Pigeon Forge cabin rental - Solid Ground sits alone on a flat spot near the top of the mountain
Solid Ground sits alone on a flat spot near the top of the mountain
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Pigeon Forge Cabin Rental Photos and Description
ALL TAXES ARE INCLUDED IN THE DAILY RATES!

Sherwood Forest Resort is a gated private community located just 1.4 miles, or 3 minutes from Light 10 on the Pigeon Forge Parkway and just 3 miles from Dollywood. It also has a large 30' x 55' community swimming pool. Solid Ground Lodge is set up for comfort and a special getaway experience. This is not your typically furnished 'RENTAL CABIN' No sleeper sofa, just ultra comfortable leather couch and loveseat. The bed comforters are all handmade and the sheets are 500 thread count for your comfort. We are not so concerned with packing alot of people in the cabin as we are in you having a homey and special getaway vacation. Since purchasing Solid Ground in February or 2010 we have spent over $10,000 in refurnishing and redecorating this cabin. Almost all lighting has been changed to dimmer lighting so that you can adjust the lighting to your mood. Hair dryers in both bathrooms. All the kitchen pots, pans, utensils, glassware, and about everything else you can think of, is brand new. We refinished the railings and deck, plant 200-300 flowers every spring, as well as new trees and shrubery. All bedrooms and living room have flat screen TV's. 32' flat screen TV's in both bedrooms with DVD players. The 42' flat screen in the living room has a surround sound system. We also have over 20 DVD's for your entertainment. The cabin is also equipped with wireless high speed internet. The phone has unlimited local and long distance calling. Cell phone reception is great, as we are high up on the mountain. The upstairs master bedroom has it's own jacuzzi tub and an electric fireplace. It also has it's own bathroom. There is also a full bath downstairs right off the kitchen and 2nd bedroom. The kitchen has all granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. The front of the cabin is all windows which provides an awesome view of the Smoky Mountains. The front deck has four rocking chairs to sit in while relaxing or cooking on the gas grill. Solid Ground has it's own private parking area that is flat and has room for 3 cars and motorcycles. The road to the cabin is very wide, paved, and not steep at all. We also have a specially built gazebo off the deck with a hot tub. It has pull down privacy shades also. There are no cabins on that side of the cabin. The cabins bedrooms are in the back, next to the mountain so they are much quieter than other cabins in the resort. We also have the only side yard area in the resort which I have used to plant my trees, shrubs, and flowers. The resort's maintenance men think I have too much time on my hands). This cabin has been our special getaway place for the last few years, and we hope it can be yours too. Thanks, and hope to see you soon, Randy and Renee Corson

We live in Daytona Beach, Florida and have been married since 1980. We enjoy boating, riding motorcycles in the mountains, dining out, and exploring new backroads throughout the eastern Tennessee area. We own a Mini Storage facility and I build and sell high performance boats. My boating website is http://liberatorfl.tripod.com

I also like gardening

Randy Corson purchased this cabin in 2010

We use to come to the Smoky Mountain to see the fall foliage, and just fell in love with the area. We decided that this was the place we wanted to buy a vacation home. Absolutely love how friendly all the local people are!

Solid Ground was setup specifically for a special getaway home. We hope you like it as much as we do and appreciate all the little details and thought that has gone into decorating it.

37 Reviews of Property 419205 in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
average rating of 4.9459457 based on 37 reviews
business
Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419205vb
+1 386-295-2132
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Where do you live?
5

absolutely loved it!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Solid Ground is a Beautiful cabin! Me and my husband enjoyed a honeymoon - family vacation! The cabin had everything we needed! And the views were just gorgeous!! If we ever get back that way again... I'll definitely be booking solid ground again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419205vb
+1 386-295-2132
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Such a great cabin all around, great location just on the edge of Pigeon forge tucked away on a beautiful mountain side. Owner made everything so easy and comfortable and even checked with is during out stay to make sure everything was comfortable during our visit. Will definitely be returning again in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mark, we're glad you had a good time. Hope you can come again soon. Thanks again, Randy and Renee
business
Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419205vb
+1 386-295-2132
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Solid Ground is WONDERFUL! Clean, beautifully decorated, kitchen has everything needed, generous well stocked 'extras' for guests. We enjoyed a delightful long weekend and recommended this as a perfect get-away.
Philip and Gilda
Owner's Response: Gilda and Phillip, I'm glad you guys enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return again. Maybe when it's warmer! Thanks again, Randy and Renee
business
Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419205vb
+1 386-295-2132
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
5

Solid Ground Lodge is a lovely cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our Solid Ground Cabin was great! It is the perfect place to stay for your vacation in Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg, only minutes away for all the attractions. Randy was hands on from the time we booked up until our arrival. This cabin has everything you need or want for a relaxing home away from home vacation. It was very clean, cozy, and comfortable. It is a beautiful cabin.

Thanks Randy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419205vb
+1 386-295-2132
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Crestview, FL
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I just have to say that I have stayed at many VRBO rentals, but this one is definitely a MUST if you are going to the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area. The cabin is located on the very south side of Pigeon Forge, making the drive to Gatlinburg very easy. I drove in from Florida and met my sister, mom, and niece from Kentucky. It was a perfect girls’ getaway, but would also be the perfect getaway for a solo trip, a romantic stay, or a family vacation.

Upon arriving at the cabin, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the cabin was even nicer than the pictures. Randy gave very precise directions, which was nice since I had driven about 8.5 hours to get there. I didn’t have to spend any time trying to figure out how to find the cabin. The cabin was EXTREMELY clean, and very well stocked with everything needed to make the stay as close to “home” as possible. The view was amazing, and it was extremely quiet. Both bedrooms, the game room, and living room all had TVs, which was nice. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you could need for either a short or long stay. There were plenty of dishes, cookware, and there was a full refrigerator and dishwasher for convenience too.

The communication with the owner was top-notch. At the last minute, I decided to go up a day early and he quickly accommodated my request. He was quick to answer any and all questions and even emailed me the evening I arrived just to make sure I found the cabin and everything was ok.

The views from the dining room table and couches were spectacular. The cabin was decorated with such a cozy feel, just like you want when coming to the mountains for a getaway. I left feeling refreshed, knowing I’ll definitely be returning to Solid Ground in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jennifer, I'm glad you guys had a good time. It's nice to hear you liked Renee's decorating. Please come again. Thanx, Randy
business
Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419205vb
+1 386-295-2132
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
5

awesome!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Very clean and very well maintained...well stocked kitchen
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419205vb
+1 386-295-2132
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
5

Pristine Cabin in Convenient Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What can I say, the cabin is exactly as described. It was clean, looked almost new, and obviously well maintained. The view from sitting in a rocker on the front porch is directly looking at Mt. LeConte. Quite beautiful. You will be looking over other cabins right across the street, though. The picture in the advertisement doesn't show this. It is in a subdivision with rows of similar cabins, so if you are looking for a remote private cabin, this isn't it. It did suite our needs, though, and made up for the lack of privacy in other ways. For the price, this was by far the nicest cabin I found. It was also great to be between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, very convenient to both. If you just want to go to the Park, you don't run into the traffic from either city by taking the bypass. We didn't use the clubhouse or pool due to the time of year we went, but I expect they would be great in the summer, especially if travelling with children. There are also a lot of cabins in the complex, so if you are traveling with a group, this could be very handy. Everything that we tried worked as it should - hot tub, whirlpool tub, gas grill, appliances, showers, etc. The only minor complaint I have is the motor for the jets on the hot tub is very noisy. I had to move to the other side of the tub because the noise was hurting my ears. Overall, though, it is extremely nice. I have marked it as a place to return to.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419205vb
+1 386-295-2132
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Ohio
5

Solid Ground Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I had a great experience here! The park was closed during most of our week but we really enjoyed all of the amenities that the cabin has to offer. Very clean and well stocked. The landscaping is beautiful as the pictures show. The location of the cabin is great- 15 min to pigeon forge, 15 min to gatlinburg. The view is somewhat muffled by some trees but still nice, just not as clear as I had expected.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419205vb
+1 386-295-2132
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Johnson City, Tennessee
5

PERFECTION!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We have rented cabins at Sherwood Forest through the resort many times. This is the only way to go! You never know what your are going to get when you rent through the resort. Some cabins are not what they look like online. This cabin is even nicer than online and has extra little touches throughout. The owner was so great to work with. It has nice flat screens in all the rooms, very comfy beds and furniture. The views are spectacular. I can't say enough good things about the cabin or owner, Randy. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for a great time!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ellie. Please come back again! Thanx, Randy
business
Solid Ground Lodge - Luxury Cabin.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419205vb
+1 386-295-2132
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
5

Wonderful Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I located Solid Ground Lodge on the VRBO web site. After reading the description, looking at the pictures, going over the details of the cabin/location/view, we decided that it sounded just like what we were looking for in a vacation accommodation. I contacted Randy Corson (owner) on the telephone to discuss the lodge particulars and rental agreement. After listening to Randy tell about the lodge and how and why he and his wife Renee had made the decision to purchase the lodge it became readily apparent that for them it was going to be more than just a get-away place and/or an investment property. In addition Randy shared some of the details about the amount of time, effort, investment and a whole lot of sweat and TLC that he and Renee put into making Solid Ground Lodge what it is today, their home away from home. It’s obvious from Randy’s comments just how much they love and take pride in Solid Ground Lodge.
After our initial business conversation Randy and I turned our discussion to common areas of interest we share -- boating, water sports and pick-up trucks. After we hung up I had the feeling that I had just made a new friend, business aside.
When my wife and I arrived in Pigeon Forge at Solid Ground Lodge we were flabbergasted. Not only did the write up and comments on the VRBO web site precisely describe the lodge/ground/view/location/contents, etc., etc., they may have fallen a little short describing how beautiful it really is.
I will not ramble on about the facilities or owners with the same positive comments that you can read on the web site, but will only say that from top to bottom, inside and out, Solid Ground Lodge is nothing short of magnificent. My wife, the nature lover that she is, was so impressed with the grounds, flowers, trees and other plants that she spent a great deal of her time, camera in hand, in the yard with the large cast of butterflies that call the grounds home.
We were so delighted with Solid Ground Lodge that after three days there (we initially rented for 7 nights) we extended our stay 3 additional nights. Then a couple days later I called Randy and extended our stay a second time for another couple of days. Extending ones stay gives you some idea of how much someone is enjoying their accommodations. We sure were!
Dealing with Randy, both by telephone and Internet, was a delightful experience. Randy goes above and beyond in his efforts to accommodate his clientele. Thank you Randy & Renee.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Barry, thanks for the touching review. We are so glad that you had such a great time. I'm sure we will be keeping in touch. Please come back again. Thanks, Randy and Renee.
Helpful votes: 1/1