Bowser house rental - Upper deck with lower deck and Qualicum Bay in background.
Upper deck with lower deck and Qualicum Bay in background.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Bowser House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

This lovely suite is situated on the ground floor of our home on a long sandy beach with views of Texada, Lasquiti and Hornby Islands. Great for a walk while enjoying the salt air. Or, get out your fishing rod and enjoy fishing on what is arguably the best fishing beach in the area. Arrowsmith Golf Course is five minutes away and we provide discount tickets on request for $25 each (reg $37) for 18 holes. Just 200 meters away is a pub with food and live music as well as another restaurant. An easy walk, no need to drive after enjoying a cool one.

The home having just been renovated is well appointed. Relax and enjoy the ocean, whatever the weather, from the cozy living room or while having breakfast at the dining room table.

The large kitchen is fully equipped with all appliances and a propane BBQ on the deck. Just bring your groceries. All three bedrooms feature queen size beds with quality new linens and pillows. The bathroom is completely renovated and includes towels.

This house has all the comforts of home including high speed wireless internet, TV, Cable, DVD, CD, Telephone (free calls Canada/USA), washer/dryer and a new wood airtight fireplace insert with wood supplied.

There is so much to do – walk or play botchi ball on the sandy beach, watch the wildlife, which includes seals, sea lions and eagles, go for a swim, or go fishing. Between Nile Creek and Big Qualicum River, this is one of the best fishing beaches on the coast. There are numerous golf courses within 5 to 30 minutes.

Great seafood abounds in this area and you can easily purchase fresh oysters from Fanny Bay Oysters or fresh scallops from Island Scallops. Locally caught fish are available at many stores. In the summer, there are various farmer’s markets (Courtenay, Qualicum Beach, Coombs Market) where you can buy amazing fresh produce. There is an excellent grocery store, coffee shop and a liquor store just 4 minutes drive.

There are great walking trails in the neighbourhood as well as many parks within 1 hours drive including: Horne Lake Provincial Park, Englishman Falls Provincial Park, Little Qualicum Falls Provincial Park, Milner Gardens, Mount Washington and Cathedral Grove Provincial Park with its ancient trees.

Qualicum Bay is a magical place that will create outstanding holiday memories for you and your family.

For our clientele with allergies we have a no smoking and no pet policy.

Keywords: Newly renovated ground floor of home, 3 spacious bedrooms, kitchen, dining room, bathroom, large living room and two decks. Sleeps 6.

More Details
Hide Details

This is one of the most beautiful areas in British Columbia -- a province that is known for its scenery. The proximity to many of BC's most beautiful parks is amazing. It is truly a one of a kind magical place.

Great local music at the Crown and Anchor Pub. The Lighthouse Blue Grass Festival is the first weekend in July.

It is a fisherman's paradise -- both ocean and freshwater. Fish are routinely caught on the beach in front of the house.

There are numerous golf courses in the area.

8 Reviews of Property 413675 in Bowser, British Columbia

Walk-on Sandy Beach with Outstanding Ocean View, Qualicum Bay
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
business
Walk-on Sandy Beach with Outstanding Ocean View, Qualicum Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413675vb
778-424-1110
Bowser Vancouver Island
Prince Rupert, BC
5

We will definitely stay again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This rental met and exceeded our expectations. The hosts were warm, friendly, and had thought of everything. There is plenty of room, and it is very comfortable, and clean. There are lots of extras, such as linens, towels, dishes, etc. The views are outstanding. We were a little dissapointed that the ocean views were not from the bedrooms, however the walkout access to the beach more than made up for that. I would highly recommend this accomodation. There were cookies waiting for us upon arrival as well as some basics, that we greatly appreciated. (coffee, sugar, oil, milk, and flour). The owner's were very hospitable, answering questions, and offering suggestions for where to find good food, and entertainment while we stayed. We felt very welcome, and will absolutely stay here again. Our children loved it, the rooms were big, and the price is right. The location is central, and it has been a wonderful home away from home. We spent our days traveling to Nanaimo for shopping, visiting Salt Spring Island, lunching in Ladysmith, relaxing at the beach in Parksville, visiting Chemainus, Coombs, farm in Eerington, daytripping all over, and strolling in Qualicum. It was always nice to return to the comforts of a home. please noteThe Roadside Pub has excellent food... I could go on and on...
Thank you, so much for such an enjoyable stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Walk-on Sandy Beach with Outstanding Ocean View, Qualicum Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413675vb
778-424-1110
Bowser Vancouver Island
Vancouver
5

Two weeks of Heaven!,

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had the best time ever. The property was perfect for our grandchildren.
Great beach for swimming, building sand castles, skim boarding, and fishing. Unit was clean and had everything we needed. We have recommended it to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk-on Sandy Beach with Outstanding Ocean View, Qualicum Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413675vb
778-424-1110
Bowser Vancouver Island
Oyama BC
5

A beautiful home, true beach experience.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My wife and I spend a week here with our 4 young children. It was the first time our kids have visited the ocean and we all loved it, the home was well equipped and well organized. Many amenities nearby, this place is the real deal - no condo for us !
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk-on Sandy Beach with Outstanding Ocean View, Qualicum Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413675vb
778-424-1110
Bowser Vancouver Island
Vancouver BC
5

Stunning waterfront experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed in this suite this March during the herring run. Truly, it was a magical experience as we were right on the beach and able to watch one of nature’s miracles. The herring run in March, coincides with the Brant geese migration and there were over 2,000 geese in Qualicum Bay along with about 50 sea lions, some sleeping, one fin up in pods, or others hunting. The beach and sky was covered in seagulls and the eagles would often dive at them, sometimes getting one for lunch! We liked the fact that the 30 feet or so of space between the house and the water is left natural, which contributed to the overall ambience of our experience. At low tide, the beach is sandy and it is a great walk from the house to Nile Creek. The suite itself is well furnished with three lovely bedrooms and a modern bathroom. The kitchen is well appointed which was great as we were able to obtain great seafood. Island Scallops is about 5 minutes to the south of the house and the scallops we got there and cooked were amazing. Our time spent here was wonderful and we will certainly consider a return visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk-on Sandy Beach with Outstanding Ocean View, Qualicum Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413675vb
778-424-1110
Bowser Vancouver Island
Victoria, BC
5

Charming location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is a great vacation space that’s hard to beat for price and location. We ate breakfast in the dining room watching the sun come up over the coastal mountains and the ocean. In the evening, dinner on the deck, with the beach just a few seconds walk away. Qualicum Bay beach is an endless stretch of sand and pebble on which we spent hours exploring, watching the wildlife in and above the water, chatting with fellow beach walkers. Eagles nest nearby, which made for high drama with the seagulls. Host is super friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are large and comfy mattresses with excellent bedding. Kitchen well equipped to prepare every meal. The house is an easy walk to stores, a pub/restaurant and forest trails. Bring a bike, as all the roads in the bay area are flat and easily negotiated. Loved our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk-on Sandy Beach with Outstanding Ocean View, Qualicum Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413675vb
778-424-1110
Bowser Vancouver Island
vancouver
5

beautiful beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This house has such a beautiful view of the ocean and we were so happy to find that the unit was literally on the beach. It is meticulously clean and tidy and everything we could think of provided for. Jim the owner met and greeted us. He was super accommodating and friendly. I would recommend this peace of paradise to everyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk-on Sandy Beach with Outstanding Ocean View, Qualicum Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413675vb
778-424-1110
Bowser Vancouver Island
Calgary, AB
5

Great Oceanfront Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband & I & our 2 sons (ages 12 & 14) stayed at this wonderful property for a week August 2012. What a great place!! This is a great location, right on the beach. The boys had an awesome time in the ocean, whether it was skimboarding when the tide was out or fishing or kayaking when the tide was in. We ate breakfast on the deck every morning with a beautiful view of the ocean. The natural landscape that the owners have kept between the house & the beach is so nice to see. The suite was exceptionally clean and the amenities were excellent. We appreciated the washer & dryer in the unit as our boys were heading to camp the next week so I was able to send clean clothes with them. The boys each had their own room, which they loved because typically on holidays they have to share a room. The beds were very comfortable and there wasn't anything we felt was lacking in the unit.
The owners were very friendly and very informative about where to buy local seafood including scallops, mussels & crab. They also told us about the local general store at Bowser that has a fabulous instore bakery. We ate the majority of our meals in and saved a small fortune. The family staying in the upstairs unit were very friendly & invited us to use the hot tub if we wanted. We in turn let their daugher try out our kayaks. They were out sightseeing most of the time (they were from Quebec) and we didn't find that there was a problem with noise.
The location to other amenities in the area excellent, we were within walking distance to "The Cone Zone" (great ice cream @ a great price), the local pub (we did not go because of the boys), and "Bugaboo Burgers". It's a short drive to Qualicum Beach & Parksville - we went to see the infamous sand sculptures, Coombs - can't miss the market & the "Goats on the Roof"! We hiked at Little Qualicum Falls & Horne Lake Caves are not far away either. We walked along the beach for ages when the tide was out.
Our 14 year old is an avid fly fisherman & had a great time fishing for pink salmon at Nile Creek which is a short distance from this property. There were lots of other fishermen there & he gained lots of knowledge both from them & the staff at "Nile Creek Fly Shop".
Overall we felt this was one of the best places we have stayed on Vancouver Island. It was exactly what were expecting and then some. We think it is exceptionally well priced for the great location and the amenities.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk-on Sandy Beach with Outstanding Ocean View, Qualicum Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413675vb
778-424-1110
Bowser Vancouver Island
Anna Maria, FL US
2

couple

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
WE HAVE RENTED WITH VRBO MANY TIMES IN THE US AND BC. WE HAVE ALWAYS BEEN SATISFIED & PLEASED WITH THE ACCURATE DESCRIPTION OF THE PROPERTIES. THIS TIME THE DESCRIPTION WAS VERY MISLEADING. IF YOU PLAN TO RENT A HOUSE AS IT STATES IN THE AD, YOU WILL NOT GET THAT. IT IS A BASEMENT APT WHICH HAS NO VIEW OF THE WATER OTHER THAN A SNIPPET HERE & THERE. THE PICTURES WERE TAKEN WITH THE INTENTION TO DECEIVE. IT IS A BASEMENT APT WITH ADEQUATE FURNISHINGS.

UPSTAIRS IN THE MAIN HOUSE WAS A FAMILY TROMPING AT ALL HOURS ABOVE US. ENTRY INTO THE APT IS IN THE REAR OF THE HOUSE WHERE YOU MUST GO THROUGH THE GARBAGE CANS (AT LEAST 10 OF THEM) BEFORE YOU REACH THE DOOR TO YOUR BELOW GROUND FACILITY. ALSO THE OWNERS NOT ONLY HAVE MADE TWO RENTAL FACILITIES OUT OF THE HOUSE BUT THEY HAVE THEIR OFFICE IN THE GARAGE WHICH ABUTS THE BASEMENT APARTMENT WITH A DOOR, WHICH THE OWNER FELT COMFORTABLE TO WALK IN WITHOUT NOTICE WHERE THEY TOOK OVER OUR FREEZER COMPARTMENT TO STORE THEIR FISH. NOT ONLY DID WE LISTEN TO THE TRAMPING UPSTAIRS WE ALSO WERE HIT WITH THE FOOTSTEPS OF THE OWNERS GOING UP THE STAIRS TO THE UPPER FLOOR OF THE GARAGE OR WHEREVER. THERE WAS NEVER A FEELING OF PRIVACY AT ALL

THE VRBO AD DESCRIBED THE RENTAL AS A "HOUSE" WITH A LOWER PATIO AS WELL AS AN UPPER DECK. THE BASEMENT APT DOES NOT GET THE USE OF THE UPPER DECK. THE ENTRANCE TO THE BEACH FROM THE BASEMENT APT IS UP STAIRS THROUGH A MASS OF WEEDS TO A NARROW PATH WHERE WE CAME UPON FOUR SNAKES ON OUR WAY TO THE BEACH DURING OUR STAY. WE FELT THE WEEDS AND BUSHES SHOULD HAVE BEEN CUT.

IF YOU ARE COMFORTABLE WITH THE BELOW GROUND APT, THE ROOMS ARE FINE. NO PERSONALITY OR CHARM BUT THE NECESSITIES ARE THERE. IT IS CLEAN . WE WOULD RECOMMEND THE SANDBAR RESTAURANT BUT DEFINITELY NOT THE ROADHOUSE WHICH IS THE ONLY PLACE THE OWNER RECOMMENDED AND FOUND OUT THEY HAD NEVER BEEN THERE NOR TO ANY OF THE PLACES NEAR THE RENTAL. ALL IN ALL, WE WERE VERY DISAPPOINTED.

WE REALLY WILL LOOK VERY CLOSELY NOW TO ANY OF THE VRBO ADS IN THE FUTURE. WE WERE SORELY DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE NO ONE WANTS TO BE LIED TO. AND THE METHOD OF PAYMENT IS BY MONEY ORDER WHICH IS THE FIRST TIME WE HAVE DONE THAT. THAT INSURED WE HAD NO RECOURSE AND WAS CERTAINLY TO THE BENEFIT OF THE OWNER. WE DEFINITELY WILL NOT DO THAT AGAIN.

AS FAR AS THE PRICE -- WE DID NOT THINK IT WAS A BARGAIN BEFORE WE WENT AND IT CERTAINLY TURNED OUT TO BE TRUE. SOMETIMES YOU DON'T GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.
Owner's Response: As the owners, we are sorry, surprised and astonished at this review. If this couple was as upset as their review indicated we would have appreciated it if they had brought it up with us at the time. We certainly could have discussed options with them had we known.

During the week in question, the upstairs unit was rented to a family of three. We were there for two afternoons doing periodic landscape maintenance, gardening, mowing the lawn, and removing the garbage and recycling containers. These guests did comment to us on how they enjoyed the fresh vegetables from our garden that we provided them, but we were certainly not aware that they were unhappy with the accommodation.

This is a 2-unit house with upper and lower suites, each with its own decks. A lower and upper deck (both of which belong to the ground floor unit), as well as the view from inside and outside are all in the photos provided. What you see is what you get. There is a separate and private higher deck at the other end of the house for the upper, main floor unit.

The beach is only 25 feet from the decks and in order to maintain the natural seaside atmosphere, the area between is kept in natural vegetation and beach grasses, while the easily managed foot-paths blend into the landscape to maintain a natural setting. This is what our guests love about the place. As for the small harmless garter snakes, unfortunately we rarely see them, but what can I say, they are part of nature, like the eagles nest 100 meters from the house, or the seals just off the beach or the salmon that fisherman in hip-waders catch off the beach in front of the house. That is why we love it here. Everyone has different tastes or esthetics, but while this is a place for where people who want to experience nature in great comfort, at it’s finest, it is not for everyone.

We certainly do appreciate all feedback and always try to do our best to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay. We have welcomed many guests over the years to our vacation homes and have always had positive feedback.
Helpful votes: 3/4