Dublin apartment rental - Main room
Main room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Dublin Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedroom Penthouse, sleeps 6, Central Dublin, Financial district

Location is very central and car not required. This apartment was specially built on the top (8th floor) of one of the most prestigious blocks at the Irish Financial Services Center on the river Liffey. It has a Smallbone kitchen, 2 bathrooms (1 en suite), a huge lounge room which has views across the city to the Dublin mountains. The walls are clad in velvet padding and all the doors and cabinetry are made from cherry wood. The balconies are very large with wrap-around walkways, shrubbery plus outdoor furniture.

All curtains and fabrics are top of the range and the colour scheme has been coordinated by an interior designer. There is an acre of water outside the apartment where ships used to tie up off the river in the last century. This penthouse is very large (130 sq metres) and bright with the sun coming from 4 large sliding glass doors. Convenient to everything and Trinity College is a 10 minute walk across the river **** VERY CENTRAL LOCATION ****

IDEAL LOCATION: The Financial Centre is considered one of the best areas of Dublin. Walking distance to Kilmainham Jail & The Museum of Modern Irish Art, this apartment is an ideal base for your visit to Dublin. 100 metres to the main Connelly Station and the tram is outside the block. Places nearby include Guiness Brewery, the Dublinia and Viking world exhibition, Christchurch and St. Patrick's Cathedrals or Dame Street where you can visit Dublin Castle, the Gaiety Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar & Grafton St. On Luas red line which stops at the National Museum of Decorative Arts, Jameson Distillery, O'Connell St. & Heuston & Connolly train stations. On N7 route, minutes from M50 and N4 providing easy access to surrounding regions.Local facilities include supermarkets, beauty salon, church, hair salon, banks, pharmacies, restaurants and pubs. Sleeps 6.

Here are some ideas about places you might like to visit. Everything mentioned below is WALKING DISTANCE FROM THE APARTMENT. Walking time is listed in the brackets.

TEMPLE BAR (15 mins) - Dublin's Cultural Quarter. Located in the heart of Dublin's City Centre, some of Dublin's best night spots, restaurant

Very convenient *** SUPERMARKET outside entry gate ***

Other shops outside entry gate..... 7 cafes, 4 restaurants, chemist, fruit stall, 3 ATM's, Hairdresser, nail bar, convenience store, liquor store, bakery etc.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 423746 in Dublin, Ireland

2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
average rating of 4.090909 based on 15 reviews
business
2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423746
+353 87 2208601
Dublin County Dublin
Seattle, WA USA
1

Not as advertised - or even close

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Based on the questions to consider:
Did the listing photos accurately reflect the rental's appearance and amenities: NO
Was the property clean and well maintained? NO
Was the owner helpful in answering your questions or concerns? NO
Would you recommend this property to a friend or relative? A RESOUNDING NO
This apartment was extremely disappointing. In fact, we didn't stay there and are currently disputing the fee with the owner. When we arrived, the previous renters were still in the place so we dropped our bags and went sight seeing. We were gone for about 4 hours. Upon our return, we found laundry drying in the dining room, used soap in both bathrooms, a used razor in one bathroom, one couch cushion was very stained - looked like someone leaked a very large pen on it, the lamp shades were water stained and looked like they'd been smashed a few times. We weren't sure the place had been cleaned. There are large water stains on the walls and carpet. The couches looked like they were about 50 years old. I wrote him the following day telling him we'd vacated and moved to a hotel because of the sorry state of this apartment and requested a refund. We're still in dispute. In addition to all of the above, the hot water process is ridiculous. We had been traveling for 16+ hours, 4 adults looking forward to a hot shower. There's no way we could all have taken a hot shower that afternoon. We've rented VRBO's in many places and have never had such a disappointing experience. I don't know where the people stayed who are raving about this place. It was awful.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423746
+353 87 2208601
Dublin County Dublin
San Diego
4

Convenient and comfortable

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We booked the penthouse for our family of 5 - all adults living in separate cities - for a family reunion type trip. This apartment has a great location - easy to get everywhere in the city, but nice and quiet at night. It is well kept for the most part, the couches are very faded, but comfortable - down cushions, very nice touch. The kitchen had almost everything we needed, but the pans were not quite enough to fully accommodate cooking for 5 adults, we had to cook in batches for breakfasts and dinners that we ate in. There was a french press for coffee, but the handle was broken, so we ended up going out for coffee most mornings. There is a huge dining table that is great for a large group and for games, etc. The balconies are lovely and it was so nice to be able to let in fresh air. The two beds were quite comfortable; however the "mobile" beds that are advertised (and I email numerous questions about) are really sub-par and not sleepable. We had to put my brother on the couch which was a bit awkward to sleep on given the down moved around so much and my sister and I had to share a bed which was a bit odd given how nice the apartment is and how much we were paying. Overall it was a lovely stay and I would consider staying again, although with a smaller group just for comfortable sleep for all.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423746
+353 87 2208601
Dublin County Dublin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Lost shoe !

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Just wanted to touch base and tell you thanks for the penthouse in Dublin. The people I was with had a great time and loved the place.

I just wanted to mention that I may have a left a shoe there. Bad Packing. If your cleaning crew happened to find it and need a place to send it, let me know and I can get you my home address.

Thanks Again.
Helpful votes: 1/6
business
2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423746
+353 87 2208601
Dublin County Dublin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful trip

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Absolutely brilliant penthouse. Location was spot-on and all the interior was so welcoming and clean. There was even a bunch of roses on the table !
Views of the Dublin mountains were spectacular and transport was very convenient
I would highly recommend this apartment.

Sincerely
Helga Grossman (Germany)
Helpful votes: 4/9
business
2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423746
+353 87 2208601
Dublin County Dublin
South Bend, IN
1

Not quite what the pictures/description represent.

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We used the penthouse for a weekend stay in Dublin. The description is very correct that the penthouse is "centrally located". Close to all transportation. Week days there is a lot of hustle and bustle of business people. Weekends are a bit slower and tougher to find eating establishments. The area was great! But when it comes to the penthouse the description and pictures need to be "updated" The balcony did not have "shrubbery and outdoor furniture", everything was dead or if it was still growing it was weeds. There was not one bit of furniture to enjoy the balcony with. The picture even shows a "bag chair". The "curtains and fabric are top of the range" that may have been when they first decorated the penthouse, but now it is sun bleached, stains on the walls where pictures have been moved and not cleaned or repainted, the sofa's are so broke down that you can hardly sit in them. The second bedroom does not have enough room for another fold out bed, so that will have to be in the "great room", the second bathroom has an electric shower with no instructions, the clothes washer- dryer in one did not work - in fact the person who cleaned it before us had towels in to wash that did not dry. The kettles in the kitchen had no covers and frying pans with no handles! And between the numerous codes, cards, coded entry's it is a nightmare trying to get in and out of the place! Directions from the owner are only given from the ferry because I guess it is assumed you are only coming from that direction. Very hard to find. Lots of information is provided, but it still is not "user friendly".

We stayed at three rental houses in the two weeks we were in Ireland and this was the most expensive and biggest disappointment.
Owner's Response: Interesting ..... The sofas are actually only two months old and very expensive.
Frying pans had clip-on handles.
Electric shower has a simple ON switch

Perhaps the bad review is because the client wanted to stay until 3 pm and also took all the keys + swipe card which had to be sent back by courier !
Helpful votes: 17/17
business
2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423746
+353 87 2208601
Dublin County Dublin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Penthouse

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Coming from Germany for a 5 days sight seeing of Dublin we found an ideal location to stay. Everything in the center is achieveable by foot. Railway and bus stations are very close. The penthouse is comfortable like described. The area is closed and very save. Also the contact person is available at any time for questions. We really enjoyed the stay.
Helpful votes: 3/7
business
2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423746
+353 87 2208601
Dublin County Dublin
5

Perfect for our Family of 5!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Penthouse Apartment. It was just as described in the listing, very clean and well appointed--also handy to the center of Dublin. We found that using the Dublin Hop on Hop off buses helped with getting around to the many sites we wanted to see in Dublin. There are also several bice restaurants withing walking distance of the apartment. The owner, Jonathan, was very accommodating, allowing us to check in earlier than posted as our flight arrival time put us into Dublin at 6am! All of our emails were answered promptly and professionally. We would definitely recommend the Penthouse Apartment to a friend or relative!
Helpful votes: 2/5
business
2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423746
+353 87 2208601
Dublin County Dublin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Wonderful penthouse

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had a wonderful time and the Penthouse is better than advertised. Very central and luxurious throughout. Also very easygoing entry + depart and there was no problem staying an extra period as our plane was delayed. I would highly recommend it
Helpful votes: 4/7
business
2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423746
+353 87 2208601
Dublin County Dublin
5

Central access to Dublin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Very comfortable apartment, located just a short walk from Dublin Spire, O'Connell St., Henry St. Easy access to Trinity College, Temple Bar and Grafton St. Online description is accurate. Property was clean and well-maintained. Jonathan (manager) was available and helpful at all times. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the good review. We always try to deliver more than promised.... see www.airdnet.com
Helpful votes: 4/7
business
2 Bedroom Penthouse, central Dublin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423746
+353 87 2208601
Dublin County Dublin
Ontario, Canada
5

Great Apartment, 02 September - 01 October 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
When we rented this apartment it was with some trepidation because we would be staying there for a month. We rented it based solely upon the pictures and the stated location "close to center Dublin"; which we checked on Google Earth just to be sure that it was.After signing the rental agreement, we felt very reassured when the owner stated in his return e-mail that "It was better than it looked in the photos", which it was.

The apartment is located within walking distance of Connely Station, tram/luas transportation, bus service, and the city center. It is also close to the start point for "Paddy's Tours" and Bus Eireanne Tours, so you can always get a good seat on any tour bus. A short walk out the front gate, through the lower level of Connelly Station, and across Amiens Street, puts you on Talbot street; where there are several grocery stores, bakeries, and many pubs. If you continue on down Talbot Street you come to the Dublin spire. A left turn here and follow the crowds to the City center, a short walk away.

The apartment is spacious, very well-lighted, and well-equipped. The combination dining and living room has a television with satellite feed, digital video recorder, wireless high-speed internet, telephone, and a table which sits six easily for meals. The only drawback were the two large "overstuffed" couches which were a bit uncomfortable unless the cushions were exactly right.The kitchen equipment includes a combination washer/dryer (which is a bit of a challenge for North Americans not used to such machines), microwave convection oven, pots, pans and dishes, toasters, elelctric kettle and everything else a kitchen needs.

The bedrooms are comfortable in size; the master has an on-suite washroom, the second is serviced by a bathroom in the main hallway.
There is a large balcony along the front and right side which allows for some outside sitting area. There are several deck chairs on the balcony.

Overall our experience with renting this property was great. Would we do it again..."Most definitely".
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 16/17