Sonoma house rental - View of main house rear terrace facing vineyard. All Photos: Mathew Millman
View of main house rear terrace facing vineyard. All Photos: Mathew Millman
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Sonoma House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Master Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

As featured in the New York Times Home section, September 19th, 2013: 'Bespoke for the People'

Welcome to the Hydeaway House, our modern vineyard retreat in the Carneros region of Sonoma!

This property is on a one-acre rural site adjacent to acres of working vineyards, yet only 4 miles from the historic Sonoma Plaza and Mission. There is a main house that sleeps six, a separate guest house that sleeps two, and a 10' x 30', 5' deep pool with solar thermal heating from Spring through Fall. Pets may be allowed at the owner's discretion.

The 2,000 square foot one-story main house has two nearly identical master bedrooms and baths, each with a king-size bed. There is also a sleeper sofa in the public space's media area, which includes a gas fireplace, TV, sound system (accepts iPhone 4 versions) and reading niche. The master suites are on opposite ends of the home and each have their own private outdoor terrace. The main house is perfect for two couples, with kids or other visitors using the media area sleeper sofa.

The kitchen has been designed by and for cooks with high end appliances and equipment. The home is air conditioned, pet-friendly and is extremely accessible; there are no stairs and each bathroom has a large roll-in/walk-in shower.

The separate guest house had one additional one guest room with a king sized bed, bath and service kitchenette. It is also air conditioned and has a private terrace overlooking the vineyards.

The property sits directly adjacent to acres of working vineyards and has views of the hillsides beyond. There are many outdoor spaces to wander through and is great for small gathering or isolation. The front garden has a large outdoor stone dining table. Or enjoy the custom 16' long picnic table made from recycled Douglas Fir beams that sits under the large Oaks at the edge of the property. The site is also a wonderful jumping off point for bike riding, sightseeing, and wine tasting. The architect-designed buildings are perfect for folks who appreciate a modern, uncluttered, and comfortable design.

Keywords: Private, modern, architect-designed, Carneros retreat adjacent to vineyards, 10 minutes to Sonoma Plaza, easy access to Napa Valley, restaurants, shopping, high end cook's kitchen, king beds, pool, pet friendly, WIFI, gas fireplace, picnic tables, barbeque, modern amenities, one-story accessible 2-bedroom home sleeps 6 with a pool and pool house that sleeps 2.

More Details
Hide Details

I am an architect, professor, and dog lover with an active design practice in the Bay Area. We found this land in 2011 and fell in love with it. I designed the vacation home I always dreamed of; sustainable, accessible, modern and warm with a great focus on privacy, light and views. Every part of the design of the home is meant to focus your attention on the beauty of the landscape and the vineyards beyond. We hope to build up a group of repeat visitors with whom we can share our new home for years to come. For more information on our work, please visit by searching our firm Schwartz and Architecture.

Neal Schwartz, Principal, Schwartz and Architecture purchased this house in 2011

For us, the site is in a perfect location. It is 45 minutes from the Golden Gate Bridge and even less from the Richmond Bridge. It is only 4 miles to Sonoma Plaza and only 8 miles to Napa and the valley beyond. We are also discovering quickly what a wonderful, open and friendly new community we have found. Please join us!

The site is so central to everything yet feels so tucked away -- really the vineyard retreat we always dreamt of.

12 Reviews of Property 413723 in Sonoma, California

Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413723vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
5

Excellent Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We were lucky enough to stay here over MLK weekend. It was an amazing opportunity to stay in the house that was featured in the NYTimes. The house as a structure is amazing and the furnishings were top notch. We were able to cook great meals since the kitchen is fully stocked and enjoyed both indoor and outdoor living. We came with another couple and everyone had their space. Also, the setting is lovely, you overlook the vineyards and the light is just right. I highly recommend you stay here.
business
Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413723vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
5

A True Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
What a gem! This amazing house was just our style and unlike any other home we have stayed in before. Open and airy. Bright and clean. This impeccably detailed and beautiful modern home feels miles away from everything, yet is less than an hour from frenetic San Francisco. As city dwellers this was a huge plus for us. We were instantly transported to a relaxing calm and quiet wine country weekend. It is located equal distance and only minutes from downtown Sonoma or Napa which allowed us to explore many different wineries and restaurants. That being said we preferred to cook in the open and bright kitchen. Could easily cook a meal for 6-8 people. There is a gigantic oak with a long picnic table in the backyard so you can dine alfresco as the sun sets over the vineyards. Amazing!!! The setup is ideal for two or three couples because there are two master suites in the main house as well as a private pool house. We will defiantly make the trip again. The next time we need an escape from our urban lives we know exactly where we will stay.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413723vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
United States
5

Beautiful in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
A group of friends and I just stayed at Neal's fantastic house to celebrate a birthday. The house was perfect for 3 couples. We had wonderful meals (we hired a chef) that were lovely at the dining table in the center of the house. The whole set up was perfect for hanging out together, but also relaxing in quiet because the bedrooms and bathrooms are all separated and private. Love the design.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413723vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
San Francisco, CA
5

Great House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great, modern house to rent! The backyard has a great view of vineyards to enjoy while taking a dip in the pool. There pool house was great for a little separation from the rest of the party. It met our needs perfectly and everyone loved it. The cleaning staff was there when we arrived and greeted us as we left so we know it was a house well taken care of!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you seemed to have loved it as much as we do. Thank you for your comments!
business
Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413723vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
NYC
5

Hydeaway House Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
A group of friends stayed in the house recently and had an idyllic weekend. Early each morning we got up, made coffee and sat at the outside dining area relaxing in the sun while smelling the lavender and herbs growing nearby. By mid-morning we opened the house up to the outdoors. The front door and the rear-sliding window stayed open all day turning the cozy living, dining and kitchen area into an open breezy pavilion. In the afternoon the place to be is the rear yard. The roof overhangs for shade lovers; for the rest it was a sun filled heaven looking out onto, or strolling through, the vineyards.

At night we cooked and ate great meals (one of us is a chief) – what a pleasure to rent a house with sharp knives, good pots and every essential kitchen tool. The owners are clearly cooks.

The house is a great vacation find. We were eight adults gathered together for four days. The house’s main room is a great place to gather and socialize, but the house and the garden also have lots of nooks and crannies to go read a book or take a nap.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413723vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
5

Incredible and perfect - photos don't do it justice.

Incredible and perfect - photos don't do it justice.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This home is seriously perfection.

We stayed at the Hydeaway House with two other couples - since all of the rooms are amazing, no one ever suffered from the typical "room jealousy" of a rental. The home is owned by a talented architect, and it definitely shows in the details.

• The kitchen is to die for (and is fully stocked with all the pots, pans, dishes, etc. you'd need).
• The grounds are beautiful, with several secluded spaces to relax, wine, and dine; (the front courtyard was our favorite). The landscaping is nothing short of spectacular - natural and modern at the same time.
• Pool is beautiful and fitting for the setting.
• Great towels and bedding as well (sometimes rare in a rental).

We had a few wishes (a firepit would have been fantastic, as would more throw pillows on the couches), but overall our expectations were exceeded.

The icing on the cake: it's a great value for the money.

When we go back to Sonoma, we will absolutely return here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying at our home! I have been on the hunt for those extra throw pillows but I guess I'm being too picky:)....and that firepit has got me thinking now...thanks for the suggestion!

I hope you can return soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413723vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
Mexico City
5

From Mexico

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We spent a great week at your house. Everything has higher than what we expected and the 3 families were very happy. Everything was clean, maintained perfectly and we have recommended you to our family and friends. We enjoy the vineyards at Sonoma and Napa, Armstrong National Park, the coast. And we will be happy to rent your place in 2-3 years for more weeks so we can really see the WHOLE area and enjoy more the house. thank you very much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We look forward to your return; there is much to explore!
business
Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413723vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
san francisco
5

Amazing house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I and a few friends spent a rainy weekend here and it was wonderful. The home is gorgeous, and beautifully appointed. Glass windows afford amazing views from every room - redwood trees, vineyards, skies. The large kitchen and array of cookware was perfect for a night in of cooking and wine drinking. Despite the rain and cooler temperatures, the house was cozy and warm. Definitely recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a good visit; we love it here this time of year. We hope you can return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413723vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
Houston, TX
5

Fantastic 40th B-Day!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My wife and I along with two other couples stayed at the Hydeaway House for a few days during our SF/Napa trip and I have to say it was better than I expected. The house is in pristine condition and is a perfect set-up for 3 couples. And for those who love to cook the kitchen and the restaurant-grade Thermador range was a dream to cook on. The location was close to downtown Sonoma and easy to get to where we needed to go. We will be back next year for sure.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great! We are so glad it worked out for you and would love to have you back next year.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hydeaway House: Modern Vineyard Retreat, Private, Heated Pool, Pets, Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413723vb
Sonoma Sonoma County
San Francisco
5

Divine design

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We recently rented the Hydeaway House for a girls getaway and it was amazing. The home itself is impeccably designed and well thought out. No detail was ignored. The beds and linens were luxurious as were the bath towels. The kitchen was well-appointed and had everything we needed.
The property is quite large with multiple hang out areas. The pool was not huge but was perfect for what we needed.

We absolutely loved it and definitely want to go back. It's a great place to relax in a modern setting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear that you appreciated the design as much as we loved designing it. We tried to make it modern but warm and make sure that every spot in the home was focused on the beautiful surroundings. Please visit again sometime.
Helpful votes: 1/1