtown, Lady Bird Lake, Zilker Park, South Congress (SOCO), the Blunn Creek Greenbelt, UT, the Austin Convention Center, and the Long Center for the Performing Arts.

16 Reviews of Property 425324 in Austin, Texas

Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
average rating of 4.9375 based on 16 reviews
business
Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p425324vb
(713) 898-3303 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
4

Great house, great location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I was visiting from London for SXSW with 4 friends and the house was perfect. It's far enough from downtown to be away from the noise but close enough to walk if needed (30 mins). The motorway is nearby too if you're hiring a car or taking a taxi to the airport. There's a bus route (number 10) that goes to downtown from Red River at the end of the street. Journeys cost $1.

The house is spacious with plenty of sitting room and a large garden. The 3 double bedrooms are very nice and well furnished. The kitchen has the biggest fridge I've ever seen and full utensils, plus dishwasher and washer/dryer.

One thing to beware of is that I'd consider this a 4 bedroom house. There are 3 double rooms, plus a double sofa bed in a room off one of the bedrooms. There's plenty of space to set up another bed if required, but in terms of actual beds there are 4. There are 3 bathrooms, two of which have a shower. The other has a bath.

Jay and Ann were very helpful and responsive if needed. The booking was straightforward to complete and my security deposit was returned on time. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend - it would be suitable for families with children too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p425324vb
(713) 898-3303 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

very nice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
great location near south congress, lots of room, wifi, nice backyard, owners are great.
business
Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p425324vb
(713) 898-3303 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Los Angeles
5

Cool and Funky Pad!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This house is really cool... not only well decorated with retro and amazing stuff... its also cozy, AND conveniently located. With the chaos of SXSW we were unable to get cabs / rides a half dozen times and each time we just started walking. Next thing we knew were on South Congress... Easy.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p425324vb
(713) 898-3303 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I stayed here with my husband, my two kids (ages 5 and 2.5), and my mother. There were three nice bedrooms for all of us to stay -- the kids shared a queen bed. The house was very nice and clean -- new kitchen appliances but kitchen and bathrooms are not updated. But they are in great shape and it was fun to stay in a place with a pink bathroom! Great location close to I-35, South Congress, and downtown. Playground and outdoor pool only a block away. We would definitely stay again. Ann and Jay (owners) were very helpful and easy to deal with. Five stars!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p425324vb
(713) 898-3303 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Alexandria, VA
5

Spacious and Clean House in Great Neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Travis Heights SOCO Ranch Retreat was exactly what I was looking for - a comfortable, roomy place to stay with five friends while visiting Austin. The house was clean and well equipped for my needs. The owners were helpful and easy to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p425324vb
(713) 898-3303 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Houston, Texas
5

Great find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house was wonderful! Beautiful, safe neighborhood, great location. The house was very spacious and clean.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p425324vb
(713) 898-3303 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
San Francisco
5

Nice spacious house with spacious backyard.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a great family vacation to this house. It's very spacious and tastefully decorated. We hosted a dinner one night for friends who live in Austin and there was ample room for 15 of us. The house was also safe for our 2 and 3 year olds. And it is 2 blocks from a free public pool and park. It's a rather long walk to SoCo but an easy drive. There is a big HEB grocery store 5 min away too which is great. Very quick drive to downtown too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p425324vb
(713) 898-3303 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Houston
5

Travis Height Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Stayed here with a group of friends for a birthday weekend in Austin. The house and location were perfect, and we were all happy to avoid dropping lots of $$ on a hotel room, only to have a room. The house was more than spacious, well kept, and the landscaping, especially in the backyard, was beautiful. Also, the owners were incredibly friendly and easy to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p425324vb
(713) 898-3303 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
San Francisco, CA
5

Quiet, comfortable, well-equipped, friendly owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Two of us rented this adorable house for a week in March. Everything went so well, from the communications with the owners to the ease of check-in, the convenience of the location, the very well-equipped kitchen, cleanliness, laundry facilities . . . all in all a great vacation! I have rented lots of houses and this was one of the best. I hope to return soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Travis Heights SOCO Ranch -Licensed!* 3 BR/2BA * 1/2 mile from S Congress
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p425324vb
(713) 898-3303 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Mesa, AZ
5

Perfect location in beautiful and quiet neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I rented this home unexpectedly (due to the Butterfly Bungalow owner's double booking). What a great deal we ended up with! We were able to walk to the Congress Street restaurants, nearby parks and it was perfect! The owners were quite acommodating on such sort notice. We'll definitely stay here for our next trip to Austin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway