South Fork cabin rental - Riverside Meadows, on the banks of the Rio Grande in South Fork
Riverside Meadows, on the banks of the Rio Grande in South Fork
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps11
  • 3 Bathrooms
 

South Fork Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Private & Secluded Cabins on the banks of the Rio Grande River

We have made available beautifully handcrafted custom log cabins on the banks of the Rio Grande River, each cabin offers privacy and seclusion, located 25 miles from Wolf Creek Ski area and 4 miles from the Rio Grande Golf Club.

Our home is a Norwegian style dovetail log home with chinking in between the logs, we cut all the dovetail corners on site and set every log ourselves. It has 3 nicely decorated bedrooms all with queen beds and there is also a sofa sleeper with feather-bed, 8 people can sleep comfortably in beds. Each bedroom has its own TV with cable, HBO and DVD/VCR, we also have a DVD library of about 100 movies. One of the three bathrooms is also equipped with a washer and dryer. The kitchen might be considered more of an efficiency one with a smaller 4 top electric stove/oven, full size refrigerator and no dishwasher but is well appointed with all the accessories and utensils you might need.

Outside you will find a beautiful sail-shade covered (summer) picnic area along the banks of the river. The picnic area is equipped for cooking on a gas grill or in the fire pit area on the custom made plow disc wok. Really want to relax, you can take a dip in the hot tub surrounded by beautiful flower gardens, and at night enjoy the endless stars..

We have made available for our guests 3 inflatable kayaks,a self bailing raft and 4 floating inner-tubes to use and enjoy during your visit here. You would easily pay over $400 per day for renting these items that are included for free with your stay with us, we are also available to help with vehicle shuttles and and possibly drop offs or pick ups from several different launch areas along the Rio Grande River.

The rental price is based on the the number of rooms you are renting and the season of the year you are here. We do our best to keep our VRBO calendar up to date (we are also listed on several other sites), for the most up to date calendar please call 719-873-5280 or email riverside_meadows@live.com We will also be happy to send you a link to our website with a more detailed description of our property. We usually respond within a couple of hours.

Here is a breakdown of the seasons for the Guest, Master and Studio

Dec 15-Jan 10 Holiday $95 $105 $155

Jan 11-Mar 4 Ski $75 $85 $125

Mar 5-Mar 30 Spring Break $90 $100 $150

Mar 31-May 20 Off Season $65 $75 $115

May 21-Sept 10 Summer $90 $100 $150

Sept 11-Dec 15 Off Season $65 $75 $115

Rent 2 and take off $10 per night per room

Rent 3 and take off $15 per night per room

Rent for 6 nights and get 1 night FREE

More Details
Hide Details

Riverside Meadows was built entirely by the Owners Fritz and Paula Allen along with their daughter Sadi and we would like to welcome you to out home. This is our primary residence and we will most likely be here for your stay, your private cabin will allow you as much privacy as you like and we will be available to help with any questions and / or problems that inevitably arise.

Fritz and Paula Allen purchased this cabin in 2006

We are located on the banks of the Rio Grande River in a very private and secluded setting on 8 acres. Relax and enjoy the sounds of the river from your cabin, hammock or cooking out right next to the river. You can enjoy fishing from our property or take a float on some of the 17 miles of 'Gold Medal' waters from South Fork to Del Norte. Inflatable fishing raft and inflatable kayaks are available for our guests and if available we are happy to provide a shuttle and possibly act as a tour guide if you are looking for some social interaction.

We have made available for our guests 3 inflatable kayaks and a self bailing raft to use and enjoy while here. We recently add 4 high quality inner-tubes for floating as well. You would easily pay $500 per day for renting these items that are included for free, we are also available to help with vehicle shuttles.

12 Reviews of Property 422090 in South Fork, Colorado

FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422090vbi
719-873-5280
South Fork South Central Colorado
Ft. Collins, CO
5

Awesome 4 day weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I (and two labs) just spent 3 nights, 4 days at Riverside Meadows and loved the property, the setting and the hosts. Being right on the river, surronded by beautiful scenery can't be beat. I'm almost 6ft 2" tall and had no issues in the studio apartment. We would book again! Oh yea- comfy beds and pillows, too.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422090vbi
719-873-5280
South Fork South Central Colorado
Virginia
5

Perfect in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of four was blessed to have found Riverside Meadows for a night during our recent tour of the SW. Fritz and Paula have truly created a "slice of heaven" in southern Colorado. The accommodations were high quality, comfortable and extremely clean. Grilling dinner over the riverside fire pit under the stars is a special memory. Thanks, Fritz, for sharing your beautiful home site with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422090vbi
719-873-5280
South Fork South Central Colorado
5

fantastic; a bargain at twice the price!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The location was beautiful and the cabins impeccable
This trip and accommodations far exceeded my expectations. I would suggest this location to anyone.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422090vbi
719-873-5280
South Fork South Central Colorado
Wichita, KS
5

Ideal for Family Ski Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I took my two kids and my parents for a ski trip; Riverside Meadows was the perfect place to call "home" during our vacation. The cabins are modern and very clean -- like new. We will return for a summer vacation and enjoy the Rio Grande river more.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Bill,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we are very glad you guys had such a good time.

Its greatly appreciated.

Fritz, Paula and Sadi
business
FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422090vbi
719-873-5280
South Fork South Central Colorado
5

Excellent Ski Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Family ski trip turned into a great adventure with our stay at Riverside Meadows. Arrived with snow falling and were greeted by Fritz and Paula. Able to unload and go to town for ski rental equipment. My wife and I stayed in the Master Cabin, while our three teenagers and dog, Dash, stayed in the Studio Cabin. We went skiing for three days and mostly slept and ate dinner at the cabins. We extended our stay one additional day to recuperate and take in the beauty of the property. The cabins were perfect and cozy with plenty of room. Fritz and Paula were available for any issues that may arise.

Dash made a new friend during our stay. Kenai, owner's dog, and Dash played in the snow until Dash was worn out. Thank you Paula for taking Dash along with you on your daily adventures of skiing on the property and to the wildlife management area. Dash was worn out by the time we arrived from the ski area.

I am more of a fisherman than a skier, so I only tried to imagine what the premises and river would look like in the summer time. The river appeared to be normally 50 yards wide, but was mostly covered with ice and snow and only a stream about 15 feet wide was trickling through the center of the ice. Our last night we had an outdoor fire by the river and the stars in the night sky were unbelievable.

Thanks again for your hospitality and hope to return.

Lance and Brenda
Houston, Texas
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422090vbi
719-873-5280
South Fork South Central Colorado
United States
5

Charming solitude

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We visited Paula and Fritz in Nov. 2012, and encountered snow. It was too cold for many of the outdoor activities available in warmer weather. However, the cabin and area were beautiful. It was so peaceful to see the river in the snow. Our hosts were gracious and kind. Please note, there was nothing open in South Fork this time of year, so plan to drive about 15 miles to get to a restaurant if you are not renting the cabin with the kitchen.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422090vbi
719-873-5280
South Fork South Central Colorado
Green Mountain Falls
5

Wonderful Setting, Beautiful and Clean Cabins on the River

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My wife and I and our baby enjoyed 5 days at one of the cabins and couldn't have been happier. The cabins were clean and seemed to be very new. The property owner went above and beyond to be accomodating to our needs and never missed an opportunity to ask if we needed anything more.
The cabin was right on the river which lulled us to sleep every evening and made it hard to leave.
Would definitely recommend these cabins and we hope to be back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422090vbi
719-873-5280
South Fork South Central Colorado
Las Cruces, New Mexico
5

Wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Fritz and Paula have created a wonderful place to rest and renew. It far exceeded my expectations in beauty of site, friendliness and helpfulness of hosts, cleanliness and any other category I can think of. We stayed in the studio and brought our 2 dogs while our friends stayed in one of the cabins. We all agreed that we had such a nice time that we plan to go back.

With the river running right next to the property, it made the 'trip' to go fishing extremely easy. Just walk a few steps to the bank of the river and there you are!

An especially nice aspect of the stay was the great time we had at the fire ring at night. We met wonderful and interesting people and had an excellent time.

Thanks Paula and Fritz. We look forward to coming again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422090vbi
719-873-5280
South Fork South Central Colorado
Hardesty, OK
5

Beautiful setting, extremely helpful hosts, immaculate cabins

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted:
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family used all 3 cabins & had a very enjoyable stay. The cabins were immaculate & had everything we needed. Beds & pillows were great, and Fritz & Paula did everything they could to make our stay perfect. The grounds & flowers were beautiful, as was the river right in front our cabins. You will love this place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We like to think we have built a pretty special place here and very much enjoy sharing it with others. We hope to provide a good experience for all our guests.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
FREE Rafting & Kayaking at Riverside Meadows, on the Rio Grande River $65-$310
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422090vbi
719-873-5280
South Fork South Central Colorado
Gruver, TX
5

A great place for a vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Had a Great time!! Took our 5 children here for a short vacation. Fritz and Paula were very helpful and informative on the area and which places were good to hike. They know the area very well and can help you find whatever you are looking for. The trip down the river on the kayaks and raft was the highlight for all of us. The cabins were very nice with everything you could need available.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, we really appreciate it. We enjoyed watching the kids have such a good time here and our daughter always enjoys having other kids around. Glad the kayaks and raft were a such a hit. We have always enjoyed using the kayaks and raft so it is nice to see our guests enjoying them as much as we do.
Helpful votes: 1/1