Jordaan townhome rental - Riga B&B Monumental Wharfhouse
Riga B&B Monumental Wharfhouse
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Jordaan Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Trendy neighborhood, quiet setting, yet very centrally located.

This apartment occupies together with another apartment (Riga) the top floor of this beautiful authentic wharf house on one of the three islands in Amsterdam city. One of the oldest areas of Amsterdam, very popular for 'Amsterdammers'

Trendy neighborhood: galleries, restaurants and cafe's.

It is very close to Central Station and other public transport yet quiet area.

On walking distance of (farmers) markets, shops, movie theater, Westerpark, Jordaan.

When you need more room, we have another listing VRBO 444341, on same floor for max 3 adults (or 2 adults 2 children)

It is possible to rent in off season for longer periods (one or more months) with adjusted prices.

Min 3 nights, in high season preferably 4-7 nights

Prices are based on 2 persons occupancy

Every extra person over 2 is € 25,00 low and mid season, € 30,00 in high season

Children: from 6 - 15 € 15,00 (high season 17,50)

Preferably July and August weekly rent

We have lived here since marriage, our two daughters grew up in this house and neighborhood.

They live on their own now (one abroad) and there is too much room in our house.

We like to meet other people and learn their culture and are glad we can offer a nice quiet place in the -mostly- busy city of Amsterdam.

We still work in our own field, Ben is an architect and Carla is a dental hygienist.

carla minnema purchased this townhome in 1985

This is an unique location in Amsterdam, surrounded by canals.

Almost no traffic in the street, family friendly.

Centrally located, minutes from farmers market and other markets.

For children there is a little farm, also the Westerpark with playground and pick nick, as well as restaurants are closeby.

Unique location, a mix of artists, galleries, offices, houses and restaurants.

View over waterfront.

Boat entrance, (watertaxi)

Washer and dryer on top floor apartments.

15 Reviews of Property 423783 in Jordaan, Netherlands

Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
business
Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423783vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

Wonderful Location and Owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
What an outstanding trip. This loft is set in a safe, historic and beautiful neighborhood, with close proximity to public transport and everything you could wish to do in Amsterdam. The loft was spacious enough for 6 of us--2 smaller children, to stay for two weeks comfortably. There is a grocery store in walking distance, kitchen in the loft and a washing machine which made family travelling easy. The price was very reasonable for the area. I would highly recommend to anyone--except those unable to walk up stairs.

Thanks Ben and Carla for a wonderful stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423783vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
3

Lovely property but unwelcoming host

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The apartment was beautiful and in a good location. But....we were not impressed with the hosts - they were tactful in asking for more money out of us due to extra cleaning which were rather unreasonable. I would only recommend this for families and not for any young people, we felt the hosts did not appreciate young adults.
business
Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423783vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Ontario, Canada
4

Family Trip to Europe

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Nice studio apartment. Clean, well equipped and relative spacious in an old building with a lot of character. The bed in the upper level may be difficult to access for someone with limited mobility, but not a problem for us. We travel with four kids (ages 11 to 15) and this apartment was ideal for our needs. The location is great, 15 min walk to the Train Station. Lots of restaurants, cafes and shops are at a short walk from the apartment. We were greeted by Ben who was very kind to welcome us at midnight (flight delay) and to give us some useful tips. My only suggestion would be to install a curtain in the shower to keep the floor of the bathroom dry. Overall, we had a good stay and would come back to this apartment.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423783vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
USA
5

PERFECT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The location and apartment was wonderful. Within walking distance to almost everything you'd want to see in Amsterdam. Additionally it was peaceful at night. Normally a very hard to attain combination.
Our landlords were sweet and helpful.
For a few guys taking a trip to explore Amsterdam/ Holland PERFECT.
The accomodations were welcomed after some rugged prior traveling! The great bathroom, sleeping arrangements, amazing view of the canal from the window, large kitchen, comfy pillows, cute neighborhood....everything really.
Feel free to book with confidence.
We had such a great time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423783vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Seattle, WA
5

Great Apartment, Great People.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a fantastic time here. The apartment was perfect size and we loved the location. Carla was so easy to plan our stay with and both her and her husband were very nice. The apartment was clean, well cared for, and slept all 6 of us very comfortably. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone and I hope to get to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423783vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Bavaria, Germany
5

Very nice place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We were 6 people and had visited Amsterdam for a stag party. The apartment was a very good choice. It is perfectly fitted for 6 persons. You have a maximum walk from 5-10mins to bars, cafes, etc. The location of the apartment is perfectly if you are doing some sightseeing in amsterdam. The apartment has a nice bathroom and a complete kitchen. The sleeping beds are in the living room. Its very huge, so there is no problem for 6 persons. You can see it on the photos. The apartment was very clean and the owner had some nice tips for us regarding the Amsterdam night life. I would recommend this apartment anytime! Perfectly!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423783vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Wellington, New Zealand
5

What a wonderful apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This delightful apartment was a 10 minute walk from the main train station, in the Western Islands of Amsterdam. It is on the top floor, so there were lots of narrow, steep, Dutch steps, but it was so worth the effort when we arrived there.

The view was spectacular, the appliances were all new and stylish, the deep stone bath had us in raptures, and our children loved sleeping in the loft!

The apartment is on the water's edge, and is a 5 minute walk to the Jordaan, and its character-filled streets (and Anne Frank House.)

There were no close grocers, and local dining options were more limited than in the central city (although the 2 restaurants nearby were both excellent), but those were the only limitations. Carla took excellent care of us, with plentiful linens, bath amenities, kitchen supplies, maps, guidebooks etc. There was even a decorated Christmas tree in the living area (and did I mention the spectacular views?)

We found it very difficult to tear ourselves away from this charming spot and would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423783vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Toledo, Ohio USA
4

Excellent location and stunning views!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our family of six recently rented the two apartments on the top floor of Ben and Carla's home. The apartments were spacious and clean with nice light coming in from the windows that overlooked the canal. Carla and Ben were excellent, they picked us up from the airport and had decorated the apartment with a fresh Christmas tree! They were there if we needed them but they were not intrusive.

The area is very quiet for sleeping, yet very easy walking distance to the center of Amsterdam or if you choose to use public transportation the bus stop is just down the street. The train station is also within walking distance. There is a great neighborhood pub/restaurant,The Blaauw Hooft, near the apartment that became our nightly stop on our way home from sightseeing.
The only inconvenience I would mention is the double bed in the smaller apartment is in a loft that requires you to climb a slightly steep ladder. This is where my husband and I stayed giving our 4 young adult children the larger apartment. Getting up and down the ladder during the night was a little tricky.
We would definitely stay at this property again and will refer our friends to Carla and Ben.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423783vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Rome, italy
5

A place with a soul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We were ten people and we have been in both the bigger and the smaller apartments that are beautiful, very well furnished and supplied with everything you need. The structure of the apartments is wonderful and the many windows have magnificent views on the channels and of the sky and stars in the night. The location of the house is fantastic, a real Amsterdam not tourist neighborhood, close to the center (you can easily reach Dam square walking) and very well connected with busses and tram. Carla and her husband are very kind and helpful people, it has been a pleasure be in their apartments.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Monumental waterfront loft-apartment,with lovely view!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423783vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Denver, Colorado
5

Great location, awesome hosts!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed at Carla and Ben's studio apartment for about a week the second week of Sept. It was a great way to start our three weeks European vacation. They were super nice and helpful. They greeted us the first day with a bottle of wine and great coffee. Throughout the week they gave us numerous suggestions on where to eat or places to go. They even let us borrow their bikes to ride in the city. The place is close to the city, we can walk pretty much to all the main attractions and museums. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay and will recommend it to anyone without a doubt.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway