Funchal apartment rental - sea views
sea views
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Funchal Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom sleeping 2 comfortably, close to all amenities and town centre

Situated in the prime tourist area just west of the city of Funchal, in the popular Forum area, this is a spacious well equipped 1 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor. The apartment has twin beds which can be joined to make a large double, a full modern bathroom, spacious lounge with cable TV and DVD player and well equipped kitchen. There is a large south facing balcony with table and chairs, looking out to the ocean where you can sit and soak up the sun. The apartment complex has a large pool which is normally very quiet. Shops, bars and restaurants are all within an easy walk, so too is the promenade where you can walk through gardens to the Lido area or turn west to the well-known rocky inlets and pools at Doco de Cavacas (with a long floodlit tunnel giving access to one of the best local beaches at Praia Formosa). The city centre is a 30 minute walk or very short trip by bus or taxi. Secure parking is available if you wish to hire a car. All towels & linen inc beach towels. Super-fast 30Mbps Wi-Fi broadband was added in April 2013 and the cable TV upgraded to a HD box with a choice of 114 channels.

Madeira Island Direct have been managing holiday rental properties on the island of Madeira since 2006. We only look after apartments that meet the most exacting standards - most of which we have looked after on behalf of private owners for a number of years.

23 Reviews of Property 420150 in Funchal, Portugal

Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 23 reviews
business
Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420150
+44 (0)1422 833999
Funchal Madeira
5

Great value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We were concerned that the apartment might not live up to expectations with it being priced so competitively for a week out of season, but needn't have worried. Everything was as per the photos and descriptions, and the balcony had sun all day. Very clean and well presented and the managers explained the locality well - lots of cafes and restaurants and a big supermarket five minutes walk away. Can't recommend it highly enough - the cafe below is excellent.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the thumbs-up! - and yes - the cafe below ("Mitos & Aromas") is very good!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420150
+44 (0)1422 833999
Funchal Madeira
Barnstaple, England
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a bit of a last minute decision to visit Madeira and we were fortunate to find this apartment at such short notice. The apartment was very much as described in terms of facilities and location. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the world go by, enjoying ocean views and sunsets. We felt the location - close to restaurants and supermarket was great. The added benefit was the swimming pool. We would thoroughly recommend this apartment and hope to visit again in 2014.Peter responded quickly to emails and requests for information - very helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420150
+44 (0)1422 833999
Funchal Madeira
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Light and modern apartment

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Thank you so much for letting me enjoy Madeira from your beautiful apartment - so light and modern with every facility, including a gorgeous pool. Lot and lots of swimming and relaxing. The island is a delight and we did lots of walking and exploring. A lovely holiday in all respects. Sylvia (UK).
(reproduced - word for word - from the visitors book)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420150
+44 (0)1422 833999
Funchal Madeira
5

Recommended to anyone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A luxury apartment which actually lives up to its advertisement. All facilities were there as described and everything was scrupulously clean including the entrance hallway to the apartments which is in marble and makes one feel very glamorous when entering or leaving. Excellent customer service which has been arranged by the owner plus the addition of a "welcome" book with all the information you require for an excellent holiday. Immediately to the right of the apartment entrance is a parade of shops which have everything needed. Rolls absolutely gorgeous from these shops. Would recommend this apartment to anyone. Pam and Jean.
Owner's Response: Delighted you like the apartment. Free "Wi-Fi" internet now installed and the number of cable channels increased on the TV. Even more specialist shops opening locally - seems to be becoming the place to be!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420150
+44 (0)1422 833999
Funchal Madeira
5

Excellent - and great value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Can't fault the place! Easy to get to (just get off the Airport bus at the Forum then a short walk). The apartment was spotless and missing nothing we wanted. Wi-Fi handy. Maybe could have done with a few more DVDs. Friendly cafe downstairs and a handy fruit and veg shop 2 mins away - large supermarket downstairs at the shopping centre a little further away. The "Gran Brasa" restaurant does great take-aways for next to nothing! If you want to spoil yourself the fish restaurant at Doco de Cavacas (spelling?) is worth a visit.
Buses into the centre of Funchal every few minutes and only takes 10 minutes so easier than car-parking. Sunny private balcony with ocean views. Try the walk down to the beach at Praia Formosa (spelling?). Can't recommend the location enough - and we did some research before travelling - it has to be one of the best value apartments we have stayed in.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the positive review. We keep telling people what a good location it is, but if they have not visited Funchal before they simply do not realise! The number of cable channels have been increased so you generally find a good film (in English with subtitles).
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420150
+44 (0)1422 833999
Funchal Madeira
5

Lovely apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My boyfriend and I have just returned from a wonderful self-catering holiday at this apartment, just a few miles from the centre of Funchal (and very near a bus stop).

The apartment was very modern, clean and with an amazing sea view from each room. We enjoyed drinking Madeira wine on the long balcony and marvelled at the panoramic views.

Local facilities on our doorstep included a lovely café, modern shopping centre with a big supermarket and several great value seafood restaurants (the owners provided a fact sheet of the best restaurants). A 5 minute walk downhill leads to the promenade for a leisurely walk all the way to the centre of Funchal.

Our only gripe was a lack of full-length mirror, which would have been nice as a final check before we dined out.

We cannot recommend this apartment enough and shall be returning later in the year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420150
+44 (0)1422 833999
Funchal Madeira
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We’ve just come back to the miserable UK weather after a weeks stay at this apartment. We visit Funchal a lot and can’t recommend the location enough - it is a mile beyond the main "hotel zone", with lots of local cafes, restaurants and shops - at local prices rather than tourist prices. Try "Penha d'Aguia" for fresh bread and "Fruitas and Legumes" for fresh veg.There is a large supermarket with very good takeaway food for next to nothing! Use the frequent high speed buses to the centre of Funchal (ten minutes) - you can buy bus passes at the newsagents in the shopping centre. Taxis are very expensive.

Overall, an excellent place to stay, and very quiet and relaxing, good ocean views from the long sunny balcony. Bit of an overgrown area in front covered in wild flowers but that's better than a building site. The apartment was simply furnished and perfectly clean and we could't find anything missing in the kitchen.
Owner's Response: Great feedback - thank you! You didn't mention that he seafront promenades and the new lido are only only five minutes walk as well. There are no plans to develop the land in front of the apartment so a clear 180 degrees ocean view is guaranteed for at least the next few years. More cable channels and Wi-Fi internet now also available.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420150
+44 (0)1422 833999
Funchal Madeira
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful stay

  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a wonderful stay at Green Park. Lovely apartment with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Perfectly situated for shops, restaurants and strolling. Peter and Fiona have been very helpful and reliable, and we would not hesitate to return at a future date.

(posted from the Visitors Book)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420150
+44 (0)1422 833999
Funchal Madeira
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This was a very convenient location and the apartment was clean and well-maintained. However, we found the beds to be very uncomfortable and the mattresses were not good quality. What made it worse was that there was a very meager mattress cover that did not shield one from the bumps as a thick mattress pad might have. The bed frames also rattled when one moved or turned in the night so we did not sleep well.
The apartment was very sparsely furnished and while the manager and his wife were helpful in bringing us extra lamps etc, there was a paucity of linens and towels. There were no extra bath/hand towels in the apartment (save for the beach towels) and one had to wait a full week to get a change. We have not stayed in a rental flat before where there was no spare set of towels or linens for guests to use.
While the website advertises a clothes dryer-it was actually a clothes stand or ‘airer.’ I do think the website should more accurately reflect what is available. The description also states there would be a welcome pack plus a bottle of wine. There was a bottle of wine but no welcome pack not even a clean bar of soap or hand washing liquid.
The balcony had a lovely view and was spacious, but the table was very rickety and one touch resulted in drinks slopping everywhere. Because the apartment was on a busy road, the traffic was also noisy at night and in the early morning which we did not expect.
We moved after one week to another apartment which we loved overlooking the water. I would not recommend this apartment for a couple looking for a quiet and restful time.
Owner's Response: We had a strong feeling that this was a complaint “waiting to happen” even before these guests arrived, when they e-mailed us a few days before they were due and asked that all towels and linen were re-laundered using non-scented washing powder and conditioner. A full spare set of linen was also requested (over and above the full weekly change done by the cleaner) and when told that this was available for a small extra charge, a one word e-mail was received saying “No”!
The issue of whether there was an airer or tumble-dryer was discussed and clarified before their arrival, and the airer was perfectly acceptable “as long as we have somewhere to dry our clothes”. Despite this, this was brought up as a complaint in the review
Upon arrival they requested that furniture be moved around to their satisfaction, and additional lighting supplied to match their new interior design. A welcome pack was certainly supplied as usual – not quite sure how they missed the tea, coffee, sugar, milk, salt, pepper, oil, vinegar…? We do not supply any toiletries as most people prefer to use their own – particularly those with allergies! (would this have been another complaint if we had?).
With regard to hard beds, like all Portuguese beds they tend to be on the firmer side, but the expensive mattresses are” orthopaedic”. The beds probably rattled because they had moved them – had great fun testing this since and can’t get a squeak out of them!!! I was telling this story to return visitors who couldn’t believe it – they swore that they were the best beds they had ever slept on!
The complaint about the balcony table is petty beyond belief – exactly the same table and chairs found on half the balconies in Madeira!
Finally they make a completely unfair comparison when they say that the found an alternative room with sea-views where they were quite happy. They do not own up to where they moved to - by complete co-incidence it was our usual taxi driver who picked them up when they checked out of the 5 Star Enotel where room-rates start at €1500 per week for the period concerned!
We were advised of this review before it was posted, and e-mailed them directly to request that they did not exaggerate matters in such a spiteful and malicious manner – needless to say we heard nothing from them on this occasion.
Helpful votes: 3/8
business
Modern apartment with large balcony, swimming pool and sea views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420150
+44 (0)1422 833999
Funchal Madeira
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Good apartment

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Good apartment, good restaurants - try the "e pra picanha" restaurant on the Avenida do Infante - best beef on the island"
(copied from the Visitors Book)