Bentonville cottage rental - Front view of Mockingbird
Front view of Mockingbird
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Bentonville Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Recently remodeled 1940's cottage is perfect for your visit to the Bentonville area whether for business or pleasure. This renovated cottage was completely redone in June of 2012. It features 864 Sq. Ft. with two comfortable bedrooms, a beautiful brand new kitchen, and laundry room. With it's .25 acre lot and these ammenities you will quickly feel like you are at home. This cozy cottage includes a large comfortable porch, a full kitchen with modern amenities i.e. full size refrigerator/freezer,washer/dryer, TV in every room with cable and DVD player, Propane BBQ, bikes for trail riding, chairs and picinic basket for your use. Contact owner for special requests or needs.

As with any home it's always about 'location' and this property has it! One block East from the downtown Bentonville Square, with an easy walk to restaurants, shopping and highlighting events for all seasons. There are other rentals that claim to be close to downtown, but be sure to check the maps on these cottages. Just some of the activities happening are ice skating in the winter, first Fridays (March thru November), Saturday Farmer's Market (April thru October), and local music events and other activites all year long. This is all just a walk away.

Mockingbird Cottage is close to many local activities, some suggestions are, Crystal Bridges Museum, walking less than a block West you are connected to the Crystal Bridges Trail. An easy 1.1 mile walk or bike ride leading to the western perimeter of the Muesum site will include sculptures and sky space that allows the viewer to experience the ever-changing aspects of light and space. This is only one of the many trials that leads you to the acclaimed Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art. Crystal Bridges Museum is home to American masterworks dating from the colonial era to contemporary times and will be on view to the public year round. The Museum also will display a changing array of special exhibitions featuring art from museums and collecitons throughout the region, the nation and abroad.

Bike trails include 120 acres of designated riding with difficulty levels for beginners through advanced.

Beaver Lake has 480 miles of shoreline with boat rental and sport fishing for all your water activities.

Eureka Springs located in the Ozark Mountains is a unique victorian resort village.

Branson, Missouri is only a couple of hours away with the old time west feeling it is a great day trip to add to any vacation.

Walmart Home Office is located downtown you are only minutes away from the Walmart buying offices for the regular business traveler.

This is the place to stay and enjoy all that Northwest Arkansas has to offer.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a local family with three children, two at Lifeway Christian and our oldest at John Brown University. We have always dreamed of owning a B&B. This comfortable vintage cottage allowed us to live out some of that dream with this great home in downtown Bentonville.

We put a lot of time and energy into this little cottage and we know you will fall in love with it, just like we did. It was always meant to be shared.

We have been blessed in 2012 with the opportunity to purchase the two houses next door to the Mockingbird. Soon in 2013 we will be able to introduce the Meadowlark and Hummingbird. Look for them on VRBO!

Kevin & Shelley Kraning purchased this cottage in 2012

Location / Location / Location - you just can't beat the location of this cottage if you want to stay in the Bentonville area. One block from the downtown square and one mile from Crystal Bridges Museum.

Extras - whenever we stay somewhere, we always think of how we would do it if we owned it. This was our chance.

Unique Opportunity - with multiple houses soon available next door to one another, we will offer something very unique. With these houses next door to one another, multiple family gatherings and special events will have a convenient place to meet.

Full .25 acre lot

Wrap around porch

Full kitchen - including some extras

Gas BBQ

Washer & Dryer

2 Beach Cruiser bikes for your use

Newly remodeled from the ground up - everything it new!

Cable TV / DVD Players

Extended driveway allows for trailer parking / boat parking

Location!

24 Reviews of Property 423464 in Bentonville, Arkansas

Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423464vb
+1 479-802-8222
Bentonville Arkansas
5

A top notch property with great ambience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We travel a lot, and this is the best vacation rental we've ever experienced. The cottage decor was charming and spotlessly clean with high end furnishings. Towels were large and fluffy and sheets were high thread count -- things that are missing in most vacation rentals. The kitchen was gorgeous, well equipped and stocked with light breakfast items, which meant we could lounge around in the mornings and enjoy the cottage atmosphere before heading out. Everything about this place says "slow down" and embrace a quieter lifestyle. It is apparent that the owners care about creating a memorable experience for their guests. Kevin was consistently responsive and helpful from the initial contact. Shelley is a decorating and hospitality genius whose artful touch gets full credit for creating such an appealing home.
The home is located on a dead end street with little traffic, so it is very quiet. It's a three minute walk to the Bentonville square where you'll find great restaurants and shops. We spent several hours in the striking Crystal Bridges Museum and ate a tasty lunch at their restaurant. During our visit, we explored the Beaver Lake area, the Pea Ridge National Battlefield and the picturesque town of Fayetteville. (Recommeded: For a scenic drive, take the back roads to Fayetteville -- 112 and 84 -- rather than 71 Hwy. Also, take Hwy 12 east out of Rogers to the War Eagle grist mill for a beautiful drive through the mountains, continuing on to the quaint town of Eureka Springs.)
This is an excellent get away spot, and The Mockingbird Cottage makes it extra special! We will be back.
Owner's Response: It is always such a joy for us when someone loves our cottages as much as we do. We truly believe that the difference is in the details. Those details are intentional and we are so glad you noticed them.

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Your kind words were a blessing to us.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Kevin & Shelley
business
Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423464vb
+1 479-802-8222
Bentonville Arkansas
Parkville, MO
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Twelve lifelong friends arrived in Bentonville for a weekend stay at The Mockingbird and The Meadowlark Cottages. Never have we seen such attention to detail and consideration for guests' comfort! Each cottage had its own unique character and modern, top-of-line finishes only enhanced the experience. Located just 2 blocks from the Bentonville square - site of art galleries, museums, great restaurant options and frequent community events - and with Crystal Bridges, great shopping, and much more just minutes away, the location was ideal. If you're headed to NW Arkansas, don't miss this very special treat! The owners are very accommodating, and it was a pleasure to work with them. Our group will definitely return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Class Reunion-
It was really fun to have your group stay in two of our cottages. We are so glad you decided to make this year's gathering location at Downtown Bentonville Cottages. We are thankful that we are located close to the square and restaurants, and it sounds like the cottages worked well for your group to enjoy downtown.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Kevin & Shelley
business
Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423464vb
+1 479-802-8222
Bentonville Arkansas
5

Dream cottage you won't want to leave!!!

Dream cottage you won't want to leave!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our fall girls getaway to Mockingbird Cottage. We felt like we'd walked into a Country Living magazine photo shoot! Wonderful vintage and contemporary furnishings, beautiful bed and bath appointments, and delightful decor and design elements throughout. We couldn't stop oohing and aahing!
The location is perfect -- residential and quiet but just around the corner from the town square and fun shops and great restaurants as well as within walking distance to Crystal Bridges Museum and Compton Gardens plus a variety of walking and biking trails.
We wish we'd had more time to enjoy the cottage and its spacious front and side porches AND investigate the numerous antique shops, etc. in the area. One thing is for sure though, we will be back!
Thanks so much to Kevin and Shelley for creating this special retreat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Caroline
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. These are very kind words. It brings us joy when guests stay with us and love our places like we do. We also love when friends decide to meet at our places and make memories.

The Mockingbird is a special place and we feel the same way you do about this little cottage. You will need to come back in the Spring or Summer and enjoy the afternoons or long summer days on the wrap around porch. It is our favorite room in the cottage!

Thanks again for staying with us.
Kevin & Shelley
business
Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423464vb
+1 479-802-8222
Bentonville Arkansas
Little Rock, AR
5

Adorable Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This cottage has it all. Location is close to downtown Bentonville and Crystal Bridges. It is a quiet street.
The renovation of this cottage is amazing. The décor is cute as well as calming. Beds were comfortable. Even food essentials were provided. Aunt Bee and Andy would love this place.:) We want to go back at our earliest convenience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Teresa
Thank you for the review and the support of our business. We are glad you enjoyed all that the Mockingbird has to offer. It is a special little place and we have many guests talk of wanting to just "move in and stay". It is that kind of place!

Please come see us again. We will look forward to having you.
Kevin & Shelley
business
Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423464vb
+1 479-802-8222
Bentonville Arkansas
Little Rock, AR
5

5 Stars!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
CHARMING! This home looks and feels like it should be in a magazine. The décor is AMAZING. You can't help but fall in love with it the moment you walk in the front door. We stayed with dear friends of ours - perfect for two couples. I wouldn't change a single thing. Wish we could have stayed longer. Made me want to come home and redecorate!! Thanks for making our visit to Bentonville so memorable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Debbie
What a great review. This made my wife's day. She greatly appreciated all of your compliments about her decorating. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to support our business. Please come stay with us again.

The Mockingbird
business
Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423464vb
+1 479-802-8222
Bentonville Arkansas
Lenexa, KS 66216
5

AMAZING!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I cannot say enough good things about our stay at the Mockingbird Cottage. Fabulous place and even better than it looks in the pictures. Very clean, superbly decorated, great location...what more could you ask? We loved our stay and enjoyed all the Bentonville has to offer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Vickie-
Thanks for taking the time to write this review, we greatly appreciate it. We have worked hard on the areas you mentioned, so it brings great joy when it is appreciated. Thanks for staying with us and please come see us again.

The Mockingbird
business
Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423464vb
+1 479-802-8222
Bentonville Arkansas
Forrest City, AR
5

Thank you!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This cottage is really a treat. We needed a comfortable place to stay while visiting family who had recently had surgery in the area. We were able to do laundry, have a lovely dinner, be near the town center & the museum. I'd recommend this sweet spot for both couples and families. The location couldn't be better, and the owners have really thought of every detail. The best patisserie in Arkansas - La Meridienne - is within walking distance. You might need to walk there and back a few times to recover from the decadent pastries. We will definitely stay in the Mockingbird on our next trip to NW Arkansas. A huge thanks the owners for all their hard work.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words, and for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate you recognizing the little things that my wife works so hard on, it means a lot to her. So glad you enjoyed the Meridienne, they do a great job and we are fortunate to have them just walking distance from our cottages. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kevin & Shelley
business
Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423464vb
+1 479-802-8222
Bentonville Arkansas
5

Perfect Cottage right next to Town Square

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Everything was perfect from the amenities & the attention to detail of the decor to the layout of the house. It is a cozy retreat that we greatly enjoyed!! We will be back!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Mockingbird.
The rain has made it difficult to enjoy some of what downtown has to offer, but it sounds like you were able to fit in some bike rides and Crystal Bridges, so we are glad it worked out.
Please come see us again!

Kevin & Shelley
business
Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423464vb
+1 479-802-8222
Bentonville Arkansas
5

Adorable Cottage, Perfect For Time Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Walking in to the Mockingbird is akin to coming home to a seaside cottage that immediately feels like home. With cookies in the refrigerator, coffee on the counter, and throw blankets and pillows on the couch, no detail is left unattended, no necessity has been missed. This is where you will relax, this is where you will unwind, this is where you will enjoy your time away. Near to the square in Bentonville as well as Crystal Bridges Museum and nature trails, the location is prime while not placed in the midst of busy hustle and bustle. The owners are incredibly kind and easy to work with, and they have gone above and beyond to make sure your stay is top notch. I would certainly recommend this property to friends and family, and my husband and I look forward to staying again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This review is outstanding and we can't thank you enough. This is so well written, it is much better than anything we could write ourselves. We are so glad the cottages exceeded your expectations. My wife works very hard to make the details matter and it is great when our guests appreciate it.

Please come see us again.
Kevin & Shelley
business
Mockingbird Cottage - Downtown Bentonville Cottages LLC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423464vb
+1 479-802-8222
Bentonville Arkansas
Bentonville, Ar but Family lives in Ohio
5

Great week stay for a family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The charm of Bentonville is matched perfectly by this vacation cottage. I knew the location of the home was perfect, nestled inside the downtown community, but I never imagined how the home would compliment our daily activities. The owners were so kind to leave behind many daily fruits and dairy products. The home was clean and very well maintained with new appliances and comfortable beds as well as a sofa sleeper. The porch was a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee to kick start our day. The owners were quick to respond to our only need, be rest assured since the repair took place during our visit you will not have any problems with the Washing machine! The owners were so kind to even wash our clothes in the brief absence of a repair man. Thank you very much and I will absolutely stay there again anytime family visits me in Bentonville.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Ron-
Thank you for the review. Yes, the timing of the washing machine was disappointing, but we are glad we could be there to make sure the hardship was ours and not yours. The last thing we would want is for an event to ruin your time together as a family.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kevin & Shelley