Brevard house rental - Living Room with mountain view and wood burning fireplace
Living Room with mountain view and wood burning fireplace
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Brevard House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Most Brevard area homes with amazing mountain views are half an hour or more away from town. Here, just drive 5 minutes and you will arrive downtown with all it has to offer. At night, experience the dazzling view of the city lights. Despite its proximity to town, this house is very private. From the expansive back decks on a summer day, you can often hear distant music drifting up through the trees from the Brevard Music Center. In the fall, take in the amazing mountain view of changing leaves. Enjoy a huge stacked stone fireplace with large dining room and living room both with fabulous views. The kitchen has river rock granite counter-tops and new stainless steel appliances.

For cyclists... there is also a garage to store bikes or other outdoor equipment. Bracken Mountain Trail is almost just outside our back door.

The property also features a private pool with a 'twisty'slide and hot tub (open only during the summer) surrounded by beautiful stacked stone rock work. There is a gated playground with a swing set, and a custom made tree-house for the bigger kids. The playground also has a picnic table and fire ring for backyard camp-outs. Also enjoy a lower kids deck with ping pong table and tire swing. For kicking back after an active day, the kids can hang out in the indoor game room with a Netflix ready TV/DVD with wifi and an air hockey table.

Keywords: lodge, retreat, Hunger Games, pool, treehouse, views, cycling, cyclist, biking, mountain biking, hot tub, fall leaves, view, music center, pool,

More Details
Hide Details

One of us is a cyclist/hiker and the other an art/ theater lover. Brevard, Asheville and surrounding areas are a haven for both. We live 30 minutes away from the house.

The Owner purchased this house in 2002

Husband grew up going to camp here as a child. We vacationed here for 20 years before finally buying a house in the area.

When we considered selling this house the realtor said it was so unique he wouldn't know how to compare it to anything. It's like a private family vacation compound in the middle of the woods, but you can get in the car and in minutes be in downtown Brevard. When we bought the property in 2002, the pool inspector gave us the history of how the pool had been built and the rock work implemented. It is beautiful but also remarkable because it is on the side of a mountain. He told us that he had actually submitted a bid to build the pool, and had made it an outrageous amount never believing that it would have been possible to do. He told us 'I see she went and got herself someone to build it!' We also have an eclectic mix of antiques and contemporary art in this house.

20 Reviews of Property 415247 in Brevard, North Carolina

Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415247vb
Brevard Asheville Area
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This home is just a perfect escape from big city. We had a great 2 night stay. Kids were amazed with all there was to do and the view was really amazing. Owners were great, flexible with our last minute plans, and easy to work with. We took some suggested kid friendly hikes which were also very enjoyable. Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415247vb
Brevard Asheville Area
5

Cozy in the Clouds

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
After 5 1/2 years without a vacation, our family was in desperate need of a retreat from everything. We found it here. Arriving at the cabin much later than planned, it was dark as we traversed the windy road from town onto the mountain. On the outside, it looked small and we were concerned, but when we walked in, we were blown away at how big it really was. We enjoyed the first night in the hot tub (Unfortunately, it didn't work the rest of the week despite all the efforts that Mark put in to trying to get it fixed.) We were wowed with the view when we woke up in the morning. We felt like royalty as we looked down on to the town of Brevard. The kitchen was very workable. It was a little slim on pots and pans, and we brought our own kitchen knives (I'm picky), but it was equipped well enough for most of our needs. On our first day there, we went to Food Matters and Ingles to stock up on groceries and some delicious wine. We got very lucky and found some Biltmore Estates wine on sale. Thank you Robin for introducing this to us. It was better than we expected. We enjoyed our days hiking the water fall areas and the evenings cooking, playing family games and just being together. We didn't get to see any of the white squirrels, but that could have been because it was too cold or because we didn't get to the right areas to find them. We didn't spend much time in town. We would love to be able to come back at different times of the year. It looks like there is so much to do. Since it was winter, the days were very short, which makes for an even shorter day when the kids want to sleep late. One of the neatest things was watching the clouds and fog roll in and out. It really felt like we were above the clouds sometimes. Got some great pictures. Had a great time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
business
Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415247vb
Brevard Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Spectacularly beautiful scenery...

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Thanksgiving 2014..... What a wonderful mountain home! Our family, three generations, including one 2 year old, were very comfortable and the scenery spectacularly beautiful, especially for sea level people. Would love to be here in summer and enjoy the pool.
business
Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415247vb
Brevard Asheville Area
Florida
5

North Carolina Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This house was everything we hoped it would be. Had an amazing time and can't wait to go back! Robin is a wonderful hostess and always available for help. Thanks so much for the fantastic get away.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415247vb
Brevard Asheville Area
5

Perfect! Better than a 5 star resort!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had such a wonderful time with friends and our children! The only negative was that we couldn't stay longer!!! Perfect location. Gorgeous home! The kids loved the playroom, the tree house, and the fires we had in the fire pit! Home much better than pictured/imagined! I almost hate to let the secret out and make it harder for us to return. We are already planning a spring/summer trip! Our friends said it was their best vacation ever! Owners were wonderful and attentive. The guys loved the bike trails recommended; even the one right from the house! Thank you so much for sharing your home with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415247vb
Brevard Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Pure magic...

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
"Pure magic".... enough said.
business
Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415247vb
Brevard Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Just fantastic....

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Hi Robin. Everything was just fantastic! Thank you so much for letting us use your beautiful house for the long weekend. We absolutely loved it!

And thank your husband for giving us the info on the hot tub (super relaxing!) and the area hikes. We especially liked Dupont. His advice to get there early to avoid the crowds was very helpful.
business
Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415247vb
Brevard Asheville Area
Fort Worth, Texas
5

Friends traveling together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Three adult couples traveling together rented this home for five days and found it to be perfect!! We could not believe the amenities (hot tub, pool, playground and tree house, air hockey table, pool table, screened in porches on two levels with gas grill, completely stocked kitchen, game room with toys for toddlers to teens, beautiful eclectic decor and comfortable furniture throughout). The unobstructed view of the mountains could be seen from every main room in the house and it was a delight to see the morning clouds in the valley over Brevard gradually disappear as the sun rose in the morning. The homeowner is extremely friendly and promptly responds to all inquiries and the deposit was returned promptly. Brevard is a great destination and we enjoyed all the hiking, shopping and wonderful restaurants there as well as in nearby Asheville. This home would be ideal for multigenerational family travel and the area has much to offer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Mary -- You, "Mary 2" and your other guests are welcome again anytime at our house!! Thanks! Robin
business
Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415247vb
Brevard Asheville Area
fort worth texas usa
5

Brevard Mtn House 415247

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We loved everything about our Brevard experience. The home was very comfortable for 3 couples. Enjoyed the 2 screened in porches and ended up staying in for dinner several nights because it was so beautiful. The kitchen has all you need to create a gourmet meal. Beds are comfortable,plenty of towels, and places to curl up with a book. Spent one night in the game room which is fun for adults too. Very clean and well maintained. Tried several of the reccomended restaurants and enjoyed them all
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: HI Mary - Thanks for being wonderful guests and we hope to have you back again soon! Robin
business
Private Retreat/View - 5 min Dtwn. Brevard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p415247vb
Brevard Asheville Area
durham
5

great base of operations for the out-doors enthusiast...hike and bike and then relax in the tub!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
photographs of this place don't really do it justice....it is better than it looks. We used the ping pong table a ton and it was super fun! worth every penny! the owners were super helpful as well. do yourself a favour and book it ahead of time!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children