Laguna Beach house rental - Catalina Island and white water ocean views with stylish outdoor dining for 10
Catalina Island and white water ocean views with stylish outdoor dining for 10
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Laguna Beach House Rental Photos and Description
Spanish Revival Home with World Class Views, Location & Charm

Three bedroom, two bath, new king, queen and double pillow top mattresses, plus a Shabby Chic queen sleeper sofa sleeps 6-8 adults. Air mattresses and crib available for children or larger families.

Once you set foot on this property you won't want to leave...but if you do... there are only 5 blocks to the amazing Thalia Street beach!

Enjoy panoramic ocean and white water Laguna Beach views from this 1927 Spanish-Revival jewel box home situated on a beautiful lot in the historical village portion of Laguna Beach. Some of the most famous beaches in the world, tasty restaurants, art galleries and shopping are all within walking distance from this charming home.

The home has been lovingly updated and decorated by the owners, one of which is an interior designer. This home is a cozy, charming beach house that includes white slipcovered sofas, luxurious bed linens, white fluffy bath towels, french doors, hardwood floors and traditional sotillo tiles throughout.

The main living room area has the original wood burning fireplace and a wall of french doors and windows looking out onto the deck and view. Curl up in the cozy down filled sofa or read a book next to the fireplace in our very cool rope arm chair.

Have fun cooking in a retro styled kitchen with a fully restored O'keefe and Merrit stove, Fisher Paykel dishwasher, baby blue SMEG fridge, french bistro table and other charming details. Dine outside on the expansive decks or patios and watch the sunset...(both indoor and outdoor tables comfortably seat 8+) -this is outdoor living at its finest!

There is an enclosed lower garden and an inviting front courtyard and entry all with fountains that provide charming ambiance. Privacy is enhanced by the mature hedges and tropical landscaping.

Downstairs features french doors throughout, a wet bar and entertainment bar, 50' LG Plasma HDTV with full HBO cable package and DVR. The master bedroom is located on this level as well and features a king size four poster canopy bed, HD TV with full cable and French doors lead out to a small deck and garden fountain. A second bath and laundry room with dual washer and dryers (fantastically convenient!) are also located on this level.

Take a walk down to Thalia Street Beach for a full day at the beach or a sunset picnic. Cooler, beach chairs and beach towels are all provided. You will feel just like a local!

More Details
Hide Details

Rod, a native San Diegan, and Catherine a native Marinite have lived in several parts of the US, Europe and Asia and have owned this wonderful home since 2002. Catherine is an accomplished interior designer and together with Rod, has lovingly made this this home both livable and stylish. We love this home dearly and are excited to share it with those who are looking to experience this charming beach town.

Rod Teeple purchased this house in 2002

Early 1930's photos of Laguna show that this home was among the very first in the area. A time when home owners could select the most stunning view locations among the ridge lines to build their homes. The fundamental architecture of this property has not changed since it was built from rough cut redwood 2' x 4', as its charm and character endure to provide you with a timeless experience.

This is a wonderful property in a magical location! Before purchasing this home we did extensive terrain map studies and many walks through Laguna. This unique location on the exclusive culdisac portion of Lower Temple Hills Drive combines just the right elevation, presentation of Catalina Island and walking distance to the beach and town - our answer to perfection!

Tastefully private, and hidden behind a hedge, this property is tastefully hidden from the street. Once you step into the courtyard you are taken away to another time and feel the original charm and soul of this home. For those who value authentic California living and uncompromising views, you will find it almost impossible to leave!

The Spanish courtyard has a fountain and is encircled by mature hedges, entry courtyard has a wall fountain and flowering vines. The view deck and private lower garden have a third fountain outside the master bedroom's deck with mature hedges and vines throughout.

Indoors, the home glows with cozy beach living that will allow you to relax and enjoy your time with friends and family.

11 Reviews of Property 423402 in Laguna Beach, California

Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423402vb
415 306 2828
Laguna Beach Orange County
Toronto, Ontario
5

Terrific Location With Excellent Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a fantastic stay through the winter months in amazing Laguna Beach. The house offered fantastic views, California vintage decor, an easy walk to town, and a very accommodating host.The deck especially gave the feeling of overlooking a town in the south of France, without having to fly to Europe. The landscaping gave an excellent feeling of privacy and it was joyous to watch the hummingbirds in the morning and the stunning sunsets at night. We can't wait to return again some day and would highly recommend the house to our friends
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Lisa and Syd, Thank you very much for your comments. We greatly appreciate your feedback, support and look forward to your next stay. Kind regards, Rod & Catherine
business
Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423402vb
415 306 2828
Laguna Beach Orange County
5

Nicest VRBO property we've rented

Nicest VRBO property we've rented
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My family of four (two adults and two small children) stayed at this property for a week in November 2013. First, we were blown away by the property itself. The home is gorgeous. Beautiful wood floors, finishes, and views. The kitchen is small, but well stocked and the appliances were so fun to use. Second, the home itself was well stocked. We were surprised at the high-end bathroom supplies (Honest Company soap for the kiddos), the pack-n-play had a bassinet attachment, and there were even extra diapers available. For the adults, there was wine and supplies for lighting the outdoor fire. The beds were comfortable, the grounds clean, and overall we were very pleased with our stay. Rod was great to work with and was genuinely concerned that we had a pleasant stay. We didn't get the chance to use Moonbeam, but it looked like fun! We did make the trip to Disney and to the San Diego Zoo. Both were within a hour's drive. We look forward to staying at this property again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jessica,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Catherine and I are so happy that you and your family had such a great stay at the property. Comments like this warm our hearts. It is nice to know that the love we are putting into the property is contagious... Thank you once again. We look forward to your next stay. Kind regards. Rod & Catherine
business
Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423402vb
415 306 2828
Laguna Beach Orange County
5

Great Family Group Stay~Very Nicely Accomodated!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Fabulous stay and views at this lovely home. The owner was very accomodating, the neighbors were friendly. The place was spacious and literally had everything you could think of that you would need in the kitchen, laundry, etc. If I need to go back with the group of 10 that we were..would definitely return! Thank You Again Rod!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Julia,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time and we welcome you back on your next stay in Laguna Beach Village. Kind regards, Rod
business
Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423402vb
415 306 2828
Laguna Beach Orange County
Key West
5

Stunning View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved this vacation rental. The view is incredible !!! Rod's home is super clean with so many well thought out details. The master bedroom was very comfortable & the rain shower was so nice after a day of fun at the beach. We prepared our meals in the very well equipped kitchen & enjoyed the beautiful sunset from the deck in the evening. We were very comfortable in this sweet place & will be back again in the future. Rod was very friendly & helpful. Thanks for sharing your piece of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Melissa,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to comment and share your experience with others. We welcome you back on your next stay in Laguna Beach.

Kind regards,

Rod
business
Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423402vb
415 306 2828
Laguna Beach Orange County
5

Love, love this property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This home is centrally located, close to downtown and a half mile from the beach. Has perfect views from the back deck, and is in a quiet neighborhood. We traveled with our 17, 15, and 13 year old, and they were never bored. A 5 minute walk to the local high school/rec use pool, so that clinched the deal for us. We are northern californians, and this house truly will give you the quintessential southern ca vacation feel. The house is super clean, and Rod, the owner, is easy to deal with and generous. I wish we could have stayed two weeks. Best daily walk, take Temple Hill all the way up to Alta Laguna Park. 5 mile killer hike.
Owner's Response: Lynn and Joseph, Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are so glad you had such an excellent time with your family this summer. Hearing comments like this makes everything so worthwhile. I love, love your comment about your teenagers never being bored... That's about a as high a complement as one could ask for, though we won't take the credit, which is due largely to beautiful Laguna Beach and great parents. Thank you and come back again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423402vb
415 306 2828
Laguna Beach Orange County
Lambertville, NJ
5

Thanks for the wonderful memories..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed a wonderful family reunion here. There were 6 of us and it worked perfectly with one on the sofa bed. The view of the ocean is magnificent and the house is a delight in every way, from the tasteful furnishings and decor to the comfy beds. Hard to imagine anyone not enjoying their stay here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Brad, Thank you very much for the very kind words and your endorsements to such a broad group of people. We are truly honored that you have enjoyed your time so much. Kind regards, Rod
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423402vb
415 306 2828
Laguna Beach Orange County
Topeka, Kansas
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This home was everything we had hoped for and more. My husband and I traveled to Laguna with our two daughters ages 13 and 16 and our mother's for a week long family vacation. When we arrived, we were overwhelmed with how beautiful the home was and the view was simply breathtaking. We have only stayed in one VRBO before. The home was located on the east coast. Both were wonderful properties but this home was far better equipped and we didn't have to jump through as many hoops such as contracting with a linen company etc... Rod and Catherine were very easy to work with and answered all of our questions in a prompt fashion. We would highly recommend this property and hope to return someday very soon. Laguna is a wonderful vacation destination.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind remarks. Catherine and I are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with your family and were able to enjoy the views and the Laguna experience. Kind regards, Rod
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423402vb
415 306 2828
Laguna Beach Orange County
5

Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed in this beautifully decorated house for two weeks. During our stay we actually used the house for our wedding. The venue was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better setting. The house offers a wonderful vista, great decoration, is fully self contained, has good proximity to shops and the beach, and has a relaxing atmosphere perfect for unwinding.
We would gladly recommend this house to anyone. Rod and Catherine were excellent to deal with and were willing to help in anyway they could.
If you chose this house you will not regret it, we certainly did not!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kira, We are so excited for you both and honored that you chose to have your wedding and reception at our home. Catherine and I greatly appreciate your kind words and for sharing photos of the wedding and reception. All the best to you both, Rod & Catherine
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423402vb
415 306 2828
Laguna Beach Orange County
Scottsdale AZ
5

Laguna charm with fantastic views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My family, including a 2 month old, enjoyed a week over the Labor Day holiday in this wonderful home. It was comfortable, spacious, and fully equipped. Because it is not air-conditioned, this home may not be for everyone, but if you enjoy opening all the doors and windows and a cool sea breeze at night, this is a great home. The walk down hill to the beach is also probably not ideal for families with small children or seniors, but it was easy to drive to the bottom of the hill and find a parking spot. And, Laguna's main beach is only a few blocks away. There are three separate outdoor living spaces too that make this home a special place. We were there for the last days of the Sawdust Art Festival and thoroughly enjoyed that as well. We simply didn't want to leave at the end of the week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: James, Thank you very much for the kind review. We rarely want to leave when we are there as well. You did raise some points of constructive feedback, so we wanted to make sure you have our updates on your key points:

We have large floor fans in each of the bedrooms to ensure a cool breeze when you need it for those occasional warm nights when the ocean breeze is taking a break. We hope this helps.

Also, we now have "Moonbeam" a two seater, vintage gas powered golf cart that we keep in the garage, for trips to town and the beach. See the photos in the line up, but people love Moonbeam as a convenient alternative for getting to the beach quickly or for grocery runs to town. We hope this helps as well.

Please call if you have any other questions or concerns 415 306 2828

Kind regards,

Rod
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Magical Charm, Panoramic Views! Walk to Town and Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423402vb
415 306 2828
Laguna Beach Orange County
5

3 Generations Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Ny 93 year old mom and I stayed for a week with visits from my daughter (Oakland) and friends from
Carlsbad. The home was magnificent in every way and met our needs beautifully. Not only is it charm-
ing and comfortable, but decorated beautifully and immmaculate! Rod went out of his way to make
our stay special and we all agreed the VIEW was awesome. Spent most of our time on the back deck,
but also got to make use of the front patio as well. Excellent location, great restaurants nearby, and
we definitely hope to be able to return! Thanks again for a lovely place to call "home" during our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Alana, Thank you very much once again for your kind remarks. We are so thrilled that the home worked out for you, your mother and daughter as well. It is a point of pride that the place is user friendly and enjoyable by young and old alike. All the best, Rod & Catherine
Helpful votes: 4/4