Ostuni chateau / country house rental - Bellissimo Bellissimo
Bellissimo Bellissimo
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Ostuni Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms sleeps up to 5, en suites, open plan living,dining, kitchen area.

Voted inTop 10 Unusual Holiday Homes from HomeAway Holiday-Rentals ( see website-Link above Review Section),Trullo Bellissimo, a bijou experience, is ready to welcome you to its unique blend of luxury and ethnic charm. The property, with two double bedrooms (one with a 4-poster bed) and each with its own en-suite bathroom will comfortably accommodate 4 people.Two daybeds offer additional flexibility, if required. Set in its own olive grove, with stunning terraces, gardens and private heated swimming pool, Trullo Bellissimo offers the ideal location to explore and enjoy the culture, food and people of Puglia. Originally three separate buildings, the oldest 300 years old, Bellissimo has been sympathetically restored and joined to reveal original stone walls, arches and vaulted ceilings. Only 8km from Ostuni in Puglia and 18km from the sea. Reached by direct flights from the UK as well as flights via Rome or Milan, only 40km and 90km from Brindisi and Bari airports. www.trullobellissimo.com.

History and Culture: Whether your interests lie in history, museums, art, or gastronomic endeavour, you will find everything and more in the local towns and region. Much of this has been incorporated into a helpful booklet you will find at Trullo Bellissimo.

However, just to whet your appetite, the whole area has a strong Norman influence dating back to the crusades, when Trani and Brindisi were important embarkation points for the Crusaders, and this can be seen everywhere from the names of towns to the fortified cities and watchtowers intended to repel the Saracen.

If churches and religion inspire you can visit, amongst others, the beautiful Basilica di San Nicola in Bari and the old Crusader church in Ostuni,

You will also find fascinating towns such as Matera within easy driving distance.This is a World Heritage Site located in the Basilicata region, was the subject of Carlo Levi's 'Christ Stopped at Eboli' as well as being the backdrop for Mel Gibson's 'Passion of the Christ'.

Local Hill Towns : Ostuni 8km- is one of the most stunning cities in southern Italy famous for the dazzling effect of its whitewashed houses. It is a genuine and charming example of Mediterranean architecture.Cisternino 15km- surrounded by fields of olive groves and vineyards, some of the most abundant in Puglia. The old historic centre is characterised by architecture of the 16th and 17th centuries. Martina Franca 22km-is one of the most characteristic towns with its fabulous and completely intact baroque buildings. Locorotondo 23km-overlooks the entire valley of Itria, with a panorama which encompasses the traditional trulli houses scattered among the olive trees and the grape vines. Ceglie Messapica 9km-A settlement since the fourth century before Christ, Ceglie boasts many ancient monuments and is famous for it;s gastronomic excellence..

Local Hill Town Restaurants: They will rustle up lots and lots of little appetizer dishes, which The following is a selection of our reviews-all details and more at the villa; Ostuni: Ristorante Odissea-The restaurant is partly a grotto, and partly enclosed terrace constructed out of the old city ramparts. Al Solito Posto-You will often see suckling pig or wild boar roasting on a spit, but there is, in addition a wide range of daily specials depending upon what has been delivered, caught, or shot within the last 24 hours. ORistorante Ippocampo-This is our favourite place to have lunch. you hope will be all, until the pastas and ‘secondi’ start to arrive! Cisternino; Il Cucco-Fuses local tastes with a more international approach, and provides a chic, contemporary setting for a great evening out. The food is impeccable, although not fussy, the wine cellar extensive. steria Bell’Italia-Located in the medieval alleyways behind the centro storico’, internal/external dining, with an international range of dishes.

More Details
Hide Details

The owners of Trullo Bellissimo live in Somerset, England. who have travelled extensively and lived abroad. Returning from a two year assignment in Asia in 2004, purchased and renovated a large, 200 hundred old property in the west of England in a rural location where there are only five other homes, surrounded by woodlands and farmland. We have a lunatic English Springer Spaniel, who takes full advantage of the woods and fields to chase just about every critter that moves, always without success.

Keith purchased this chateau / country house in 2006

Having travelled to the north of Italy and Rome for many years, we read ‘Christ Stopped at Eboli’ by the great physician, painter, parliamentarian and novelist, Carlo Levi, which detailed in such heart-rending prose his internal exile in the south, during the early years of Mussolini, the poverty and humanity of its people. So we said, we must go south – need to meet these people. And so we did. Eight years later and the journey has been awesome. we have neighbours who hug and treat us as family, a social life that is inexpensive, barely literate craftsmen that fill us with awe, and am surrounded by the silliest, most frustrating but ultimately endearing people that we have met anywhere in the world!

The tranquility and privacy offered by Bellissimo is perfect for just pure relaxation, yet we are only 5 minutes from the stunning old hill town of Ostuni ( La Citta Bianca) and 20 minutes from the wonderful beaches of the Adriatic. With an outside kitchen and marble table that can easily seat 10 people, entertaining is great fun with, of course, the swimming pool to cool off in on hot days, yet solar heated for those chilly days. We also have about 80 olive trees and do our own olive harvest. Last year we picked 2,000 kilos of olives and returned to England with 230 litres of the most wonderful Extra Virgin Olive Oil you could imagine. We always leave samples for our guests so that they can taste oil from our land along with eating olives, figs, pomegranates, quince, strawberries, sun dried tomatoes and more. The local restaurants serve some of the tastiest and reasonably priced food and local wines, which only adds to the overall experience. Probably the thing that we enjoy most, is the friendly and warm local Italians, who we have grown to respect and love.

56 Reviews of Property 421024 in Ostuni, Italy

Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
average rating of 5.0 based on 56 reviews
business
Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421024
+44 1985844664
Ostuni Brindisi
5

Trulli Amazing, a wonderful and unique escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Firstly we would like to thank Keith & Moira for creating such a wonderful and unique escape that has everything you could possibly need, and then more, so much more. From the moment you arrive it is so easy to feel at home, Trullo Bellissimo is very warm and welcoming and wherever you look you can see the amount of thought and effort that has been put in.

Right from the beginning when we booked our stay I knew I had chosen the right place, with great communication from the owners from the outset. Nothing was too much trouble and as I was booking this as a surprise for my partner, Keith and Moira were absolutely perfect in ensuring I was able to organise everything from flights and car hire to advice on where to go, all without ruining the surprise.

This was our first experience with a holiday rental, and I would say that this should be a role model in how rentals should be managed and organised.

Trullo Bellissimo has been beautifully created, with it's design and layout perfect whether it be for a couple or family. As there was just the 2 of us, we didn't even use one of the bedrooms or the day room, yet the property still felt large and airy.

On arrival we met up with Jane who was so lovely, and was happy to answer any questions and give us advice about the area. You can tell she has a love for the property and it shines through, making the arrival even more welcoming. Her freshly baked bread was tasty and soft, and as we'd arrived late in the evening we quickly set about slicing it to go with some salami and cheese, and of course a bottle of wine!

The kitchen area has everything including a dishwasher, espresso maker, double sink, every single utensil you could ever need, the plates and cups were like new as were the pots and pans. The fully fitting oven and hob with extractor were spotlessly clean as were the full size fridge and freezer.

There are two ensuite shower rooms, both amazing, and the fittings of top quality. The shower was amazing, so much pressure which I wasn't expecting. Hot water always available and it comes out quick!

I've almost run out of review room already! The pool, BBQ area, the gardens with fresh tomatoes and herbs, everything is perfect, you really won't want to leave apart from going to the local supermarket for more food and drink to enjoy back in the villa. I can guarantee a stay at Trullo Bellissimo will leave you relaxed and refreshed, but you really won't want to go home!
Owner's Response: Wow - I have to say that I am totally blown over by this. How very kind of this lovely young couple. It's always special when we know that there is going to be a surprise, or somebody has a birthday, as we go the extra mile and make small gifts and we have little cupcake surprises or champagne. In fact we have four birthdays this year, and keeping our preparations secret is always a challenge. It's just so lovely to know that people will wish to spend what is a very special day in their year at Bellissimo that we all get really enthused about it. It was also very special knowing that this would be their first time as holiday renters, and I was absolutely determined that we should set a standard to service that would make them wish to return. I like to think that I take a lot of pride in providing the best holiday experience for all of our guests, but it is so kind of people to say such lovely words, that I should really leave them to do the talking. Thank you both so much for allowing us to make this a wonderful time for you. We know that we will be welcoming you again so until then our very best to you both.
business
Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421024
+44 1985844664
Ostuni Brindisi
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Secluded beauty with expressive design touches"

“Secluded beauty with expressive design touches"
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
'AS POSTED ON TRIP ADVISOR'

After starting our trip briefly in Capri, we were looking forward to a relaxing week in trullo - something we'd looked forward to for such a while.
And we weren't disappointed. The rental is very much a home from home - comfortable, lots of helpful 'bits' to ensure we had what we needed; glorious oil produced from the owners' olive trees was a particularly nice touch.

Moira, has truly personalised the place - the decor is beautiful - despite being distinctly eastern - seems to fit in perfectly with the wonderful renovation job the couple have done.

The pool in particular, though, was a treat - huge, cool and inviting - we whiled away hours swimming and lazing around on our loungers!
business
Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421024
+44 1985844664
Ostuni Brindisi
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“An absolute jewel”

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
'AS POSTED ON TRIP ADVISOR'

Trullo Bellissimo is superb and is even better than the photographs! The accommodation is excellent and every little thing has been thought about. The setting is beautiful and is magical at night! It is obviously a house that has been created with a great deal of love.
The area is very interesting and there are great restaurants in Ostuni.
business
Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421024
+44 1985844664
Ostuni Brindisi
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“A magical trullo in a magical setting”

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
'AS POSTED ON TRIP ADVISOR'

The owners have taken amazing care to ensure that your every need is met in this beautifully-restored trullo. The interior is imaginative and luxurious with all the mod-cons you could wish for. The grounds are lovely and extensive and the generously-proportioned swimming pool is ideal for a family. A wonderful find that I heartily recommend to anyone.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421024
+44 1985844664
Ostuni Brindisi
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A unique and beautiful trullo in stunning grounds

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
'AS POSTED ON 'TRIP ADVISOR'

The customer service we received from Keith and Moira from our first phone call enquiry was exemplary. The house keeper met us late in the evening. We were introduced to the villa and nibbles and drinks were available on arrival. Moira and Keith have created a beautiful holiday home which is decorated beautifully and very personally. Home made chutneys and olive oil, lovely spacious gardens and olive groves and a heated pool make a very relaxing break. However, the middle of May was pleasant but a little too cool at times for the pool. We loved the peace and quiet of the area, the beautiful hilltop villages, coastline and amazing architecture in Lecce and around.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421024
+44 1985844664
Ostuni Brindisi
5

A treasure trove of delights!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a ‘trulli’ spectacular experience!

We knew from our first (hilarious!) conversation with Moira that this holiday would far exceed our expectations and this beautiful holiday rental, with expert and dedicated management didn’t disappoint on any level. Travelling abroad with a toddler can be a daunting task for any parent, but this really was an effortless adventure from the very start.

Everything we needed was provided, all so intuitively organised it felt like home from home. Such magical interior design, full to bursting with personal touches makes you feel as if you’ve been invited to stay by a close friend, and the grounds are so beautifully maintained it is a daily effort to motivate yourself to leave the house!

We could go into minute detail on the specific wonders of this place, but it really speaks for itself. A huge thank you to Moira & Keith for their vision in creating this gorgeous escape and their generosity in sharing it with others, so fond family memories can be made by many.
Owner's Response: From the outset this was an absolutely delightful booking with lots of chatty personal and e-mail dialogue throughout. We almost felt that we had known this lovely family for ages! It certainly makes our life as Owners’ so easy when we receive questions and requests, which we are then able to deal with ourselves or pass onto our wonderful Manager (Jane), in preparation for arrival. The pre-vacation contact is so very important, as the guests know what to expect and it is never too much trouble for us to go ‘the extra mile’. We then hold our breath until after the vacation and only hope that we have met or exceeded expectations. A review such as this brings a big smile to our faces and gives us the satisfaction that our wish for guests to ‘hit Bellissimo relaxing’ has been met. Thank you for contributing to special memories for us both.
business
Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421024
+44 1985844664
Ostuni Brindisi
5

A peaceful and beautiful property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
After a hot and busy week on the Amalfi coast it was a delight to finally get to Trullo Bellissimo with our friends who we picked up from Naples. Everything was as good as we expected and the decorative touches were marvellous. So much personal care has gone into the property and it shows. We practically lived outdoors and used the outdoor kitchen and splendid pool to their fullest extent. It is in a quiet location away from roads but with Ostuni within easy reach. Special thanks to Jane who really looked after us. Lots of interesting places to visit, good food and great weather. A real testament to Moira and Keith. If you want a luxurious and peaceful holiday look no further. If we return to Puglia Trullo Bellissimo will be the place we go.
Owner's Response: It is so gratifying when our guests fully appreciate the facilities that we have so carefully planned and provided. The location of Trullo Bellissimo to 5 ancient hill towns, does provide a varied choice, without having to venture too far. However, the greatest testament for us, is that our guests are happy using the pool, villa and terraces to their fullest, when seeking only to relax, having spent their hard earned money on what they hope will be a peaceful and happy holiday experience. The fact that guests even consider returning in the future, really is a bonus and inspires us to ensure that we maintain a standard such that returning guests will not be disappointed the 2nd or 3rd time around. We have been blessed with many repeat guests, which to us, is very special indeed.
business
Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421024
+44 1985844664
Ostuni Brindisi
5

Wonderful oasis in beautiful Puglia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
From the moment that we first enquired about the property the wonderful owners couldn't have done more to help ensure that our stay was a relaxing one - no mean feat when you have two small children in tow...

The property itself was in pristine condition and the garden and pool a wonderful oasis amongst the olive trees.

All in all a wonderful break.
Owner's Response: The most satisfying part of owning a holiday home is being able to welcome lovely families who somehow appreciate all of the hard work that goes on behind the scenes to make their vacation special and memorable. To have this appreciation articulated in a review, really does make it all worth while. Thank you for those kind words, which are particularly special to us.
business
Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421024
+44 1985844664
Ostuni Brindisi
5

Best Rental Ever!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This Trulli is "truly" wonderful, in fact the best ever rental we have enjoyed, everything was splendid!

On arrival we were settled in by Jane, who was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, all the "ins and outs" of the Trulli, garden, equipment etc were covered in detail, and she was very happy to answer questions about the local area and places to visit.

Everything about the Trulli is perfect; beautifully equipped, appointed and decorated with many handmade and attractive items. Everything works (although we needed a new corkscrew - perhaps over use of the original?), and more kitchen aids than we could use during our stay.

The Trulli contains a really good log completed by previous visitors with hints and tips about the property, together with recommendations for trips out and places to eat - all the ones we sampled were very good.

We stayed for two weeks, and shared the Trulli with our family for the first week, relaxing around the pool in the very warm weather was superb, all the garden equiptment provided could not be improved (although we heard plans to update all the loungers in 2013). The pool is magnificent, much larger than it appears in the photos, really feels as if it is part of a much bigger place, as it could easily cope with many more people and loungers around the poolside. Although not heated at the time of the year when we were there it was fine (again we understand a heating installation is due shortly).

Lots to see and do in the area, but as it says on the website a car is essential.

The owners, Keith and Moira, called in to see us on our penultimate day, as we were the season's last rental and they were arriving to supervise some work/improvements - they were charming and delightful, in fact we enjoyed a very convivial afternoon and evening over wine; an excellent end to our stay!

We would definately visit again if we were looking to stay in Puglia in future, and can strongly recommend it to anyone else.
Owner's Response: How absolutely delightful to hear from this charming and fun couple again. I'm so glad that we lived up to expectations, particularly as we discovered during the course of our very convivial evening in their company that they are global travellers and have extremely high expectations. The comparative analysis that some clients make, can perhaps make you a little apprehensive of their feedback, but I'm just so thrilled that they enjoyed their stay. It is also very refreshing to meet clients that think about the quality of their environment, and feel able to make suggestions regarding changes. I'm very pleased to say, that I cannot think of one suggestion that they made that we have not acted upon, even down to organising a plan with our builder to heat the pool, and buy several back up corkscrews as indulgence appears not to be a sin when on holiday.

I'm also so happy for Jane that so many clients have spoken about her immaculate presentation of the property, her helpfulness and clear advice. I know how hard she works to show Bellissimo in its best light, and it is great that we are not the only people to receive the plaudits.

So to conclude a very big thank you for the kind sentiments, but mostly for just such a lovely, warm and friendly evening with two delightful people.
business
Luxury bijou villa, private heated pool, terraces, olive grove, close to sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p421024
+44 1985844664
Ostuni Brindisi
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Lovely week in Puglia”

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
'AS POSTED ON TRIP ADVISOR'

Trullo Bellissimo is a wonderful vacation get-away. It is secluded, with a lovely pool and lots of little nooks to hide away with a good book. There are lovely beaches within short driving distance, lots of yummy places to eat around the area, and plenty to see and explore. The welcome goodies were perfect to sustain us until we made it to the local grocery store. The kitchen is open so you are not secluded from other guests should you do some cooking. The bedrooms are cozy, and the outdoor area is beautiful, and set up nicely for outdoor grilling. Tall persons must watch their heads, however - some low entries into some of the rooms. Best for 2-4 people, I think. All in all, a beautiful spot in a beautiful, rugged, undiscovered part of Italy. I would love to return!