Northport farmhouse rental - Kitchen
Kitchen
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Northport Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
A 1900's farmhouse fully updated with modern amenities.

This is a modern house in an old frame, all of the modern amenities with the character of a 100 year old farmstead. Home includes a chefs kitchen, front load washer and dryer, a sauna with a rain shower, high speed internet with wifi and three bedrooms with queen beds and private bathrooms. Very peaceful, quiet and private.

Fully equipped kitchen includes convection oven, gas cooktop with downdraft and pot-filler faucet, subzero refrigerator / freezer, dishwasher, two stainless sinks and all items to create a meal for the family and friends.

Three bedrooms include queen beds and full baths, main floor bath includes a sauna shower, master bath includes a claw foot tub, third bath has a euro style shower.

Lower level entertainment room includes comfy seating, a flat screen television with surround sound and Apple TV.

Outdoor living includes vegetable gardens, free range chickens, outdoor kitchen, farm table dining with seating for 12, outdoor fireplace, and a view of the islands. The vegi gardens are in full effect during the summer months providing fresh vegetables to go along with the fresh eggs from the chickens.

Local attractions include beaches with incredibly clear water, three marinas with 5 miles, several great restaurants including the Happy Hour less than a mile away, quaint small towns including historic Fishtown in Leland. Enjoy days at local wineries, award winning cheese makers, farm markets, beaches, boating, fishing, and much more.

More Details
Hide Details

I am self employed spending time between my home in Michigan and NYC or a beach somewhere. Often times I am found at a restaurant checking out the local fare. Enjoyment comes from cycling, boating, cooking, sunday brunch, traveling and great friends.

Improving daily!

Sean Karcher purchased this farmhouse in 2006

This home really feels like home, very comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. The rolling fields surrounding the house feature tall prairie grass and not a neighboring house in site.

Every window has views of rolling hills, trees and native grass. Step outside and enjoy views of the lakes and islands.

27 Reviews of Property 419950 in Northport, Michigan

Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
average rating of 5.0 based on 27 reviews
business
Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419950vbi
2316454280
Northport Northern Michigan
Bay Area, CA, USA
5

Hip Pastoral Idyll

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I loved this place so much the first time that I stayed again! This farmhouse has been reinterpreted to highlight clean lines and simple materials. The furnishings are thoughtfully curated and the decor warmly showcase the owner's eclectic interests and impeccable taste. The outdoor spaces around there house are fantastic, too. Sitting and listening to the breeze blowing through the surrounding fields is food for the soul. It's the perfect spot to get away from it all in style, yet easily get to all the great wineries, restaurants and beaches in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419950vbi
2316454280
Northport Northern Michigan
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My Friends and I stayed at Sean's magical farm house in October while attending a friends wedding. First off the location is perfect, 15 or less to wineries, Leland, Suttans Bay and great restaurants. Sleeping Bear Dunes and Leelanau State Park are also a short drive.

The farm......this place is really special and so lovingly put together. All of the views from the windows are like Andrew Wyeth paintings. The furnishings are tastefully eclectic and will satisfy the urbanite and the chronic pinterest poster ;). Really nice sheets and towels to compliment the comfortable bed and bathrooms. Loved the claw foot tub!

The outdoor area is really cool with the large table and even larger fireplace. My friends and I are avid fire people and we were so looking forward to hanging out near the fire, so much so that we did it in a down pour as it was a rainy weekend. So worth it!

If you are a foodie or an average cook you will be delighted with the kitchen, it has everything. Also lets not forget Sean's generosity with his garden and fresh eggs...the icing
to a perfect stay.

This is the type of place that makes memories, we are still talking about it and hoping to make it back again.

Thanks Sean, you nailed it!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419950vbi
2316454280
Northport Northern Michigan
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Had a great time at Sean's farmhouse. Its a gorgeous old farmhouse that has been redone with all the modern amenities and great decor. Great location, peaceful and secluded yet a short drive to the beach/town. Kitchen had everything you could possibly need and a nice garden outside to pick fresh herbs/veggies. Doesn't get much better!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419950vbi
2316454280
Northport Northern Michigan
Grand Rapids, MI
5

A True Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The Modern Farmhouse is an absolute gem. Perfectly appointed, simple, elegant, and incredibly well insulated for a winter escape.
business
Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419950vbi
2316454280
Northport Northern Michigan
Detroit, MI
5

beautiful magical piece of Northern MI

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I stayed at this house for Thanksgiving 2013 -- so we were myself and my boyfriend, another couple, and my parents. The house was the perfect size. It is beautiful, extremely clean, and contains everything one would need for a magical vacation. One important thing: the temperature in the house was always great! I believe it's radiant heating through the floors ..? so the heat is silent and highly functional. The host is very very kind, super accessible, and had great recommendations for places to visit in the area (we really liked Fischers Happy Hour and also loved loved Tandem Ciders). I would recommend this home to everyone I know regardless of age/interests/location, and I can't wait to visit in the summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419950vbi
2316454280
Northport Northern Michigan
New York
5

STUNNING modern farmhouse.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Sean has created an amazing home. The farmhouse has everything you need, and nothing more. As a designer, I really appreciate the restrained, sophisticated design of the interiors. There is also a beautiful outdoor space behind the farmhouse, with stunning views. It is an extremely peaceful, relaxing place we plan to return to.
business
Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419950vbi
2316454280
Northport Northern Michigan
Detroit
5

Family of four with a group of friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We rented Sean's farmhouse the first time over Thanksgiving two years ago and stayed there for one week in August last year. The house felt very spacious for our group of 6 adults and two kids (4+7). For both good and colder weather this house is the most amazing vacation house we ever rented. It's location is picturesque and remote, we didn't hear anything else than birds or the wind in the trees, the kids were busy on the extensive grounds and the beaches and restaurants of Northport and Leland a short drive. The house is beautifully renovated and furnished and perfectly equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing vacation. The beds were very comfortable, the house was spotless and the sauna and fireplace offered great comfort during bad weather. Sean was always very helpful with setting up our arrival at the house as well as accommodating additional upcoming needs during our stay. The communication was very prompt and easy. We love this house and can't wait to come back this summer!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419950vbi
2316454280
Northport Northern Michigan
Michigan
5

A wonderful up north oasis!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
Five of us girls travelled north for a long weekend of outdoor adventure. Sean's house was the perfect backdrop and place to hang our hats. It is beautiful, accomodating, welcoming, and did I say beautiful? From the sauna to the stocked bar to the french press, we were in heaven. The surrounding land is lush and ready to be explored. The house was perfect for us to wake up and cook breakfast and later make a great dinner and eat by the fire outside at night after a long day of dune adventuring. It is close enough to Traverse City, Northport, Suttonts Bay, the wineries, the dunes, and basically everything you want to do up there via a short car trip. I highly recommend this place to stay and I would definitely go back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419950vbi
2316454280
Northport Northern Michigan
5

The best place we've ever rented!

The best place we've ever rented!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Sean's farmhouse is truly wonderful...situated in beautiful rolling meadows (reclaimed farmland), it is an old house with plenty of character and renovated masterfully by the owner, who did a great job seamlessly merging contemporary elements with the vintage style of the place. The kitchen was a joy to cook in and the outdoor area with hammock, large table and fire pit was great, both day and night (thousands of stars to the horizon!) Our kids would get up and run outside first thing to the chicken coop and bring back pastel colored eggs for breakfast. We never had to worry about them since there was no traffic on the nearby tiny road (I remember literally one small tractor on it) I could go on...the shower/sauna in the ground floor bathroom, lovely, the claw foot tub upstairs...outings to Lake Michigan for swimming and the nearby town of Leland etc etc. Sean was very helpful and communicative and the place was clean and well stocked with anything we needed. We're looking forward to going back again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Leelanau County - Modern Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419950vbi
2316454280
Northport Northern Michigan
Stockholm Sweden
5

Perfect Place, Perfect Host

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I could write an essay on how great this place is. It is an absolute country dream house. The three rooms are what you would expect at a nice hotel, extremely comfortable beds, fresh towels, and some even had robes. This place is set up so that all you need to bring with you is the clothes on your back and whatever food and drink you want. The kitchen is incredible. Sean has given attention to every detail of the house in a stylish and modern way. The location is wonderfully isolated, almost no traffic on the road, yet charming towns and great beaches are only minutes away. Everything was perfect, can't wait to come back again sometime.