Charleston estate rental
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps15
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Charleston Estate Rental Photos and Description

Why rent a house when you can rent an estate? Drive down the meandering oak lined driveway to your secluded waterfront home in a gated community in the Cape Romain National Wildlife Refuge overlooking Bulls Bay. Despite its proximity to historic Charleston, warm beaches, islands, and unlimited coastal & cultural activities, you will not be able to see another house from your 6 acre estate. Spend time relaxing and enjoying the views and abundant wild life near the amenities of Charleston!

The home includes 5 bedrooms, 3.5 baths and sleeps 12 adults and up to 3 more children (large window seat/bed that sleeps 2 small children and a crib). The large master bedroom has the feel of a tree house overlooking the water. Other amenities at the home: 50” HD plasma TV with DVD & VCR, DVD collection, hammock on screened porch, fully equipped kitchen, gas grill, large indoor and outdoor dining tables, jet tub in master bath, 2 car garage, fireplace, enclosed out door shower, crab traps, extra freezer (for all the fish you catch). Pier with deep water floating dock, swing, and sink. Floating dock has ladder for easy swimming. Child swing hanging from an oak tree.

The home is named for the 22 foot diameter oak tree in the front yard. From every window you will enjoy a long range view over the water and/or beautiful oaks. There is a historic civil war canon embankment and other era relics on the property. There is a neighborhood landing if you want to bring a boat (Boat & Jet ski rentals are also available on nearby Isle of Palms.) Equestrian neighborhood (we can help you find boarding if you want to bring your horse). Volleyball net and other outdoor games are available.

Boat rides are available to Bull Island (undeveloped barrier island in front of our home) so you can play on a private beach or see the sea turtles nesting (seasonal). Dolphins are plentiful in the waterway. National Bird of Prey center is nearby. Charleston approx 30min, Isle of Palms approx 22min, Mt Pleasant approx 18min. In order to meet the high standards of our guests, we do not allow smoking or pets. We do not allow weddings or other parties on the estate.

Hurricane protection: Unlike most rentals, we put in our contract that we will refund all of your money if you have to cancel due to a hurricane.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of six that enjoys boating, the beach, and dining in Charleston.

The Owner purchased this estate in 2003

We were looking for retirement property to build a home on later, but fell in love with this lot and house.

375+ feet of private water frontage.

22 Reviews of Property 421541 in Charleston, South Carolina

Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421541vbi
+ 843-260-2021
Charleston Charleston Area
Edgefield, S. C.
5

Adult Sibling Get Together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband's four siblings and spouses gathered in this beautiful home for our annual winter get together. The accommodations were perfect -- enough bedrooms, bathrooms, and a great living space. The dining room table was large enough to seat all of us for meals. There is a wonderful dock for fishing or just relaxing. The house is close enough to Mt. Pleasant/Charleston for an easy drive to restaurants, shopping, and other points of interest. We enjoyed the nearby Birds of Prey program. The owner gave us very specific instructions/directions, and answered any and all questions. I would certainly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421541vbi
+ 843-260-2021
Charleston Charleston Area
5

Beautiful Home and Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We loved our stay to the Charleston area and for our family this vacation home was wonderful. Backyard has beautiful old enormous old trees with Spanish moss hanging in places. Front of home with its many many windows and porches faces the waterway. We enjoyed the sights close by yet even though it is winter loved the views and walks right by this home! Clean,well priced and owner very helpful and prompt with answering our questions that came up. Would definitely rent this property again and recommend it to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421541vbi
+ 843-260-2021
Charleston Charleston Area
5

Simmi

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My children had an absolutely wonderful experience. It was the perfect place to rest and have quiet after a busy three months if constant traveling. The scenery is breathtaking and peaceful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421541vbi
+ 843-260-2021
Charleston Charleston Area
5

As listed on site, beautiful setting, lots of charm, plenty of amenities, comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Recently stayed here during a semi-annual Girls Trip of 8 Ladies. The house was beautiful and the grounds were an adventure in themselves. House was clean and very neat upon arrival and instructions were very accurate. No problem with any area while we were there and the weather was beautiful. The photos of the house were exactly as it appeared when we arrived. Dock was wonderful with a swing and plenty of nature to enjoy. Thank you so much for letting us share your wonderful home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
business
Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421541vbi
+ 843-260-2021
Charleston Charleston Area
5

Wonderful house for a girls reunion!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
tThe sunrise and sunset were spectacular! The house was awesome, with beautiful views and glass walls facing the water. The master bedroom on the second floor was the thing dreams are made of, with comfortable bed, private deck and breathtaking view. Would love to life there permanently.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
business
Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421541vbi
+ 843-260-2021
Charleston Charleston Area
Western North Carolina
5

Guys fishing trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Stayed at this amazing property with eight other guys and fished for a week. We had to double-up to sleep in a couple of rooms, but it was no big deal for this group. The private boat ramp and dock access was perfect because the public ramps were closed most of the week due to government shut down. Quiet, peaceful neighborhood with friendly neighbors. We were able to cover a lot of water and catch several species of fish from the intracoastal waterway.
The property was as advertised; clean, spacious, very much like the photos on the site. The owner was great. He was gracious and easy to work with.
The television channels were limited, but we did not spend much time watching.
It was a great experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421541vbi
+ 843-260-2021
Charleston Charleston Area
belvidere nj
5

Waterfront Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Listing was very accurate regarding location. Photos were accurate, and property was clean. Owner was extremely helpful in answering all questions. I would recommend property to all friends and relatives. Spent most of time in Charlston which has everything. Owner has dock with excellent swimming and fishing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421541vbi
+ 843-260-2021
Charleston Charleston Area
5

Thus is a great home to kick back and relax yet close enough to Charleston.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great get away to a nice home. Lots of outdoor living space too. I was tempted to take the rocker from the porch and sit awhile under the magnificent oak tree. We loved the quietness and will definitely consider a return trip with family & friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421541vbi
+ 843-260-2021
Charleston Charleston Area
Florence, SC
5

Great Second Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our family's second time to rent this home and it was as much fun the second time as the first. There is plenty of room for everyone and lots to do. We would highly recommend that you take the time, a couple of hours, to visit the Birds of Prey Center. It is close by and very interesting. Everyone in our group enjoyed the tour & were amazed at the beautiful birds there. I'm sure we will be back again next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Waterfront estate near Charleston with spectacular views & great rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421541vbi
+ 843-260-2021
Charleston Charleston Area
Florence, SC
5

Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The listing description describes this house perfectly! The house is very clean and well maintained, with plenty of room for family and great for young kids. I can't wait to get back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway