Merida house rental - View from the hammock
View from the hammock
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Merida House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)

Villa Caribe is situated in one of the most desirable areas in the historical centre of Merida, a pleasant three-block stroll takes you to the popular Santiago square, where Tuesday nights are alive with big band music and dancing under the stars, and only a short walk away takes you to the beating heart of colonial Merida: Plaza Grande, Merida’s main square where you can take in all the cultural activities.

This historical home of Villa Caribe sitting on a rare bus-free block in Merida boasts a large array of features. The 1800 square foot Colonial has been lovingly restored to its former glory but with all the modern amenities you could want, including air conditioning in every room! With open concept living/dining and gourmet kitchen area; 16 foot ceilings with original wood beams and custom made pasta tile floors, this floor plan is perfect for entertaining. Make dinner in the gourmet kitchen and enjoy it in cool comfort while sitting at the dining table with views to the pool and tropical garden, or dine alfresco in the large covered outdoor dining area next to the pool. Every detail has been thought of at Villa Caribe including adding ceiling fans to the covered terrace so on those nights with no breeze, you can create your own and dine in comfort.

Wake up in your luxurious king size bed in the master bedroom and watch the hummingbirds feeding on the sweet nectar of the tropical plants or just gaze out at the blue water of the infinity edge pool. The master bedroom includes a walk-in closet and a oversized master bathroom with double vanity and a large shower.

After a long day of taking in the sites, head back to the Villa for a dip in the pool or maybe just gently sway in your hammocks in the quiet tropical garden.

After dinner retire to the den and watch a movie or kick back and read a book. Villa Caribe is the perfect home away from home, and has everything you need for the perfect holiday. Enjoy!

More Details
Hide Details

Anna and Alan Gove live in Vancouver, British Columbia. They realized their dream of buying and remodelling a colonial home in Mexico, in the beautiful city of Merida. Their connection to Mexico goes back through fifteen years of travel to the Yucatan, and they were married on the beach in Playa del Carmen. They first encountered Merida on vacation in 2004, and knew right away that it would be part of their lives for a long time.

Anna is a designer and decorator, and her passion and keen eye is reflected in every aspect of Villa Caribe's design. Alan is Vice-President of Marketing for the Vancouver Symphony. They are both passionate about culture and cultural travel, and are happy to share their experiences in helping you plan your Mexican vacation, and give you all the inside scoop on the colonial gem that is the city of Merida.

Anna Gove purchased this house in 2010

The city of Merida is one of the most vibrant and fascinating cities in Mexico, and the historical centre brims with life and culture. Villa Caribe is situated in one of the best locations in Centro, only a short stroll from some of the city's main attractions.

Importantly, Villa Caribe sits on a rare, bus-free street, assuring quiet days and nights free of buses outside your door. There's nothing like swaying in your hammock in the back garden of Villa Caribe, or swimming in the pool, surrounded by exotic tropical vegetation.

14 Reviews of Property 418629 in Merida, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
average rating of 4.818182 based on 14 reviews
business
Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418629vbi
+1 778.994.9909
Merida Yucatan
Ottawa, Canada
5

Beautiful property in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I would highly recommend Villa Caribe as a great place to stay in Merida. The villa is located close to town ( a 10-15 minute walk) but is not on one of the busier streets of Merida. Many streets in town have lots of buses and cars going by all day. The house is spacious, airy and very modern but with touches of mexican flavour (beautiful pasta tiles on the floor). The master bedroom has its own entrance separate from the house giving couples some privacy. Our favourite part of the house was the patio in the back overlooking the pool. We spent many hot afternoons sitting under the veranda (includes fans), sipping wine and dunking in the pool. Very private and shaded with large trees. Vegetation is beautiful. The pool was cleaned every week and a cleaning service was provided once a week. The property manager and owner were excellent at getting back to us and very helpful in providing information on where to go to eat and shop. I would say location is one of the most important features when going to a large city and Villa Caribe was perfectly situated for getting around.

We would definitely recommend Villa Caribe to couples looking for a perfect place to stay. Lots of good restaurants close by as well. Hope we get back there soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Thank you, Carol! We're glad you enjoyed Villa Caribe - and you are right, those fans in the patio ceiling are great! Nothing like sipping a nice cocktail while enjoying the pool and patio and hammocks, and we're glad you could experience that there, too!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418629vbi
+1 778.994.9909
Merida Yucatan
5

Honest and accurate description of a magnificent restoration.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is a magnificent home. We enjoyed being in it almost as much as we enjoyed going out to explore Merida. It does have one or two quirky aspects and is best suited for a couple, or perhaps a family with older children. The tropical garden and the pool are definite highlights. The pool is situated north to south and gets a lot of morning and early afternoon sunlight, so the water was never cold. After returning from a day’s outing, nothing beats the pool, followed by a margarita, for relief from the tropical climate. The property is so private that bathing suits are not required. There are Mosquitos in the evening, so bring a repellant of your choice if you want to enjoy the poolside patio after sunset. If you plan to use the kitchen, Parque Santiago has a daily local farmers' market with a small Aki supermarket across the street; and if buying chicken and pork in the market is not you thing, there is a larger Aki supermarket a few blocks west on Calle 59. Anna, the owner, is always available via email and Rosalinda, the owner’s property manager and Polo, their recommended driver, provide first class local support for information and transportation. The house has no musical sound system so bring your own speakers; you will be glad you did, the acoustics in the house are outstanding. The street is quiet, as promised. The neighborhood is safe and neighbors smile and wave and once or twice shyly murmured “Hi” as we passed. The house to the east has been recently renovated but the property to the west appears abandoned and is heavily treed. The walls around the property make it very private. The Sunday evening events in Plaza Grande, about a 20 minute walk east, should not be missed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words, Ken. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope you can return to Villa Caribe someday soon! We also appreciate the kind words about Rosalinda and Polo, we completely agree!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418629vbi
+1 778.994.9909
Merida Yucatan
3

Quiet base in Merida but mixed value accommodations

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The rental house is lovely in many ways and we really appreciated the pool and the fact that the lot next door is abandoned so there was lots of bird noise and activity, so it felt like a bit of an oasis. Our main comment is that the 2 bedrooms are so different; the master room is glorious with large windows overlooking the garden and pool, so it's bright and airy, and has a lovely big en suite bathroom and useful furniture like a desk and chair. The 2nd bedroom in contrast is a small dark cell, with not even a hanging space for a dress (some wire stacking shelving is all) and the bathroom is the main bathroom down the corridor. This bathroom is tiny by the way, with not even space to put your wash bag down. So just be aware, if you 2 couples, that your experiences will be very different!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418629vbi
+1 778.994.9909
Merida Yucatan
New Mexico, USA
5

A private oasis inside a historic gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Four friends and I had a great experience staying at Villa Caribe over the Christmas holiday! The home is a truly private gem in the midst of the colonial center of Merida and has been respectfully modernized to standards beyond what you would expect from a brand new vacation condo. We were easily able to explore the pyramids of Uxmal, the cenotes at Cuzama as well as enjoy the atmospheric centro de Merida and return to relax in the spacious and quiet villa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review Jonathan. We're happy you enjoyed your stay in Merida and Villa Caribe and hope we can host you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Anna
business
Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418629vbi
+1 778.994.9909
Merida Yucatan
Bermuda
5

As Advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Caribe. The house came as advertised and was beautifully decorated.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
business
Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418629vbi
+1 778.994.9909
Merida Yucatan
Mexico City
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved staying at Villa Craibe. The pool was spectacular and the house has everything you need. It's beautifully decorated :) Anna, the owner, was an absolute pleasure to deal with!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418629vbi
+1 778.994.9909
Merida Yucatan
Where do you live?
5

An oasis in Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house, so modest looking from the exterior, is an oasis on an urban street not too far from the center of town. The rooms are very large (with the highest ceilings I've ever seen in a home), and one of the nicest and most functional kitchens that you can find. The bedrooms and bathrooms are all very comfortable and nicely renovated as well. The garden is very modern, with a well maintained swimming pool, which was very appreciated on hot days.

We really appreciated the effort that the owners (and their local management) made to make this a very comfortable stay.
business
Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418629vbi
+1 778.994.9909
Merida Yucatan
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Everything was perfect!
The home was so beautiful, clean and comfortable. It was exactly as the owner described.
Great location.
We want to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Dear Mark,

Thank you for your kind words. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in Villa Caribe and hope that we can host you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Anna
business
Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418629vbi
+1 778.994.9909
Merida Yucatan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"Sanctuary in Merida"

"Sanctuary in Merida"
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
"Sanctuary in Merida"
I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Caribe for 23 days in February 2013, with spouse, niece, nephew and a girlfriend coming and going during that time.
The house was very well situated; in the very authentic Santiago neighborhood with an easy 1/2 mile or so walk to Merida's central plaza or easy to flag a cab on nearby Calle 59 to anywhere.
The décor and floor plan of the house are perfect for relaxing: stylish but practical, peaceful and beautiful. The stunning, very private (we rarely heard noise from neighbors), walled back garden area with pool was the most popular feature of the house (we were all Seattleites so a pool is a treat) but the large, modern, high-ceilinged kitchen within the open concept design was also a hit.
I was particularly fond of the view of the back garden from the spacious beautiful master bedroom each morning, sometimes watching hummingbirds in the flamingo bush.
The house is well designed for adults since the master bedroom is separate from the remainder of the house with a private entrance from the side yard.
The information regarding Merida provided at the house was very good, but even better, the owner, Anna, was available continuously by email and provided great suggestions for activities as well as managing a few tweaks needed at the house.
Probably the unexpected bonus of the stay was anna's recommended guide/driver Polo Garcia. We initially arranged for Polo to drive us from Chichen Itza to the house, but then took advantage of his warm personality, great English and wonderful suggestions, for excursions to Progreso, Lol-tun and Uxmal, a working hacienda and Celestun and for shuttling our guests back and forth from the airport.
We hope to return to Villa Caribe.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Villa Caribe, a Modern Colonial Masterpiece
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418629vbi
+1 778.994.9909
Merida Yucatan
5

Beautiful property - walking distance to everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The Villa is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures - fully restored colonial building that maintains all the charm of the original building (tiled floors, super high ceilings, courtyard) with modern finishes (updated kitchen, bathroom, washer dryer) and tastefully decorated. It was well laid out for our purposes - open living area up front and bedrooms in the back. The two bedrooms aren't on top of each other so each room has very good privacy should you want it.

Beds were comfortable, both ceiling fans and AC worked great - and we needed it as it got up to 103 degrees for a few days that we were there - and definitely made use of the pool. Additionally, the owner has it well set up - with options to get picked up by an English speaking driver (at no additional fee), a local property manager should you need her to help with things, etc.

The Villa is generally very well located - just a few blocks to a main square, super market, etc - and maybe a 7-10 minute walk to the main square. There are some nicely refurbished houses nearby (like this one) and some in varying states of disrepair. It felt like we were really living with the locals, but if having manicured lawns and houses everywhere you look is important to you - you are going to have a tough time finding that in Merida!

We felt extremely safe in Merida - quite frankly safer walking around than in our own city at night after dark. People were friendly and didn't necessarily default to English when they spoke to us (which we appreciated since we all spoke Spanish) but also enough people spoke English that you could get around as needed. Merida itself is well located to allow you to do several day trips if you want to explore the region.

All in all, a lovely house and a great trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2