Ipanema apartment rental - Terrace in the Sunshine!
Terrace in the Sunshine!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Ipanema Apartment Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroom Duplex Penthouse Parallel Posto 9 Ipanema

Recently profiled and featured in 'The Sunday Times'(UK). Absolute prime location in the very heart of fashionable Ipanema, this luxury 2 double bedroom, 2 story very spacious 1500 sq ft penthouse is where mid-century Brazilian meets contemporary design(there is in addition a 3rd single bedroom with en-suite shower room).

IMPORTANT NOTE: this is a residential family building, not an apartment hotel.If you are after a 'mancation' type holiday please do not make an enquiry.This is strictly NOT the environment for sexual tourism.

AS OF MARCH 2014 BRAND NEW FEATURES INCLUDE 2 HI DEFINITION CONNECTED TVS,CABLE TV NOW ON BOTH LEVELS,INTERNET ACCESS NOW EXTENDED TO INCLUDE BOTH FLOORS,BRAND NEW DESIGNER KITCHEN,3RD SHOWER ROOM NOW COMPLETELY RE FURBISHED,NEW DVD LIBRARY,NEW SILENT SPLIT AIR CON IN MAIN LIVING/DINING AREA.NEW FANS IN KITCHEN/3RD BEDROOM,NEW ART AND NEW MANAGEMENT !!

Accommodation includes 3 bathrooms,2 living rooms,quality contemporary art ,wireless broadband,2 LCD TVs(40',32') with cable/dvd,washer/dryer,power shower,24h security etc. Also 2 outdoor spaces,one 1st floor balcony and a decked terrace on the top floor with private,heated Jacuzzi(not overlooked). Majestic views of the mountains and Christ statue (illuminated at night). Minutes from the beach,exactly parallel to the most desirable stretch of Ipanema beach, the famed Post 9. This apartment has been carefully designed to capture the relaxed and timeless spirit of bossa nova,retro cool at it's best!

Extra Maid Service: Extra maid service is available.A day session(4/5 hours) costs R90.A mini session lasting approx. 2 hours is available for R50.Please make sure you book these at the time of booking as they can be difficult to arrange last minute.Their duties can also cover ironing,food shopping and child minding.

An English speaking babysitter service is available for R20 per hour,plus taxi fare if required to stay after 1am.

Airport pick up service.: Airport pick up service is available with a very reliable named driver(Marcello) in new model, air conditioned saloon car for R80(the official airport car rate is now R99!). He will wait for you at arrivals with a placard bearing your name..This is an extremely competitive price,less than the rate charged by the official airport outlets! I strongly recommend you take advantage of this offer as it helps my management to co-ordinate your smooth arrival at the apartment.Payment is direct to the driver.A van with an 8 seat capacity plus luggage is also possible for R150.

Great rates are also available for local car tours or trips further afield to Parity or Buzios.

Special Notes: Being a penthouse means the apt. is flooded with light (many Rio apts. can be dark due to so many tall buildings facing each other).

Sleeps 5 in conventional beds.There is a sofa bench/bed that can be utilized as a single bed and a spare mattress that can be placed anywhere.If you are willing to be flexible in your sleeping arrangements up to 7 individuals can be comfortably accommodated.

Having 2 very distinct outdoor areas on 2 levels combined with panoramic views means the apartment is suffused with the natural grandeur of Rio.

The ease and convenience of being directly parallel and just 350 meters (5 minute walk) to Post 9 on the beach,generally regarded as the absolute apex of Carioca beach culture.

Finally ,for the discerning traveler, this beautifully maintained property is positioned atop an architecturally very distinguished building.

FOR MORE PHOTOS,MAPS,LINKS ETC PLEASE CHECK OUT THE WEBSITE:- www.ipanemapenthouse.co.uk

More Details
Hide Details

Very widely traveled.Brought up in the Far East and Australia,am now mostly based in the UK.

For a long time I had the apt looked after by one of the biggest agencies in Rio.The problem was that far too few staff were looking after far too many apartments.Speaking from direct personal experience,compared to running an equivalent apt in New York or London,Rio presents unique challenges.Not only are running costs roughly triple but getting even the simplest things done can be challenging(and yes that is an understatement!).A couple of years ago I decided to manage the apt. myself directly from London with a full time local manager who looks after no more than 5 apartments.This can be at times very demanding because if something is not right,trust me, I get told about it! We are now able to provide a very bespoke service from the moment you leave arrivals at the airport.My manager and I are 100% committed to providing you with the best experience of Rio possible.

Alastair G. purchased this apartment in 2006

Ipanema is almost like a small kingdom set apart.The timeless life style associated with such easy access to such an extraordinary beach is very seductive.Now safer than ever,quite simply Ipanema is in a class of it's own.It's where Brazil looks for new trends and is a show place for the nation.It is classic,eternal Rio and the energy is palpable.It is the Rio of your dreams!

Rio (a city that,even within Brazil, is the most 'Brazilian' of cities) is also a very culturally rich society with a strong theater tradition,great modern artists,the center of the telenovela and media industries,an extraordinary and diverse musical heritage and a strong intellectual history involving great writers and architects.It is also fascinating to observe the vast changes Rio is currently undergoing.The speed and scale in urban regeneration is unprecedented amongst any major world city in modern times.

Space, and a tremendous feeling of privacy floating above everywhere else in your own private world. Apart from great style,I think to have the rare combination of 2 entirely different outdoor spaces on separate floors together with contrasting and amazing views coupled with the location so close to Post 9 on the beach.All this and being a penthouse awash with natural light allows an ambiance that is pretty special.Ticks all the key boxes!

29 Reviews of Property 421439 Ipanema, Brazil

IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
average rating of 4.928571 based on 29 reviews
business
IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421439
+44 (0)7900 888044
Ipanema Rio de Janeiro City
5

Seamless service, beautiful apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Apartment is gorgeous and highly functional (easy to use washer/drier, fully functional kitchen, air-conditioned, good spaces for both together and alone time, etc.). We were traveling to Rio for the first time and, though most of us speak Spanish, we had no Portuguese speakers with us. Alastair and his team made the whole process seamless - his driver (Marcello, who is amazing) met us at the airport, Felipe met us at the apartment, and all were easily accessible via email during the trip. The building and neighborhood feel very safe, and you can walk pretty much everywhere. We were traveling with our infant twins and could not have asked for a better location, especially when one baby got his first fever and we had to spend more time at home than anticipated. Having the outdoor space was great as we still felt we were on vacation, and the air conditioning was critical! We ordered takeout from many amazing local restaurants, and had a great stay. Apartment is extremely clean and well maintained.
Owner's Response: Recently the apt has been subject to ongoing renovations including new kitchen units and a designer chaise lounge.Thank you Sarah for your appreciative review,hope to welcome you back in the future!
Helpful votes: 19/19
business
IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421439
+44 (0)7900 888044
Ipanema Rio de Janeiro City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful in every way

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Having had a very satisfying stay at this wonderful apartment in early 2011 my partner and I had no hesitation in returning in January 2014. In fact we planned our dates in Rio around availability of this Ipanema penthouse.

All the plaudits from fellow reviewers are justified. Our communications with Alastair, the owner, were plain sailing and the assistance from Alastair's manager in Rio, was in a class of its own.

The location is ideal for the best beach in Rio and many nearby restaurants and other facilities. The apartment is indeed a wonderful space with some quite unique furnishings and artwork. Having access to two terraces is a big plus.

We can"t imagine staying anywhere else when next in Rio.
business
IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421439
+44 (0)7900 888044
Ipanema Rio de Janeiro City
Bogot?, Colombia
5

Excelente apartamento!!!! Excelente localización!!! Excelente Administrador!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Estuvimos con mi esposo y los hijos mayores una semana en Rio. Tuvimos la oportunidad de llegar a este magnífico apartamento, situado en Ipanema, sin duda alguna el mejor sitio, cerca de todo, como supermercados,tiendas, restaurantes, pero a su vez una calle tranquila y muy arborizada. El apartamento es exacto a las fotos,con una vista preciosa a Cristo Redentor, un jacuzzi para descansar y muy bien dotado, con todo lo que se necesita para pasar unos dias maravillosos. Es cerca de la laguna , sitio fenomenal para caminar y ver el atardecer, y también equidistante de la playa , para deleitarse viendo el mar. Felipe es muy colaborador, amable y siempre pendiente de ayudar. El nos consiguio un conductor para recorrer esta ciudad tan linda. También gracias a el pudimos saber la mejor forma de ir a visitar a Cristo Redentor que por ser uno de los sitios mas visitados por los turistas, las filas son muy grandes.
Felicitaciones Alastair, tienes un apartamento espectacular, somos usuarios de vrbo y este es nuestro número uno!!!
Volveremos a Rio y por supuesto a este apartamento. No lo duden en separarlo.
Un abrazo grande desde Bogota, Colombia y de nuevo muchas muchas gracias!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Muchas gracias por tu opinión maravillosa! Saludos a Columbia, vuelven pronto a Río!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421439
+44 (0)7900 888044
Ipanema Rio de Janeiro City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Outstanding staff and service!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had the most fantastic family time in and around Rio,your apartment is perfectly positioned.
What makes the difference and what made our holiday unique are the people who look after you whilst you are there. You have in Felipe a complete gem.
He couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful on arrival and continued to do everything to make our stay, travels and visits hassle free.
He is a great guy and made our trip all the more memorable.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421439
+44 (0)7900 888044
Ipanema Rio de Janeiro City
5

Heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Fabulous and stylish decor.At times I felt I was on the set of an interior design magazine or a Hollywood movie.
This well proportioned and very roomy penthouse was well maintained and clean,which is an absolute priority for me.
Could not have felt safer in this ritzy Ipanema enclave, so close to Post 9 on the beach.Charming/friendly doormen always on duty.
Breathtaking views ,especially from the glorious upstairs terrace.Management could not be more helpful or responsive.
Hugely recommended,best stay ever.
Owner's Response: Thanks a lot. Hope you return soon to Rio. All the Best!
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421439
+44 (0)7900 888044
Ipanema Rio de Janeiro City
5

Relax in Rio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Excellent location, the apartment is located in the center of Ipanema, well mantained and with all modern comforts.
We were on a business trip , but the apt is also suitable for a family with children or group of friends.
A real plus is the organization that Alastair the owner has in place from the manager Felipe to the dorman all helpfull and very kind , will definatly choose it for our next stay.We also recomend the aiport pick up wich saves you from any unnecessary hasle on arrival. Book with confidence
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421439
+44 (0)7900 888044
Ipanema Rio de Janeiro City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Magical stay with exceptional service.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Beautiful apartment (just like the photos!) and amazing location. Alastair and his team provided exceptional service. For example, I was in Rio with my girlfriends to celebrate my birthday, and I was surprised with flowers and champagne when I arrived. Also, Alastair was extremely flexible and allowed us both early check in and late check out. I would highly recommend staying here. All in all, a fantastic experience!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421439
+44 (0)7900 888044
Ipanema Rio de Janeiro City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

BEST LOCATION EVER!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I had a perfect stay here and recommend it to anyone seeking a comfortable stay in a spacious and stylish flat in the BEST location ever. I am already looking at my calendar to plan my return visit. I had a more authentic and local-feeling stay than a hotel, but I still had great support from Alastair, the manager Felipe, and the super friendly doormen.
The flat is two stories with two decks, and is walking distance from everything: beach, lagoon, restaurants, cafes, bars, etc. The bedrooms are big and comfortable - and on two different levels for privacy. Alastair has decorated the flat with great artistic style.
Both Alastair and the manager Felipe were responsive and provided great resources such as a driver pick up to/from the airport.
Obrigado, Alastair!! I'll be back.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421439
+44 (0)7900 888044
Ipanema Rio de Janeiro City
4

Great location. In the heart of Ipanema

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Great apartment in the heart of Ipanema.

Felipe was great. Met us on arrival. Everything organised.

Good kitchen and laundry facilities also.

Would stay here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
IPANEMA PENTHOUSE with Private Outdoor Jacuzzi, Terraces and Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421439
+44 (0)7900 888044
Ipanema Rio de Janeiro City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Loving It !

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Your apartment is amazing! Marcello was lovely and waiting for us. On arrival Felipe greeted us and acquainted us in detail with the apartment and neighbourhood. His welcome and knowledge was far beyond what we expected and made us very at home. Just wonderful.Loving our time here!!
Helpful votes: 3/3