Newfoundland cabin rental - Our cabin 8 years young. Adventure awaits.
Our cabin 8 years young. Adventure awaits.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Newfoundland Cabin Rental Photos and Description
90 Minutes from Manhattan, 2 hours from Phila.

**see....RENTAL RATES....&....AVAILABILITY....below in....RATES....&....CALENDAR.....sections.....**

YOUR OWN PRIVATE RESORT...............You really are away from it all !

Come renew yourself at this Beautiful Log Home getaway. Your mornings may begin with the deck or a porch beckoning you to relax outside and breathe in the 'mountain fresh' morning air. Ease back on the glider bench with a cup of coffee and listen to the sounds of nature while reading your favorite book. Walk on the private marked hiking trail back to a roaring woodland creek and waterfall. Enjoy watching the constant stream of visitors at the bird feeders. Fill the wildlife feed tub (with some deer chow from the local Agway) and gaze through the wall of windows at the amazing nocturnal parade of deer and other animals appearing out of the woodland. After the days activities slip into the sunken hot tub for some deep relaxation. In the winter, fire up the wood stove and enjoy its cozy ambience while watching the snow fall through the large wall of windows.

This home is beautifully decorated with rustic and log furniture displaying wildlife and woodland themes. With ample parking, this lovely mountain retreat has it all and is ideal for any gathering of family and friends. Perfect for a private scout encampment, church group retreat or meeting. 3 bedrooms, 2 & 1/2 baths, finished basement. Sleeps 12 (possibly a few more with landlord approval, charges may apply).

Amenities include: AC, 5 TVs w/cable, wifi, large 8 person jacuzzi in a sunroom, foosball table, horse shoes, bow and arrow target w/backstop, outdoor fire pit, gas barbecue, 3/4 mile private hiking trail through beautiful classic Pennsylvania forest.

Bring your 4 wheelers to ride on the property trail. Driveway is large enough to manuver and park a boat/trailer.

Situated 5 minutes above the towns of Newfoundland and Greentown where you'll find friendly establishments offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Great casual dining can be found 10 minutes away in town at Napolitanos Italian restaurant (byob & cash only), or within a short distance at Trios (on 590) in Hamlin or The Boat House (on rte. 507, 25 minutes N. of the cabin) on the lake in Hawley. The Stationhouse Restaurant (20 minutes 507 s.) offers a driving range, mini golf, really good go cart racing and an arcade. Four star restaurants are the Settlers Inn located in Hawley and The French Manor in nearby South Sterling, Skytop Lodge and a personal favorite 'The Frog Town Inn' both in Canadensis. Tannersville Premium Outlets and Camelback Ski area/ Waterpark are only 30 minutes away. Claws and Paws wild animal park (open seasonally) and Lake Wallenpaupack are only 15 minutes away. Boat and wave runners rentals can be obtained from Rubber Duckie boat rentals. Boat tours are also available. Golf, skeet shooting and zip lines can be found at Skytop Lodge.

'RENTAL RATES' ARE LISTED IN THE 'RENTAL RATE SECTION' OF THIS PAGE AND THE CALENDAR IS UP TO DATE. There are no discounts or 1 night rentals or early check-ins. We'd love to hear from you.

Thank you.

HUNTING BY TENANTS NOT PERMITTED. NO ILLEGAL FIREWORKS. NO PROM OR GRADUATION PARTIES. NO EARLY CHECK-INS. BED LINENS AND TOWELS NOT PROVIDED.

****SORRY PETS NO LONGER ALLOWED.****

PS: We'll pass along some comments renters have emailed to us in addition to the reviews:

'We just arrived safely. LOVE the cabin. Even more gorgeous than the photos indicate! (Which I didn't think was possible =] . We'll definately be making reservations again in beginning of the new year'.

Lindsey R.

'I just wanted to express our sincere thanks to you and your snow plow man for being so helpful and coming to our rescue today, we eventually made it home safely! Additionally thank you for renting out your beautiful cabin, we had a lovely time and a magical Christmas. It was the most perfect place to relax over the holidays'.

Bernie C.

'Happy New Year! I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay in your beautiful home! We hope to rent again from you in the future. All my best'

Monika P.

We had an incredible time this weekend. It couldn't have been better. We had a great time relaxing in the living room and cooking dinners together. Also, the hot tub was a fantastic way to decompress after a day of skiing at Camelback. Thank you for everything.

Lyndsey A.

PS. Is it too early to reserve the same weekend next year ?

See more reviews in the review section.

More Details
Hide Details

The owners live in a Northern suburb of Philadelphia, and began searching for the perfect property to build a weekend home in 2000, and finally finished construction taking occupancy the day after Thanksgiving in 2004. 'The Fourth Woods' as the cabin property is named, is a page taken from the childhood of the owner. He and his brothers grew up in a farm land area filled with forests and fields, and it was their daily playground. They would venture out and explore through several large tracts of woodland until reaching the 'third woods' as they called it, which was deep, dark, several miles away and as far as anyone would go. Time passed and drivers licenses were obtained, and other interests took over. Fast forward a few decades. Hunting and walking though this 50 acre mountain property reminded him of those days and just how much he enjoyed living and breathing the outdoors. 'The Fourth Woods' seemed appropriate.

Robert Dean Jr. purchased this cabin in 2004

As children, our family went on summer vacations to mountain lake areas such as Pennsylvania's Wallenpaupack, New Yorks Lake George and New Hampshire's Lake Winnipesaukee. Fond memories of camping trips to Tobyhanna and Promised land State Parks, and visiting a friends house on Lake Wallenpaupack. We built our dream vacation home after a two year search for an ideal parcel of land. This one had all of the elements we were looking for; secluded and scenic, huntable woodland with a creek, and close to a large body of water that offered recreation. Not until after we moved in did it become apparent just how perfect our choice was as we kept discovering all that the surrounding small towns had to offer and the area within 30 minutes travel. We began implementing a wildlife habitat improvement program on the property in 2009 and clear cut two 1 acre deer crop fields and a 3 acre sanctuary. We are thinking about building a pond below the house just into the woods and are planning to begin a natural landscape plan for the open area surrounding the house sometime this year.

This log cabin (home) is used frequently by its owners and therefore is furnished and maintained at a much higher standard than a 'rental only' property. The size of the property at '50 acres' of woodland, is a feature almost completely unique that most vacation rental homes simply don't have. The time, effort, and expense put forth in decorating the interior were an endeavor of love and enthusiasm and we think our home reflects that. It is a wonderfully relaxing and quiet setting. You can feel so comfortable and secluded at the cabin yet you are only a short distance from so many things like shopping, dining and many forms of entertainment and of course Lake Wallenpaupack. There are several public boat accesses and beaches around the 15 mile long lake. Best of all when at our cabin, you don't have to be near the sounds and bustle of the big lake 24/7, only when you want to be.

15 Reviews of Property 418312 in Newfoundland, Pennsylvania

Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418312vb
267-614-5758
Newfoundland Poconos
5

Absolutely Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our extended family rented this cabin for Nov 2013 Thanksgiving. We loved it so much that our family of 6 rented it again for Feb 2014 break. That's right, we rented it twice in the space of 3 months! The owner's insistence on cleanliness and detailed instructions means the cabin is in excellent shape and spotless. The large basement allowed for a cousin "sleep over" and play space without compromising the living space. The property was amazing, with a well marked trail, for hours of hiking a fun. In the fall, we enjoyed tromping in the woods and visiting the creek. In the winter, we spent hours sledding down the driveway. On top of the excellent cabin and property, the town locals are some of the friendly folks we have met. You should rent this cabin!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful account of your stay. Our kids and their cousins used to sled down the driveway too, and I think conditions were perfect for you with all of this years snowfall. And thank you for taking such good care of our home and leaving it the way you found it. I look forward to hearing from you again.
business
Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418312vb
267-614-5758
Newfoundland Poconos
5

Exactly what I was looking for!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I was so happy to find a true Log Cabin for our mini-vacation! We arrived and immediately fell in love with all the tasteful details the owners put into this home. What a welcoming vibe the home and property have. The owner is beyond a pleasure and made our trip that more amazing!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your praise of our home, we always enjoy reading responses and knowing you enjoyed your stay so much. We still add select items to our cabins décor to continue providing the most warm and inviting vacation rental experience possible.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418312vb
267-614-5758
Newfoundland Poconos
5

I'm out of superlatives!

I'm out of superlatives!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My family and I have rented homes through VRBO for many years, in locations from the Jersey Shore to Martha’s Vineyard. This is the first review I have posted, and the first home I should hope to come back to.

From the ad you can tell this is not your average rental home. But it isn’t until you walk in that you realize why that is. This is someone’s home, and they’ve allowed you to borrow it.

The warmth of this home speaks to the care with which it is owned. How many VRBO rentals have you see where the upholstery matches throughout the home? The glassware’s complete. The kitchen needs nothing. The bedding is perfect. It’s clean, decorated with thought, perfectly maintained, and just about perfect. The only thing it isn’t is for sale, and that is why you have to borrow this lovely home.

And that was my first impression. It was early the next morning, when stepping into the bathroom with radiant floor heating, or later that day, when hiking the trail marked through the property, or later that night when using the smores sticks left for our use, or the great hot water and water pressure that put this way over the top. This is clearly someone’s home, not a rental property. We were lucky to have been there.

While there, be sure to get lost. The country is beautiful Visit the 84 Country store, and head over to Napolitano’s for dinner. But bring cash to Napolitano’s, since they don’t credit. Don’t try and go over to Claws and Paws off season, it’s closed, but right near there is a nature preserve that’s wonderful, and not a bad hike for young kids.

In a word: it’s perfect. Can’t wait to come back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments and the perfect review. Our log cabin is our "home" and we appreciate yours and every ones recognition that it is still very special to us, even though we've chosen to rent it. I regularly fuss over its condition, replacing things that are worn or tired. Thanks once more and we look forward to hearing from you again soon.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418312vb
267-614-5758
Newfoundland Poconos
Brick New Jersey
5

Something for All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This property type is listed as "cabin" which may be misleading because this home I would describe as "country maginificant." It combines the rustic, remote wildlife-filled outdoors with the clean, modern and comfortable inside. Plenty of "nooks and corners" inside and out with a variety of decks for everyone to find a favorite spot. Hiking trails are well marked.Sunken hot tub is deluxe and suitable for all ages. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed and the owners, who I hope I didn't annoy with a variety of phone calls, are cordial, helpful and responsive!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments. Answering questions means we get to talk about our home which never gets old, and its a simple way to make sure your experience is as enjoyable as possible and its "never, ever" a bother. Hope to hear from you again soon.
business
Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418312vb
267-614-5758
Newfoundland Poconos
5

What Ana amazing place !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This place could not have been anymore amazing for my family and I !!! Not only was it very spacious but we had an amazing time ! The description was Exactly what the owner has described and the cabin looks exactly like the pictures ! The property was very well-maintained and we could not be happier with how clean the entire place was. Every to e we had a question the owner would pick up the phone and help us out. My family and I have already talked about coming back to this house again next year!
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to compliment our home. Cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on and making sure its that way for each guest. We occasionally add new pieces of décor to keep the "amazing factor" looking fresh. Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418312vb
267-614-5758
Newfoundland Poconos
5

Perfect cabin getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
It's been a few days now since spending a weekend here and it's hard not to keep wishing that I was still at this cabin. From the moment you see the property, you’ll know you've made the right choice.

Our group of twelve came from far and wide (some all the way from the SW corner of Virginia) and through our entire stay, the only time anyone mentioned too much travel time was when speaking of having to leave this magical place and head back to reality. We all agreed, this is the type of place you cannot travel far enough to.

Every aspect of this home shows the owners care and love for it. Not only was staying here a wonderful experience, but dealing with the owner was also a pleasure.
Can’t wait to stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Mike. Your wonderful review makes all the effort worth it and I'm continually amazed at how people find new ways to describe an experience I still haven't quite gotten over myself, even 10 years after building it. Hope to hear from you again soon.
business
Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418312vb
267-614-5758
Newfoundland Poconos
Michigan
5

Stunning Log Home on perfect wilderness property.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This Log Cabin home has the perfect rustic charm combined with all the modern necessities that make it an ideal location for a wonderful weekend getaway. The Cabin is beautifully executed, with all of the details that you would expect of the perfect mountain retreat. The large property is classic Pennsylvania mountain wilderness, full of game and groomed trail that allow for lots of exploration. The rear yard of the cabin has a couple of feeders that bring the local wildlife right into the yard. The nearby Skytop lodge is a gem nestled into the Poconos and well worth a visit. Bob is a pleasure to deal with and a wonderful host. Overall the perfect weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We thank you for taking your time to write such a nice review. We're so happy to know you were so pleased with your experience staying at our cabin especially considering that your family group converged there from good distances and several different states. We hope to hear from you again and thanks for taking such good care of our home.
business
Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418312vb
267-614-5758
Newfoundland Poconos
Kensington, CT
5

Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The cabin is even better than it looks in the photos (and that's already pretty impressive). The kitchen has basically all of the supplies you'd need. It's pretty awesome to see the wildlife so close by. The house easily sleeps 10. The property is very private, and there are trails basically right there to go hiking. Bob, the owner, has been excellent to deal with, very prompt responses and good information/advice. I could not give a higher recommendation. Thanks Bob.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to leave your wonderful review. If there is anything you think we could add to make the experience even better, we'd love to hear your ideas. Thanks for your visit and we look forward to hearing from you again.
business
Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418312vb
267-614-5758
Newfoundland Poconos
New York, NY
5

Incredible Adventure at this very special Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We were fortunate to stay at Bob's Cabin over the past 3 days.

Pictures do no justice to the beauty and thoughtful design of the cabin. We were blown away as soon as we arrived. Every little detail has been thought through and it really shows. Our entire crew fell in love with the cabin immediately!

There are so many activities to do in the cabin and the surrounding grounds. Every morning we were visited by a large number of turkeys. The turkeys would graze right outside the living room window. Such a beautiful sight.

The cabin is spacious and all the furniture is very comfortable and cozy. The hot tub worked great and fit 8 people easily. There is a great sound system in the living room and speakers and iPod stands throughout the house.

Everything about the cabin easily exceeded our expectations! Within 30 minutes of arriving we were already talking making another trip!

Bob was incredibly accommodating throughout our stay. There are even little helpful notes throughout the cabin to make everything as convenient and enjoyable as possible.

We could not dream of a better place to have our vacation and really can not thank Bob enough for creating this wonderful space and sharing it with all of us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow Amir Thank You,
Reading your comments reminds me of how surreal our first weekends and months were. We would gaze around our new "dream vacation house" and at all of the amazing things we found to decorate the inside and the amazing things mother nature provided outside. Years ago, it was something we never imagined and when it became real, it exceeded our own expectations. Thanks so much and I hope we hear from you again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Near Lake Wallenpaupack: LOG HOME on 50 Acre Mountain Top
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418312vb
267-614-5758
Newfoundland Poconos
Fairview, NJ
5

Amazing Home and getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
All we can say is Wow, my family and I stayed for 3 nights and didn't want to go back home. The pictures on this website don't do this place justice, this cabin is truly gorgeous down to the details, the cleanliness, the amenities, the space and the wildlife on the property are just amazing. We usually do this every year and by far this has been the best rental so far, We are definitely renting from Bob again He's a pleasure to deal with, We had an awesome time Thank you Bob and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks a million for your kind words. We always look forward to reading guests impressions and the wonderfully different accounts of the good times had. They'll always inspire us to try even harder to improve and accomodate in any way we can.