Stockbridge chateau / country house rental - A truly magical getaway, private and peaceful, yet close to everything!
A truly magical getaway, private and peaceful, yet close to everything!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Stockbridge Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
3 BDRMS; 2 BTH, 2-story charm w/Children's Play Barn & Tennis Table Barn; sleeps

'The Residence' is a beautiful, secluded property nestled in the foothills of the Berkshires. Built in 1926 and renovated in 1996, our beautiful 3 bdrm, 2 bath vacation rental is centrally located between Great Barrington and Lenox, and only 3 minutes to Stockbridge center. While the rental is close to many of the area's attractions, it feels 'away from it all' as it is ensconced in the magic of the woods and ceaseless birdsong. This rental is part of a family estate which sits on 14 acres of woods, rolling meadows and a delightful babbling stream.

We offer:

- All Amenities inside and out

- New Queen Beds upstairs; Double Bed down; Sofa Bed too

- Large Eat-In Kitchen with everything for cooking and eating

- Comfortable and cozy living room w/ rustic wood-burning fireplace

- Large Library collection for your enjoyment

- Beautiful Deck with woodland view

- Children's play barn

- Table Tennis barn

- Ample Parking for multiple cars

- In-home washer and dryer

- Dishwasher and Microwave

- WiFi

- 40' TV

- DVD player and Radio

- In-house Phone; free domestic long-distance phone

- Lake Swimming Passes Provided along with beach towels

- Charcoal grill located on sweet back porch

- Pet Friendly - with prior arrangement

- Walk to the Chesterwood & Norman Rockwell Museums

- Near 'Berkshire Mountain Bakery' (can smell the fresh bread)

- Uniquely located off the beaten path yet within minutes of Stockbridge, West Stockbridge, Great Barrington, Lenox.

- Mountain bike, sled, and cross-country ski your way through the woods and meadows straight out the front door!

Note: the rental unit adjoins the caretaker's apartment (i.e., shares a wall; no shared spaces or entrances, separate driveways). The caretakers are quiet and keep to themselves, and are available to assist guests with the rental if needed.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a professional family with very strong ties and attachments to the Berkshires. The 'Residence' on Williamsville Road has been in our family for over 40 years. It's been that magical place where our extended family has lived, loved and grown. It's been that beautiful space where marriage proposals were accepted and where joyous weddings took place.

It's been our home to welcome the newest members of our families and where our children spent weekends and holidays delighting us with their discoveries of a fallen bird, wild strawberries, or new deer prints in the snow.

It's been that fun treat where teenagers invited their city friends for swimming, skiing, and sleepovers. It's been the quiet retreat where sister-in-laws got to know one another better and where brothers bonded; that place where parents aged, where screenwriters wrote, where the academics of the family studied and researched, and where so many dreams started that ultimately changed the lives of others in so many ways.

That is our home. That is The Residence. This is the unique love and magic we can offer you as your 'Home-Away-from-Home' in the Berkshires.

Sheva & Emma Gross, cousins in the family that has owned the Residence for 50yrs purchased this chateau / country house in 1968

The property (14 acres of pristine woods) is secluded and yet just minutes to everything. Our caretakers Jonathan and Sarah are there if you need them, and all efforts are made to make your stay in our home as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

The Residence is also a unique piece of Berkshire history. The first cabin on the property (across the driveway from the rental) was built 'by hand' by Gertrude Robinson Smith and her companion, two very feisty and spirited women who defied convention for their time. (The New York Times called the Residence 'a manless eden.')

In addition to founding the American Women's Association, raising funds for war relief, and championing independence for young women in New York City, Ms. Robinson Smith was a co-founder of Tanglewood, and the Residence actually served as the first ticket office for the music festival!! A rustic one-room cabin off the upper driveway of the property is there today as it was then, marked, simply, 'office.'

The rental is spacious, comfortable and beautiful, and the grounds are well-kept and very peaceful.

10 Reviews of Property 422890 in Stockbridge, Massachusetts

Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422890vb
+1 310-428-2927
Stockbridge Berkshires
5

comfortable home in a beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My brother, sister-in-law, dog and I came up for a weekend of downhill skiing at Butternut (in Great Barrington), and snowshoeing in Kennedy Park (in Lenox). This house was perfectly situated to both locations, and gave us a warm, comfortable home base in which to relax after our outings. Though central to these surrounding towns, it has the feeling of remoteness due to the amount of land and way it is tucked away in the woods. We found the house roomy, warm and well furnished, with comfortable beds and a nice eat-in kitchen. There is a magnificent fireplace which we used every night, with plenty of firewood and kindling available. Due to the snow cover, it was impossible for us to explore the grounds very much, but it looks to be a lovely place to come in the summer for hiking, etc. Thanks very much to the owners for allowing us the use of their lovely home! Hope to be back one day. :)
business
Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422890vb
+1 310-428-2927
Stockbridge Berkshires
4

Charming house, beautiful setting

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed at this lovely cottage with our two young children and had a wonderful time. The setting is magical - wooded with some really fun sledding hills. There is an unheated recreation cabin with ping pong that would be terrific in summer but was a bit too cold in February. The house itself is very nice with three bedrooms and an eat-in kitchen that is open to the small living area (that has a magnificent fireplace and firewood is included). The rental unit is actually part of a house that is also occupied by the caretakers, a nice young couple. The rental part is completely separate from the caretaker's space. This, however, is not what we expected (I thought they would be in a different building) and the close quarters meant that we heard the thumping base of the music they played on their stereo. Not terrible, but since we live in an apartment where we hear our neighbors all the time it was a disappointment to be in such close quarters with other people.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your review.

We're very sorry to hear you were bothered by sound from the adjoining caretaker's apartment. They are typically very quiet (though helpful in case guests need assistance). We hope guests will feel comfortable letting the caretakers know if anything at all disturbs the quiet and magic of their stay at the Residence.
business
Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422890vb
+1 310-428-2927
Stockbridge Berkshires
5

perfect peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
just had a perfectly relaxing girls weekend at the house and we were thrilled. the house is close to town but on so much land we had the best of both worlds. the house is very well kept and so cozy and inviting. the beds were very comfortable. we spent hours hiking the trails in the woods on the property and sitting in front of the fireplace. there is loads of firewood for renters use. we are planning a return in the fall. dont miss dinner at the red lion inn and a visit to the norman rockwell museum.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422890vb
+1 310-428-2927
Stockbridge Berkshires
4

Quiet and cozy - Perfect for a relaxing getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This property was exactly what we needed for a relaxing and quiet getaway weekend. The owners were extremely helpful when we were booking, the place was clean and inviting when we arrived and surrounding attractions were great for the fall foliage and enjoying the outdoors. Nothing like a warm fire and good night sleep to take your mind off the stresses of working life. Monument Mountain was a very close and convenient hiking location to enjoy the fall foliage. I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a romantic getaway weekend or just a place to escape with a couple friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422890vb
+1 310-428-2927
Stockbridge Berkshires
New York
5

Wonderful weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I recently stayed in this house with four friends for a 'mom's weekend away'. The house was wonderful...quaint, quiet, comfortable and clean. It was nestled in the woods minutes away from galleries, botanical gardens, close drive to Stockbridge and Lenox. We opted to stay in and cook two lovely dinners instead of dining out, kitchen was fully equipped and we sat by the fire all night with wine and laughter. Bedrooms were beautiful and a perfect set up for 5-8 friends. Thank you Emma!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422890vb
+1 310-428-2927
Stockbridge Berkshires
5

Couldn't have asked for more...

Couldn't have asked for more...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Perfect place to get together with a group of old friends. Eight of us just spent the weekend celebrating a friends wedding (walking distance from the house at the Chesterwood). While it was within a few minutes of all activities in Stockbridge, like the Norman Rockwell Museum and the Appalachian Trail, we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. A truly peaceful retreat, surrounded by hiking trails, beautiful grounds and comfortable living space.
Most notably, the manager Emma and the caretakers were so helpful. Most of our trip accommodations we find on Homeaway or VRBO and this team handles this property better than anyone we've experienced yet. Every need of ours was tended to and we will certainly rent again on our next trip to the Berkshires.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422890vb
+1 310-428-2927
Stockbridge Berkshires
5

Couldn't have asked for more!

Couldn't have asked for more!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A group of old college friends got together to celebrate the wedding of a dear friend. While everyone else struggled to find hotel accommodations, we came across this great house. Not only did it comfortably sleep all 8 of us, but it gave us a great chance to catch up and spend some time together. The house is close to everything in Stockbridge, Great Barrington, etc but feels like it is miles from everywhere. Additionally, it was walking distance from the wedding venue!

Most notably, the manager Emma and the caretakers were so helpful. Most of our trip accommodations we find on Homeaway or VRBO and this team handles this property better than anyone we've experienced yet. Every need of ours was tended to and we will certainly rent again on our next trip to the Berkshires.
business
Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422890vb
+1 310-428-2927
Stockbridge Berkshires
4

Great, relaxing family getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a great time in this house for a weekend getaway. The logistics were easy and smooth. The house was clean and well-equipped. There were little touches of homey-ness everywhere. While it felt like a legit "woodland" experience and the age of the house adds to its charm, it was also great to have modern, well functioning bathrooms and kitchen facilities. My kids were able to play outside independently in the hammock, creek, pingpong barn etc... so I was able to kick back and relax. We loved it and would definitely return. Thanks!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422890vb
+1 310-428-2927
Stockbridge Berkshires
Philadelphia
5

Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We used to live in the Berkshires, so wanted to find an alternative to the hotel experience on our visit back for a book signing at the Red Lion Inn. After spending a weekend at this magical property in the woods, we can't imagine staying anywhere else in the Berkshires. The service was exceptional - every question we had was answered almost immediately, the house was impeccably clean and tastefully appointed. It's far enough off the beaten path, yet close enough to everything- the Norman Rockwell Museum and Chesterood are just down the road and Main Street in Stockbridge is just a short drive away. We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stockbridge Woodland Magic- Stay in the Heart of the Berkshires
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422890vb
+1 310-428-2927
Stockbridge Berkshires
long island, NY
5

Great country manor off the beaten path

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
A very relaxing place right next to the Appalachian Trail, yet has all the amenities you will need and just a 5 minute drive to Stockbridge. Caretakers are on the property to assist but are not in the way and you keep a feeling of privacy. We were there (along with our dogs) in November and had a great time hiking the trails, then coming in and warming up by the fire place. We look forward to coming back again and checking out the pool table and ping pong table.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2