We arrived in Calgary the day of the flooding, whilst half of our group were unable to make it through due to road closures to BC and southern AB. The house itself was fine and would have worked ok for our group. The downstairs bathroom had a leak (unable to determine where, could have been pipes or possibly due to excessive rain. The rear garden looked like it had not been mowed to date that year given the length of the grass, and part of the reason for choosing this house was the outdoor space for kids - this disappointed us as it would have been unusable. Had we stayed.
With the issues generated in Calgary due to the flooding, the fact our conference was cancelled, and that ultimately the city was shutting down, we followed the advice from the news to leave the area after spending one night in 2 of the bedrooms. We left the house almost exactly as we found it (ie next to no clean up requirements) hoping that the owner would understand the exceptional nature of the situation. However, we were very disappointed to be advised that "it was not her fault it flooded" and 'too bad, we had paid the money and there was nothing that could be done'
Whilst I agree it was not the owners who caused the problem, a little more understanding of the situation would have been appreciated. We were not seeking a full refund, just some consideration given half our group spent 20 hours of a 5 day trip in the house
Owner's Response: I am understand the tentant want get his rental back. But sorry, follow our rent policy we can't refund the rental back after the tenants check in or we get a notice too short.
Did you find this review helpful?