Reykjavik cottage rental - Exterior View South Elevation
Exterior View South Elevation
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Reykjavik Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 queen size bedroom detached house to sleep 6 in centre and heart of Reykjavik

This charming house was built in 1905 and originally designed by Rognvaldur Olafsson, the first qualified Icelandic architect. It is located in the heart of old Reykjavik, in a quiet and peaceful street behind the Danish Embassy. Within a few minutes walking distance you will find The National Theatre, the main museums, art galleries, cinemas, coffee houses, restaurants, bars and the main shopping streets. The house is 120 m2 and was recently redesigned and refurbished with a new Poggenpohl kitchen, bathroom and laundry room. The house has internet connections and television. The house was furthermore totally repainted on the outside autumn 2013.

No car is necessary, but two parking spaces are available.

6 Reviews of Property 424523 in Reykjavik, Iceland

Charming house in centre of Reykjavik
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Charming house in centre of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424523
+00354 5513333
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Lovely house in great location in centre reykjavic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Really lovely house,nice decor and all the mod cons needed,big range style cooker.It also has a balcony overlooking the city and is right in the centre of reykjavic just off the main high street but in a quiet road so no traffic noise.I can't fault the house at all it was all we wanted and more.And David is a very helpfull owner on hand to offer travel advice and help if needed,Iceland is such a diverse country with so many beautiful sights,we had our own car and drove to all the main attractions and were lucky to see the northern lights as an added bonus.We will definitely be returning!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming house in centre of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424523
+00354 5513333
Reykjavik Iceland
Thunder Bay, Canada
4

Great Location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My Husband, 8 year old, 4 year old, and myself just returned from a wonderful stay at this property. The stairs were a bit steep and I had the kids takes their socks off to go up and down them. Besides this, the house perfectly accommodated our family - the laundry and kitchen were a godsend and I liked that there is a door between the two bedrooms. The location allowed us to walk to everything - shopping, groceries, city centre, museums, and the excursions office is just down the hill - we didn't even need a car. Also easy was taking the bus to visit the swimming pool and the zoo. The house is well maintained, and well supplied with towels, cleaning supplies, and all the basics you would expect were covered.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I just want to thank all those who have visited us this summer and were happy with their stay and also thanks to those who wrote such nice reviews.
Regards
David Pitt
business
Charming house in centre of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424523
+00354 5513333
Reykjavik Iceland
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

A home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We want to thank you for your hospitality. The house was extremely clean and well organized. Our family of 5 enjoyed the close proximity to everything the centre of Reykjavik has to offer. We found the local (Bonus) grocery store just steps away. In fact, after we left your house and moved to a hotel to spend our last 2 days near the Blue Lagoon...we missed the house immensely. Thanks again for your prompt communication before and after our trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a great pleasure having such a nice family staying in our house and we thank them for their kind words.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming house in centre of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424523
+00354 5513333
Reykjavik Iceland
England
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Myself and a couple of my friends rented this awesome house for several days last week, and it couldn't have been in a better location. David is a great owner, and his son was very cool about bringing additional things over - even when it turned out we didn't need it. Cannot say enough good things, it's right in the heart of everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming house in centre of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424523
+00354 5513333
Reykjavik Iceland
Windsor, UK
5

Winter Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
This quirky house is perfectly situated in the heart of Reyjkavik and ideal for two couples. We stayed here in Jan 2010 and it was still toasty and warm even though snow outside.

There are a few kitchen items missing for those who want to self-cater e.g. no oven dishes, toaster or kettle, but no doubt this will get sorted out in time as it had been recently refurbished.

We really loved it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming house in centre of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424523
+00354 5513333
Reykjavik Iceland
Seattle
5

Charming house and owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I stayed at the listed property with my wife and another couple in early September 2009. The house is as described with new furnishings and well appointed. The location was perfect. In two city blocks your are in the heart of Reykjavik. If I come back to Reykjavik I will stay here again. The owner of the house is charming and helpful. He assisted us with various requests and facilited arrangements for tickets to a World Cup soccer match.
I remain,

Scott
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7