Candler house rental - The View will Greet You Upon Arrival!
The View will Greet You Upon Arrival!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Candler House Rental Photos and Description
From 1 BR/1.5 baths TO 4 BR/3.5 baths

When you stay at my Mountain Vista Home, you enjoy the BEST panoramic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and spectacular sunrises with your morning cup of coffee. Or, you can relax in the evening with twinkling lights in the valley below with a glass of wine. Only 15 min from downtown Asheville, this gorgeous space has a soaring ceiling filled with windows to bring in the light and view! Make beautiful music on the Baby Grand in the loft space upstairs. The living room has a cozy fireplace to snuggle by in the winter and large screen TV with free Netflix Movies. The master suite bedroom has a queen size bed, walk in closet and bath. Enjoy 3 private decks: one with rocking chairs; one with a gas grill, table and chairs to enjoy dining al fresco, but both with panoramic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The huge deck in the back overlooks up to 100 acres of forest. Watch for bears, deer, wild turkeys and an occasional cow or horse! Carport allows you stay dry if you get caught in a gentle spring rain. Even though you are minutes away from the best restaurants in Asheville, you may just want to stay in, cook and enjoy the views. Book your stay today!

I moved to Asheville after living in NYC for 11 years, Originally from Chattanooga, TN, I needed to come home to the south - but not just 'anywhere' would do after the Big Apple. After doing a lot of research and visiting Asheville a number of times, I knew this would be my home for the rest of my life.

Gwen Croft purchased this house in 2011

After living closer in West Asheville, I decided I really wanted to experience the meaning and have a closer relationship with the mountains. I had been looking for the right property for a couple of years. This one just knocked my socks off the minute I saw it. The air felt clearer, my spirit felt lighter - it just felt like a place that I could share with friends, but enjoy solitude.

The mountains have their own personality. Their 'mood changes daily, sometimes hourly. Sometimes the sky is clear and the sun reveals every nook and cranny with its clear light. Other times, especially in the mornings or after a rain, interesting shapes of fog and mist hang over the mountains. It's just a delight to experience the subtle yet perpetual changes the mountains provide.

34 Reviews of Property 419139 in Candler, North Carolina

Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 34 reviews
business
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419139vbi
828-279-6700
Candler Asheville Area
5

March Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I spent a long weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed what Gwen had to offer. The entire apt was beautiful and clean with updated appliances and furniture! The tv set with many DVDs and Netflix was a wonderful addition. It was wonderful having a kitchen well stocked with with plates, cups and plenty of serving utensils. We really enjoyed grilling and enjoying our meal with a wonderful view of the mountains. The view was marvelous even though we had a lot of overcast days. We were away from the city far enough to view the lights only at night from the deck, but close enough that we had easy access to get to everything. We surely will try to come back if we decide to visit Asheville again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review!

While I lived there, I found that sometimes the overcast days were as interesting as the clear days. I spent a great deal of time just sitting on the deck and watching all the different "moods" of the sky and mountains. If it had just been a little warmer for you, I'm sure you would have enjoyed that a lot too.

Just to clarify, this is a 3 story home, not an apartment. I use to rent the downstairs (lowest level and completely separate) and lived in the top 2 levels. I recently moved and started renting the main level with one bedroom full bath and half bath (which accommodates one couple) and will soon be adding the second bedroom and full bath on the top floor which will accommodate two couples sharing one kitchen, living room, 3 decks and all.

I still have the downstairs unit and have it rented for the entire month of August, but the upstairs is available during that time. I haven't figured out a way to show all that in the rates yet. Still working through that.

But rest assured, when you stay at my Mountain Vista, I will do everything possible to help you have a very happy visit!

I"m so glad you enjoyed your visit Becky and hope you and Cliff will be back soon!
business
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419139vbi
828-279-6700
Candler Asheville Area
5

Winter Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed at Gwen's Mountain View Retreat in the middle of January with the hopes of seeing snow (my fiance' is a native Floridian and has never seen snow). We arrived and were pleasantly suprised by the breath-taking view from the front porch. The accomodations were comfy, and the whole unit (thankfully) warmed up quickly when the heat was turned on. Location-wise, we were only about 10-15 minutes from Downtown Asheville and maybe 15-20 min from the front gate of the Biltmore Estate. During our stay it did actually snow, both at the house and in the city. But a word of caution to anyone not familiar with driving in the snow, the road to get the house has one section that has a bit of a steep grade, so make sure your vehicle has some kind of traction control to make the ascent a little easier. There was a about an inch or two of snow on the ground and we made it with just a little difficulty in a 2013 Malibu. Other than that we had a wonderful time, we definitely hope to make it back to see another season!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad I could make that snow happen for you ;-) Of course, there is always some risk driving in the snow. Luckily, when it snows around here it doesn't stay for very long at all, as you noticed. Here one day and gone the next (and sometimes the same day!). Do come back and see the fall colors or the clear, crisp summers!
business
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419139vbi
828-279-6700
Candler Asheville Area
4

Great views

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The view from the room was SPECTACULAR! Sunrise was gorgeous!! The house was only 20 minutes from anything in Asheville that we wanted to do, which was good because we spent the second day out of the house due to some heating issues that were being attended to. Owner was really quick to respond to our need for help with heat at the house and made sure we were informed of progress during the day. It is definitely a great place to go to escape the rush and is set up off of the main roads. 100x better than any view you would get at a hotel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm really glad the heating situation didn't put you out and that you enjoyed your stay. Please come again soon!!
business
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419139vbi
828-279-6700
Candler Asheville Area
5

Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Stayed at Gwen's place this weekend and had a wonderful time. Though we did have rain, when it cleared out, the views we beautiful. The apartment is very cozy, especially with the in-room gas logs. Gwen was great to work with. We will be returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad the clouds parted to let sun shine in and you got to enjoy that great view. It is a cozy space for two and pleased to hear you enjoyed it. I look forward to your return visit!
business
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419139vbi
828-279-6700
Candler Asheville Area
5

You Must Rent Here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was great. The condo was everything listed and more. The condo comes with everything you need for a peaceful get away. We wanted to relax and see the town and this place does both. It is very easy to get to, near the interstate, and very close to just about anything in Asheville. Also, the views are amazing. Our first morning we saw 2 hot air balloons take off! The sunrises and sunsets are amazing. I have been to the mountains before and these views are by far the best I have ever seen. You must rent from Gwen!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! So glad you saw the balloons! I love that and love it even more when my folks are up early enough to enjoy that too. I hope you will come again and congratulations on your anniversary. I wish you many, many more!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419139vbi
828-279-6700
Candler Asheville Area
5

Hanna Honeymoon!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I spent our short, but perfect, honeymoon here. The room was cozy and wonderful!!! The view was foggy at first, but once those clouds lifted, it was breath-taking!!! It was the perfect distance from the downtown area and other sites. We will definitely be back. :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I was so glad when the sky's cleared for you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back soon for a longer one.
Warmly,
gwen
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419139vbi
828-279-6700
Candler Asheville Area
5

Great Location, Great Room

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
First time staying here, hopefully it won't be the last. The view is worth the price alone.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed it! I try to keep it as inexpensive as possible so more folks will come and enjoy. I look forward to your visit back!
gwen
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419139vbi
828-279-6700
Candler Asheville Area
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Had a great stay and it was very comfy and the view was a amazing... Will definitely recommend and use again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Rich - I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm going to be working on doing some things this winter that will make it an even better experience. Keep an eye on upcoming changes in the next couple of months. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmly,
gwen
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419139vbi
828-279-6700
Candler Asheville Area
Durham, NC
4

Jess

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was out second year at this cabin and we live it still. We love that it's secluded, but only 20 minutes to downtown Asheville. And what a view?!?! One morning I woke up to beautiful hot air balloons! I'd recommend this location, heck, I already have!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jessica! Good to have you back. Look forward to seeing you next year.
business
Stunning Mountain Views, Decks Galore, Gas FP, TV, W/D, Free Wi-fi, Movies
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419139vbi
828-279-6700
Candler Asheville Area
Florida
5

Mountain escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is the perfect getaway in the mountains. Gorgeous views, peaceful setting. Easy access to hiking, sightseeing, etc. Beautifully decorated and clean. Gwen has a gift for sharing her mountains and making you feel at home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Cindy! I do enjoy sharing that beautiful view. I'm glad you enjoyed it and I hope you come back soon!