Palm Springs house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Palm Springs House Rental Photos and Description

This is a three bedroom two bath home. Alexander mid century retro-ed delight has very private pool and deck. This is a modern home that you will love. Vacation Rental House, Mid-Century Modern, Alexander, Racquet Club Estates, modern ranch, Palm Springs, North Palm Springs, Retro, Updated, Vintage, Hot Property!

This Mid-Century Gem is 'JUST RIGHT' in every way.

The look, the feel, the privacy, the design, the service!

You can find more expensive homes that are comparable, but why? At these rates, we're confident the Butterfly-Alexander represents the overall BEST VAUE and OVERALL VACATION EXPERIENCE from booking to saying goodbye.

Happy Chic living all to your own! Ultra clean and private, getting away at this Mid-Century Classic is like checking into a mini-Parker Hotel, but even better!

The artist/owner has put her special touch on every room of this house, designed by William Krisel, AIA and Dan Palmer for the Alexander Development in 1960 in the Racquet Club Estates neighborhood. There's the classic post and beam construction, updated with polished concrete floors. Metal sculpture, original artwork, and vintage and contemporary furnishings blend together in a blissful way.

Your private paradise continues outside where the large backyard features big, comfy chaises, and a wall of ficus shut out the noise and neighbors. The saline pool is smooth on your skin, no harsh chlorine odor. And there's nothing more relaxing, especially at night, than sitting in the hot tub and soaking in the spectacular mountain views. Plasma TV’s in living and each bedroom, and WiFi are among the modern amenities. Spoil yourself.

City of Palm Springs TOT Permit #4983

More Details
Hide Details

We welcome you into our sun-filled paradise, The Butterfly-Alexander.

We are Dave and Sharon Agnor, homeowners, and we spend most of our time in Portland, Oregon. If you know anything about Portland, it's a great city but it's true what they say about the rain. And what's actually harder to handle is how it can stay gray and overcast for weeks on end. Don't get us wrong, we love Portland. But we have the best of both worlds by having this great place to escape to for sunshine and style! As Dave, a psychologist, likes to say: 'It's cheaper than therapy!'

JetSetter Vacation Homes purchased this house in 2002

The butterfly roof reminds us of the 50's, rocket-ships and the Jetson's of our childhood. Today, it's where we go to have complete privacy, pool or hot tub depending on the season, and what better place than Palm Springs? Our initial attraction to the area is the desert city itself, with the sunny weather, and uniquely dense mid-century architecture all over downtown; dozens of fabulous restaurants and one of a kind shops are 4 minutes away.

Our home is private mid-century cool. Each room is modern, carefully designed with color and art, but a museum it's not; it's feels like you just want to stay in and go nowhere else. The pool is saline waters and heated. We don't feel or sniff chlorine on our skin. From your chaise lounge or bedrooms you will view the great San Jacinto mountain rise straight up. At night, you can watch the gondola traverse to the top. No street lights mean the stars are clear and bright. Wonderment and a clear head.

10 Reviews of Property 424317 in Palm Springs, California

Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424317vb
Palm Springs California Desert
4

Great pick

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This was a wonderful rental and I must say I have no complaints. Tanya was extremely helpful with everything. We had a wonderful time visiting Palm Springs. We will be renting from this property again in the near future. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424317vb
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Pleasant Stay in PS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Nice little Butterfly House on north side of PS. Place was neat and clean. Well equipped kitchen. We enjoyed the hot tub. Unfortunately, the weather was cold and we did not get a chance to use the pool. But we had signed up for the extra fee for pool heating which when, immediately upon our arrival, we let the owner/manager know that we would not be using the pool, the gladly canceled the pool heating and refunded our fee. Great Service. For a quick trip to PS we would gladly stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hot tub when cool, or a heated saline pool when it's hot, (or very hot), there's is almost always a way to enjoy the outdoors at the Butterfly. Thanks for sharing your experience with our property manager Tanya, she does aim to please amd make it fair!
business
Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424317vb
Palm Springs California Desert
3

four Days in Palm Springs

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This property has the benefit of a great and quiet location and a lovely garden space and pool. It is spacious and well appointed. But it does have the lived in feel of a family beach house which is tired around the edges and could do with a spruce up and attention spent on redecoration. If you're looking for something very laid back, for example for a family with kids where you don't want to worry, then this is fine. We had a nice time here, but we had hoped for something a little more smart and well cared for. The owner was attentive and responsive to any issues that arose at check in.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: How DO we keep the place looking fresh year after year? We do try to be responsive to guest comments when something actionable is noticed. But otherwise, we do frequently upgrade the home, such as: new wall to wall carpet with modern design in all bedrooms, resurface the pool surrounding decks, new hot tub lid, new area rug in the living area, new Toto toilets in the bath rooms, new modern table, chairs and barstools, and this is in the last 12 months. Glad you enjoyed our home, hope you feel comfortable enough to return on your next visit to Palm Springs!
business
Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424317vb
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Wonderful Home - Great Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We just stayed her and loved the place. Everything we needed was there, the home itself was done wonderfully and the artwork added just that special touch. We loved the very comfy lounge chairs and the extra seating area set up just to enjoy the late afternoon sun.
The area is great and very close to town, although not walking distance, that didn't matter because everything was a very short drive and frankly we never wanted to leave this adorable home.
We loved this place and look forward to returning very soon.
Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424317vb
Palm Springs California Desert
Perrysburg ohio
5

Dan and famy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The house was great. Up to date but tolerant of 3 grand kids. We all had a blast. My daughter said this was one of the most relaxing vacations she has had. We would do this again. Very convenient. Very good support while we were out there. The only thing was not knowing the pass code was time sensitive. Tonya was great. Thanks
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you. We loved having you stay with us
See you in the winter!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424317vb
Palm Springs California Desert
Carlsbad,San Diego
5

Beautiful Home ....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Loved it !!!! There were 4 of us ... and the best beds we've slept in..... Nice kitchen .... The home was close to down town,that made it nice ... very nice pool loved the hot tub ... Highly recommend this home to everyone .. we will be back next year ...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424317vb
Palm Springs California Desert
CA
5

Great home/Great owner/manager. Had a great time and a beautiful home indeed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I went with friends/family and had a great time. Rooms were nice, clean fully stocked with everything and anything you needed. Was the perfect for the option for my price range. Close to morongo/outlets and right off the freeway near everything to eat. In a great quiet neighborhood as well. Beautiful pool had a nice jacuzzi, master room has a nice seperate bathroom that is connected to the outside with a door. Has a big backyard to do bbqs, as well as a grill. Seating areas are abudant. Last but not least very artistic!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424317vb
Palm Springs California Desert
New York
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We were traveling to Palm Springs for the first time with another family (total of 4 adults and 3 kids) and loved the house based on the pictures on the website. When we arrived it was exactly as we had imagined. The artistic touches and decorations definitely made the house hip and stylish. The kids had a great time with the swimming pool and nearby parks. We lounged around the pool, barbecued and hung out in the Jacuzzi. Indian Wells tennis center was a quick 25 min drive and we had a great time watching the matches there. The owner was great - responsive and flexible in allowing us to stay a few extra hours. The whole process of booking / staying etc. was simple and straightforward. We'll definitely recommend this house to our friends and hope we get a chance to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We get a lot of appreciative comments, but we especially like it when our guests post it too! We look forward to accomadating your group again, of course.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424317vb
Palm Springs California Desert
Elkader, IA
5

Vacationing Friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
There was a slight problem at check in that the owner took care of immediately. We had the impression that it was not the norm and were pleased with the quick remedy. The house was beautiful and met all our expectations. We were 3 couples vacationing and the house was roomy. Loved the hot tub! We stayed for a week and hated to leave! We would highly recommend this house and are talking about a possible return trip next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: All of us who work to make this home a sweet experience for you are jazzed to know you did so enjoy your time here. Palm Springs has been a fabulous place for us for many years. We still return, rest and play here often, and we are happy to share our retro chic mid-century getaway with you and your friends!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Butterfly Alexander Awaits You
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424317vb
Palm Springs California Desert
Los Angeles
5

Great weekend with all the right amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Stayed at the Butterfly Alexander with a total of 6 people. The house was spacious enough for everyone and had all the amenities for a great Thanksgiving weekend. The pool and hottub were excellent and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything needed. Everything had been taken care of when we arrived and the entire experience was completely stress free. The location is perfect and we found that we rarely left the property, but when we did, it was very convenient for shopping and nightlife.

Management and owners were extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with, answering all our questions and addressing calls immediately. I cannot commend them highly enough for the friendliness of my interactions with them. We would all definitely return to this property as it provided the perfect relaxing weekend that we were all hoping for!
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good experience at our "Butterfly". Your thoughtful review is much appreciated, we have the same thoughts when we stay here too!
Helpful votes: 2/2