Cow Hollow cottage rental - The magical cottage entry
The magical cottage entry
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Cow Hollow Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

This 1906 cottage has been completely renovated by the owner/decorator. Nestled in the rear of the owner's garden, it is surrounded by neighboring gardens.

Quiet? You bet.

Walking? Out the door to restaurants, shops and local color. San Francisco Bay and the Presidio are an easy walk away.

Public transportation? A block away.

Come see what quiet living in the middle of the City is all about.

Keywords:Private house,Private cottage,home, Cow Hollow,Pacific Heights,Presidio,Marina.

the owner is a world traveler, some of her collection is on display in the cottage.

She also fly fishes.

Nancy Leavens purchased this cottage in 1980

This is my home, not purchased as a vacation rental.

This detached cottage is surrounded by lush gardens making it quiet and tranquil. It is an easy walk to Restaurants, shopping, City amenities, all right outside the private gate. The best walking area for either urban living or Presidio hiking! Your own private home right in the city!

17 Reviews of Property 414457 in Cow Hollow, California

Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414457vb
(415) 929-1910 (California, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Tampa, Fl
5

Cottage with Hummingbirds!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I stayed at the Cottage for 2 weeks the end of March, early April. I was taking a baking course at the San Francisco Baking Institute and wanted my husband to be in a good area to be able to experience San Francisco while I had the car. The cottage is in the perfect location to hike in the Presidio, visit the Golden Gate Park and the waterfront areas. There are wonderful restaurants nearby and anything else you might need. The cottage is just as pictured, an early 1900 cottage with pine floors, beautiful woodwork and many windows-most of which open to the beautiful San Francisco weather. The kitchen is beautiful including the miniature gas stove from Italy. The whole neighborhood is gorgeous and the property sits way up on a hill. At the end of the street, there are views of the whole bay. We rented a very small car, which I recommend, so we had no trouble with street parking. We loved sharing our stay with the two little dogs and hummingbirds visit the garden regularly. Nancy was available for all our needs, showed concern that we were having a nice visit and had many recommendations. She left me a bouquet of tulips for on the steps for my birthday..what more can I say? Oh yes...there is a lovely gas fireplace!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: How fortunate I have been to have had wonderful people share my garden and home.
thanks you for your nice words. any chance you will return?
business
Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414457vb
(415) 929-1910 (California, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
London
5

Lovely Cottage! Great host!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My stay at the cottage could not have been better. Nancy was great, and was always checking in to make sure that I had what I needed to enjoy my time there. The location is within walking distance to great restaurants, bars, sightseeing, shopping, and many amazing running trails. The place was very cozy and was stocked with everything you would need to feel at home. The cottage will be my home away from home for my future trips to San Francisco. Thank you Nancy for your hospitality!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind works. I look forward to your next visit. I love it when world travelers come and settle in!
business
Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414457vb
(415) 929-1910 (California, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Basking Ridge NJ
5

Wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We recently stayed in Nancy's place for 2 weeks while visiting family in San Francisco. Her house is charming and well equipped. Her garden is so pretty- the jasmine greeted us with its perfume every time we walked by! Hummingbirds were daily visitors. Nancy was responsive to our needs and was a pleasure to get to know. The house is close to public transportation, restaurants and shops so car is not needed. Will rent again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I look forward to your return. The steps have now been painted and the cottage sparkles!
business
Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414457vb
(415) 929-1910 (California, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Chicago
5

Eleven Stars

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I spent a fabulous week in this beautiful coach house, located in one of the most desirable neighborhoods in San Francisco and within a few short blocks to the America's Cup Village on the Marina Green. We echo what other reviewers have said: gorgeous, tasteful, sunny little house, thoroughly renovated, beautifully appointed kitchen, cozy fireplace, comfortable bed made up with luxurious linens, heated floors in the bathroom .... the owner's attention to detail exceeds a luxury hotel! Nancy is a delightful hostess who respected our privacy and still took the opportunity to invite us for drinks on her beautifully landscaped patio, where she engaged us in lively conversation about the day's races and the local scuttlebutt. Nancy also is a wonderful concierge and arranged America's Cup tickets for us, recommended a manicure salon and a yoga studio!

Public transportation works really well in San Francisco and is particularly convenient from this location. We took public transportation the entire week, traveling to the America's Cup Park on Pier 29, to downtown and to the Financial District. Within walking distance is the lively Chestnut Street and Union Street, where you will find numerous cafes, restaurants, shops and salons. We ate in a few nights, dining on a rotisserie chicken, French baguette, and other goodies from the Marina Market.

The Cow Hollow location is two short, horizontal blocks from the famous Lyon Street steps. Walk up about 250 steps to Broadway and you will be rewarded with a fabulous view of the City and the spectacular houses on Billionaires Row.

If up is too taxing, take a short walk down to the beautiful Presidio, where you can wander the grounds and gardens, visit the Palace of Fine Arts, and generally feel as if you are in a European capital.

We highly recommend Nancy as a hostess and her coach house as lodging. You will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. I've opened my home because it is fun for me! And the fun comes from meeting wonderful people.
Thanks for spending time with me in Cow Hollow!
business
Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414457vb
(415) 929-1910 (California, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Georgia
5

An Absolute Delight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in San Francisco. Staying in this cottage was the PERFECT fit for us. We enjoy walking so were happy to blend into the neighborhood by strolling to shops, pubs, resturants and the bay. The neighborhood is quiet and the air is fresh. The only sounds you'll hear are the soulful tones of the fog horn as the fog rolls into the bay.

You'll be captivated by the charm of this cottage. The photos are "spot on" and Nancy is a wonderful hostess.

I can't say enough............It was a perfect visit to a beautiful city!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for sharing your anniversary with San Francisco.
I appreciate all the tourist information that you collected for me.
Unlike Georgia, we have natural air conditioning!
business
Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414457vb
(415) 929-1910 (California, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
5

Perfect garden oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This guest house in Cow Hollow is the perfect spot to enjoy all San Francisco has to offer! The location cannot be beat-- a very short walk to shops , restaurants, the beach close to the Golden Gate Bridge,...
We didn't have a car and never missed it!
The cottage is delightful-- framed by a beautiful garden! Inside it is immaculate and has every amenity a traveler could want-- incredibly comfortable bed, lovely bath towels, a beautifully remodeled kitchen and even heated bathroom floors!
Nancy is a fantastic host-- she has traveled much of the world and decorates with amazing pieces from her adventures!
We enjoyed every minute of our visit and hope to return soon!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: And I know that you will return since you have family members so close by.
I look forward to our glass of wine in the garden.
thanks
business
Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414457vb
(415) 929-1910 (California, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Fort Lauderdale, Florida USA
5

Perfect In Everyway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Charming private cottage with kitchen and all the amenities. Beautiful garden in a quiet spot with easy access to a wonderful neighborhood and public transportation anywhere you desire to go. Wonderful market nearby. We stayed for eight days and easily went to the America's Cup Races. Hostess is very warm and helpful. You feel like you live in the neighborhood rather than being a tourist. Cottage is totally remodeled with thoughtful amenities in every room. Fireplace is charming. Highest rating possible for this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Remember. Come back any time.
business
Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414457vb
(415) 929-1910 (California, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Mendocino, California, USA
5

The Best Experience in All Ways!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is the ideal spot to stay for two in San Francisco. Highly, highly recommended, it should get 10 stars. The location allows privacy (your own entrance from the street, past owner's house), beauty, easy walking to several fun areas and sights, and safety in a fabulous residential neighborhood. The cottage is far more than we expected.This is an old historic house which has been fully remodeled to current comfort standards without losing its old San Francisco charm. We felt oh so pampered! Every inch of this property is well cared for, spic and span clean, and of the highest possible quality, from the gardens to the bath! The owner shared her knowledge and friendly help as much as we needed it, and yet offered us privacy for a fabulous stay. She has thought of everything, every detail, even the soaps and towels were first class. All amenities are there, including internet, and a small office with computer and printer. There are wonderful art and decorative pieces throughout from the owner's collection; even many furnishings are lovely antiques. Great bed and fabulous linens in the upstairs bedroom. The kitchen is fully equipped with brand new high quality appliances and all the accessories you could need. It is tempting to stay in and cook, but you also have wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Parking on the street was never a problem (restricted to 3 hours during weekday hours). While there is no direct view of the bay, the view from all windows in this private cottage away from the street is lovely gardens, trees, flowers and lots of light and sun. Walk two blocks for a spectacular view to the America's Cup racing ground in the bay and beyond. A bit longer walk finds you at Chestnut Street, or Union Street, both hot spots for shopping and dining, or the Presidio. I can't imagine a better place from which to experience San Francisco.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: thank you for your glowing comments. It makes Me want to stay there!
business
Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414457vb
(415) 929-1910 (California, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Scotland
5

A beautiful spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My wife and I stayed in Nancy's cottage whilst visiting our daughter in San Francisco. We could not have been happier!

The cottage is in tip top condition and very tastefully decorated and furnished. There was plenty of space for the two of us and to entertain my daughter and friends for dinner as well.

It was wonderful to wake up in the lovely bedroom upstairs under the eaves, open the balcony doors and look out on trees and rosebushes....the cottage is surrounded by all the neighbors gardens. The main house is just a stone throw away, yet we were private and secluded, surrounded by trees and bushes.

The cottage has all the modern amenities you could possibly need and a new, well equipped kitchen. Lovely bathroom and dressing room too!

We enjoyed daily visits from Nancy's two cute little dogs!

This place was recommended to us by a friend and we are so glad we didn't stay in a hotel downtown as we had originally planned to. We highly recommend this delightful, conveniently located cottage over any hotel or B&B!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Scotland is far away but you have family here.
Come back again!
business
Quiet,romantic hide-away right in the City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p414457vb
(415) 929-1910 (California, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Scotland
5

Tranquil, charming cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Photo's cannot convey fully the charm, character and lovliness of this beautiful cottage. I cannot rate this place highly enough!

Tucked away in a leafy garden, the cottage has an old world charm yet is in pristine condition. New kitchen and bathroom with underfloor heating. Cozy up to the fireplace on a cool evening or enjoy a glass of wine on the private, little, red brick patio, in the late afternoon sun. There is also a small deck upstairs that catches the sun almost all day. I enjoyed drinking my coffee and reading the morning paper there! This is also the perfect place for a secluded, romantic getaway!

The location is fantastic too - Only a 5 minute walk to an abundance of cafe's, restaurants, boutiques and cute book stores on two of San Francisco's most charming Marina district shopping streets. Only two blocks to the enormous Presidio parkland and only one block to a bus stop where buses run every 10 minutes to Northbeach, Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square etc.

The price per night is an absolute steal, to have this lovely, private home to yourself. I have enjoyed staying here a number of times and have recommended it to friends and family, many of whom have visited and enjoyed!
P.S. The owner is very friendly and helpful, with two extremely cute little dogs that will win you over in minutes!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I can't wait for your return! The dogs miss you!