Key West house rental - Key West Oasis, A Private Retreat in Charming Old Town Key West
Key West Oasis, A Private Retreat in Charming Old Town Key West
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Key West House Rental Photos and Description

* Please NOTE: I only list my property on legitimate rental sites, like VRBO and Homeaway. I will never list it on Craigslist. If you see my property listed on Craigslist, it was not put there by me.

Key West Oasis is a private two bedroom/two bath rental cottage ideally located in Charming Old Town, Key West, Florida, close to Duval street, great restaurants, bars and the beach. This 1906 'cigar maker's cottage' has been newly renovated into a stylish Key West retreat. The house features an open floor plan with original Dade County pine walls and ceilings. The main house has hard wood flooring throughout and houses the master suite, a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and the living and dining area. Inside the house are all the comforts of home, with every room providing its own unique feel. In May of 2012, the home was renovated and completely redecorated. Rooms were painted in soft hues and offer a mix of wicker, shabby chic, as well as new and reclaimed wood furnishings.

Three sets of French doors lead from the living and dining area onto your own private lanai and pool area. Bask in the sun and listen to the tranquil sounds of falling water, which is the backdrop of the heated lagoon style pool. Tropical plants and flowers are abundant and offer complete privacy for guests. The back gardens and pool area were designed to create a calming effect, which pervades the mind, body and spirit.

The detached cottage offers a 2nd bedroom and bath with a private open-air shower – what better way to enjoy your morning shower than amidst flowering bougainvillea trees! The cottage also features 20 ft vaulted ceilings and two sets of French doors which open to the garden and pool area. Guests tell us they love having the detached cottage, as it offers couples traveling together much more privacy.

* Be sure to check out our website link to more information about Key West Oasis (link is just below the Owner Info tab).

Key West Oasis is located in the historic Old Town district, close to restaurants, bars, Duval Street etc. To give you an idea of what is located around the house, check out the distance to the following:

Bike Rental, 1 block

Fausto’s Supermarket, 1 block

Liquor/beer store, 2 blocks

Famous Sandy’s Café, 2 blocks

El Siboney Cuban Restaurant, 4 blocks

Key West Cemetery, 3 blocks

Duval Street, 8 blocks

Higgs Beach, 9 blocks

Key West Bight Marina, 10 blocks

More Details
Hide Details

Our names are Kim and Ron Gilbert and we currently reside near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Ron is in the hospitality business and manages hotels and restaurants/bars throughout the US and I am in marketing and advertising business.

Kim Gilbert purchased this house in 2012

We recently purchased this home in December of 2012 and have renovated and completely redecorated it into a stylish Key West Retreat.

Key West Oasis is a licensed transient rental property.

The home has a separate detached cottage with 2nd bedroom and bath - perfect for couples traveling together, as it offers so much more privacy. The house also has an amazing pool with lush tropical gardens - very private!

37 Reviews of Property 420695 in Key West, Florida

Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
average rating of 4.972973 based on 37 reviews
business
Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420695vb
+1 215-300-9727
Key West Lower Florida Keys
5

L&J

L&J
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We have rented villas, condos, homes and B&Bs throughout the Caribbean and U.S. and without a doubt this was the best property we have stayed in. The house was absolutely superb, it exceeded our expectations and certainly the photos on line, even as professional as they are, do not do it justice. One has to see your home first hand to truly appreciate everything it offers.

We love KW, but we found that our multiple daily/evening excursions to various activities were always cut shorter than we intended so we could spend more time at your special sanctuary. In the past, we have stayed much closer to Duval, but the hustle and bustle didn’t provide the respite we prefer. Even though it was a few steps farther from Duval the Oasis’ proximity to everything proved to be perfect for us.

We had the good fortune to meet the cleaning staff who were very gracious and thank us (believe it or not) for not making their life too difficult. By the way, they do an excellent job. Gary was very helpful and provided us with some humorous wit and local color. We only hope that you would be willing to allow us to return next year. Certainly your on line vacation guide lines pointed us in the right direction for all types of entertainment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hey Guys:

Thank you for being such wonderful guests and for the wonderful review of KWO - I am so glad that you had a great time in Key West and enjoyed the house!

If your travels ever lead you to back to Key West, we would love to have you back with us again!

All the best,

Kim
business
Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420695vb
+1 215-300-9727
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Northville
5

Best week of my life...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We wanted a relaxing way to celebrate our husband's 50th birthdays and really wanted to get away from it all. This house was IT. Two couples shared the house for the week but we had a visitor or two stop by for drinks before going out and we had the room around the pool to entertain them. It exceeded expectations. It was quiet, relaxing, beautifully decorated, well equipped, and had it all.
We are foodies, and were blown away by how well stocked the kitchen was. We ate at the house all but three nights. There was even a citrus zester! It was pure heaven to be able to grill out and relax by the pool. And the pool garden area, chairs, beach towels, water fall.. well.. it really is paradise in paradise.
Favorite points, comfy beds, spacious bathrooms, great kitchen and grill area, pool, the lanai, all the decorating, and the amazing location.
We loved how close we were to things but still away enough to not hear the crazy.
It will be difficult to ever stay in a hotel again, and we are already planning to return for my 50th in 2019. Save the date!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Amy:

Thanks for the great review! I am so glad that everyone had a nice time in Key West and enjoyed the house! We would love to have you back with us for your 50th or sooner!

Happy Spring!

All the best,

Kim
business
Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420695vb
+1 215-300-9727
Key West Lower Florida Keys
5

A Week at the Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Tired from a crack-of-dawn drive to the airport, a 1 1/2 hour bus ride to another airport, a four hour flight and another 3 1/2 hour car ride, we arrived in the late afternoon at an attractive single home in the middle of a typical Key West neighborhood. We were greeted by Gary the property manager, who cheerfully shared information about the house amenities, must-see places to visit and the best places to eat. He assured us that he was available for any further questions about the house or the Key West environs. He also offered a brief tour of the house, porch, terrace, heated pool and cottage on the property. After he left, we and our two friends walked around the interior of the house, admiring the charm and class of the decor as well as the impeccable cleanliness of each and every room. The exterior was equally attractive with beautiful, lush plantings, a generous porch with a sitting and an eating area, a lovely heated pool including plenty of seating nearby for sunning after a swim, and an adorable cottage complete with a full bath and outdoor shower. The online photos do not do justice to the property! After spending some time pinching ourselves, we quickly unpacked and made ourselves at home. The owners thought of everything when furnishing the rental for guests! From the amazingly comfy beds to the plentiful storage areas, down to the hooks in the bathrooms and the books bursting with suggestions for eateries and activities, every need was anticipated and and provided for by the owners. The rental location was within walking distance of Duval Street with all its' attractions, as well as plenty of restaurants, bakeries and a grocery store. Though we enjoyed the wonderful activities Key West had to offer, each day we couldn't wait to return to our personal oasis to swim, sun, chat, sip cocktails, eat snacks, laugh and enjoy each others company. Our only complaint was the fact that we had to leave after a week flew by. We are already making plans to return as soon as possible.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Hi Dawn:

WOW, that trip down doesn't sound like much fun at all! I am glad to hear that when you finally did arrive, the house exceeded your expectations and that you got some much needed R&R!

If your travels ever lead you back to Key West, please look us up, we would love to have you all back with us!

Kindest regards,

Kim
business
Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420695vb
+1 215-300-9727
Key West Lower Florida Keys
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We recently returned from seven glorious days at the Key West Oasis. The property is beautiful and truly felt like our home away from home. The decorating touches are perfect and reflect the fun, carefree and colorful attitude that is Key West. We especially loved the pool and lanai areas, and the cottage in back with the outdoor shower. The kitchen is well-equipped beyond the essentials and the gas grill was put to good use. The Key West Oasis lives up to the pictures we saw online. We have already recommended the property to friends and we will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Karen: I am so glad that you all had a nice time in Key West and finally got a break from the cold Wisconsin weather!

Thank you for being such wonderful guests!

All the best,

Kim
business
Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420695vb
+1 215-300-9727
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Northbridge, Ma.
5

Key West Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had an amazing time in Ket West! The home was very comfortable and relaxing. Great for 2 couples who want privacy because of the separate dwellings! Great pool area with Palm trees to create a wonderful oasis area! Far enough from busy downtown area for quietness but close enough so most places are walkable. Really no need to rent a car. Gary was a great and helpful caretaker for the property giving us quite a few recommendations for excursions. Would stay here again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Laurie and Mary:

Thank you for the great review and we are so glad that you enjoyed the house and finally got some nice warm sunny weather - Can't wait for Spring!

If your travels ever lead you back to Key West, we would love to have you back with us again!

Kindest regards,

Kim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420695vb
+1 215-300-9727
Key West Lower Florida Keys
5

An oasis in paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Key West Oasis is truly that --- an oasis! The place was beautiful, peaceful and a wonderful place to get away. We were traveling with another couple, so the separate cottage was perfect. Everything was great from the beginning of planning our trip. Kim is wonderful to work with and Gary is absolutely a great host upon arrival. He was very helpful in informing us of nearby conveniences and recommending some great restaurants. Oasis made our stay extra special, and we will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Lynn:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review - It is so nice to hear you all had a great time at the house and in Key West. If your travels ever lead you back to Key West, we would love to have you stay with us again.

All the best!

Kim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420695vb
+1 215-300-9727
Key West Lower Florida Keys
5

Key West Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
While this beautiful home is aptly named The OASIS, words are inadequate to describe our recent stay there. Our only disappointment was having to leave! We have visited Key West numerous times and all other properties we have rented pale in comparison to The OASIS. Upon returning next year, if available, this is where we will chose to come. The home is clean and comfortable, perfect for one (or two) couples and while the listing is accurate, the home is actually more attractive than the photos are able to convey! Both the Owners and support staff are fabulous. I would heartily recommend this home to anyone interested in escaping to Key West.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hey Guys, so glad that you had a nice time and enjoyed the house! Enjoy your retirement!

If your travels ever lead you back to Key West, we would love for you to stay with us again.

All the best,

Kim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420695vb
+1 215-300-9727
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Seattle, WA
5

What a wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I can't begin to tell you what a wonderful, special place this is! This place is perfect for two couples travelling together, which is what we did. It affords plenty of privacy and places to gather after an exciting day seeing the sights or pub crawling. The houses are exactly as you see them online - the coziness and comfort you can only experience when you step through the front door. The kitchen is fully equipped, the desk has tons of information on local things to do, and the porch is THE place to hang out! The house is centrally located and close to everything. There are small shops and restaurants tucked away nearby and Duvall Street and all that crazy fun is a quick bike ride away. When you go, you must: get crab cakes from Eaton Street Market, have lunch at Louie's Backyard, and have a 'rita at Sloppy Joe's. Booking the space was very easy and Kim kept in touch via email leading up to and after our stay. I have already recommended this place to friends and family and anyone who listens, really. ;) We plan to return to the Keys and will stay at the Oasis again for sure! Thank you Kim! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Jill: So glad that you all had a nice time in Key West and enjoyed the house! I see you guys hit some great places to eat (love Louie's!).

If your travels ever lead you back to Key West, look us up, we would love to have you back!

Kindest regards,

Kim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420695vb
+1 215-300-9727
Key West Lower Florida Keys
5

Tropical Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
From the moment we entered the front door to walk through the home...the three sets of french doors across the back to the covered porch...past the luscious private pool and patio to the private cottage...we could not have been happier with everything this tropical paradise had to offer. The pictures on the website are exactly what it offers and what it says...a Tropical Key West Oasis. A definite recommendation for a gal's getaway, a couple's getaway or two couple's getaway...perfect in every way.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tropical Key West Oasis Private Home 2BR/2 Bath w/ Pool, Weekly Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420695vb
+1 215-300-9727
Key West Lower Florida Keys
5

Tropical Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
From the moment we entered the front door to walk through the home...the three sets of french doors across the back to the covered porch...past the luscious private pool and patio to the private cottage...we could not have been happier with everything this tropical paradise had to offer. The pictures on the website are exactly what it offers and what it says...a Tropical Key West Oasis. A definite recommendation for a gal's getaway, a couple's getaway or two couple's getaway...perfect in every way.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Jan:

So glad that you all had a nice time and that you enjoyed the house. Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Kindest regards,

Kim