Crystal Beach house rental - Raydio Ranch as seen from across the street.
Raydio Ranch as seen from across the street.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Crystal Beach House Rental Photos and Description

The Raydio Ranch is a 2 bedroom, 1 bath beach house about a one block walk from the beach. The house has a queen size bed in each bedroom. There is a daybed with a pull out trundle that will sleep two and a queen size sleeper sofa that also sleeps two. There is a spacious outside deck that allows for entertaining with both a covered and uncovered area for the sun worshippers. The house was completely remodeled and refurnished after Hurricane Ike. All linens, pillows, towels, dishes and complete cookware are furnished. There are a full size washer and dryer. There is a disposal, but sorry, no dishwasher in the modern kitchen complete with furnished bottled water for drinking and cooking. We have a 36' Sony Satellite TV with free HBO and Showtime movie channels as well as a DVD player. In the large garage below the house there are some beach toys for use by kids, some plastic chairs to take to the beach and very importantly an extra toilet. There is a large outside shower downstairs to get that beach sand off. Pets are welcome with an extra non-refundable fee per day per pet with a limit of only 2 dogs. The pet fee is $10 per day per pet.

More Details
Hide Details

We purchased Raydio Ranch in June of 2004 and immediately enjoyed the fantastic Bolivar Peninsula fireworks displays for hours on end on the 4th of July. We lived in Beaumont at that time and eventually spent nearly every weekend 'at the beach'. I enjoy salt water fishing especially in the surf. But we also enjoyed riding the golf cart on the beach and socializing with our friends and family who often came with us or to visit. Our Labrador Retriever will just about go crazy when he realizes where he is. Dogs usually love playing in the water.

Jim Ray purchased this house in 2004

I semi-retired in 2011 after 50 years in the radio business (hence the name 'Raydio Ranch') and we moved from Beaumont back to Austin where we had previously lived for more than 30 years. We love the beach house, our neighbors, the slow pace and great weather at the beach. However it is a much longer trip now from Ausitn and we don't come as often as we did when we were in Beaumont and only 55 minutes away door to door. We had never rented the house before and only a few times let relatives or very close friends use it. So we decided to share it with others and renting it enables us to still use it and enjoy the beach from time to time.

One of the best things about Raydio Ranch is that it is located in Sandy Shores. Most all of the houses have been rebuilt since Hurricane Ike. It is the most friendly first class subdivision on the Bolivar Penninsula. There are always social events going on in the 'hood' as it is called. The full time residents and the weekenders blend together seemlessly and everyone is very helpful to each other. All the partying is usually over way before midnight. No wild all night college kids around Sandy Shores. Lay around or fish on the beach. Let your kids build sand castles. Sit out on the deck and enjoy the sunset. Put up and take in the flag. Use the first rate gas grill to fix that great meal after a long day at the beach. You will love Crystal Beach, Sandy Shores and Raydio Ranch.

28 Reviews of Property 419776 in Crystal Beach, Texas

The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
average rating of 4.9259257 based on 28 reviews
business
The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419776vb
+409 767-4433
Crystal Beach Texas Gulf Coast
5

Springtime Fun!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We celebrated my son's 11th birthday and had a great time! The boys enjoyed the beach during the day, and the TV for night time gaming. The house was the perfect size, had all the amenities needed, great deck, and dog friendly. Having the outdoor shower and restroom was an ideal addition when traveling with boys. I would highly recommend this vacation home. Jim was very accommodating and a pleasure to work with. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have already booked again for the summer. :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419776vb
+409 767-4433
Crystal Beach Texas Gulf Coast
5

Very nice beach cottage in quiet neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We just spent 3 nights and completely enjoyed our stay. The owner was extremely accommodating and friendly. If you are looking for a beautiful beach near Houston but away from the crowded Galveston area this is the place. Home is a few hundred yards from beach access so you can walk or for a fee you can drive and park on the beach. The home was extremely clean and comfortable and with well supplied kitchen. Our dogs were welcomed (for a reasonable additional fee). The steps upstairs were a bit challenging for older dogs but we managed. The "Big Store" is just a mile up the road and has EVERYTHING you could possible need, (except fresh seafood). We definitely will consider returning. Thumbs up for Raydio Ranch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419776vb
+409 767-4433
Crystal Beach Texas Gulf Coast
Port Neches, Texas US
5

Wonderful cabin!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our stay was wonderful! Jim was very nice also! We had everything we needed and were very comfortable! We will definately go back! Great for a family vacation! Its about a block from the beach but its not a bad walk! We all loaded up in the back of the truck and made it in one trip! We enjoyed Raydio Ranch very much and look foward to going again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419776vb
+409 767-4433
Crystal Beach Texas Gulf Coast
Where do you live?
5

Weekend Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I just recently spent the weekend with our son and his lovely bride at the Raydio Ranch. This was an awesome place to stay! The listing description and photos just don't do it justice. It was better than we expected. This property was very well maintained and clean! The owner was great to work with. His instructions and directions were very clear. We regret that our trip was so short. We would have loved to stay longer. Everything was perfect! We didn't want for anything, only more time. This house was very comfortable and very inviting. We will definitely plan a longer stay next time and recommend this property to our friends and relatives. Thank you, Jim!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419776vb
+409 767-4433
Crystal Beach Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, TX
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Some friends and I rented this cabin for the weekend and it was everything we could've hoped for! The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was clean and stocked, and the huge patio was a great place to relax at night. The owner's were very friendly and answered questions/concerns promplty. The biggest plus was that they allowed pets. We'll definitely keep this cabin in mind for next year.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
business
The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419776vb
+409 767-4433
Crystal Beach Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Tx
5

Awesome!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Just like it said they have everything you need for your stay. Very clean. Very nice. Literally the only thing I needed was a pickle jar for the bacon grease. Awesome! We will be renting this one again, and we have already suggested this one to our friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419776vb
+409 767-4433
Crystal Beach Texas Gulf Coast
Groves, TX
5

Labor Day Weekend 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Had a great time at Raydio Ranch. The cabin was perfect for our annual Labor Day weekend with family & friends. The cabin was in a great neighborhood with friendly neighbors. We had all the essentials of home. Loved having towels & sheets supplied and the kitchen had all the "tools" we needed for cooking. Enjoyed sitting out on the deck...talking, laughing and waving at the neighbors. Very nice and relaxed weekend. Looking forward to next year! Thanks Jim...it was home away from home :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419776vb
+409 767-4433
Crystal Beach Texas Gulf Coast
KCMO USA
5

BEST LITTLE BEACH HOUSE IN TEXAS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Raydio Ranch blew me away...above and beyond my expectations! The place was spacious and clean, the provided amenities were just as described, the rental fee was reasonable (no hidden fees or last minute charges), and the owner, Jim, was a delight to work with! There were so many other rentals that required the renter to provide everything from towels to bed linens...The Raydio Ranch provided it all and then some!! If I didn't recommend this property to anyone it would only be because I want it all to myself. THANK YOU JIM and THANK YOU RAYDIO RANCH!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419776vb
+409 767-4433
Crystal Beach Texas Gulf Coast
United States
4

Nice place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The property was well maintained and equipped. If you wanted to find something to complain about, it would have to be the beach was too long of a walk and you wanted a golf cart. But we got a parking sticker and took our car on the beach. No problem at all and had a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Raydio Ranch at Crystal Beach (sleeps 6-8)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419776vb
+409 767-4433
Crystal Beach Texas Gulf Coast
San Leon Tx
5

great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
comfortable, clean, convenient, will return
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children