Montara house rental - Kitchen, 2 sinks, 2 dishwashers, refrig. drawers, Viking stove, fully equipped
Kitchen, 2 sinks, 2 dishwashers, refrig. drawers, Viking stove, fully equipped
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Montara House Rental Photos and Description

**2 night minimum on weekends in Summer/Fall**

For decades friends who come for a visit tell us this is their favorite place on earth. We now share our home travelers via VRBO. Beautifully appointed, dramatic views, relaxing atmosphere: 3 Bedroom, 2 BA house on a coastal bluff above the crashing surf. Pt Montara Lighthouse on the neighboring bluff. Artist designed and decorated. Breathtaking views.

Each bedroom with queen bed with additional queen hide a bed in sun room. Sleeps 8.

Two full bathrooms offer choice of bathtub, shower, marble steam room with 5 foot bench. Washer/Dryer. Modern spacious kitchen, fully stocked and two dishwashers, refrigerator drawers, Viking commercial range.

All bedrooms have HDTV with 185 digital channels with premium movie channels including 8 HBO, 8 Cinemax and 8 Showtime.

Many great cafes and restaurants are only minutes away. We require $49.00 security insurance or a check or credit card for a refundable security deposit.

Keywords: Point Montara bluff top, oceanfront, scenic, views, Half Moon Bay, Retreat, Pacific Ocean, Nourish Your Spirit, renewal, peaceful, sunsets, whale watching, breath taking,

Experience:

Privacy, Vistas, Cypress trees, sunshine, Fresh Air,

Beauty Artistic, Serenity Waves Surf

Wild, flowering,ice plant, Gulls, tide pools,

Whales, Sanctuary, crashing surf, bluffs, temperate climate, beach, light house, and a new walk that is over a mile long right over the ocean Devil's Slide Park, amazing sunsets, peaceful, relaxing, local restaurants, seafood.

Renters are asked to pay a refundable security deposit of $800 or take out insurance for $59 that covers up to $1500 in damage.

More Details
Hide Details

Nancy is an artist, actor and author. Gary owns a coin-operated telescope business. We are both affiliated with the Bainbridge Graduate Institute (a Green MBA program). We love having visitors and have hosted many events in our home. Gary is from Hollywood and Nancy is from Des Moines, Iowa. Go figure. Gary was the first director of the Institute of Noetic Sciences. Nancy worked as a corporate consultant for many years. She currently has a one-woman theatrical show in San Francisco.

Nancy & Gary purchased this house in 1975

This is possibly the most beautiful location in the world. No exaggeration. We have updated our home to make it especially beautiful, comfortable and welcoming.

Beaches on either side of us, bluff over the ocean, you can hear the ocean lull you to sleep. Wonderful restaurants nearby, only 30 minutes to San Francisco, hour's drive to Santa Cruz. We can arrange a total spa experience with massage, Yoga, Feldenkrais, meditation in house or at nearby spas and Yoga studios.

19 Reviews of Property 422027 in Montara, California

On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422027vbi
+1 650-219-3533
Montara The Bay Area
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I absolutely loved this place, it has been more the 6 months since we stayed there and I have such fond memories of our stay there. It is very clean, very tranquil, very relaxing, the views are absolutely spectacular. The owners are a joy to deal with and wonderful people. I would absolutely stay there again, as a matter of fact writing this review makes me long to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422027vbi
+1 650-219-3533
Montara The Bay Area
Northeastern US
5

Extremely Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Gary & Nancy - Thanks again for opening up your beautiful home for our stay. I can't remember having spent a few days anywhere and feeling so relaxed in such a peaceful, spectacular setting. Your photos don't do it justice. It is a beautiful home, but just as importantly is owned and managed by very special people. We much appreciated the gracious, uncomplicated, and accommodating manner in which you handled everything on relatively short notice. The home was clean and elegant, yet lived-in (not stale), and the serenity and views unforgettable. The sight of the lighthouse on the bluff, combined with the sound of the surf, was the perfect beginning to each day, while the sunset over the water was the perfect ending. Can't say enough to recommend your property to potential future clients! Thanks again, we will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422027vbi
+1 650-219-3533
Montara The Bay Area
Peoria, AZ
5

Awesome view of Ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This place is wonderful! Stayed here a week, our annual Sister Trip and had a simply wonderful stay. Great views of the ocean from so many rooms, it was so peaceful, relaxing and exhilarating all at the same time. Each bed was so comfortable and that steam shower - Oh Boy, what a treat. You are so convenient to visit up and down the coast and to San Francisco as well. Many great places to eat nearby, one was our favorite for breakfast and lunch - Gherkin's Sandwich Shop. Huge portions and we loved everything we tried. If you are looking at this place for your stay - I say do it, reserve it. We were all so very ahppy we did.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422027vbi
+1 650-219-3533
Montara The Bay Area
Half Moon Bay
5

Excellent Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Over the past years, I have stayed at this beautiful coastal home in Montara many times. I find myself recommending it to friends and local visitors as a jewel in this seaside area. The views are incredible, the accomodations cozy and lovely. It is a great place to gather for a conference or a relaxing stay. Nancy and Gary are gracious and thoughtful and make you truly like their place is your own. Don't miss a chance to see the coastside in its true splendor and style.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422027vbi
+1 650-219-3533
Montara The Bay Area
California Foothills
5

Beautiful view of ocean and lighthouse with lively surf and many birds

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
great place right on the Pacific, gracious host and hostess, artistic design, in easy driving distance to San Francisco as well as the lovely coast down to Santa Cruz boardwalk. Great for families and groups, especially for a work group or offsite meeting. Hostess Nancy offers facilitation extras that are world class. And a great coffee shop a 5 minute walk away. Excellent restaurants nearby too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422027vbi
+1 650-219-3533
Montara The Bay Area
Utah
5

Absolutely Dreamy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our family had a marvelous experience staying in this home. My first reaction upon entering is that the pictures, even the video do not do justice to the serene setting, the decor, etc., it's absolutely magical! The furnishings, linens, bedding are all very comfortable, clean, and inviting - very conducive to family time. The steam shower is wonderful, the kitchen open and well equipped, the bedrooms very nice. We even took family pictures on the deck!
Gary and Nancy are great to work with, their communication is exceptional. We enjoyed the house so much we did very little away though there is plenty of shopping and such within a reasonable distance. I would highly recommend this house year round. We'd made wonderful memories there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422027vbi
+1 650-219-3533
Montara The Bay Area
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
5

The Thompsons

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed at this property while attending golf's 2012 US Open. The house was perfect! The owners live on the property which is not a problem as they respect your privacy, but are very friendly and accommodating when needed. The house is absolutely gorgeous and the location, which its spectacular views and easy access to San Francisco and all those beautiful little seaside towns south of San Fran, makes it an ideal spot. We would not hesitate returning when and if our vacation schedule allows us back to that area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Laura Jo and CJ were our first VRBO guests to reserve and they set the bar very high. We look forward to seeing them again.

Nancy & Gary
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422027vbi
+1 650-219-3533
Montara The Bay Area
Granbury, TX
5

Gorgeous and Enchantingabundant

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our week's stay was for a annual family reunion among sisters with their adult children. We were seeking a place on the ocean, yet close to San Francisco. This home is close to the airport and easily accessible to San Fancisco. It was very easy to find our way around and we enjoyed time in the vineyards in the north; the redwoods; the zoo; to Chinatown; south to Carmel and the wildlife preserves. We also spent ti me at the light house while exploring the ocean and shoreline below. We loved the local restaurant recommedations provided by the Nancy and Gary. The home was perfect for our family dinners; evenings filled with talking, catching up or reading. The house was gorgeous, yet very comfortable and inviting. The kitchen is well stocked and has everything you could posibly need. The bedrooms were comfortable and provided restful sleep. Tastefully decorated and clean. The yard was beautiful. The view was breath taking with gorgeous sunsets; ocean and shoreline wildlife were abundant . The sound and beauty of the waves was peaceful and relaxing. We couldn't have asked for a more picture perfect view and surroundings. A wide variety of restaurants and activites is close by. We all came seeking time to enjoy each while also having some peace and quiet time. This home and location provided it all. Everyone had a wonderful stay and we left feeling refreshed and relaxed. It was a memorable stay.

We were so greatful for the list of restaurants provided. The gave us helpful directions. The pictures only begin to reveal the beauty of the home and its surroundings. We were in awe upon our arrival at the beauty and warmth of the home. We had a welcome note which greeted us on the counter with all kinds of helpful information on the home and surrounding area. Everything was clean and up to date (trust me we are quite particular on this). We had no complaints. I would highly recommend this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422027vbi
+1 650-219-3533
Montara The Bay Area
St. Louis, MO
5

Gorgeous Retreat Setting for Couple or Team

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Nestled between the ocean and Hwy 1 on top of a tall bluff overlooking the ocean, this property comes complete with everything you'd ever want... a gorgeous view out of every window, beautiful art displayed on the walls, an amazing kitchen, comfortable beds, a steam room and wonderful nearby places for long walks on the beach. Breathtaking views abound. You are so close to the ocean it's almost like being on a cruise ship... All you see is ocean when you look out the large west facing windows. You are also not too far from Redwoods. A car ride down Hwy 1 is another amazing way to spend a couple of hours if you can ever get yourself to venture outside the comfy abode.

An added bonus is it's so close to San Francisco airport for easy access when you land and/or to visit the city for a day of sightseeing. Nancy and Gary were wonderful hosts... helpful in every way, but gave us space. I highly recommend this property as a gorgeous getaway for a couple or a team retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
On Bluff Over Crashing Surf, Elegant 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p422027vbi
+1 650-219-3533
Montara The Bay Area
Midwestern USA
5

magical stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
What an elegant, beautiful, comfortable environment. The idyllic setting, spacious rooms, breathtaking view, and kind, attentive hosts made this a vacation made in heaven. The property was impeccably clean, the owners helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1